Another Ops Lalang in the works?

(Speech at the 2,000-People DAP Batu Pahat dinner in Batu Pahat, Johore on Friday, 4th July 2008 at 10 pm)

In Parliament last evening (Thursday), the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told reporters that the people should not to listen to rumours of an impending emergency rule.

He said:

“The government was stable. The security is under control. Everything is under control. Don’t believe anything you hear.

“I don’t think anybody should be worry. There are too many rumours.”

Rumours have indeed become very rife in recent times, with Abdullah as Prime Minister under siege since the March general election 125 days ago – from both inside Umno, Barisan Nasional and outside.

In practice, rumours should not be given much credibility. However, in Malaysia’s political culture and tight mainstream media control, rumours have greater credibility than other countries as many rumours had subsequently proven true than the many official denials issued by purported authoritative sources.

The latest rumour is that there is mounting pressure in the corridors of power for strong-armed measures to invoke draconian and undemocratic laws to deal with dissent, raising questions whether the country is on the threshold of a major clampdown against dissent – with the Abdullah government facing deepening public crisis of confidence, whether from the failure to deliver belated reforms in the past four months, inability to deal with a worsening economic scenario, public protests at the unconscionable increase in oil prices sparking all-round inflation or the mishandling of the political crisis like the high-profile C4 murder of the Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu.

I call on the Prime Minister to give categorical assurance that he will stay true to his pledges of democratic and human rights reforms and not launch another Ops Lalang with mass Internal Security Act (ISA) arrests of Opposition leaders to seek an ”easy” but short-sighted way out of his political siege to consolidate his power position.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by pjboy on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 1:27 am

1st: how can we trust someone who constantly lie. 2nd: for someone who managed to fool TDM to hand over the no.1 seat, is not all totally dumb. There’s a saying: the most dangerous person is the one who is silent.

All the events that took place since has been too coincidental. There’s something up in BN-Umno’s sleeve. They will not concede defeat no matter the cost; even at the cost of the country.

As BN-Umno leaders always preached, “party comes first”…not the country or it’s rakyat. Too many worms sealed in cans that cannot fall into the hands of PR. That’s the evidence that will lead to the destruction of BN-Umno.

That’s also probably why TDM resigned & asked others to follow & not to join PR, but to remain as independent. This is so that PR don’t become the next ruling gov. TDM also has the same objective, do not allow PR to form the next gov. The excuse was to save BN-Umno, that’s not his priority. In fact it was to save himself & his gang of thieves who were robbed by the current ruling gov.

What you do to others, others will do to you. This has been written over 2000 years ago. Yet, those who preach about how holy & God-fearing they are do not seem to know this commandment.

At this stage, looks like BN-Umno is like the wounded tiger when cornered. This is my theory.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 2:24 am

It is strange for the chief of police the IGP to be heard making a statement like the Army could be called in to enforce public order. Isn’t that role left to the police? Is he saying that he could not rely on his officers to do the job. Why does he think they could not be depended upon?

With that statement the IGP could be seen as usurping the role of the head of the executive branch who is the country’s Commander-in-Chief. What is our PM doing??

3. #3 by clear conscience on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:37 am

To all young Malaysian who may not have that liberty to knwo what happened to DSAI in 1998, please view this video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFejBNMcvJ8

4. #4 by clear conscience on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:41 am

To all Malaysians,

This is worth looking into which I had posted on http://test.chedet.com/che_det/2008/07/anwar.html#comments

I am apolitical which I must first of all say it clear here.

It appears Malaysia is facing the “calm” before the storm. Even the “calm” has been boiling beyond the usual temperature.

Lots of accusation here and there; merely due to greed in all those involved in bringing Malaysia into such a storm; including present and past leaders from whichever camp or side. Differing ideologies in politics is a prerogative of each politician but no matter what, when one enters politics, one must uphold certain ethics as expected of him/her but be guided by the principles of the rule of “law”. “Rule of law”, here by my perception, must be within the words of God; irrespective of whatever religion he/she may believe in.

In all respects, why are we so subjected to the uncalled for upheavals, one after another and further aggravated by those in power presently or in the past? I believe most centric and God fearing Malaysians would see this call from God via his WORDS but there are still many Malaysian; whatever their position and status may be, the basic principles underlying our believe in God’s words must be the undeniable guidance in carrying out our lives. Live meaningfully here, all Malaysians. Live by the words of our professed religion and uphold all such tenets of the religious confessions (confessions here, I mean when each decided to believe in any of his religion, he would have confessed in doing so; otherwise leave the religion!).

