High Court judge makes explosive judicial disclosures

Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Borneo Post

High Court judge makes explosive judicial disclosures
By Danny Wong

SIBU: A High Court judge here yesterday made some startling revelations at the commencement of the proceedings of the election petition filed by the DAP candidate for the Sarikei parliamentary seat, Wong Hus She, to declare the result of the March 8 general election for the seat void.

The Barisan Nasional candidate, Ding Kuong Hing, won the seat with a slim majority of 51 votes.

Justice Datuk H C Ian Chin informed the parties in open court that he had certain disclosures to make at the start of the proceedings, saying he was doing so to forestall any complaints that might be made by the parties later.

He said complaints had been made against him in an earlier case that he had failed to disclose the detention of his father and brother during the time of the Mustapha regime in Sabah in late 1969 and the early 1970.

Chin then proceeded to make his disclosure the contents of which could only be described as explosive, coming hot on the heels of the findings of the Royal Commission in the Lingam video tape.

He started by saying that “it is better to err on caution that I take this step to shortly disclose what the parties and counsel may not be aware but which they may later complain that I should have disclosed”.

“I take this course also because I am smarting over the complaint that the detention of my father and brother during the time of the Mustapha regime in Sabah in late 1969 and the early 1970 should have been but not disclosed. (See Sabah Foundation & 2 Ors vs Datuk Syed Kechik & Anor, Kota Kinabalu High Court at http://kkhighcourt.com/Completed Civil Matters/SabahFoundation.doc)

“What I am going to disclose relate to what happened after two of my judgements were handed down. One was the judgment in a libel case which I handed down on February 5 1997 (see Raveychandran v Lai Su Chon & Ors at http://kkhighcourt.com/Completed Civil Trials/RaveychandranNST.pdf) by which I distinguished MGG Pillai V Tan Sri Dato Vincent Tan Chee Yioun & Other Appeals (1995) 2 MLJ 493 and refused to give what I consider to be astronomical award for damage to reputation in libel cases,” he said.

Chin said the other was the judgement handed down on Feb 13 1997 in respect of an election petition (Donald Lawan v Abang Wahed bin Abang & Ors [Sri Aman High Court]) by which he set aside the election of Mong Dagang.

“Shortly after those two judgements, the Judges Conference was held from April 24 1997.

The then prime minister was scheduled to have a dialogue with the judges on that date. What was termed a dialogue and later reported as one was anything but a dialogue.

“The then prime minister went there to issue a thinly veiled threat to remove judges by referring to the tribunal that was set up before and stating that though it may be difficult to do so, it was still done. He said all that after he had expressed his unhappiness with what he termed ‘the Borneo Case’ and after he had asked whether the judge who decided that case was present or not.”

Chin said no one had any doubt that he was referring to the election case though he (then prime minister) did not mention it specifically which he decided on Feb 13, 1997.

Added the High Court judge: “After he was done with issuing that threat, he then proceeded to express his view that people should pay heavily for libel.

“He managed to get a single response from a Court of Appeal judge who asked whether he would be happy with a sum of RM1 million as damages for libel.

“He approved of it and he later on made known his satisfaction by promoting this judge (since deceased) to the Federal Court over many others who were senior to him when a vacancy arose.

“I was devastated after hearing all that but help came immediately after the “dialogue” was over when Federal Court judges came to my side and asked me to ignore him. Equally comforting were the words of my brother High Court judge who later told me that the then Prime Minister was too much.

“It will be recalled that the then prime minister not long after he assumed office had said, in a much publicised campaign against corruption, that he will put the fear of God in man but this apparently, given his diatribe in that conference, changed to instilling a fear of him if any judgment is to his dislike.”

Chin went on to say that to commemorate his “dialogue” with the judges a group picture was taken (which can be viewed by going to http://www/kkhighcourt.com/ JudgesnMahathir.htm).

To rub it in, he said, Bernama circulated a press release with one appearing in a Sabah newspaper (The Daily Express May 25 1997) which “was far from stating the truth”. A month later, Chin said he was packed off to a boot camp from May 26-30 together with selected judges and judicial officers.

