Letters
by J.Y.

I am a frequent user of our North-South Expressway and I have this
IMPORTANT experience to highlight and share:-

I was driving back to Penang yesterday afternoon (24 June 08) when I saw
the unfortunate accident in the opposite direction involving the passenger
bus that skidded and overturned at Tanjung Malim. I didn’t know that the
skidded bus was from hometown Penang untill I watched TV3 news later in the
evening and was shocked to learn that the accident took two lives.

Now, this is what I need to share:-

I am a building contractor with over twenty years of experience and I have
been driving my 5 series BMW (latest generation and a dammed solid road
holding car) each time I travelled to KL. Lately, the new extended 3 lanes
highway had been opened up for use and since then, I have also been using
it quite oftenly.

HOWEVER, when I used it each time it is WET, I can really ‘feel’ that the new road surface is extremely SLIPPERY! To share with some of you, my car comes with a built-in traction control mechanism (skidding prevention mechanism) and you can feel it each time it is activated. Previously, I don’t come across this kind of slippery feel except when I drive over a
paddle of water at certain speed.

From my observation as a building contractor, the ‘wearing course’ of the new road surface could be TOO FINE OR TOO SMOOTH and TOTALLY UNSUITABLE for highway use!

The wearing course (top premix layer) mix design for highways should be of minimum 20mm coarse aggregate mix that will give us the required bond between the surface and our tyres. Fine wearing course (14mm coarse aggregate size and below) is only suitable for normal road. (A proper test need to be carried out to determine the mix design of the wearing course).

Since the opening of the three lanes highway, I had seen cars skidding in front me or in the opposite direction and approximately 2 weeks ago, one of my friends who is also a frequent user of our NSE, came to share with me about his slippery feeling as well as the many skidded cars he had seen lately.

I am highlighting this to TV3 and The Star with the hope that a thorough investigation could be carried out immediately to find out how or what causes the bus to skid. A proper and independent test need to be carried out urgently to determine the design mix of the wearing course. THIS CAN SAVE LIVES.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 8:55 am

yhsiew,tis will cause danger to other road users,i suggest put on another layer of rough tar as the specs mentioned by jy,and sliding toward the left to enable water to flow faster to the drain.

guys,meanwhile,you must change your tyres if the thickness is less than 3mm!dun trust the road too much!

when it is raining,do not exceed 80 km speed,you be saved!

2. #2 by stjames on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 9:19 am

Opp. needs to put forward a new de facto leader as a credible PM for PR.

Cant comment on DSAI’s sodomy cases, but the fact is being ex-UMNO/DPM, there is too much against him, more will be hurled at him & some rakyat still have doubts about DSAI, all of which will be a drag to PR as a whole. Notwithstanding that, DSAI is equally important for PR to win, but he is better of playing kingmaker/strategist than PM to be, for the sake of PR, for the sake of rakyat.

3. #3 by Damocles on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 9:22 am

Are Malaysians expected to just accept shoddy products and services lying down? – Myint3

Myint3, where else in the world but Bolehland do the residents have to fight the government, especially the local councils, tooth and nail to get what is rightfully theirs?
    Where else do you find local councils hiding behind regulations that prevent their prosecution for causing disasters due to their misdeeds?
    After fifty years of free fall into the abyss, we need to change the government fast, very, very fast!
    Life isn’t that long and we have no more time to listen to their shit!

4. #4 by taiking on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 9:28 am

Roads too slippery because of fine wearing course. Yes definately. Traction control can do little when wheels go into a free spin.

In construction (building works as well as roadworks) terminology, coarse aggregates are not the same as fine aggregates. The former refers to “stones” and the latter are actually “sands”. Coarse aggregates are graded by their size which is measured (roughly) along its diameter. In reality no such measurements are ever made. Instead they are selected by a simple sieving process using sieves of the appropriate sieve sizes.

Larger diamater coarse aggregates are preferred for roadworks and they must be crushed as well for their angular properties to be maximised. And the aggregates must be clean of vegetations and fine materials like sand and silt etc before they are mixed and laid.

Larger diameter coarse aggregates makes hardier roads too and they are better for heavy vehicular use. All road users must have noticed a common sight where a road surface seems to just fold up into a little raised crumple in the middle of the road. Small diameter coarse aggregates tend to ride over each other more easily when they come under the forward push force which is exerted by breaking tyres. The heavier the vehicle the greater the force.

Anyone who is planning a trip to UK, do remember to pay some attention to the motorway surface there. Of course, we must be mindful that road construction techniques adopted there cannot be applied wholesale here in malaysia because of difference in weather condition.