If we don’t, await judgment in facing HIM for whatever “deeds” we conduct here on earth. Remember, we get what we do. By “do”, here I specifically remind all Malaysians that it includes accusations, fitnah, oppression, not helping the needy, etc etc other than what is “called” for by God. That includes Malaysian people by the large who follow blindly; believing their “leaders”; irrespective whether their leaders are right or wrong. We have to use our judgment; one which cannot be usurp by anyone; either through words or persuasion.

Should anyone be misleading or allow himself/herself of being misled, he/she is equally guilty of God’s words.

Common on, all Malaysians. Do not bring in the circus of all great times. We are now faced with so many problems and we will not be spared of the global crisis. Let’s stand firm, have a “tulang belakang”, be counted as a vertebrae being to judge for ourselves all those broils that surround us in Malaysia. Look forward, let bygones be bygones and move forward. We must not be blind in our vision and let’s not forget God gave us a great brain!!!

5. #5 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:56 am

Whether operasi lalang or grass, this is the only way to strengthen the police and the army.The government has no way out.It is beyond their control.To rule the country, all opposition leaders including Hindraf will be put behind bars.The government will hold an election while all the opposition will be deemed unfit to stand in an election.Umno and BN will win and the country will be back where Mahathir wants;Malay supremacy and Tuanism.Chinese and Indian Tuanism will be in China and India.This is Malaysia and the Tuanism will be the Malays.Those who want to change can go back to the country of origin.This will be the talk everywhere.Unless America, China and India come in we will see the repeat .There never be any other political party other than Umno and Barisan!

6. #6 by Kathy on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 6:50 am

mecharojak Says:

Today at 00: 09.25 (6 hours ago)
    allout,
    Demonstrations can also turn out peaceful.
    Freedom is not free, people have to fight for it, may even cost lives.

Slavery of the mind, is what i meant. Always afraid of challenging authority. Don’t speak up when the authority bully you with unjust taxes and intimidation.

allout Says:

Today at 00: 24.05 (6 hours ago)
    Mecharojak,

I agree with you that demonstrations can also turn out peaceful, but the risk are high that it will turn ugly.

I understand your aspiration to change the government, but it have to go through the ballot box.

Mecharojak, I do agree that it is all about the mental slavery that many Malaysians are caught in and not the physical kind. We need to learn to stand up to ask questions that affect us. Don’t just sit there and do nothing.

And to Allout, it takes more than the ballot box to make changes for the betterment of the nation. Though I personally agree that demostration may lead to an undesirable situation, but it may also be just a peaceful show of support by fellow Malaysians on matters that are concern to all.

It would be better for us to spend more time praying to GOD (in all our respective religions for guidance in this matter).

7. #7 by bolehlandor on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 7:24 am

Being peace loving folks what do u do when your very being is threatened? Not only that but other beings in bolehland suffer the same malady posed deliberately by the gomen? U do not keep quiet and suffer the fear & wait for the threat to materialise! U must act decisively in the best way possible to safeguard all that is precious including personal liberty BUT NOT capitulate to the evil gomen. That unfortunately is the plight of poor beings in bolehland nowadays – every minute of every day no thanks to the boys on fourth floor!!!

8. #8 by allout on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 9:09 am

kathy,

you are right, this morning I have already went to the temple to pray for peace.

9. #9 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 9:26 am

Don’t forget to pray for all nincompoops in this world so they may see the light!

10. #10 by rainbowseahorse on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 10:17 am

Looks like beginning of mass panic in Malaysia!

Ok, here’s not a too far fetch scenario of Malaysia future which I wrote in another thread.

The military takes over West Malaysia and cutting loose the States of Sabah & Sarawak (due to insufficient military manpower).

The Southern Philippines Moro immediately take advantage of the situation and swarm Sabah with even more of their people with the large numbers who are already there, and declared a Moro Independent State.

Sarawak, dominated by super rich & powerful Chinese businessmen, also seized the opportunity to declares her independence and might even linked up with Singapore for protection (who is backed by the Americans).