He said that the boot camp was without any doubt “an attempt to indoctrinate those attending the boot camp to hold the view that the government interest as being more important than all else when we are considering our judgement”.

“Stating this devilish notion was by no less a person than the President of the Court of Appeal. Everyone was quiet during the question sessions. Also invited to the boot camp was a lecturer from a university who berated the election case and the bright spot in this episode was that a judicial officer, during question time, told the lecturer that she had no question but only a statement to make which was that the lecturer was in contempt of court.

“The then prime minister was scheduled to talk but he did not turn up and instead sent his then deputy who instead of talking invited questions and the one question I remembered being asked was — Are politicians looking for girls when they are often seen loitering at posh hotel lobbies?

“The perversion of justice did not stop there. My brother judge Kamil Awang was one morning looking for me after clocking in; we were both then serving in Kuching, Sarawak. When I met up with him in his chambers he was distraught and he told me that he had last night received a telephone call from the then Chief Justice asking him to dismiss the election petition that he was going to hear in Kota Kinabalu.

“He sought my opinion as to what to do with the telephone call.

“We went into the possibility of making a police report or of writing to the Chief Justice a letter to record what he had said over the telephone but in the end he decided against it since it will be his words against that of the Chief Justice,” he said.

Chin told the court that he was happy to later on learn that Kamil did not bow to the pressure by the Chief Justice and went on to hear the petition and thereafter making a decision based on the law and evidence.

The High Court judge said he had twice stood unsuccessfully as a Barisan Nasional candidate for a parliamentary and later for a state seat in Sabah in the 1980s and in one of those elections he was defeated by a DAP candidate.

He said he had also heard other election petitions, namely Yusuf Abdul Rahman v Abdul Ajis & Ors and Lee Hie Kui v Song Swee Guan & Darrell Tsen.

“Now, though no longer the prime minister and so no longer able to carry out his threat to remove judges which should therefore dispel any fear which any judge may have of him, if ever there was such fear, nevertheless the coalition party that he led is still around and the second respondent won on a ticket of that coalition party and it may cross someone’s mind that I may have an axe to grind against the party concerned or any member thereof.

“The petitioner in this case may also have similar view with regard to my defeat by a candidate standing on the ticket of a party to which he belongs.

” So I wish to hear from the parties as to whether they (counsel or parties) in this case entertain any such notion and whether they wish to apply for my recusal so that, if any, I can make a decision thereon.

“After this disclosure, litigants who were affected by the hundreds of judgment that I had handed down since those infamous days may justifiably worry as to whether any of my judgments were in any way influenced by this attempt to hang the Sword of Damocles over my head.

“No amount of words from me would assuage you of your worry; you will have to read my judgments as to whether they are according to the evidence and the law or whether they were influenced by threat.”

Chin then adjourned for half an hour to let the parties digest what he had said and to consider whether they wished to make any application for his recusal.

However, they expressed their full confidence in him in presiding over the hearing of the case.

1. #1 by justice_fighter on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 1:40 pm

Totally expected result from a corrupt judiciary controlled by the corrupt BN government.

2. #2 by taiking on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 1:48 pm

Justice Ian Chin is upright and honourable. He has my confidence.

3. #3 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 2:03 pm

Looks like doctor dun, sounds like doctor dun but i am not sure it is 100% doctor dun.

:D

4. #4 by darren sky on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 2:16 pm

Another tip of an iceberg .

5. #5 by danchungs on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 2:40 pm

Submission mean agreed or what here?????

6. #6 by limkamput on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 2:45 pm

A RCI on former PM now, on every facet of his 22 years of misrule. We don’t want to set bad precedent for present and future leaders to abuse, mismanage and corrupt and get away with it. PK must concertedly ask for a RCI now. If you don’t, you don’t deserve our support. There is a saying all roads lead to Rome. In Malaysia today, all scandals cronyism, “piratisation”, subversion, rent seeking culture and collusion lead to the former PM. For once just purge him completely. We are in the verge of becoming a failed state because of him.

7. #7 by oknyua on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 2:50 pm

I don’t know if YB Lim Guan Eng’s case can be reviewed. Jeffrey?

