One shocker of the news today is the announcement by the Acting Gerakan President, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon to move to the federal level in the upcoming general election – not the contents of the announcement but circumstances and implications of the announcement.
Tsu Koon’s announcement came “a few hours after Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi mentioned that he (Abdullah) would decide for the Penang Chief Minister if the latter was unable to make up his mind whether to contest a state seat or go for a parliament seat”.
It highlights Koh’s utterly indecisive leadership – even more indecisive than Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, which must be quite an “achievement” by itself.
Koh said he had submitted three names as his successor to the Prime Minister who indicated “he might need a few days to decide on who to choose as my successor”. (Bernama)
This is a most shocking display of impotence. Who should be the next Gerakan Penang Chief Minister should be the sole decision of the Gerakan leadership. Why has Tsu Koon surrendered this power and right of the Gerakan to decide who should be the next Penang Gerakan Chief Minister to the Umno President giving him the prerogative to choose from one of three names submitted by Koh?
It is open secret that submitting the decision to Abdullah is as good as submitting it to Khairy Jamualuddin, Abdullah’s son-in-law and the “power-behind-the-throne”.
Khairy Jamaluddin, the master of the power Putrajaya Fourth Storey, is already a very powerful man if not the most powerful man in Umno and Barisan Nasional.
For instance, everybody knows that Khairy is the de facto Mentri Besar of Terengganu and that Datuk Idris Jusoh is just a Mentri Besar in name only. It is Khairy who dispenses with the billions of ringgit of “wang ehsan” from the five per cent oil royalty from Petronas, which completely bypassed the Mentri Besar’s Office!
Now Khairy is accumulating even greater power as he will finally be deciding who is to be the next Gerakan Penang Chief Minister – as it is again public knowledge that Khairy virtually makes all the important decisions for rubber-stamping by the Prime Minister, from top civil service and judicial appointments, approval of mega contracts without tender, dispensing billions of ringgit of funds in Terengganu which completely overshadow the state government’s budget to the latest decision as to who should be the next Penang Gerakan Chief Minister from the three names submitted by Koh!
I do not think this is the best start for Penang to face the challenges of globalization after the 2008 general election!
(Speech (2) at the opening of the Canning (Ipoh Timur) election operation centre at Kampung Simee, Ipoh on Monday, 11th February 2008 at 11 am)

#1 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 1:33 am
#2 by Jong on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 1:48 am
And for DAP, well what can I say about “father and Son Coâ€. You know, how other seniors leaders “made way†for the Crown Prince.
What’s your problem Shamsul? What has ‘father & Son Co’ to do with UMNO(you)? If DAP members have not spoken a word, who are you to object? This ‘father & Son’ team must be a great threat and giving you guys at UMNO, sleepless nights!
Btw who are those ‘Crown Princes’ you are referrring to? DAP don’t need ‘crown princes’, they train, create able successors and reserves, not any pitbulls!
#3 by HB Lim on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 1:53 am
With due respects to MCA, MIC, Gerakan, many of them will be wiped out in election if not for UMNO votes. – Shamsul Anuar
Confirms what we non-Malays have been saying all this while about these those dogs. Even the Malays themselves feel those dogs are useless and need to be supported by UMNO. So, the equation now is that the non-Malays support the Malays financially and the Malays have to support those dogs politically. Those dogs are sucking the non-Malays by hiding under the sarongs of UMNO. UMNO is only tolerating those dogs to give a semblance that UMNO too respect the non-Malays.
If UMNO indeed respect the non-Malays, then it should ditch those dogs and compromise with parties that are supported by the non-Malays. Get it Shamsul – those dogs do not represent non-Malay interest and aspirations. So, don’t tell me that UMNO by supporting those dogs respect the rights of the non-Malays.
#4 by MAJULAHMALAYSIA on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 2:12 am
As we all Malaysian, I would respect you all Malaysian whether you are BN or Opposition. Mr. Shamsul Anuar, if you believe “habislah orang Melayu kalau DAP yang memerintah” does it mean “habislah orang Melayu kalau PAP yang memerintah”.