So there! Everybody gets what they want… and even the ex-Malaysians, because by then they would be referred to as “Ex-Malaysian” and no more Bumiputras and Non-Bumiputras!

11. #11 by Damar Noor Hop Liew on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 12:40 pm

As a PM sure will say like thatlah, “I don’t think anybody should be worry. There are too many rumours.” Hey, dont treat us — Malaysian like blind & deaf lah, we know wat is going on lah.Rememberlah, no wind, no wave.
    Actually wat use of ISA ? Forgive me these poor knowledge guy. Is it ISA stands for a authority will perform to safe our PM when he is threatenned by something?? So, the ISA is the short form of I Save Abdullah ?? Really sorry ha, if i really in mistake and please correct me if i am wrong….

12. #12 by riversandlakes on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 1:58 pm

The gov was stable – maybe he meant back in TDM days.

13. #13 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 3:49 pm

undergrad2 says: “It is strange for the chief of police the IGP to be heard making a statement like the Army could be called in to enforce public order. With that statement the IGP could be seen as usurping the role of the head of the executive branch who is the country’s Commander-in-Chief. What is our PM doing??”

What is so strange about the statement unless one is a mega nincompoop? If one could not see the collusion and conspiracy that are going on, that person should rightly be termed mega nincompoop. He/she should not to be here. He/she should quietly enjoy his/her afternoon tea in Central Park. Good for nothing best of both worlds hypocrite.

14. #14 by Damocles on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 3:58 pm

“So why the urgent need for the PR’s de facto head to generate the ‘reformasi’ wave via rallies and demonstrations to precipitate direct confrontation against the government and keepers of law and order giving the warlords on the other side all the requisite excuse and pretext to launch a crack down and even emergency rule to preserve their positions under the name of law & order?” – Jeffrey

So, Jeffrey, what do you suggest?
    Every time the BN (UMNO) government did something outrageous, we all keep quiet?
    Everything is fair in war and politics and if you have an advantage, you’ll use it to the hilt!
    I think that this government has every intention of holding on to power come what may and even if you keep as quiet as a mouse, it matters not!
    Also, by keeping quiet, Malaysians may have the impression that the government is right. When it is not!

15. #15 by Damocles on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:17 pm

“Fight for your rights people. Believe in the principles of righteousness and justice. I for one, will not ever bow down to the corrupt government.” – Synthia

How right, Synthia
    We have been held to ransom by the spectre of May 13 for far, far too long.
    A government that holds its people to such threats is not fit to govern!

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 6:45 pm

Looks like Kathy is all worked up….lol

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 7:03 pm

Kathy,

The chief of police of any country and not just Malaysia has no business talking on behalf of the chief of the armed forces. The chief of all the armed forces is exactly that and he is not the country’s IGP. This IGP apparently felt the need to somehow act as spokesman for his civilian boss when he said that is the only reasonable explanation for the misstep.

Looks like the resident nicompoop did it again! Only a nincompoop would call his blog: ‘limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com’ …..lol. So let’s not get confused who the self-confessed nincompoop is.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 8:48 pm

…especially with this one who worked loyally with the corrupt BN run government for three decades and has been given the title PPN for his long and mediocre service, and now has an axe to grind, also one who has serious identity issues to solve.

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 9:25 pm

A self confessed nincompoop is a humble nincompoop, a nincompoop who knows his own shortcomings.

A nincompoop who does not know he is one is a mega nincompoop – a nincompoop who is arrogant and self conceited. A self conceited nincompoop is one who always wants to enjoy the best of both worlds – someone who leverages on some stupid international organisation to enjoy good life at the expense of poor countries’ contributions. Someone who once got some stupid qualification and now continued to collect economic rent. In case you are stupid enough to know, I am talking about you, undergrad2 aka best of both worlds.

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 10:25 pm

Oooops!! Kathy is all worked up again…lol

21. #21 by kingkenny on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:34 am

Tulip Crescent,

one institution we can rely on? hmmm…..

I am pro-revolution and pro-evolution (I believe in G-d, by the way)…well, that says it all! :)

Yeah, I mostly agree with bloggers here who are pro-change-for-a-better-Malaysia….the reason why you say this country is going down the abyss-of-no-return is because of this country’s pro-malay-bumiputra policies and the NEP.