8. #8 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 2:55 pm

Wow!! Another explosive disclosure.

These allegations made by Justice Chin in open court must be thoroughly investigated and those implicated must be removed if they are still in office. It is like a cancerous growth. These crooks of the justice system must be removed before their devilish deeds spreads because they have prostituted themselves when they sold their soul to the devil and can never ever be trusted anymore.

What has this beautiful country of ours been reduced to???

9. #9 by Rocky on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:05 pm

wow!! what a revelation even if it took so long. Looks like the judges have got their guts back which is great. It is time they took they rightful place in Malaysia as stated in the constitution and be loyal to the King and country.

we need to clan house and Pak Lah should do this to go down in history book and now is the time. will Pak Lah clean the judiciary and other corrupt system in Malaysia done by the last PM?

daulat Tuanku!

10. #10 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:09 pm

Such a disclosure is like a blast of C4 in the Judiciary. This judge should have volunteered to testify at the Lingam inquiry after the other witness could not remember anything.

So what is happening to the Lingam case now? Those officers gone off to NZ to see Queenstown?

11. #11 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:11 pm

Cinapek,

I am glad this pandora box is spilling and spilling more worms and posions out of it.

Finally, everyones’ conscience starts to prick with guilt. Only the arrogant and hypocrites fails to realise the crime against humanity.

Had Justice Chin, swims against the Executive earlier, he would be in cold storage and asked to resign or being sack.

Talk about the Judiciary being Independent.

What will be zaid ibrahim comment ?

12. #12 by riversandlakes on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:16 pm

Great revelation! REFORMASI!

13. #13 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:17 pm

No wonder no body even his own ex-ministers were behind TDM after he stepped down, as he used fear to get things done.

It is high time to disassociate with TDM – I wonder any one of them recorded the “dialogue” session!!! I believe there were more than one judge other than Ian Chin who had attended the “dialogue” sesssion. Good for you Ian Chin, you will be remembered for your courage to speak up which you were supposed to as a judge, albeit after so long!!!

14. #14 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:24 pm

“The then prime minister was scheduled to talk but he did not turn up and instead sent his then deputy who instead of talking invited questions and the one question I remembered being asked was — Are politicians looking for girls when they are often seen loitering at posh hotel lobbies?”

————————–
    Who was the DPM? DSAI !!!

15. #15 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:24 pm

dear i_love-malaysia.

Yang Arif Justice Chin can be considered an accompli in dispensing Injustice. Hope more judges will come forward before the judges themselves are judged by the Almighty.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:38 pm

This is not something unexpected. In fact, in the last 30 years, any sensible person in Malaysia could clearly sense that something was wrong with our judiciary, police, ACA, mass media, and what-have-you systems. All these systems had been subjugated by the BN, especially Umno, politicians. The number one person who abused the systems must be MM.

Yes, people sensed many things were wrong in the country but there was no hard evidence. For example, why was Augustine Paul chosen to be the judge in Anwar Ibrahim’s trial?

People were wondering why our rulers, judges, senior civil servants, etc. were silent on the abuses that went on and on in our nation. Don’t they have principles and conscience? Why were they so scared of one person?

17. #17 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:40 pm

Dear Adam,

Let the judges be investigated by the RCI and followed by the court of justice!!! they should be punished first on earth for what they had done and followed by judegment by God!!! hopefully, God who is all gracious and forgiving will forgive them for their repentence if they admitted their wrongs.

18. #18 by PSM on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:41 pm

Congratulations to Justice Ian Chin for his honesty.
    However, some questions…how come Justice Chin revelas this now only? I guess we all know who the ex-PM is right? Are these revelations being done now for a particular prupose? Is Pak Lah behind this? TDM has been a “thorn” in the side of Pak Lah for far too long…it’s time to shut him up once & for all? Will our corrupt ACA be called to investigate? Will a Royal Commission be set up so that recommendations will be made & no action taken afterwards?