Let get back to the issue. But why use small diameter coarse aggregates? They are generally easier to work with. That is a fact. That would mean a faster job too.

Does it translate into lower costs? Less aggregates would be needed if one uses larger diameter aggregates when compared with smaller diameter ones. Aggregates are sold by weight. But it is usual for sale of aggregates to be transacted on the basis of truck loads i.e. one lorry load = $x.

So really there is not much cost advantage for one to use small diameter coarse aggregates because one would need more of them.

So it must be the time factor. To finish the job quickly so that more travellers would use the roads. That would mean more toll collections.

5. #5 by lawrence chin nyen chiong on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 9:49 am

There are few factors contribute to this kind of effect :
    1) Materials used in road building
    2) Speed
    3) Handling
    4) Knowledge
    5) Awareness

One way to identified what is ahead in raining situation is that beware of shinny roads. Once you see the road with shinny conditions, there are 2 possibilities.
    First, it is fill with stagnant water. This condition will be very dangerous to proceed with high speed, any 70KPH above will send the vehicle skid off effects. The lighter the vehicle, the more easily it will suffer. Likewise, heavy vehicle are less likely but once it reach the skid off effects, the chances of counter controlling is slim or sometimes impossible.
    Secondly, like what JY has mentioned, the road was build with unsuitable materials where it is too fine for highway usage. Such situation will mostly send the vehicle with over steer & under steer effects, both will be very lethal in highways. We are not trained to drive with such over & under steer conditions, With traction control, it helps but 95% of the vehicles in malaysia do not fit with this function.
    Therefore, the best alternative is to look ahead of the road and identify it weather it is in “shinny condition”.
    Speed control is the far most of all accidental avoidance. Knowing when to slow down & speed up will definately save lives. Driving high speed in rainny conditions are no doubt seeking troubles, where as driving too slow in such high speed carriage will be no angels neither. This will cause trouble too, as others will tend to over take and likely to add up up accidental possibilities.
    Being aware all the time do really save everybody from troubles, espeacially in long distance driving, our alertness will reduce with time. Therefore, having short breaks rather than one long shot to reach destination is advisable. After all we are human being, we cannot concerntrate for a very long period. Always adjust your seats to the distance fits to your level. Many motorist tend to seat too near towards the steering wheel, making an 90 deg or less with your arm. This will cause you incapability to steer efficently when in time of counter steer is needed. Sitting too far away with leaning backwards excessively will cause visual incapability thus it will be health hazard. Such manner will cause you spinal problems in times to come & moreover your kidneys will be hurt without you knowing it.

6. #6 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:03 am

/// myint3 Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 33.53
    I truly believe that Malaysians are capable. They are as good as their counterpart in Singapore. ///

Yes. More than that – the counterparts in Singapore are probably Malaysians. Just that they are not wanted or appreciated in their own country and have to seek a living in Singapore. Some have even become Singaporeans.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:10 am

At least one piece of good news: Congratulations to Dr Lennard Lee who created history by becoming the first Malaysian/Asian to swim across the Straits of Gibraltar!

8. #8 by Godfather on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:12 am

Don’t suffer the illusion of being able to sue PLUS. It is a Khazanah company. Furthermore, before it was nationalised and put under Khazanah, it was part of the Renong Group, and guess who was the lawyer acting for Renong then ? None other than the current President of the Court of Appeals.

This is Bolehland. We have to depend on “alignment of interests” i.e. as long as our interests are the same as the ruling BN, then all will be fine. As long as UMNOputras use the highway, they will ensure that complaints are taken care of, and not swept under the carpet.

9. #9 by tonysam18 on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:15 am

JY thanks for the update on the N-S expressway condition and the state of the art BMW that you are using. The info update was very useful and I will certainly drive at 80kmh or below when in the wet on the expressway. But to ask the present government to be held responsible and do an indepth study on the material that was used in the road construction ? ?? Fat hope .

We will hve to wait for some Ministers’ car to skid and crash on the NS Expressway first. Then you will see immediate action being taken. Otherwise, please wait.

10. #10 by amz1608 on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:38 am

I’ve heard this issue before, actually its not entirely about money, its more about comfort. having a more course surface will make more tyre noise, although it will have more grip. I heard that some Malaysians complain of the tyre noise due to the more rough highway surface, thats why PLUS opt for a more fine surface on the highway… so according to this theory, PLUS or the menteri’s for that matter, are not entirely to blame here

11. #11 by r-ptr on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:44 am

8 July 08

Off Topic -
    Just saw the bocor MP showing bad sign in Parliament. Get the gangster suspended for his action.

