Najib will lose credibility and wipe out all the popularity ratings he clawed back from 45% to 65% just before end of his First Hundred Days if there is no Royal Commission of Inquiry into Teoh Beng Hock’s extraordinary plunge to death from 14th floor MACC hqrs

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak should be forewarned that he will lose credibility and wipe out all the popularity ratings he clawed back from 45% to 65% just before the end of his First Hundred Days if there is no Royal Commission of Inquiry (RCI) into Teoh Beng Hock’s extraordinary plunge to death from 14th floor Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) headquarters in Shah Alam on Thursday.

Any refusal to establish a RCI into the unusual death of the political secretary to DAP Selangor State Exco and Seri Kembangan Assemblyman, Ean Yong Hian Wah, will be regarded by a very skeptical public that the Najib administration is not prepared to come clean in the first case of death in MACC custody, occurring on the 105th day of Najib as Prime Minister.

After the scandal of the Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s “black eye” while in police custody in 1998, which Anwar was accused of having inflicted on himself, there is just no public trust that the police can be depended on its independence, impartiality and professionalism when dealing with politically high-profile cases – like the present Teoh case.

Who will believe Teoh, 30 would commit suicide by leaping from the 14th floor of MACC headquarters when he is to register his marriage to teacher Soh Cher Wei, 28 the next day and that Soh is two-month pregnant?

Now, taxi-driver Teoh Leong Hui and his wife Cheong Sui Hua, 56, have lost a beloved son, Soh a husband and the unborn child a father! Who is responsible for such a despicable and dastardly deed?

Kajang municipal councillor Tan Boon Hwa, had recounted his ordeal when questioned as a witness by the MACC, how two MACC officers used questionable interrogation techniques in trying to extract false confession from him, pressuring him to deny that he supplied 1,500 national flags for a Merdeka function at the Sri Kembangan state constituency.

During the interrogation, the MACC officers used the ‘good cop, bad cop’ technique; initially being polite but later switching to verbally abusing him and making him to stand for four hours between 10pm to 2am.

Tan was questioned on the same day Teoh Beng Hock was also interrogated by MACC.

Tan said he was threatened with physical violence, with one officer pointing to his forehead and allegedly saying, “You don’t lie. This is my place. I can hit you. Believe me!”

During interrogations, he said other officers would randomly walk into the room to mock his poor command of Bahasa Malaysia and used derogatory terms such as “Cina bodoh” (stupid Chinese) and asked him if he was a Chinese citizen.

The worst intimidation, Tan said, were threats to his family which he described as “mental torture”.

Tan said:”They said that if I don’t ‘tell the truth’, they will take away my wife and there would be no one to care for the children. But I did not give in.”

When he was released the following day (Thursday) at about 1.30pm, Tan said he was asked by MACC staff not to make an issue over their interrogation technique.

But Tan had to speak up after the shocking and mysterious death of Teoh.

What Tan said has the shocking ring of truth as all those who had been subjected to rough, strong-armed and even physically violent interrogation by police and other enforcement agencies can testify. But why has MACC become a new monster on the Malaysian national scene, acting completely outside the law?

What did Teoh go through during the interrogation by MACC officers if Tan had to go through such rough and Gestapo-type of interrogation techniques when both are just witnesses and not suspects?

Where did MACC officers get the authority to use such Gestapo interrogation techniques?

Will the two MACC officers who subjected Tan to subject interrogation be suspended immediately pending investigations?

Will the MACC officers who subjected Teoh to the unusual interrogation for a witness, as to be questioned from 6 pm on Wednesday to 3.45 am on Thursday (on MACC’s own account) be suspended immediately for gross abuse of powers, apart from the actual circumstances leading to the mysterious plunge to death from 14th MACC hqrs?

Will the MACC Chief Commissioner, Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan resign in shame at such MACC scandals?

MACC is on trial. Police is on trial. Most importantly, Najib’s new premiership is on trial.

1. #1 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:12 am

Lose credibility and wipe out all the popularity ratings he clawed back from 45% to 65% ?