19. #19 by greenacre on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 3:51 pm

I sat through three courts i.e sessions, high court and finally the court of appeal. Not a single judge cared to interpret the Hire Purchase Act 1965 which was the focal point of the case. Sessions simply dismissed without giving any reasons. High court decided in chambers but in grounds stated it as though decided in open court and stated that we had waived our rights.(imagine people waiving rights coming to court) Curt of appeal agreed to High court. I wonder why parliament made the Hire Purchase Act? A consumer body official told me ” you are finished if you file a case against a GLC. Often the decision goes their way.’ I am still pondering the next step.

20. #20 by mata_kucing on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 4:54 pm

It certainly took a long time for Justice Ian Chin to disclose this. If all those who were put under duress by the former PM to pervert the course of justice have taken their stand and revealed the position they were put in, Mahathir would be forced to resign a long time ago thus saving us from the corruption and wastful spending and the racial politics that we are now wallowing in. Our nation is near to total destruction because of that man.

Now that he has opened a can of worms, Justice should not stop there but to reveal all that he’s privy to and also get all his friends in the judiciary to tell the truth and lay everything on the table. Not doing so will only leave doubts and uncertainties regarding our justice system which has lost public trust. It’s the right thing for him to do even if he risk losing his job.

21. #21 by justiciary on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 5:06 pm

I agree with the view that RCI should be set up to investigate all the wrongs committed by TDM.After all the pitiful state as being faced by the rakyat today is by and large the consequence of his tyrannical and dictatorial rule of 22 years.So why not act now and bring the greatest culprit to task.

22. #22 by donng55 on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 5:36 pm

Please could someone translate this posting into Bahasa Malaysia for all to fully understand the issue at hand. … Many thanks in advance.

23. #23 by taiking on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 5:43 pm

After 22 years as PM, Mahathir has succeeded in: (1) messing up the country comprehensively; and (2) breeding a small group of power-crazy + super-greedy bums.

24. #24 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 5:52 pm

But the TUN is a Saint. He’s always the good guy.

He’s never wrong. He’s always right. He’s always got a valid reason.

But everybody’s out to get him now that he’s out.

25. #25 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:15 pm

chedet.com sure to respond

26. #26 by Tickler on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:20 pm

Tuesday, June 10, 2008
    The Tun Salleh Saga – an open reply to Dr Mahathir

Dr Mahathir, I read with considerable interest your blog on the Tun Salleh Saga. To a certain degree, I must confess, I am happy for you have obviously regained your memory after having a momentary lapse of the same during the proceeding of the Royal Commission on the Linggam tape.

I must confess that I was not moved to post anything about the Tun Salleh issue as everybody and his dog has apparently written about it. However, after having read your latest boot-leg version, I am compelled to write this reply, just to put things on record and proper perspective.

It is quite obvious that you have mastered the fine art of manipulation. When everything else fails, what better than to stoke racial sentiment in order to gain support. That was what you were doing in Johore Bahru recently when you quite irresponsible pointed out that the Malays are the ones who would lose out if the IDR project were to continue. You than quickly followed it up in Japan when you reminded the Malays to unite and be strong because, according to you, other races are now asking for many things and questioning Malay rights. Samuel Johnson’s “patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel” would normally be a cliche to repeat, but in your case, I would make an exception. Just change the word “patriotism” to “racialism” and you would, hopefully, catch my drift.

http://thegazerofnavels.blogspot.com/2008/06/tun-salleh-saga-open-reply-to-dr.html

27. #27 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:21 pm

It is politics after all, for those who had taken millions or accomplice will now push every thing to TDM and the earlier they do it, the better!!! so that they will be free from any guilt and possible prosecution!!! they can bargain with AG from being prosecuted by being the prosecuter’s withnesses!!!

28. #28 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:24 pm

A lesson to be learnt by TDM & others, never never give up your post even if you are dying!!!

29. #29 by max2811 on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:36 pm

TDM has shamed his GOD. The Chinese believed in karma. GOD will punish you in your after life.

30. #30 by donng55 on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:37 pm

If what’s revealed in this posting is true (and we have no reasons to believe it isn’t) then “his” modus operandi is now very clear. He would threaten and force others to do something he wanted, and then he would keep the record of that incident as a weapon to force the involved parties to shut their mouths on the misdeeds he had done.

