The special briefing on Wednesday by Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar to 96 foreign diplomats on government action and police investigations into the sodomy allegations against Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is clearly a big flop, with the caustic criticism by the United States Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice within 24 hours with her call for transparency and the rule of law into the new allegations against Anwar.
Rice rejected the earlier claim by her Malaysian counterpart, Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr. Rais Yatim that the United States was meddling in Malaysia’s internal affairs by raising concern over Anwar’s arrest.
She said the United States would continue to speak on cases involving human rights and politics although it did so “in a spirit of respect for Malaysia”.
She stressed that the United States “doesn’t recognise this very firm barrier that it is simply internal affairs when a case of this kind comes up, but we are going to continue to work with Malaysia”.
Rice made these remarks at the ASEAN Ministerial talks in Singapore yesterday, just before her bilateral meeting with Rais.
In these circumstances, Rais’ claim after their meeting that Rice had “acquiesced” to Malaysia’s stance that Washington abstain from making further statements pertaining to Anwar and the country’s rule of law will have to be taken with a pinch of salt.
Rais subsequently said he was unaware of Rice’s statement prior to their meeting – giving the bad impression that the Malaysian foreign service is not as well-informed as it should be.
Be that as it may, Hamid’s special briefing for 96 diplomats suffered a second blow today when three leading figures on the international stage called for the dropping of the sodomy charges against Anwar.
The trio who issued a joint statement are former Canadian prime minister Paul Martin, ex-World Bank chief James Wolfensohn, and Michel Camdessus, the former head of the International Monetary Fund.
As former Foreign Minister, Hamid should be particularly sensitive to Malaysia global faux pas in getting one “black eye” after another in the international arena over the government and police action on the sodomy allegations against Anwar and he should do his utmost to end the national agony and shame with the spate of adverse international publicity for Malaysia which is not helpful at all in enhancing the nation’s competitiveness to ensure the success of the Ninth Malaysia Plan, the National Mission and Vision 2020.

#1 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:16 am
The issue really is both Rais, Hamid and the PM has not made ANY NEW ARGUMENT we have NOT heard before. Its standard platitudes.
Singapore and other Asian nations have done the same kind of protesting when the US and others make these kinds of statements BUT their ministers and official take their CASE to them making solid arguments and even though they do not win the argument, they do make their case.
These guys are NOT making their case. In a the court of global opinion, they are losing big time and worst they don’t care, hiding in the sand, don’t feel they have to. Its not that different than Mugabe’s way – the damage is just less but nevertheless significant.
#2 by taiking on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:40 am
I quote this from a comment above:
“mahathir did lead the country from the 3rd world backwaters to developing nation status. it is a compliment”
Its quoted out of context of course. But I just would like to add a view. When we have progressed from third world backwaters to developing nation status, Korea, taiwan, hk, Singapore have move to developed nation status in the same time span.
And Dr.M’s greatest contribution in his 22yrs? The creation of an elite group of mega greedy power crazy umnoputras.
And the present PM is guilty of allowing the creation to trive and grow.
Someone in this blogsite reminded me of the RAHMAN thingy – and commented that “N” could be Ng Yen2. That’s a nice one.
Going by the order of things, indications show that Najib will be the next PM (that’s what Badawi said although how Najib can do it when he is engulfed in controversies is a real wonder) about two years from now – or middle of this term before the next GE.
If the RAHMAN thingy is true, does it mean that our country will be without an UMNO PM after Najib? If the writings on the wall is true i.e. that UMNO is on the downhill ride, does it mean that UMNO will end this term, and a new political face will appear in our nation after the next GE?
Summon Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny pls, someone. Quickly. There is something X about the whole matter.
#3 by kutlakut on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 10:40 am
Goodness gracious! What the hell we have for leaders of our country? Listen to this: ‘KUALA LUMPUR: Terengganu can keep its 14 Mercedes Benzes bought for RM3.43mil recently but they can only be used for foreign dignitaries.
That was the decision reached by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Terengganu Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said.’
How many and how often foreign dignitaries visit Trengganu? 14 mercs in the garage!! Can you believe it? Not even a slap on the wrist!!
Here is another: ‘ PUTRAJAYA: Malaysia hopes that other countries, in commenting on allegations of sodomy against Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, will respect Malaysia’s sovereignty as a country with its own set of laws.
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said the Malaysian Government would always act in accordance with the country’s laws.’
Good grief! Respecting our country’s law was never in question. The bottom line is trump up charges against Anwar and blatant, infamously prejudiced judiciary… are what foreigners are up in arms against – because we the populace is helpless in confronting dictatorial state powers. They are doing what our so-called subservient leaders have failed to do. Speak up for god’s sake.