He will manipulate another survey tomorrow which will give him popularity ratings of 95%, which will be higher that Doodling Dollah’s 92% in 2004.

2. #2 by taiking on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:17 am

nazri started the guessing game by saying that teoh could have jumped down on his own.

I say the macc guys whacked the life out of teoh and then jettisoned him over the 14th floor rails. Save their skin of course. What else could it be.

And it is absolutely odd for the umno gobermen to make a special pronouncement on a no cover up investigation. There should be no cover up at all in any event and for all such cases and no special decision or direction or announcment need be made by the umno gobermen on this matter. Such statements gives me the impression that covering up in investigations by the umno gobermen is actually the norm unless otherwise expressed.

And btw, even when no cover up investigation was expressly directed, I firmly believe that there will still be substantial cover up. Look at the 12.5b scandal for example.

Najib’s 65% popularity means nothing to me at all. Even the original 45% was an over-rating as far as I am concern. I for one have no (none whatsoever) faith in him.

3. #3 by Black Arrow on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:24 am

Najib’s popularity rating is plain ridiculous! MACC’s interrogation methods are like the Gestapo. There is no choice but to vote out BN in the next general election. Don’t wag your tail at their so-called goodies.

4. #4 by Cinapek on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:30 am

YB, I am sorry to be negative but RCIs are now a waste of time. The IPCMC and Lingam tape RCI are clear proof of this. When you have a Govt that have graduated from ISA detentions to murder, RCIs are of no significance. We are now looking at a failed nation that has joined the likes of Zimbabwe, N. Korea and similar countries that uses their institutions to kill their own citizens in order to achieve their means. They will stop at nothing. RCI is like a water pistol -just a temporary nuisance . We need to think of something far more radical and substantial to send a strong message to this very, very sick Govt. that they will to pay dearly for murdering their own innocent citizens.

5. #5 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:34 am

this nazri fellow only provide entertainment to the country. what his comment just simply did not fix in as a minister and simply insensitivity. and what we always say tak ada otak.

najib has the first opportunity present him to redeem him self now. it was up to his think tank to advise him the right thing to do now. if he do the right thing he will be there as pm for quit a while, other wise he could be just warm sitting the pm seat. yes, pm the choice is up to you.

6. #6 by LG on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:42 am

This clearly shows the partiality an cruelity of MACC. They are so determined to find faults and to book PR excos & MPs using the dirty, threatening and inhuman interrogation technique.

Khir Toyo former MB of Selangor his corruption mounting to ten of millions or more and the MACC are blind. The PKFz multi-billion ringgit scandal need an independent finding from PwCAS (with PwCAS limited scope and authority in the finding) and MACC (ACA) being blind and deaf for years. And aslo so many multi millions/billions projects are questionable by the public.

As MACC is biased and double standand, it should be suspended with immediate effect, the Chief should resign or sack immediately and all the responsible interrogators that used such dirty interrogation techniques should be put to custody immediately.

PM, DPM and HM all in sly way say there won’t be any cover up but they are asking Police to investigate????? Police is even more cruel in their technique of interrogation and they are double standard similar to MACC.

7. #7 by AhPek on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:46 am

Isn’t what transpired (the death of Teoh Beng Hock) the result of overzealousness on the part of MACC in carrying out the bidding of UMNO the boss? This is not a country with norms of civilised behaviour,it is more like the behaviour of Banana Republics.So is it possible to expect a Royal Commission of Inquiry to be carried,and even if it is carried would you be surprised that its findings would not be disclosed?

8. #8 by freehand68 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:47 am

Mr. Lim, i agree with cinapek, the rci is waste of time. if najib really serious about bringing reform, the first thing he should do is to conduct a genuine investigation and punish those culprits that cause the death of TBH.but if he just talk the walk and dragging the case like what happen to kugan then the whole BN is really irredeemable. How the hell is TBH going to jump off the 14th floor by himself unless someone cause it. That doesn’t make sense at all. this nazri is really bloodless and inhumane and sarcastic given the way he respond and i wonder why pm still wanna pick him as cabinet minister, this guy is a real drag to najib.