A case in point: Soon after the Royal Commission Report on Lingam Tape was made public and knowing that he would be investigated, “he” challenged the Government to take him to court so that he could reveal many things about the judiciary. This could very well be one of the things he said he would reveal.

We would therefore like to call on all parties who are involved in cases similar to this one please don’t be cowed by the threat and come forward and reveal to the rakyat all the evil things this man had done. Please be brave to fight and say “vade retro Satana!”

31. #31 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 6:53 pm

“There’s no greater fear than fear itself”
    But sooner or later all fears must come out of the shelf
    There’ll be deep soul searching all around including ownself
    To resolve and dissolve all fears kept hidden so long on the shelf

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 100608
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Tue. 10th June 2008.

32. #32 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 7:05 pm

Kit,

Push for a RCI on the perpetrator and get the judiciaries cleaned up before PR takes over Federal Government to make a new start.

33. #33 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 7:23 pm

RCIs are just a waste of timber resources. You know why there is a reluctance to condemn Mahathir by the present administration ? Two thirds of the cabinet were there in the 90s – and all of them remained quiet and subservient. Did anyone – Badawi included – resign in protest ? No. They were part of the UMNO crony system. Just as Mamakthir orchestrated the jailing of Anwar Ibrahim, the rest of the cabinet then were equally culpable through their silence and tacit approval.

Just retire all the judges – High Court and above, and promote younger judges in their place. No half-hearted measures. When you sweep, make sure you sweep clean.

34. #34 by malaysia born on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 7:32 pm

Is this the result of the tsunami of March 2008?

Really amazing stuff coming from a judge. At least there is one judge wgo has the courage and the conscience to come forward. will there be more to come?

Wow! what next?

35. #35 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 7:51 pm

Badawi had the chance to clean up the judiciary. Instead, he chose to take the same path pioneered by Mahathir. He proposed a tainted Chief Justice which was thankfully stopped by the Agong. He then went ahead and promoted an UMNO lawyer as the President of the Court of Appeals.

What a joke, Big Ears. You blew it big time, and you should simply retire gracefully. Take the den of thieves with you.

36. #36 by limkamput on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 7:56 pm

Godfather, so you want to retire all judges but keep the present government? What difference is going to make. They will continue to appoint corrupted judges or subvert the honest ones. I am sure a RCI on Mahathir will reveal the misdeeds of many more.

37. #37 by ALLAN THAM on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:04 pm

My stomach churning and my hear beat rapidly, not to be surprise but read it like a horror story. I ask myself, what future we have and what future we have for our children and our generation to come. No words can sufficiently described how damning was the revelation by Yang Arif, Ian Chin.

When I read the article by Raja Petra on the reason why Malaysian Judge travel in tinted car, Raja say this was no for security reason but was to shame to be seen by public and too afraid to be spit by the public, I could not beleive it was true but now I ahve been convinced, they are rotten judges in play.

It was sad this have been happened for so long, justice was being denied by many and will there be a stop ?

38. #38 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:18 pm

Revelations confirmed…

CORRECT! CORRECT! CORRECT!
    that there were cases which was fixed by BN leaders when they are in Power….

39. #39 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:23 pm

Limkamput:

No way will I want to keep the den of thieves. The only way to “retire” all senior judges is when PR is in power. It will never happen with BN in power.

40. #40 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:24 pm

So much for the separation of powers in Malaysia during the Mahathir era. He puts his hand in every machinery of government and in fact the removal of the Lord President and five High Court Judges in one single day showed his arrogance in taking the law in his own hands.

It would require the consent of the House of Commons, the House of Lords and the Royal accent to remove even a quarter session judge in UK. So since when did Malaysia deviate from this tradition and gave the PM so much power to put his hand in the judiciary and remove judges at his pleasure?

41. #41 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:31 pm

And are Augustine Paul’s judgements during his tenure still valid when Tun M personally and openly admitted that he had put Anwar in jail by influencing the presiding judge who succumbed to his coercion? Is Augustine still a conscienable judge to sit in any court of Malaysia?

