Nazri: An unrepentant boor

By Tunku Abdul Aziz

Accustomed as I am to Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz’s often outlandishly over the top and predictably uncharitable innuendoes about people and their integrity, coupled with imputations of improper motives, I was, for all that, flabbergasted to read an account in the New Straits Times of Thursday, July 16, 2009 about Nazri resorting to slanderous language, obviously intended to damage and harm the reputation and standing of three well-known public figures, Tun Mahathir Mohamad, Tun Hanif Omar and Tan Sri Abu Talib Othman, currently Chairman of Suhakam.

Nazri of all people should not be too quick off the mark to denounce the trio or any one else for that matter as “crooks” because I expect he himself would be the last to claim that he is a person of complete moral rectitude and that he has not once offended against the code of ethics of his chosen profession, if one could dignify the practice of politics as a profession, in the best sense of the word.

Before I go on, let me say that Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz has always been kind and courteous to me, a gesture I greatly appreciate and happily reciprocate. I write this more in sorrow than anger.

I would not normally give two hoots about Nazri’s boorish and tiresome behaviour, but when he has the gall to go out of his way to blacken the good name of a distinguished former civil servant and a fine gentleman of great honour and integrity, then I feel duty bound to say that his remarks are clearly beyond the pale. I cannot claim to know the other two gentlemen as well as I have known Hanif, but that does not mean that I am not equally saddened by Nazri’s totally uncalled for remarks about them. Nazri has overstepped the bounds of common decency.

In calling Hanif a “crook,” Nazri has strayed into the realm of intellectual dishonesty. As a minister of the crown, he owes it to them whom he described as “crooks” to justify his unkind and indefensible outburst. However, based on the man’s history of intransigence, it would be totally out of character were he to acknowledge that he had wronged these pillars of society by his mindless utterance. Being sensitive is obviously not his strong point.

Any one who has had the privilege of knowing Hanif will readily understand why he continues to be held in such high esteem long, long after he had retired as the Inspector-General of Police (IGP), a position that in his time represented complete and utter dedication, personal and professional honesty and integrity in discharging his duties and responsibilities. It is worth reminding ourselves that it was not for Tan Sri Hanif, as he then was, to go cap in hand to ask for an extension of contract. He offered voluntarily to step down on at least three occasions, and each time his request was turned own by the Prime Minister of the day.

He was the last of that special breed of distinguished Malaysian IGPs who maintained the honour and prestige of the Royal Malaysia Police. He was without any doubt the most outstanding Malaysian IGP to have served this country.

With possibly one exception, his successors have generally been a disgrace to the King’s uniform. A harsh judgement, perhaps, but I stand by my opinion.

AN EXTENSION FOR THE IGP?

And all this leads me to a consideration of whether the Najib administration should give in to pressure from certain quarters to renew the current IGP’s contract. The Prime Minister I am told keeps his ears close to the ground, and if this is true, then no doubt he must be aware of the sentiments of the overwhelming majority of concerned Malaysians about Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s continued service with the Royal Malaysia Police. No IGP in recent memory has been pilloried to the extent that Musa has been, and for very good reasons. The public perception of both the man and the service he leads has been anything but complimentary.

Najib, the self-anointed reformer, makes some hard choices on a whole range of issues on a daily basis, but in the case of the nation’s IGP, he must listen to what the people are saying. What they are saying is that they do not have any confidence in the ability of the police under the direction of the IGP to confront the country’s criminal elements decisively. The do not believe that the IGP has what it takes to keep this country safe. They fear for their safety, and based on the current state of affairs, this is understandable. Police crime statistics are fine as far as they go, but they are no comfort to those who find themselves crime victims with no prospect of getting police protection in a timely manner.

In short they would like to see a change in the top police leadership. The police must surely have a succession plan. I do not believe that no one is ready to step into Musa’s shoes? What, heaven forbid, if Musa should fall under a bus?

After all, we do have a Deputy IGP, all ready and able, waiting in the wings for the cue to perform. By the law of averages, he cannot be worse that his superior. To extend the IGP’s contract given the prevailing mood is to fly in the face of public opinion. Public opinion does matter.

1. #1 by newchief on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:18 pm

nazri is bold. he can accused 3 high profile men as crooks. only a better crook dares to say he has no problems facing any of them. i just hope one of these crooks will take him to court unless these are really crooks too.

before, we have rais yatim , bung mohtar and hamid making ‘good news’ . now, we have nazri and muyhiddin. maybe they are trying to out-speak silly comments but compare to khir, they are all just peanuts.

its good to have these people in bn who can say and do what they want with the rakyat because malaysians are always peaceful and won’t even make a sound to challenge them.

how i wish i can say and do like them but my conciousness stop me though for making public insults against anyone or even to animals for heaven’s sake.

carry on nazri, i bow to you :C

2. #2 by novice101 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:27 pm

As an old man, I find Nazir may has found his vocation, his social standing and his calling but I think he has no find his moral bearings.

3. #3 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:47 pm

Let me see, the more you fellows say we should NOT allow the extension of IGP’s contract, the more likely he is going to get it.