9. #9 by freehand68 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 11:57 am

give najib another 100 days to prove he really mean performance now and people first and forget about 1malaysia (seems most abuse and death cases in detention are minority). If there’s nothing going on for cases like khir, pkfz, tbh then we all rakyat knows his base card

10. #10 by ALLAN THAM on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:00 pm

people say selective investigations? but why people on the street say so? why did not pm turun padang instead of walk about in the morning at petaling street to find out?

now certain people say RPK has gone bad or act like bad and not trust worthy any more. ok, then take Nades and Terrence from the Sun. They have lot to say about MACC condcuts? but why nothing has act on their reports? If no one challenge what have these two guys have written so far then, dose any one blame the people have that perception?

Ok, forget perception about MACC. This was simply abused of power. One reason that I could think of those guys in MACC or in any other agencies may not specifically told to act that way but most of them acted to favour the masters ? Then why? simply promotion and extension when their term come to expiry. That is as simple as that.

Look at the coming issue of proposal of extending the police chief? if this guy did not do things that favour the master, any one will think his term will be keep extending? No. so other agencies head or the sub ordinate will do the same.

Malaysian system has rotten to the root. since it take decades to rot until this stage and we will not expect over night changes. Never and any too drastic and too soon it will not be practical.

Simply put, hypothetically all policemen will have to resign and Malaysian will left no police men if say Pm want every one to be corruption free??

11. #11 by freehand68 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:05 pm

what happen to those running dog like MCA or MIC that claim to champion the interest of the people and righteous? why are they so silent like a rat with TBH case? I really fed up with those sleeping snakes especially “OTK the hypocrite” and his only remaining skill and authority is to suppress his own party member.

12. #12 by novice101 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:08 pm

Yes, it’s a Royal Commission that we want, nothing less !!!!!!

13. #13 by rabbit on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:09 pm

bullshit@@@ all ravens in the sky are black colour, all snakes are poison. one malaysia is that he mean? the gov only entertain all malaysian about T B H dead. cos hhe is DAP members, if the dead is from BN the story will be diffrent. since the gov is helpless, why not the press help him? with the power of media sure can do something, rather sit n wait for result like toyo said. why the autopcy dr from dap not dare to take the exam? 4 out of 3 only 1 go for it. all so scared of gov!! 4 again 1, sure loose, all gosh, so un fair in malaysia.

14. #14 by Callum on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:24 pm

I do hope the Royal Commission consists of an impartial members who can take no side in the entire investigation process. If not, what I can say, Malaysia Democracy is DEAD !!!

15. #15 by goldenscreen on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:36 pm

Head of Selangor UMNO, MACC is under the jurisdiction of your other office (PMO). So you are the direct leader responsible for MACC since they are answerable only to your office (PMO) of which you are the head of that office (unless you want to claim that it is your wife who is the head, that we can understand you spineless weakling).

So instead of offering your cynical condolences, why don’t you start a full impartial royal commission into his death at the hands of the MACC whose conduct is only answerable to you as the head of PMO.

I bet your goons at PDRM was ready to classify it as suicide no foul play, but I bet your incompetent goons now cannot answer as to why an expecting father would want to commit suicide on the eve of his wedding registration, simply because your stupid goons had not an iota that his wife was two months pregnant. Coupled with the fact that on Wednesday morning he was calling friends to confirm their attendance at his October 3rd wedding dinner only to commit suicide the next morning, highly unbelievable don’t you think? But I know you don’t think because you are incapable of thinking.

I also bet that your goons at PDRM wanted to quickly classify this case as sudden death then accidental death then case close NFA. But your stupid goons must have taken a look at the windows of Plaza Masalam by now and realized belatedly that falling out from the high rise building window (why don’t you get off your spineless backbone and go and visit Plaza Masalam for yourself, isn’t this part of your job 1Malaysia walkabouts?) accidentally is highly impossible also, unless of course he was drugged by the MACC.