The NEP has somewhat created a chain-effect or “bad-vibes” in this country. Instead of joining the open market and “learn how to actively contribute and improve the country’s economy”, all bumiputras’ dream were to work in government departments and earn a meager income.

Non-bumis do business will go to them to apply the relevant licenses, after paying RM5000, license finally approved after 2 months (sometimes longer) – but in truth, the license only cost the citizen RM25 and takes only maximum 1 week to process up to approval. How many civil staffs do we currently employ? Anybody got the stats?

One thing led to another, and after 50 years of false ideology and poisonous indoctrination, before you and I knew, we have already descended 3/4 down the abyss.

What racist Tun Mamak said to Toll Veloo (and the whole nation) in the press reflects this ideology, ‘non-Bumi have to be grateful for being granted citizenship and must not question malay rights’. And it is well known that the prowess Chinese people show in commerce and economics are considered “stealing their natural resources” by malay bumiputras. Thus the notion that they are being bullied in their own country, and thus the need to implement NEP and its associated “affirmative actions”!

So, these things go on and on and on and to a point of no return – just like a cult movement – if the mind “feeds” on falsely satisfying ideologies for such a long time – we can be sure to touch the abyss floor sooner rather than later.

So, we must NOT blame some bloggers here who advises Malaysians to migrate (including myself) for a better future (for the children first and foremost), because if I were to adhere or adapt myself to suit “ketuanan melayu ideologies”, I might as well adapt myself to “Ketuanan Orang Putih” as I must NOT bring myself 50 years backward while the world is “evolving”.

After all the drama in the past few months, the press are now trying to play down all the issues brought up by various parties. Bloggers coming out crying they are fed-up of all the issues and advice people to cool down and go get a life.

To be honest, I think it is quite expected by many, many Malaysians. I just hope pressure from the bloggers in Malaysian politics will not wane in whatever circumstances. Just continue to write and say what we feel about this country, and it doesn’t matter what we don’t know or know about the truth.

If we feel good and have a better quality and standard of living in OUR country, then I don’t see the people would even think of writing anything bad in the blogosphere.

We should really adopt change that is for the better, not worse! Open dialogs between community leaders and/or between political parties must happen freely, only then we can see a true Malaysian culture blossoming and the interests of all are protected.

If our way is not working, then we must copy and IMPROVISE, Switzerland is an example of good governance. Don’t just copy, we must expect that not all are perfect, improvisation must be done to suit our multiracial country.

What is keeping Malaysians out of the streets and violence is ISA and media technologies!

What if the next government really abolished ISA?

All hell will break loose even from a trivial disagreement! Because dialogs just do not exist before between all races. Before ISA is abolished, changes must happen first, and the first is to throw out UMNO/BN led government!

If UMNO/BN is still governing this country after March 8 tsunami, RPK SD, Bala SD, PKFZ, Toll, BMC, Space Travel, PM’s private jet, Lingam, Tuan Ian Chin’s revelations and etc. and etc. and etc., we’d better migrate!

At the end of it all, what matters most is the welfare and life of a human being, and to greedy people in this world, a human life is worth less than a dollar bill!

So, there MUST be an afterlife, these people will not get away lightly. And it is even heavier the punishment for those who preached it but do otherwise! :)

Good luck Malaysia and Malaysians!

22. #22 by kingkenny on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:44 am

So, Jeffrey, what do you suggest?
    Every time the BN (UMNO) government did something outrageous, we all keep quiet?
    Everything is fair in war and politics and if you have an advantage, you’ll use it to the hilt!
    I think that this government has every intention of holding on to power come what may and even if you keep as quiet as a mouse, it matters not!
    Also, by keeping quiet, Malaysians may have the impression that the government is right. When it is not! – Damocles

=================================================

Bingo Man! Damocles!

I have been trying to say exactly the same thing to this guy from “afar” here, but somehow, you make it sound just right!

Thanks man!

I think he’s into a lot of novels! :)

23. #23 by kingkenny on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 12:54 am

By the way Tulip Crescent,

I wore blue to Kelana Jaya, offline, did not saw your reply! :)

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 8:03 am

///Every time the BN (UMNO) government did something outrageous, we all keep quiet?
    Everything is fair in war and politics and if you have an advantage, you’ll use it to the hilt!///

In the first place I have not advocated that “every time the BN (UMNO) government did something outrageous, we all keep quiet”.