12. #12 by pjboy on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:52 am

I don’t agree with this guy while I sympathised with what happened to the bus. This contractor will be issued with all the speeding summons from today. Driving a bigger car does not give the right to drive faster or expect others to give way. Nor should the highway be made to accomodate big & fast cars – when driving safely should be the main issue. Maybe he didn’t change his tyres? The PDRM will be going after him today. I have also seen BMW 740 spun on the N-S hway & it was going well over 200km/hr from the look of it. It was like gone in 1 sec after overtaking me. About 1km away, it was already destroyed, both ends of the car gone, 2 other innocent car were victims of this reckless driver…it started to rain so I went to the nearest toll phone to call in the emergency. Whether the road is suitable or not suitable, the steering wheel is in our hands.

The other matter that should be pursued is toll truck operators sabotaging the highways with oil. Ever noticed how fast they appear when there is an accident? It’s like they just drop from the sky, & not just one but few.

13. #13 by lun boleh on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:57 am

To ‘half pass six’ contracts and half baked professionals all this people from umno BUMIPUTERA MELAYU BODOH .ANY BODY FROM UMNO THER ARE SOMBONG. Melayu are good people but from UMNO …………………………

14. #14 by daryl on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 11:29 am

This definetly require investigation but there is another thing Malaysia’s drivers need to be aware off. Do not drive like a maniac and respect the rules and regulation when driving. If the PDRM decide to give out summons for tail gating I bet they can make a killing. No wonder traffic accident is the highest killer in Malaysia. The last time I went home I feel like if I have a gun in my hand I would have shot about 60 % of te drivers for being rude and driving dangerously.

15. #15 by limkamput on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 12:09 pm

All the problems we see today, from tolled roads, IPPs, APs, to supply shortage and inflation are due to one thing – the deeply entrenched rent seeking culture and cronyism that the government has inculcated over the years since Mahathir. Malaysia will NEVER change unless we get rid of this culture. Right now, I do not see the will or the urgency to change among the ruling elites. They are governing in total ignorance and oblivion of what is going on. They have no skill, no knowledge, no expertise and no discernment. They only have greed and politicking. This country has been lucky so far. We were never in good hands. Don’t ever attribute the little economic progress we achieved to Mahathir again. That will be the most moronic thing to do.

16. #16 by laufuzhe28 on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 12:50 pm

Sorry, a little digression. Did you guys watch the live dewan telecast this morning on tv1. If you had, you would have notice what Kinabatangan MP did – an unpleasant vulgar hand sign!

17. #17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 1:14 pm

Bet the aca has also shelved moves to investigate Botak Yong for corruption
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/2288222/Article/index_html

18. #18 by TTDI_KL on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 1:23 pm

Sdr Lim, why are you remaining silent on the massive cancellation of federal projects and allocations to Penang? Does the money in the Treasury belong to BN? It is time to take off the glove on those who systematically undermine Penang. Demand from the federal government how much of the federal tax revenue had come from Penang. This bloody racist politics must stop.

19. #19 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 2:20 pm

It could be just the writer’s “perception” of the feeling, it may not be the “truth”, and people treat the perception and the truth as the one and the same as said by our PM Abdullah.

So is there any proof of any wrong doing? What then is the issue?

20. #20 by badak on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 4:47 pm

Want to know why corruption is so high in Malaysia.From 2000 to 2006, more 70,000 corruption cases was reported to ACA.Less then 7000 cases was investicated .Only 582 people was convicted in a court of law.
    With this kind of figures given.If a chance even the gardener in PM office will be corrupted.That is why we are 43rd spot at the CPI.If we look at the figures. Only 1 person a year was convicted. I won,t blame anyone who things that even ACA officers are corrupted.

21. #21 by mhchew on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 4:53 pm

On NS highway everyone mentioning only slippery. I feel that newly surface 3rd line is uneven when u go 100km/h and slippery. The workmanship is poor. Its contributes to road accident which is dangerous to road user. I hopefully Plus does not leave current state of road to user usage.

22. #22 by pjboy on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 6:56 pm

No lah according to Kinabatangan MP, from what I see in RPK news posted, he was doing the butterfly sign to the opposition. Must have learnt it from Barney – The Purple Dinosaur CDs. Anyway, that’s how the ruling gov treat us all rakyat, like kindergarten kids.