We have one too many John Conyers in the ruling class. (Conyers role is to stop Bush’s impeachment!)
On second thoughts, they better don’t! They will put themselves to more shame.
Inaptitude is rife in this governance! If the AG was an able fella in his profession we would not have lost Pulau Putih to Singapore. Their legal advisors (Singapore) knew perfectly well that ours would fail to put forward a convincing case and therefore they enticed this law failure to IJC.
How much more we have to lose before laidback, outback elected representatives who are given the power to act, step in and do the honourable thing – sack the BN.
#4 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:22 am
Both the Home minister and the Foreign minister should resign immediately after the interference by America and respected people of the world.Just drop the case and let Annuar go free.The complainant should be referred to the Syariah court where the accusation will be nullified.The planned move orchestrated by the police and Umno had failed badly.It is better to close now before we are tarnished internationally.Day by day, support for Annuar is growing.The people of Malysia are really behind Annuar because they want a clean government.PKR is on its way so give in honourably.
#5 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 11:50 am
Compared to the annus horribilis of queen elizabeth, anwar’s anus saifulis is much, much worse
#6 by pselvams on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 12:03 pm
YB LKS. I sincerely hope you do not mind me using your site to seek info.
Readers of MT, please advise when the “An evening with an accomplice” part 2 will appear. I really cannot wait for more relevations from RPK.
#7 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 12:12 pm
isahbiazhar Wrote:
Today at 11: 22.06 (8 minutes ago)
“……Just drop the case and let Annuar go free……”
—————————————————————-
The government, at this juncture, would not drop charges against Anwar. Should they do so, they are perceived as tacitly admit the sodomy accusation against Anwar is a frame-up. That also implies the 1998 sodomy charge was also a frame-up.
To save face, the government would probably bring the case to court and then release Anwar in the “absence of concrete evidence”. By so doing the government give the world community the impression that they have been fair to Anwar and that their rotten integrity and morals will not be wagged finger at by the world community.
The government may have to think very hard whether to release Anwar after court proceedings because they know once he is released, he will take over federal government.
Let us wait and see how events unfold.
#8 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 1:04 pm
Can the Bar Council do something to stop this endless circus of our effete leaders with assinine remarks protecting the so called rule of law? And the lawyers, maybe another Lawyers’ March to Putrajaya?
#9 by qookhoo on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 4:57 pm
LOL…
If this Hamid has a head…
LOL…
#10 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 5:10 pm
UMNO ministers like to criticize other countries like Israel but cannot take criticism from leaders from other countries. What a bunch of hypocrites we have!!!
I am ashamed of the leaders of this country. No, I don’t consider UMNO leaders as the leader of my country.
#11 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:12 pm
Dear Onkyua,
Many thanks for your remarks. I thought you are not interested on my view.
In the first place, I am not an UMNO apologist . I am not even an UMNO members. Perhaps you are not aware how I criticize UMNO, PAS not to mention PKR, also DAP.
THe truth is that for some countries, Dr Mahathir, Abdullah had already been guilty. Dr Mahathir, in his usual self is an outspoken PM. He, unlike some Western Leaders who are more concerned about rating, could not be bothered with whether people like him or not.
They do not like him. But they respect him. One of my Saudi friend indeed asked me why we( meaning people like you or DAP) hate him when they admire him.
AS for Anwar, well there is nothing to be afraid of if he is not guilty. Why not he follows the advice by the esteemed Mufti of Perlis. Use the time honoured method among muslims to emphasize one’s honesty; that is swearing in the name of Allah and wishimg for divine punishment should you lie.
I take it you do not understand such a significant move. This is considered the act of ultimate truth.
It may not have any legal implication though. But it will enhance your reputation among Muslim community.
So, what is he waiting for? OR is he hiding something. As for incident of Anwar’s entourage intercepted by police, well Anwar is alive and healthy here. What is the problem then?
Please understand that the police is not accompanying the Queen to open a flower arranging competition. Some measure of firmness is required here.
As goes the saying, the truth shall prevail. By the way, please understand that the claim on homosexuality was first publicly said by Mohd Sabu, Vice President of PAS. Even Karpal challegened Dr Mahathir to sack Anwar before he was actually sacked.
I respect Dr Mahathir on his courage to tell the truth about Anwar. He took the risk on his political life and that of BN.
#12 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 7:18 pm
DEar Citizenwatch,
Before Bar Council and the august President, Ambiga should try another walk to Putrajaya, perhaps they should address to the rising cases of dishonest lawyers.