Singapore is a very good example we can follow as it near to us. Do you think the Malays in Singapore left out or treated unfair by their Government? If Singapore Government unfair to the Malays, I’m sure there will be a street demostration just like HINDRAF to express their feelings. And one thing Singapore Government didn’t divide the citizens as Malay, Chinese and Indian, they all recoznized as Singaporean.
DAP is a victim of the mainstream media which potrayed it as anti-Malay party. DAP fight for non-Malay because of the Government discrimination policies which unfair to them. DAP also fight for Malay because of Government injustice happened to them like the young girl in Rahim Tamby Chik scandal, Anwar Ibrahim freedom, the recent victim doctor jailed for 3 months, ISA, Government demolished squatters in Kampung Rimba Jaya and many more. Do you see any UMNO, MCA, MIC, GERAKAN and many more components party defend them?
Regarding the Chief Minister post, I think it is up to the Chief Minister decision because it is State affair and nothing to do with Federal Government. I would like to know which 3 candidate will Nik Aziz Nik Mat summit to the Prime Minister IF he wants to step down. Any answer?
#5 by BlackEye on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:17 am
“Btw who are those ‘Crown Princes’ you are referrring to? DAP don’t need ‘crown princes’, they train, create able successors and reserves, not any pitbulls!” Jong
Wow!! Calm down! Is it that time of the month?
#6 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:21 am
Just read this:-
Disamping itu kedudukan di Pulau Pinang masih samar-samar kerana terdapat perbalahan serta perpecahan sebegitu teruk di antara pimpinan MCA dan Gerakan serta MIC yang masih berebut untuk menambahkan lagi kuota kerusi kepada mereka.
This could explain why our MSM focuses on opposition parties being unable to settle the seat allocations. Its purely a diversionary tactic!
#7 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:21 am
Crown/clown prince means SIL?
#8 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:24 am
The malays in my area sure are riled. They are upset with the deceit from umno. They have said, they will know who to vote for this time. umno is just a political party with its members out to get the most for themselves.
They will vote for the “government”. umno is basically businessmen attending parliament and state assemblies.
#9 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:26 am
mind you thats from the malays. And even formerly staunch umno supporters are hanging their heads down in shame.
#10 by BlackEye on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:28 am
“Give some credit as this is the only country that allows vernacular sachools and extensive fund them …” Shamshul Anuar
We have to give this one to Shamshul.
#11 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 7:11 am
I wonder where all the taxes comes from that funds some and only some of the vernacular schools partially? …and where do the funds come from to pay for huge mosques and salaries of the muslim clergy and syariah court officials? hmm….ya lah got to be grateful that the non-muslims pay taxes!
#12 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 7:14 am
I felt the reference to the geek as Homer Simpson was cute. Anyone remember Gomer Pyle? He comes to mind too!
#13 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 7:21 am
Hey guys, the front for free and fair elections is calling for volunteers to help monitor the coming elections. They are targetting 10 persons per polling station. Training will be provided. Any takers? For those in Ipoh area, reply by today by contacting Ipoh City Watch!
#14 by year of snake on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 8:40 am
One thing I must Credit with these lackeys especially KTK in Gerakan is that they are so sure that they will retain their number of seats or getting more from the coming GE by proposing their next CM. I wonder what will happen when they loose all their seats or retaining one or two?
#15 by caishen on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 8:50 am
GERAKAN,Grrrrak! Grrrak …ke…..luar!!!
Chicken KTK to hold a Cabinet Post??????????????????
Minister of what? Could be Minister of TELEPHONE and CABLES?? What can he offered to the state?Hmmm……
Whether u are in the State or Federal level, bear in mind, KTK is still a NOBODY in UMNO’s eye.
#16 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:54 am
Penangites should decide whom to be be the next CM not UMNO. Show these BN morons who is the boss by voting DAP. LGE should be the next CM.
#17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:18 am
What Gomer Pyle? He is comparable to Ibrahim Pendek
#18 by A true Malaysian on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:23 am
It is a sad case that we Malaysians still playing racial politics after 50 years of independence. I sincerely believe DAP and KeAdilan are not representing Chinese and Malay respectively, the two parties are of multi-racial base which I believe Malaysian will vote.
