Why not slash entertainment allowances of Cabinet Ministers by 50%?

The first of many questions that come to the mind of Malaysians on the RM2 billion cost-cutting package announced by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is:

If the government can increase oil prices from 41 to 63 per cent, why can’t it slash the entertainment allowances of cabinet ministers and deputy ministers by 50% and not just a paltry 10%?

The question becomes all the more poignant when it is disclosed that the current entertainment allowances are RM18,865 for the prime minister, RM15,015 for the deputy prime minister, RM12,320 for ministers and RM6,000 for deputy ministers.

What about all the other allowances, including tips allowances which run into hundreds of ringgit a day, which ministers and deputy ministers are entitled to?

For a start, all the various forms of allowances which cabinet ministers and deputy ministers are entitled to should be made public not only as a a form of leadership by example in terms of accountability, transparency and good governance but also to demonstrate that the ministers and deputy ministers feel the pain of the people caused by the unconscionable and callous oil price hikes ranging from 41 to 63 per cent.

Abdullah’s statement that the cost-cutting measures he announced yesterday “will not be the first or the last” and that many other announcements will be made by the government is testimony that these measures are “after thoughts” after the manifestation of public anger and outrage over the brutal and hefty oil price increases when mitigation measures should have been part of any Cabinet decision causing far-reaching inflationary repercussions imposing great financial hardships on all vulnerable sectors of the Malaysian population.

The public anger and outrage at the unconscionable and callous oil price hikes had been aggravated by the lack of any sign that the government is prepared to end its waste, extravagance, misappropriation of public funds, lack of accountability and the many mega-scandals like the Petronas billions and the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal – further example that the Cabinet had not learnt the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami” to be a caring, responsible, just and people-oriented administration.

It is no wonder that Malaysians regard the RM2 billion cost-cutting measures, described as the “first” of such measures, as not only too little and too late, but shows lack of seriousness to provide proper government leadership by example to lead Malaysians to tide through the hard economic hard times facing the country.

1. #1 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 7:50 am

AAB never passed his mathematics paper during school days!

2. #2 by js on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:30 am

I just came to know that Ministers are enjoying such unnecessary allowances…It is really wasting our tax payer money. It should be reduced more than 50% immediately.

3. #3 by js on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:32 am

We really need a fair and capable government to run this country. The existing cabinet needs to be replaced.

4. #4 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:33 am

Kit:

You should tell Parliament that a PR cabinet can do the job (or a better job) for RM 2 billion a year. That means that we can save 90 pct by merely changing the federal government !

5. #5 by pjboy on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:38 am

Another meaningless new slogan by PM: “change lifestyle”.

Slogan by Rakyat: “change government”.

Come to think of it, if 100% entertainment budget is RM20B. Surely, there can be more reductions by Cabinet Ministers or Government Ministers to cut MORE to bring it closer to RM 57B. This way, there will be no reason for fuel-price hike. Whose money is it in the first place? Tax-payers money lah. Even if petrol price is RM 10/ltr, it makes no difference to government ministers coz they don’t pay for it; it’s paid for by rakyat-$. In actual fact, we are also subisidising their fuel-expenses. Not surprised, maybe all family members of the government too; via supplementary credit cards.

6. #6 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 10:49 am

Hawkers told to be fair. Will they follow AAB by applying more skin-whitening products?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/National/2264405/Article/index_html

7. #7 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:36 am

All the Ministers and the PM himself in the current cabinet are just a bunch of typical Ministers since independence.

They practise double standards and pay lip services to the rakyat. Two sets of rules one for themselves and the other for the rakyat. They enjoy a life of luxury, while the poor, to them, deserves to be poor.

When they Abdullah and his cronies said every one has to tighten his and her belts, they never said they should be the first to show the examples that they are also doing it, and doing more.

So what is a paltry 10% cut over an entertainment allowance amounting to tens of thousand each minister while the PM’s is almost twenty thousand?

They have paid holidays to exclusive destinations in the world on tax payers money, they have transport and housing allowance, also into the tens of thousands each.

Are they willing to give up some for the sake of the poor and downtrodden?

8. #9 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:58 am

Again let’s look at Singapore’s ministers.

They are among the highest-paid senior officials in the world. But we all know the people are getting their money’s worth:

Human Development Index
    Ease of Doing Business Index
    Corruptions Perceptions Index

Singapore routinely ranks within Top 10.

But we never know what OUR ministers are doing. This causes us to become reluctant even to pay income taxes!

9. #10 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:25 pm

Another problem with the village idiot running this country is that he thinks that a proclamation is good enough and that everyone will follow his proclamation. There is no implementation, no follow-up, no punishment against those who do not toe the line.

The ministers all know it, so they smile and they continue with their merry ways. No one is to know. We simply go down the slippery slope to oblivion.

10. #11 by ShiokGuy on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:27 pm

While they just worry about cutting their entertainment allowance, we are worrying about 3 meals and our loan installment.

If the inflation is going up, the central bank has no choice but to increase BLR to control the inflation. If that happen we might loss our HOME due to NPL…

My advise on BLR-Free Home Loan in my blog
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/blr-free-home-loan.html

Shiok Guy

11. #12 by highhand on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:47 pm

I want to b a minister too,
    Minister of Entertainment

12. #13 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:58 pm

Slash everything of theirs please…

FROM POOR SALES

13. #14 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 3:03 pm

Minister salaries are paltry compared to their assets. I say make it mandatory for ministers, dpm and parliamentarian to donate 20% of the assets to a fund to help the needy and poor.