So that leaves another option as to what happened to Teoh Beng Hock. Murder. But already your press, your ministers, your goons at PDRM, your UMNO bloggers and cyber warriors are already dismissing that possibility out of hand.

Of course there are some of your UMNO bloggers who are now spreading rumors that DAP triads not only managed to infiltrate the MACC office but managed to kill Teoh and exited the building without any trace. Now does that sound believable to you? Why don’t you warn your UMNO bloggers and supporters also for speculating, rumor mongering and (the IGP’s favourite motto) “threatening public order”?

So that leaves only one responsible party for his murder. MACC. MACC under the jurisdiction of the Prime Minister’s Office. The Prime Minister’s Office of Najib Tun Razak. Najib Tun Razak the Head of Selangor UMNO. The head of Selangor UMNO who gave the green light to MACC to begin a witch hunt in Selangor to topple Pakatan Selangor. The same green light given by the ex-head of Perak UMNO. All roads lead to you Najib Tun Razak. You are indirectly responsible and you will be held to justice, if not now then in the afterlife.

16. #16 by goldenscreen on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:36 pm

If there is one thread I have noticed among BN supporters is their amazing ability to spin fantasies into reality whenever ugly events in the real world threaten to disrupt their version of reality.

Remember when HINDRAF leaders were arrested under ISA? The BN bloggers and cyber warriors were spreading rumors that the police found a cache of heavy automatic weapons at Batu Caves, that HINDRAF was allied to the Tamil Tigers. In the end, no such proof of such hearsay were ever produced but in the pseudo fantasy reality of BN fanboys that is the God’s truth.

Remember when news first broke of Anwar’s sodomy of Saiful and how many evidence cropped up showing Saiful to be an agent of BN and flimsy evidence of sodomy dismissed by Hospital Pusrawi? The same BN fanboys started spreading rumors that BN has video recordings of Anwar sodomizing Saiful and that their case is watertight. Where is the so-called video now?

And now to Teoh Beng Hock’s death at the hands of MACC. You know their fantasy story already, so I’ll just leave it at that.

It seems to be a psychological imperative of the BN fanboys to sanitize their own reality by spicing it up with fiction, fiction that is intended to bolster their worldview i.e. HINDRAF deserved to be ISA-ed because they are terrorists, Anwar is guilty of sodomy because they have video recordings of the act, MACC is innocent because really Teoh Beng Hock was killed by DAP triads.

Hey, if it helps you guys and gals to cope with reality then I support you 100%. Wouldn’t want the real world to depress you now would I?

17. #17 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:38 pm

If this is a cover up, even RCI is a joke.

How many RCIs have we had for the past 5 years? Lingam? PDRM? Result? Implementation? Impact?….. even with clear cut case.

Shame to be named “Royal” when it only has power to inquire without impact (hey, nobody is listening to you. RCI: Who cares!!}. Rather it should be called Rojak Commission of Inquiry

Solution: Vote for PKR.

PKR should take this moment to kick ass (BN).

18. #18 by sotong on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:41 pm

May be fear of something….he jumped.

The officers are capable of using exceptional power to get what they want at all cost.

This is totally unacceptable in any modern and civilised society.

19. #19 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:45 pm

Was it Azim or Wee Chi Kiong or both who reported the supposed “misuse of constituency allocations” to the macc?

Why? To improve their standing in the PKR?

20. #20 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 12:57 pm

Azim + Wee = Hee

21. #21 by mother of three on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:33 pm

Rest In Peace Mr.Teoh Beng Hock.If Malaysian as a whole take Kugan’s death seriously maybe today you’re still alive.Your case will be closed just like Kugan’s case.All of us should be shame of ourselves to give the politicians such a power till they freely interfere in our life.This racist people already shut their ears and it is pointless for us to waste our voice.I just hope they shut their mouth and nose so that no more racist in this world.God is watching and all of them answerable for this cruelty.