In the second, even if I agree that “everything is fair in war and politics and if you have an advantage, you’ll use it to the hilt” the question is, when it comes to demonstrations or confrontation on the streets against the government, which is what I was talking about, what advantage do you think you or we have????

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 8:53 am

To be more precise what exactly are the advantages that you think the opposition supporters have in terms of a standoff with police/riot police/army, I should like to know since there’s so much of bravado talk here!

26. #26 by rainbowseahorse on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 9:30 am

As I wrote in another thread, for someone who managed to look, sound, and act stupid to fool the almighty Tun M into believing he is harmless and can be controlled, that Badawi surely deserves a salute. Such a man must be watch very carefully as he is indeed the ’still water runs deep’ type of guy. We all underestimated that cunny fox!
    My vote now is that he would still be in power for some time to come and it’s going to take more than mere good speeches and SD with counter SD to remove that Badawi.

27. #27 by kenghuei on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 2:25 pm

I think this is clearly what BN is doing to prepare for possible “emergencies”. No matter how and what they may deny, telling us the country is stable now..any sane government would take necessary precautions and preparation judging from current political situation which is getting more and more tense and exciting each day.

Correct me if I’m wrong, the role of the army (under the ultimate command of Agong) is to maintain peace in the country – land, air and sea and to prepare for any eventual war / major disorder. While the Police oversees day-to-day public safety, security and welfare. And in the event of serious issues in the nation (riots, curfew and fall of a govnerment etc), the Agong would have the final authority to mobilise the army to defend the nation but not the Police.

So by tying up the Police and the Army now, I am not sure if it means the Army would be under the Police command too..and I am not sure if this is a strategy to more effectively crack down on Opposition / peaceful protests, but one thing for sure, it is an indication of some instability in our country, moved by fear and precaution by our government leaders…

28. #28 by lakilompat on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 3:05 pm

“Act dumb is the strength of PL”

The people are suffering, they don’t care, he did made an announcement that he can’t satisfy everyone, mean either his cronies get the cakes or the general people.

29. #29 by kingkenny on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 10:47 pm

To be more precise what exactly are the advantages that you think the opposition supporters have in terms of a standoff with police/riot police/army, I should like to know since there’s so much of bravado talk here! – Jeffrey

====================================================

Then what are the advantages of the doing the opposite?!?

As long as the action taken begets the right result, there is no harm doing it. Malaysians are peace loving people, we won’t go to the path of taking up arms and start shooting everyone like some countries who did!

Those who took to the streets are only a very small percentage of the people. What we must have is continued pressure to push for reform and that is including writing, saying, cursing in the blogs or anywhere else! The government used those puppets media to play with our minds, it is also fair we give them a piece of our mind too, don’t get upset, cause the truth hurts!

Paper will never be able to wrap fire, sooner or later, if our cries for change went unheeded continuously for a long time and the people here are missing out from global changes, we might be able to see a full fledge street demo!

So, are we going to wait for that to happen?!

Bravado talk is for the bold & courageous!

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 5:09 am

Huh, can question of what specific advantage there is to engage in a standoff with police/riot police/army be satisfactorily answered by another question of what are the advantages of the doing the opposite???

Well at least one advantage, no another immediate Operation Lallang raised in this thread which does nobody any good. What the bloggers are doing here and elsewhere in engaging the powers that be and exposing wrong doings, for example, do have a part to play on March 8th. Look at what Kit has been doing all these years.

One engages and contests where one has relative strength and not in an area like street confrontations against uniformed personel with arms and law in their favour where one does not have that comparative advantage.

Bravado talk is for the bold & courageous? Or the foolish when it is bravado without substance and sense to back or heedless of the consequences, getting no results in the end?

No point of talking as if one were a Che Guevera when the call for 1 million yields only 10 to 20,000 many of whom were women and children. At least they don’t get bashed by demonstrating to police/army outside. The Sunday rock concert was ok with added excitement of throwing projectiles (water bottles and stones) on the rocker who showed his butt!

31. #31 by pjboy on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 10:26 am

Mark today’s statement on The Star front page: Lies akin to treachery. It seems we may have a schizo PM. Who was the one lying to us all the while since 2004?

Make sure it is in the DAP archive.

32. #32 by lun boleh on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 11:04 am

Look who is talking about RUKUNNEGARA BODOHWI .

Comments are closed.