14. #15 by JeyS on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 3:07 pm

9to5….very good piece! My thoughts exactly!

Actual fact the whole 10% reduction is a scam. Lets see what other scams are coming out. By the way the rebate of Road tax…..another big time scam!

Sad but we are taken for a tolled jolly ride by the government (and I am proud that I didn’t elect them in!!!!) They weren’t my choice at all!

I am not a fence sitter so I have nothing nice to say about BN.

SELL THE JET!!! PM!!!!! That should have been your 1st thing to do! Just fly economy you and your goons. Or better…fly Airasia!!!!! Even cheaper from MAS (even after taxes and all!) Start paying for your flights and scrap all expense paid whatever. We have no expenses paid for free…so why should you?

Not that you and your ‘friends’ have ever done any good for the country.

15. #16 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 5:02 pm

Why do ministers require “entertainment allowance” when they are being entertained most of the time? How often do you find ministers paying the bill? And who do they entertain anyway?

16. #17 by JeyS on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 5:06 pm

Whoa…..just read this in VOX POP – Malaysiakini

Is it possible that Umno needs the oil subsidies to fill up it’s war chest (after depleting it at the last election), knowing fully well that they will lose the federal government in September.

Possibly to launch a come back in the 14th general elections? Just a thought! Maybe some little bird somewhere can shed some light on this?

So can someone help shed..light

17. #18 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:05 pm

Ministers and friends need entertainment $$$ to buy clothes and dresses from KJ & Nori’s The Emperor’s New Clothes @ Pavilion, KL.

18. #19 by ZhouYu on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:45 pm

Because when he slash 10%, we ask for 50%. When he slash 50%, we ask for 70%. Again, does it matter? Not to me.

19. #20 by alaneth on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 9:03 pm

And it is soooo difficult to get a tax deduction for companies for Entertainment items, especially when we entertain potential customers and later secure some projects!

20. #21 by myint3 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 9:05 pm

I’m seriously thinking of migrating. I know it sounds very selfish and unpatriotic but I have to think about the future of my children. Cost of living here is almost if not, higher than that of Singapore. I know because I just came back from Singapore about 6 months ago with the naive notion that I could contribute to my country with my skills. Sure seafood is cheap but the essentials are killing me. My savings is running out and I have problem getting a job. I used to earn SGD3,000/- p.m in Singapore not including the bonuses and medical benefits but here, I’d be lucky if I could get MYR2,500/- p.m.Funny how a foreign country accepted me with open arms, allowed me to build up a career and family but my own country treat me like dirt. My skills was valued in Singapore but here, I’m zero.

Now with this fuel hike, mati lah. Already the property developers in Sabah come out to say that houses will cost more. A plate of fried rice cost MYR6/-, a plate of chicken rice MYR4.50/- (and the portion of chicken meat look like they came from some farm in Africa)..

If it’s only me, I would take the risk but with a son, I have to be practical. Is it very unMalaysian of me to think of the well being of my family? I am very proud to be a Malaysian as the next Malaysian but with the recent events, I have doubts. Should I go for sentiment or practicality. If anything happens to me, can I trust my government to look after my family? I don’t think so especially with BN with the Ketuanan Melayu mentality. So what am I? I’m a Sino Kadazan by the way. I have an Anak Negeri title.

A Filipino, Indonesian, Pakistani holding MyKard(dubious one) could assimilate into the Malay community and enjoy all the rights and priviledges of bumis but me, even by virtue of my genuine blood ties to the land, can’t get anything? One would wonder how one’s son would fare in such a hostile environment?

So while I would still keep pace with the development in Sabah and Malaysia, I would have to bow out(get out of Malaysia) when the first opportunity comes. My prayers, well wishes and solidarity will always be with my fellow Malaysians of course, regardless of race and religion.

21. #22 by lopez on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 9:06 pm

Start by using kancil in all departments, no more 3000 cc cars
    let the public judge their performance not another jabatan to give the marks.

let the customers decides their performance and not the PSD or department heads or superiors.

Even the PSD does not escape.

Serve the nation , not serve the department.

22. #23 by saiful on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 7:52 am

wahhh…that’s huge, just wonder how lim would spend it ehhehehe ;)

23. #24 by tourman53 on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 7:20 am

Why only cut 10% only? They are not fit to clame any entertainment allowances at all. It would l be a shame to be entertained when thing are not done in proper. The Ministers salary should cut up to 50% for not been effecient.

24. #25 by sonsofsabah on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:14 pm

What kind of entertainments are we paying for? Sex, Karaoke, 2nd wife? What are the limitations? They already get paid a lot why are we still paying for entertainment allowance? I agree cut off 50% and then use the money for other subsidies.

25. #26 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 4:55 pm

We should not just look at the numbers and comment whether how many percent it should be. Whenever something is done by the Government, whether right or wrong, people will not satisfy. We should look at the sincerity that the BN-led government has. I have not seen any leaders from any other countries taking such a quick stand to lead by example.

26. #27 by pinkdolphin on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 6:48 am

Kasim Amat, what are you talking about??? Sincerity after robbing the Rakyat? C’mon la, it is not that the rakyat will not be satisfied, it is ANNOYING that the Gov can’t see or hear the cry of the RAKYAT for decades!! Sometimes, it is simply too late to just put up a half-hearted show when you realised that the Rakyat no longer wants to be bullied and robbed. Enough of damages from UMNO-BN, just back off and let PR show you what you have missed out.

27. #28 by tourman53 on Wednesday, 18 June 2008 - 9:44 pm

Kasim Amat,
    I pity your parent mistake.