42. #42 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:38 pm

Mamakthir’s modus operandi was very clear – nothing is in writing and it is his word against another person’s. There is no financial payment, only approved contracts or concessions for those who did his bidding, so there’s no monetary trail. Most of the time he wasn’t even in the conversations – just instructions from a small group of loyal lieutenants.

The old man will go down in history as the corrupter of the judiciary, notwithstanding the lack of evidence against him.

43. #43 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:42 pm

Augustine Paul is not going to say “I was told to do this or do that by someone”. Not now anyway. When he gets to 80, his conscience might get the better of him, and he starts to tell in his memoirs what we all suspected all along.

44. #44 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:46 pm

Loh Gwo Burne!!

Where were you when we needed you?

45. #45 by kentutoyol on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 8:56 pm

Slowly but surely, and piece by piece the tales which harbor so many puzzles of the yesteryears are piecing together for the public consumption.

Correct! Correct! Correct!

46. #46 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:15 pm

What would have happened to Justice Datuk H C Ian Chin if he had made the revelations before October 2003?

47. #47 by kritikus on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:15 pm

And now who is having the GANGRENE ??????????

We may as well immediately remove the GANGRENE before it spreads to the other parts and cause an epidemic. Does Pak Lah and his associates want this disease in their midst ??????? I WONDER!!!!!!!!!!!!

WATCH OUT FOR THE BADLY INFECTED GANGRENE !!!!!!!!!!!!

48. #48 by Godfather on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:25 pm

He would have been reassigned as “jaga” of the Bakun site. Just like Commissioner Noraini was reassigned to desk duties after releasing some Indian protestors on a technicality ?

49. #49 by justice_fighter on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:26 pm

justiciary Says:
    I agree with the view that RCI should be set up to investigate all the wrongs committed by TDM.
    ———————————————————-

Nowadays RCI has also become another disgrace with no integrity at all. Look at the Lingam case, any action taken since the RCI?! The corrupt judges should be ashamed of themselves for the sins they committed!

Send BN/UMNO to hell before we can fix the judiciary!!

50. #50 by grace on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:32 pm

The judiciary is not rotten to the core. Only God can cleanse up those dirty judges.
    Now this really confirm Lingam case. NO DOUBT ABOUT IT!!!

We have no confidence in the judiciary, the police , the ACA and even some lawyers who are real parasites.

I doubt Pak Lah has the courage to clean up the system because already his credibility is challenged by Dr M himself by calling a commission to inquire into some alleged scabdals. Similarly Najib.

I believe the only credible one is Rais Yatim.

51. #51 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:44 pm

God stands on the side of the righteous. Hell can wait. Let these people answer before God and before men while still living.

You are absolutely, perfectly right. Entertainment allowances should be slashed. In fact, they should be stopped. You are supposed to be working for the people who elect you. Why do you need to entertain others and also yourself ? May be there are too many political posts ? Then, slash these political posts if it serves nothing but goyang kaki only. If you have what it takes, you do not need entertainment allowances to seduce others into making a deal. What has taken another country a couple of years to become industralized will take Malaysia another 50 years or may be more to be in their shoes.

52. #52 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 9:58 pm

Ian HN Chin’s revelations have put the former premier in an untenable position.

If judge’s revelations were true, they reveal a situtation perilously close to the abuse of power charge by which DSAI was convicted. All that need to be proved for an offence of abuse of power is that (1) the accused was member of the administration and (2) used his position for either (a) pecuniary advantage or (b) other advantage.

The use of position is the part about expressing unhappiness with ‘the Borneo Case’ followed by the “thinly veiled threat to remove judges by referring to the tribunal that was set up before and stating that though it may be difficult to do so, it was still done” – and of course the other part asking “whether the judge who decided that case was present or not.”

The more difficult is the expression “other advantage” and whether intimidating by veiled threats in order to make judges subservient to government of the day is included within that expression.

Here we talking of strictly whether there is basis for police/AG to investigate and deliberate on issue whether an offence has been committed. It is as much a function whether the present administration has the political will to look in this direction.