22. #22 by goldenscreen on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:38 pm

From TerLeRai KaTa TerUngKap BiCaRa:

Sejak kematian mengejut Setpol seorang Exco Selangor, Teoh Beng Hock 2 hari lepas, banyak teori punca kematiannya diceritakan. Namun satu hakikat – hampir tiada yang percaya Teoh membunuh diri. Saya sendiri sudah bercakap dengan puluhan orang dan setakat ini belum seorang pun yang berani berkata pemuda itu telah dengan sengaja mengambil nyawanya sendiri. Malah ada yang sangat yakin pasukan penyiasat SPRM sendiri yang ‘menjatuhkan’ Teoh!

Dan petang kelmarin, ketika berbual dengan seorang rakan lama, saya bertanyakan soalan yang sama. Kebetulan rakan ini bekas seorang jurugambar polis yang banyak pengalaman mengambil mayat mereka yang meninggal dengan pelbagai cara, termasuk bunuh diri. Saya percaya pandangannya adalah sangat profesional berdasarkan pengalaman puluhan tahun mengambil gambar dalam pasukan polis.

Ketika saya bertanya adakah beliau percaya Teoh ‘dijatuhkan’ seseorang atau sekumpulan orang, beliau menyatakan tidak percaya dengan teori itu. Beliau tidak percaya Teoh sengaja dijatuhkan, sebelum dijumpai di bawah bangunan itu. Beliau berkata orang yang terjatuh bangunan dalam keadaan sedar, tidak kira sengaja menjatuhkan diri, terjatuh atau dijatuhkan oleh orang lain, biasanya jatuh di dalam keadaan tertiarap dengan kedua-dua tangan kiri dan kanan terbuka. Kedua-dua tangan terbuka adalah sebagai respons seseorang untuk cuba menahan hentakan badannya ke atas tanah, simen atau objek keras lain di bawah. Tapi Teoh mati di dalam keadaaan mengiring, seolah-olah ketika jatuh, dia sudah tidak ada respons untuk cuba menahan sesuatu di bawahnya.

“Mungkin ketika jatuh orang itu dalam keadaan tidak sedar. Mungkin dia jatuh dalam keadaan pengsan,” kata rakan saya itu.

“Mungkin ketika terjatuh, dia sudahpun mati?” tanya saya.

“Mungkin juga. Yang pasti orang jatuh dalam keadaan sedar tidak jatuh dalam posisi seperti itu.”

Saya tidak tahu sama ada hendak percaya atau tidak dengan pandangan profesional rakan itu. Tetapi mengambil kira jarak masa yang begitu panjang di antara waktu selepas beliau disoal siasat dan kematiannya dilaporkan, saya seperti yakin ada sesuatu yang cuba disembunyikan mengenai kematian Teoh olehSPRM…..

23. #23 by forglory on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:39 pm

Alamak Uncle Lim,

How many Royal Commissions have we had before? The Lingam tapes Royal Commission findings, what has happened to it? Till today nothing lah…buang current lah asking for Royal Commission

24. #24 by Loh on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:42 pm

The keen interest MACC has in investigating Pakatan Rakyat representatives on the slightest hint of involvement in corruption, and yet would choose to ignore prima facie case of corruption perpetrated by BN politicians, shows that MACC is not neutral, and it is helping BN to pursue its political interests. Further MACC has not been professional in conducting its business. The fact that it chose to interrogate a witness by harassing him until the wee hour in the morning raises the suspicion the MACC stands for Malaysian Agency for Concocted Confessions. That could be why the two PKR ADUNs of Perak chose to be kataks than to face up to MACC and ended up dead.

The former MB of Selangor claimed that it cost him only RM 3.5 million to put up his palatial house which is much larger than what TDM has, and it has been estimated to be worth RM 25 million. It could be true that RM 3.5 million was the cash payment Khir Toyol had to make, with the balance financed by payment in kind. Was that payment in kind given to contractors of his palatial house at the expense of the resources of the Selangor government which belongs to the people? That would amount to corruption.