You fellows must learn one thing – the sounding board. If they hear it from the opposition to do one thing, they are cock sure it is the right way to do the opposite. Trust me, this is the unstated strategy and policy.

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:01 pm

“You fellows must learn one thing – the sounding board. If they hear it from the opposition to do one thing, they are cock sure it is the right way to do the opposite. Trust me, this is the unstated strategy and policy.”

Your concept of the saying a sounding board is not used in the manner in which you are stating it. Learn how to use that term okay … Also, please improve your English, shameful …

p.s. definition of SOUNDING BOARD when used outside the musical context:

Sounding board is also a term used to describe a person or a team who are used as a type of bounce back, allowing the person talking to see how their ideas sound. The person acting as sounding board is not really expected to give their own opinion, but simply to react to what is being said

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:03 pm

Nazri is a classic example of politicians who are uncouth and do not understand the concept of being a STATESMAN. This should also be a lesson for PR politicians, I can name quite a few who are not far behind Nazri. They act like dogs in the Parliament or the State Assembly. Its shocking. So Mr LKS, let Nazri be a reminder of what we ought not to be

6. #6 by johnnypok on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:09 pm

What to expect from a typical product of NEP?

7. #7 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:57 am

You mean Limkamput??

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:05 am

“Sounding board is also a term used to describe a person or a team who are used as a type of bounce back, allowing the person talking to see how their ideas sound..” – SpeakUp posting of July 19th, 2009 above.

This means that the “sounding board” is a metaphorical reference to the passive recipient (more often but necessarily always a listener) to the other’s talk, suggestions and ideas, where the other intends to use the passive recipient to test the other’s ideas and perspectives.

It also means either Lim Kam Put has used the wrong word or has contrarian ideas. Lets test the possibility of the latter.

Assuming Lim Kam Put were not guilty of malapropism (ie a ludicrous misuse of a word) (motivated perhaps by an attempt at erudition), in suggesting that “you fellows” (ie. Opposition) act as sound board (apparently to what the other side, ie. the Govt says, the Opposition should not be telling the Govt. “don’t renew IGP contract” : instead the Opposition should just ask the Govt., “what do you think of non –renewal of his contract and replacement by so and so?” and then sit back as “sounding board” for Govt. to evaluate its position and perspectives on this issue.

Afterall, if one gets LimKamPut’s drift, the opposite stance of suggesting to or making demands to the Govt. just cannot work because by habit and custom it almost never listens to the Opposition and always acts to the contrary. This is borne out in LimKamPut’s own words: “If they hear it from the opposition to do one thing, they are cock sure it is the right way to do the opposite. Trust me, this is the unstated strategy and policy.”

So this means that if the Opposition does not want Govt. to renew IGP’s contract then the Opposition should instead exhort Govt. to please renew his contract and even making the renewed tenure long and this will sure to procure the contrary result of the Govt. non-extension of the IGP’s contract. Logically if the Opposition wants a RCI and not MACC/police to investigate Teoh’s mysterious death, then the effective strategy for the Opposition to adopt is to for example stir the 3000 supporters in Kelana Jaya stadium to chant “No” to RCI and “yes” to MACC/police to investigate the death of political aide Teoh Beng Hock, which will surely yield the desired opposite results of getting the RCI established. :)

Now we’re all both very challenged & refreshed from the monotony of sensible remarks here by Lim kam Put’s novel/contrarian perspectives proferred here…that is assuming he is not guilty of malapropism. :)

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:09 am

Ooops typo omission in 2nd para – “more often but NOT necessarily always a listener)…”

10. #10 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:27 am

“This is borne out in LimKamPut’s own words: “If they hear it from the opposition to do one thing, they are cock sure it is the right way to do the opposite. Trust me, this is the unstated strategy and policy.” Jeffrey

The workings of an infantile mind.

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:07 am

Infantilism is wrinkles in our minds due to progression of age??

12. #12 by siamo on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:40 am

This man is a famous man!

Does anyone remember what he said when the ACA wanted to talk to him over the taxi licences when he was Minister for Entreprenuerial Development (?). He remark was so politically wrong and gangsterlike. He said that he and the government are the bosses and they have no right to go after him. What an idiotic politically incorrect remark. Should he not say if the ACA has enough evidence, they are welcome to talk to him. May be the ACA did have enough evidence and he is trying to brow beat them to cow down.

Why is he still in the Cabinet? Najib, can you explain?

13. #13 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 3:10 am

“Infantilism is wrinkles in our minds due to progression of age?? – Jeffrey

Early stages of Alzheimer.

14. #14 by johnnypok on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 3:13 am

Look like a wild boar, behave like a monkey, and talk like a male prostitute!

15. #15 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 7:15 am

That’s limkamput. I’m glad you found your man.

16. #16 by limkamput on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 7:47 am

Can we start a fund here for Teoh’s family? Ask DAP to give us the bank account number for this purpose. Come on do something; don’t just talk in the comfort of our keyboard. Please don’t misunderstand me; I am just responding to the loud mouth SpeakUp. Ok, to start, I pledge two hundred. The amount does not matter, it is the heart. Can you all follow up? I am not joking. Let’s do something solid rather than just talk, I am agree with SpeakUp fully.