This is a thing apart – and entirely separate – from the other independent question of whether there is now a fit and proper case for present government to institute a Royal Commission of Inquiry (“RCI”) under the Commission of Inquiry Act, 1950 to enquire into the larger issue of Judiciary independence/corruption and the narrower issue of the former premier’s role in respect of it.

Regarding this second question of RCI, I think there is in light of the recommendations of the earlier Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam video clip coupled now corroborated by Judge Ian HN Chin’s startling revelations.

Likely in the days to come the Bar Council, NGOs and the Opposition Parties will call and press the present administration for a RCI.

[I would like to hear Dr Bakri Musa has to comment about Judge Ian HN Chin’s startling revelations].

In response to oknyua posting Today at 14: 50.38 (5 hours ago), YB Lim Guan Eng’s case should by right be reviewed.

In respect of what happened in the “boot camp” Judge Ian HN Chin said that “the then prime minister was scheduled to talk but he did not turn up and instead sent his then deputy who instead of talking invited questions.

The deputy was then present Pakatan Rakyat’s defacto leader Anwar. He is lucky he is not implicated, which he otherwise might be had he chosen to address and talk to the judges instead of cleverly inviting questions!

53. #53 by Jong on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 10:03 pm

Mr Irrelevant is exceptionally quiet.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

Typo correction ///..they reveal a “situation” perilously close…///

55. #55 by philip vyti on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 10:37 pm

I am speechless.How many more of these happenings are going to come out. What about the judge, I forget his name…. he received a call when he was hearing a case in east Malaysia then wrote a letter on the corruption in the judicary and later had to resign. Poor chap now at least people will see the truth in his statements
    LKS can you remember this case?

56. #56 by carboncopy on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 10:40 pm

Ian Chin Upright?

Maybe we should revisit the Ritz Hotel Casino vs Osu Sukam case.
    http://www.kkhighcourt.com/Completed_Civil_Matters/CasinovOsu.doc

57. #57 by lopez on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 10:47 pm

another act of lousy losers exercising sticky acts of preventions,

the happiness of the governed and governor are distinctively divided
    but hey who gave them the mandate in the first place and now sat too long and refuse to come down form the pedestal.

Why cant those bloodies idiots go sit in the toilet for everybody sake, and he can enjoy himself there piece and quiet to the musical droppings of his desire.

shut the damn door and stay inside….

58. #58 by liu on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 11:04 pm

To philip vyti:

Datuk Muhammad Kamil Awang was instructed by the ex-CJ by phone to strike out an election petition, Datuk Syed Ahmad Idid wrote a letter to the same ex-CJ on corruption in the Judiciary implicating some 12 judges including the ex-CJ. Now can someone post that 32 page letter by Datuk Syed Ahmad Idid or would the same step forward and reveal all for the sake of this country?

59. #59 by jameselva on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 11:16 pm

Mahathir will say: I don’t ingat anything lah.
    The judge lobby for promotion lah and he did not get it. Very angry lah with me.

60. #60 by donng55 on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 11:31 pm

“… The then prime minister was scheduled to talk but he did not turn up and instead sent his then deputy who instead of talking invited questions and the one question I remembered being asked was — Are politicians looking for girls when they are often seen loitering at posh hotel lobbies?”

YB LIM

We want to know if the then Deputy PM, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, was aware of the purpose of the “boot camp” and the reason why he was there?

Surely, Mahathir qua Mahathir, he would not send someone in whom he had no complete trust or someone who was not in sync with his thoughts on the case to attend to such sensitive matter. Right?

61. #61 by Anak Malaysia on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 11:37 pm

Another sandiwara in judiciary of East Malaysia after Lingam case. -What a shame ?

Nobody to trust in the judiciary system in Malaysia since judges are easily sway away and unindependent in their judgements. – What a shameful system ?

Prices of all goods and services are skyrockecting daily after BLACK 8 June 08 caused a mockery of the judiciary decision to allow drastic increase petrol and electricitiy prices without public opinion survey to cease such prices hike. – Shame is the best word.

No words to describe the meaning of “SHAME” !!