Khir Toyol said that he would finance the house through his business earnings. The house was put up before the 308 election and he was counting to be returned as MB again. How then was he to finance the house if he could not be involved in business as sitting MB? MACC has now the clear case of assets owned by Khir Toyol a BN politician not supported by his official earnings. Would not the MACC interested to know whether the unofficial earnings of the politicians which give the impression that they were obtained through corrupt practices were indeed legal. In failing to do so, MACC is seen to be partial. The perception of the people is important especially when the agency has only been recently conferred the authority to do what ICAC of Hong Kong is reputed to perform. Is it because MACC has inherited the Chief of ACA to be its own Chief and he chooses to continue with his old habits?

Teoh’s demise shows that MACC was resorting to torture as a means to concocted confessions. The method of investigation adopted by MACC and the selection of cases for investigation are important topics which merit review by an independent commission set up to investigate the unfortunate incident relating to late Teoh.

25. #25 by mother of three on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:45 pm

He jumped from top but bloodless with torn pants.If this is true, how is it possible? PR, put aside your family problems and focus on the post mortem report and bring them to justice.

26. #26 by Callum on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:46 pm

I have billion dolar question in my mind, why not set top priority on PKFZ, Istana Khir Toyo investigation ??? Why on Teo ? WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY ?WHY WHY WHY ??????????? The entire nation demanded MACC an answer !!! I am very certain that Khir Toyo is one of the key man who behind this plot, when PKR investigated his istana, he retaliated by instigating MACC to counter react on PKR leaders. Khir is trying to divert the attention on his istana to PKR leaders by trying to pick all the trivial things.

The citizen of Malaysia is demanding MACC for an answers :

1. Why Teo was interrogated until 3am in the morning ? Does his case is worst than PKFZ over 10 Billions case ? Why MACC confisticated Teo’s mobile phone ?
    2. Why it takes such a long time and there is no visibility on PKFZ case ?
    3. The public also demanding how Khir Toyo earn his istana that worth almost 30 Millions ??

These are public fund, hard earn sweat and tears monies, MACC must conduct an immediate investigation on this matter !!

All fellow nations, it is time to open your eyes, you should know who to vote in your next election ???? It is our future, we vote not just for you and me, it is the fate of our next future generations !!

27. #27 by Callum on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:49 pm

When Khir defended MACC ever interrogated his many times, what is he trying to conclude here ? Has he been charged so far ??? Has MACC knows what is the priority of the task ???? Ha MACC has an answer on how Khir get his money to build his istana ?

28. #28 by Callum on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 1:53 pm

My most honarable Encik Anwar, Mr Lim Kit Siang and PKR leaders, there are lots of very good questions published in this blog here. I would pledge PKR to hire few very good lawyers to represents Teo’s family to fight that in the court with MACC. We need to get the justice back to the entire nations and Teo’s family !!

29. #29 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 2:08 pm

All the investigators fall within umno najib circle and any results coming out of any investigation will have to go through najib and najib will decide whether to manipulate the result to suit him before releasing them. There is no way we can ever get a single truth out from them.

Can we engage outside investigators or the FBI to investigate the real truth of Teoh Beng Hock’s death?

Once again, we need to remove umno najib/bn the next GE to have our peace of mind, safety and prosperity.

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty one years.

30. #30 by freehand68 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 2:17 pm

ask khir to have the gut to sue TDM too instead of suing lau only since TDM also said his palace worth more than 20 million. Will it not TDM statement also liable him for demation agaisnt khir? Why khir only intimidating lau instead of his former boss? This show in this country nothing call logic and common sense for those bn goon. Their explanation is logic whereas other not.

31. #31 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 2:19 pm

Expecting Jibby to investigate the real truth of Teoh Beng Hock’s death is like expecting the Gestapo to investigate Hitler’s role in the slaughter of 6,000,000 European Jews. Verdict– Innocent of all charges

32. #32 by siamo on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 2:20 pm

Targeting the DAP and trying to manufacture evidence is clear that the MACC is an tool by the BN government to stay in powers.