Everytime there is a major project, a huge signboard will state “Satu Lagi Projek Kerajaan BN”…it should be “Satu Lagi Projek Untuk Rakyat, DiBayar Oleh Rakyat Tanpa Apa-apa Komisyen Kepada BN Dan Krony-krony BN”. As if, the money used for the job came from their own deep pockets. Only the animals in the zoo will believe it.

Even if borrowed $, this would have been marked-up grossly for their own takings or small part go to political party. In the end, we the Rakyat, are the ones having to bear for it…& probably for a few generations.

Come to think of it, how much longer do WE have to pay for the financing of the Penang Bridge? It’s coming to 20 years now.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 6:33 am

So there is another nincompoop living in TTDI. God! How many nincompoops are there??

24. #24 by limkamput on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 7:59 am

undergrad2 says “One buttock talking to another – cheek to cheek!”

you are wrong again. it is my buttock to your cheek. you never learn, best of both worlds.

25. #25 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 6:24 pm

Highway Authority Malaysia had given a written reply in the Star newspaper on 8/7/08 in the letter to the editor section of the paper.

There is nothing wrong with the design and the construction of the 3rd lane and according to HAM stringent tests had been conducted on the finished lane and closely supervised during construction.

So the perception of the BMW driver remained as his perception and his ‘feel’ only. Can’t really prove anything even with the BMW car.

26. #26 by JY on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 11:14 pm

The issue in contention here is not about the certainty on short-changing of work specification, but the worrisome on the “consciousness of knowledge” on the suitability of the design mix specification of the wearing course. Such fear can only be alleviated after the required tests are carefully conducted and the results “appropriately” revealed.

27. #27 by Rose Fashion on Thursday, 10 July 2008 - 3:37 pm

I agree.

28. #28 by Rose Fashion on Thursday, 10 July 2008 - 3:41 pm

I had a very bad experience using the highway. Thanks to Samy Valu for leaving behind so many semi value assets to the people. As a businessman, we have to suffer from the high charges and at the end we risk the life of our family and friends. What a disgrace for Malaysia!

Kerry
    lingerie wholesaler

29. #29 by taiking on Thursday, 10 July 2008 - 5:38 pm

Highway tested and OKed following standards.
    Very well said.
    In engineering, there are differing standards for things depending on the use to which they are put.
    So passing a test, as in satisfying the requirements of a certain standard, can be deceiving and outright meaningless.
    And it will remain so matter how strict the supervision was during construction and how thorough the subsequent tests were.

30. #30 by negarawan on Saturday, 12 July 2008 - 12:00 am

So has any MP brought up this issue in parliament yet?

31. #31 by bluefishman on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 6:49 am

To prevent accidents? built a HUMP every 3km…….

32. #32 by ryelim on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 10:14 pm

I have always wanted to voice my observations in PJ on the Tarmac on our PJ road resurfacing.
    Now you have hit the nail on the head with this message above.
    Over the years, due to corruptions, Malaysians have suffered. Now lives are in danger.
    Contractors have been cheating on the materials used for resurfacing. When rubber price was high in the last 2-3 years, butimen which used lots of rubber were adulterated.
    What we get although looked nice and new are in fact just Blackened SAND. This made the roads dangerous with sand and is slippery.
    Within a week after resurfacing and having the garbage lorry dripping on the re-surfaced road, one can see that groves along the road where the leaks from garbage lorry leaved on the road. This means the materials used is incorrect.
    Who check and pay these bad / dangerous jobs??
    Maybe better not to re-surface them.
    Materials composition used to do the job has been cheated. This can kill. Please KILL corrupt parties to the poor job not road users.

33. #33 by YuraYong on Tuesday, 30 March 2010 - 6:45 pm

I notice some nasty accident @ North South Highway last Sunday (28/3/2010).
    Road condition wet because of rain. It involved 4 to 5 cars. If what I read above even if half truth, then the more reason you have to be worried.
    I am not sure exactly what happen because I was in a bus travelling from KL to BW. But passing by I saw a car skided sideway, one banked very bad at the back, one or two damaged and I remembered few people lying on the floor with bloods. So for frequent traveller, be extra careful esp. rainy day. Judging from the condition of last car I saw (banked very bad from behind), I guessed the first car slowed down, then rest follow too fast or too close.

34. #34 by YuraYong on Tuesday, 30 March 2010 - 6:51 pm

28/3/2010. Travelling in bus from KL to BW. Saw accident involving 4 to 5 cars. Few persons lying on floor with blood. 1 car side way skidded. 1 car behind badly broken. 1 car front badly broken. It was raining. So North South 3 lane user, beware! Accident happen before Ipoh. Not sure if it was before Sabak Bernam. Scary!