IN GOD WE TRUST

62. #62 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 10 June 2008 - 11:55 pm

Is this a revelation or is this a confession? 20 years later he suddenly found two ballz in his pant?

63. #63 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 8:27 am

/// dawsheng Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 55.09
    Is this a revelation or is this a confession? 20 years later he suddenly found two ballz in his pant? ///

Easy for us to sit here and pontificate. Try going against a tyrant and a despot when he is in power. See what happened to Anwar.

64. #64 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 10:42 am

Malaysia should change its name to “Mugabeland”

65. #65 by passerby on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 10:49 am

Now that Justice Datuk H C Ian Chin has disclosed justice is not blind but directed by someone above, can we not ask Parliament to declare there is a miscarriage of justice and declare all judgement null and void. If the wrongful dismissed judges can be compensated, then those who have suffered miscarriage of justice should also be compensated and apologized.

Malaysia stand in the world is very low because this scandal and no one will trust the country judicial system in the event of any dispute. I am sure foreigners are view the country no better than those 3rd world countries in Africa and this is one of the reasons why foreign companies are staying away. If the gov is not prepared to right the injustice and keep the judiciary independent, Malaysia dream of 2020 will be just a dream.

66. #66 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:28 am

Justice Datuk H C Ian Chin is a brave man of impeccable integrity and we congratulate such judges in the judiciary. He puts judges involved in the “Lingam Tape” case, and those involved in the sacking of Tun Saleh Abbas and other judges into utter shame!

He is the beacon of hope in the Malaysian judiciary now. We certain congratulate him and some of fellow judges who stood by evidence and law and not political threat from the PM or the Chief Justice, or the President of Court of Appeal!

67. #67 by philip vyti on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:13 pm

To liu thanks for the name of the judge who spoke up but no one believed him. AG says no case lah probably after consulting mamak.What a shame.Are we now going to pay conpensation to this brave judge. I think its only fair as he stuck his neck out and had it chopped.
    To dawsheng… please justice datuk Chin had no choice.Its easy for us on the side lines to say that he had no balls. Think what would have happened if he told all during mamaks time. For what he has done now I salute him.

68. #68 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 5:23 pm

The then prime minister answers: “Looks like me, sounds like me, smells like me but it isn’t me. “

69. #69 by bernadette on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 6:28 am

asking for another RCI on the former PM is naive and stupid! thinking that that will solve all our problems could only come from the mind of a retard!

70. #70 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 8:00 am

I think there is more than meets the eye here.

Perhaps the poor judges are being used as a weapon against the
    former PM (who is currently heavily criticising the current PM)?
    Another example of Machiavellian politics at work!

Nevertheless, the more disclosures by both camps (by the former PM in his blog and by the present PM through the mainstream media and other mouth pieces), the better for the citizens of Malaysia.

71. #71 by Tickler on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 12:42 pm

Matthias Chang has called for justice Ian Chin to be sacked. The former AG Abu Talib has also had an outburst.

What is this former AG afraid of. He should immediately step down from SUHAKAM.

Justice Ian Chin was acting in proper manner when he talked in this matter in showing `openness` by revealing to both parties to decide if he should be recused in a matter before him.

I only infer from the former AG`s outburst that he too was party to previous misdemeanors, and that he should be investigated further.

Also the AG should start proceedings against the former AG and Mathias Chang along the similar lines that Mr. Lim Guan Eng, (current Chief minister, Penang) was sent to prison on a somewhat similar matter.

I`m not sure if a police report against Mathias Chang and Abu Talib should be made as well.

72. #72 by Tickler on Friday, 13 June 2008 - 12:44 pm

Former AG Slams Justice Chin

News Headline 2008-06-11 17:41

PETALING JAYA: Former Attorney General Abu Talib Othman today slammed High Court Judge Ian H.C. Chin claiming that former Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad had threatened judges during his premiership.

Abu Talib who is also Human Rights Commissioin (Suhakam) chairman said the judge, “should not talk about this outside the court, his action was inappropriate because his allegation was not related with the cases which he is handling now,” Abu Talib told Sin Chew Daily when contacted in Petaling Jaya Wednesday (11 June).