MACC says it is doing its job? For whom? For the BN to stay in power! MACC is definity not doing its job for the rakyat! Why, why, why, why, why is there no investigation against Khir? Is there an instruction from the TOP not to?

33. #33 by Callum on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 2:20 pm

If MACC has done nothing wrong, why there is a time limit for family of Teo to hire private forensic doctor within 30 mins ? What is the rationale behind ??? If someone who are not guilty, why are they so afraid about having private forensic doctors ????????

Another Millions and Billions of dollar questions are behind our minds….

34. #34 by siamo on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 2:32 pm

With the MACC trying to manufacture evidence, we can now form a conclusion the the evidence against DSAI is done in the same way.

It is no wonder that the prosecution was so reluctant to let the defence examine the evidence. Why is the prosecution so afraid? So, must have something stinking on them? that the evidence cannot stand up to examination. It is good that the judge directed the prosecution to let DSAI legal team access to the “evidence”

35. #35 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 3:25 pm

MACC is racist?

I think the whole Malaysia is thought to be racist after 50 years under BN especially UMNO, MCA and MIC.

36. #36 by vsp on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 3:28 pm

The investigation job of the Police, the MACC and other investigative authorities have taken on a macabre aspect. The prevailing mentality among these monsters are that: “if you are one of us, we will use all our powers to protect you, but if you are against us, we will use our authority to nail you even if we have to use fabricated evidence”.

We have noticed how evidence can be made to disappear for those they want to protect, and how evidence can be fabricated and manufactured against those who are considered a threat to their powers. It is no surprise to know that for the past 30 years there were many big scandals being committed by those in authorities but there were no meaningful prosecution. Investigation files were routinely being stamped with a “NFA” cynical show of contempt for the public.

With the above mentioned observation I have no faith in the probity of our existing elected and appointed officials – not the prime ministers, not the minister concerned, not the law enforcement authorities, not the the courts, not the rulers – all are shamelessly compromised. This is because all of them are stakeholders of the vast web of the patronage system created by UMNO which they are beholden to protect.

37. #37 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 6:46 pm

Royal commision, investigation or even if God shows up and say it was an accident. It does not matter, BN have to go to fix the system..

38. #38 by drago2008 on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 7:22 pm

First the Police, next the MACC. Who will be the third to complete the jigsaw puzzle that we are all lost? The Armed Forces?

39. #39 by hee haw on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 7:43 pm

If no Royal Commission of Inquiry into Teoh Beng Hock’s extraordinary plunge then the director of macc must be Ros

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 8:47 pm

YB Kit is right that Najib’s popularity will be reversed if there is no Royal Commission of Inquiry (RCI) into Teoh Beng Hock’s death.

Teoh was deprived of sleep and interrogated for more than 8 hours. This brings to sharp focus the protocols on interrogation and investigation techniques, whether they were properly followed.

The fact that Teoh was last seen in precincts/dominion of MACC until early in the morning, body found in 5 storey building next door at 1.30 pm and trousers torn at the backside will straightway place the onus on the MACC to explain!

To add salt to injury, he was merely a witness assisting investigations. He was not even a suspect.

However he was political secretary to DAP’s assemblyman Ean Yong Hian Wah.

And the MACC is supposedly investigating “peanuts” allocations channelled by Opposition councilors to several community programmes including a lantern festival and religious celebration whilst appearing doing much less about RM12 billion PKFZ scandal, which smacks selective political motivation, many supporting the Opposition would say!

Then the sheer human drama/tragedy of Teo about to get married and his to-be wife carrying his child, a father deprived!

It is tragedy like this that galvanizes public anger across the board – people feel that this can befall anyone – and this anger cannot be easily assuaged. If it cannot be assuaged, then image of MACC cannot be redeemed and if it is not redeemed, what’s going to happen to govt’s effort to sell the public image that it has political will to combat corruption???

The PM/Govt promises thorough and professional full probe. However how is that to be done?

MACC is reported to be conducting internal investigation on whether its protocols were adhered.