#13 by oct on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:01 pm
The ex-MB is suing the current MB for defamation on the repair of his car as the current MB has indicated his (ex-MB) car repair bill was RM200k+. However, it was also noted that this ex-MB is overseas (France) to attend a management course.
WOW! Loser can also be sent overseas to attend a 6 month management course. Mind you, it is in France and I believe the language is French. Does our ex-MB understand French? Or English as well? Don’t think he is attending this course with his own money. Must be our Rakyat money. What sort of management course did he need after all he was an MB who should be very competent in Management. What about our local university or INTAN? Aren’t the management course conducted by them good enough for him? It looks like a good 6 month holiday for him to enjoy and watch some can can show as well. When the govt asks us to tighten our belt, they spend our rakyat money by attending oversea course for a period of 6 months.
Mr Lim. Please find out from Parliament what course is he studying and also find out the bill for the course including his stay in Paris. Don’t think it is a small amount.
#14 by catharsis on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:38 pm
OUR “FIRST WORLD” MINISTERS HAVE BEEN SPINNING THEIR RHETORICS ALL THIS WHILE- THEIR STATEMENTS WOULD CERTAINLY SOUND GOOD WITH NO PUBLIC SCRUTINY AND CRITICISMS……………………UNLIKE THESE DAYS WHEN EVERY STATEMENT THEY MAKE ARE SUBJECTED TO PUBLIC CRITICS- LOOKS LIKE THEY DON’T MUCH OF A SUBSTANCE GROUND TO STAND ON
#15 by cucu adam on Saturday, 26 July 2008 - 9:47 pm
We are made to believe that we are pursuing to attain a first class world mentality. How far is the truth in this statement. Only UMNO/BN and their cronies believe in this. What is rather strange is that UMNO/BN has really not learned from their defeat in the previous general election.
Realising 16th. September is getting closer, every effort and time are being geared towards retaining power in the country at whatever cost. It will be a good efforts if collectively we could list out the various scandalous events that had taken place over the 50 years period BN/UMNO (Perikatan/UMNO) ruled Malaysia. Here are just some of them and hopefully they will be others who could continue to list out those shamfully events (not in a chronological order):
1. Sacking of Tun Salleh Abas as Chief Justice of Malaysia
2. The Sacking of 5 Judges following sacking of Tun Salleh
3. Constitutional Crisis with the Malay Rulers
4. Sacking of Anuar Ibrahim as Deputy PM
5. Operation Lallang
Just to name the 5 events above. I hope others will add more to the list. All you need to do is cut and paste and continue to list out the events that have not been listed yet.
Thanks.
#16 by Rakyat Teraniaya on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 6:24 am
after that shaubery guy’s total humiliation at the hands of Datuk Seri Anwar, rais botak want to gain popularity also what! That shaubery foam in mouth fool suddenly became famous overnight with his ill prepared attempt to humiliate DSAI, now rais wants to trump shaubery by making a bigger fool of himself in front of 96 diplomats? But the joker of the lot has to be badawi with his new law of dna science that it expires after 10years! I wonder,did khairy put him up to that to back stab him? Could be, could be. We might see khairy attempting to challenge badawi next?
#17 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 27 July 2008 - 10:48 am
Anwar has created a ‘storm’ in the international political & diplomatic arena by exposing the weaknesses of the BN government for the last 50 years or so. He is a ntional hero in a sense by exposing the abuses, excessess, corruption, mismanagement, nepotism and cronism practiced by the power that be.
It is conter productive of Hamid to take pain and resources to ‘explain’ the osdomy case to the diplomats from other countries just because of the case. Is that necessary?
If they are righteously correct why the necessity to specifically brief diplomats on just a so called internal localised case against Anwar? Some smells fishy here again.
#18 by justice fighter on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 1:02 am
The Truth is Out There…
Doctor on the run: police want him to fabricate evidence against Anwar
http://w2.malaysia-today.net/content/view/10433/1/
#19 by good coolie on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 12:50 pm
According to Minister Hamid, the U.S. is wrong with regard to Guantanamo, therefore Malaysia is right to prosecute/persecute Annuar. Our ministers do not like adverse foreign comments on Malaysia’s internal affairs; if the comments are favourable, however, our ministers will admire them enough to frame them up in glass. By the way, the U.S. is not going to follow the Asean principle of non-interference: no closing one eye and shutting the other with respect to the nonsense going on in Malaysia!
#20 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 6:04 pm
It is unfortunate that with so much potential, Malaysia remains supressed by the incompetencies of it’s leadership. At this point in time, there remain no visionaries nor worthy leaders within the main political parties; this also includes the short-sighted, amphibian called Anwar.