17. #17 by limkamput on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 7:50 am

See, so predictable, you fellows just want me to say “no, so that you will do it” or “yes, so that you will not do it” just like recalcitrant children when the parents have to tell them the opposition to get the desired behaviour. Got it?

Anyway, johnnypok is undergrad2 @ tom dumb, the despicable ass who must masquerade one handle after another. Come on be a man or have you dropped your marbles lately.

There is no need to mention Woof. He can’t write more than one line each time, so he is just a sidekick licking and sucking others’ behind. For that he is paid pittance, pathetic.

Jeffrey, come on; write me something new rather than just repeating again and again the same issue. Why, no instruction yet from your paymaster?

18. #18 by SpeakUp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 8:56 am

Limkaput … if you want to help, call DAP, send the WHITE SILVER for the funeral. Be resourceful … Also, RM200 is too much money you should not give so much (LKP sounding board theory at work here).

19. #19 by taiking on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:19 am

Aiyah. Easy mah. Just give him a Tun and a chairmanship of a glc. He will go away a happy man.

20. #20 by frankyapp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:24 am

Yeah,I wonder what’s wrong with Nazri. He never seem to grow up.He’s behaving like a mentally retarded child . NR should send him to a retarded children institution before he causes further damages.I mean guys this Nazri boy is such a bad boy,where else can you guys think is a better place for him ? If NR continues to ignore public condermation of Nazri the mentally sick child,the rakyat should demand for his dismissal. Good guys like Tun Hanif Omar and Tan Sri Abu Talib Othman ,I think should sue this bad boy without any hesitation. You know guys this bad boy is liken a mad dog which always attack its victims who never retaliate.Hence I think it’s the proper time now for the two good guys to put an end of this unwanted bad dog for good.

21. #21 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:31 am

“Can we start a fund here for Teoh’s family?” limkamput

I knew it! I knew he’d come round to this. He wants to pocket the money and run.

22. #22 by eagle_eyes on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:39 am

Nazri, Go to He.. a hypocrite saying that ‘illegal immigrants’ is not serious problrm in Sabah.

23. #23 by SpeakUp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:38 am

eagle_eyes … of course its not. Its only serious when they start to demand that they have self autonomy. :)

Woof … terrible la you, hahahahahaaa

Franyapp … yeah, RETARDED is the word for him. Its pretty amazing what words can come out of his mouth.

24. #24 by negarawan on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:12 am

Look at Nazri’s family. His son’s life is a mess. Like father like son. So, what more do you expect from this UMNO minister?

25. #25 by SpeakUp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:44 am

His son’s life is not a mess, he is LIVING IT UP! Hahahahaa … well nothing came out of the disclosure. No one cared … this is Malaysia.

26. #26 by husseinhamid on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:45 am

nazri aziz…a truly unpleasant man indeed.

When I am faced with an obnoxious salesman who thinks that he is doing me a favor by serving me, a mechanic who is obviously taking me for a ride by charging me exorbitantly for a minor fault in my 1982 Daihatsu Charade CX car engine, a taxi driver who wants Ringgit $15 to take me from KLCC to Tabung Haji Hq at 5pm( simply because he thinks he can), a thief who offers to sell me A Rolex DateJust 18K President for $120 o.n.o…. any distasteful situation …I walk away.

I will do that to Nazri Aziz the next time I see him. In my years of life, and I am 62 years old and an ex MCKK boy to boot, I have never had a more unpleasant experience of trying to meet with someone as I have had with this Nazri. I was waiting to see him in the lobby of Parliament on a matter, not of national importance, not to ask him a personal favor but to alert him to a situation where, in my humble opinion, justice was not being served. After briefing his Press Secretary Haji Mat Isa on the matter, Haji Mat advised that I should bring the matter to Nazri’s attention and he would arranged the meeting during a break in proceedings. I waited patiently for one hour for see him. When he sat down not 10 feet away from me and Mat Isa went to him to see if he could spare me 5 minutes of his time – and this after I told Mat Isa to tell him that I was a Budak Kolet – not only did he not spare me the 5 minutes but he did not even had the courtesy to look in my direction and acknowledge my presence – hamsap punya orang.

But I am please that Najib had saw it fit to appoint him a Minister in his Cabinet. We would need more Ministers of his genre to hasten UMNO’s fall from grace. Birds of a feather……

HH
    steadyaku47

27. #27 by SpeakUp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:50 pm

Ooops … typo error:

husseinhamid … people like him are the UNTOUCHABLES. You are a p@riah … he is the brahmin, even your shadows cannot cross!

28. #28 by limkamput on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:37 pm

//I knew it! I knew he’d come round to this. He wants to pocket the money and run.// wooooof

That is why i have no qualm calling an ass, a sob, an assh*le because you obviously do not know the right and wrong.

29. #29 by SpeakUp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:53 pm

See guys, I told you some here are DEFINITELY related to Nazri! So similar. Heheheheehehee …

30. #30 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:15 pm