However MACC cannot be judge of its own cause. According to public perception, MACC cannot be counted upon to be able to make an objective and impartial determination of a high profile case involving its own possible lache and its own officers’ wrong doing against expected prevailing esprit de corp.

So it has to fall on the police to so investigate. However, the police themselves are cast in the shadow of the A Kugan’s custodial death, yet unresolved, so how could they be counted upon to investigate the other branch regarding a common accusation?

Opposition is definitely in favour of RCI. Already some members of even the BN, for example MCA Wanita chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun, are in favour; Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin, in his blog posting yesterday, favours the incident to be investigated in an ‘objective and comprehensive manner’. NGOs like the Bar Council, Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall, Centre for Independent Journalism, Centre for Policy Initiatives, Group of Concerned Citizens, Malaysia Youth and Student Democratic Movement, Persatuan Kesedaran Komuniti Selangor and Jamaah Islah Malaysia (JIM) are said to be in favour of RCI. It looks like the whole spectrum of public opinion or movers of it are moving that direction. Some more, our former health minister Chua Jui Meng said that Teoh’s death was the “tipping point” in his decision to defect to the opposition (PKR) – Malaysiakini.

DPM said the cabinet will discuss the issue on RCI at its next meeting on Wednesday. I don’t think the govt. has much option here. It has to seriously consider RCI, maybe with limited frame of reference.

41. #41 by limkamput on Saturday, 18 July 2009 - 10:12 pm

The real issue here is it is not investigating procedures not following protocol. It was never an investigation. It was harassment.

We must focus on the real issue. If the intention is harassment, no amount of investigating protocol will help because the intention of the “investigation” was never to find out the truth; the intention was to insult, harass and threaten.

What has this country come to? Many people, including leaders from BN said please don’t politicise this case. The reality is almost the whole federal apparatus is politicised to the core. How then we could ask others not to politicise when we ourselves are politicising to the core.

There is a piece “A sobering thought” written by Hussien Hamid in this blog. I agree with him that after 22 years of inculcation by Mahathir, this is who we really are – a spineless nation not knowing the right and wrong, a spineless civil service ever ready to please their masters without conscience, a group of vulture politicians only talk of societal interests but the primary consideration of power and wealth. For if we know the right and wrong, it would not be just former and ex BN MPs, Ministers, deputy Ministers and Senators now joining the oppositions. If we know the right and wrong, there would not be squabbling to settle old score like that scum bag Wangsa Maju MP. If we know the right and wrong, Penang Gerakan Youth would not have set their sight on Guan Eng’s RENTED bungalow but turned a blind eye to mega corruptionS and abuses occurring right now and right under our nose. If we know the right and wrong, there would not be that bitch hehehe from Jelapang, and that spineless bayi lawyer from Penang.

42. #42 by sirrganass on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:39 am

Do we have enough gut to insist Najib and all the SPRM top personnel to resign?

Before things become too late, everybody – pls, concentrate on this task!

43. #43 by yhsiew on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:02 am

MACC is on trial. Police is on trial. Most importantly, Najib’s new premiership is on trial.
    ===========================================

It is a case of failed government!!!

44. #44 by yhsiew on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:06 am

How could we allow government servants/enforcement officers to be licensed to harm and kill?

45. #45 by Woof on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:27 am

Bayi lawyer. Limkamput showing his true colours here – a racist.

46. #46 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:39 am

Woof, don’t act smart with me. Are you a sob bayi also?

47. #47 by Callum on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:54 am

does anyone knows who has the authority to nominate The Chief of MACC ? BN leaders ? King ?

48. #48 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:37 pm

does anyone knows who has the authority to nominate The Chief of MACC ? BN leaders ? King ?// Callum

You fellows are always concerned with formality, as stated in the statutues and constitution. Hello, all roads lead to Rome, if you know what i mean. If you don’t too bad.

49. #49 by kickToyoAss on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:02 pm

lim amput, I am not a lawyer, we are just layman, don’t use twist and turn words to response. If u are not willing to answer, just keep your mouth shut.