So, lets try out the partnership of DAP and KeAdilan in this coming GE to form state government in Penang. I am sure Melayu will not be ‘habislah’ if DAP and KeAdilan form the state government. It is pointless to submit 3 names to PM at this time, submit only when you win.
#19 by wizzerd on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 1:27 pm
HB Lim Says:
…Those dogs are sucking the non-Malays by hiding under the sarongs of UMNO. UMNO is only tolerating those dogs to give a semblance that UMNO too respect the non-Malays.
- those dogs do not represent non-Malay interest and aspirations. So, don’t tell me that UMNO by supporting those dogs respect the rights of the non-Malays.
Spot on HB Lim. Those dogs DO NOT represent the interest of the non-Malays.
KJ was saying during the UMNO GA that UMNO gave way to MCA to compete in areas where the majority of the population is Malays because they respect the rights of the non-Malays.
If UMNO throws some crumbs to the floor, it doesn’t mean that it is respecting the rights of others..it is merely a reward for being such a subservient lapdog. PERIOD
#20 by limkamput on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 9:41 pm
To many lawyers out there,
Is it true that the PM has the prerogative to choose the MBs or CMs of each state? What did the state constitutions say with regard to appointment of MBs and CMs? If every damn thing is the prerogative of PM, we may as well dissolve everything and let him rule alone. What about Kelantan, can PM choose a MB from BN since it is his prerogative?
#21 by penangvoices on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:55 pm
Usually 2 common reasons why a job hopper move from one company to another.
(1) He/She is looking for higher salary and better prospect.
A hot labour market starting year 2007, many employees are looking for opportunity to earn fast money by switching from a company to another.
(2) He/She is not performing.
He/She cannot perform in the current company, and hoping to have more chance to perform (or to rot another company)
#22 by BlackEye on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:25 am
“What did the state constitutions say with regard to appointment of MBs and CMs?” limkamput
Why don’t you tell us? We don’t know.
#23 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:22 pm
I am asking lawyers who know. So by implications: 1. Don’t assume you are a lawyer although you can imagine you are a wannabe (it is free unless you have paid up your contribution to DAP fund); 2. IF you are a lawyer, you are a half bake one who does not know any damn thing other than belittling others; 3. Who is this “us” and “we” here? Another muddled thinking process again? I know you like me, but please don’t stalk me la, you are too putrid and smelly.
#24 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:09 pm
No point of arguing who the next CM of Penang would belongs to.
We all know that nowadays,things are totally different from the past. In the past, it’s the PM who decides everything.
Now, it’s the Umno Youth who’re in power. Things are out of control now for Malaysia. Their mouth is bigger than us and that’s for sure!!!
#25 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:39 pm
Not only Samy Vellu has lost his marbles. Clearly someone here has also lost his marbles!
#26 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:28 pm
See all these wannabe lawyers, one simple question also can not answer and yet everyday want to talk very big cock here about law and constitution. chee sin la you people.
#27 by negarawan on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:47 pm
Tsu Koon has done the least among all the Penang CMs. The drain outside his office has dead rats and cats floating in it, and he has not done anything about it for years. Penang stinks literally (Darul Sampah) and is a dengue hotbed. Ask any good doctor in Penang.
#28 by nclee on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 11:28 am
because UMNO is so strong! So, keep good BN chinese candidates, keep good opposition candidates, don’t hope for Keadilan to fight UMNO. If they win they become the next UMNO. Then you regret. The person who had the power to bring KEADILAN to the people never act when in power. NOW, ’shout’ for Keadilan??? use your wisdom. DONT simply vote…VOTE for good quality Wakil no matter what party. He represent you. You vote for a donkey to represent you?
Be realistic with wisdom. Vote for someone that can work for Us!
If you vote blindly without looking at the quality of the candidate, the n you are Blind.
#29 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 12:16 am
Dear Dark Horse,
I beg to differ on your statement. The right to choose the Penang Chief Minister or any Menteri Besar rests on Pengerusi BN( should BN wins the election).
Actually, it is a non issue here. I was merely correcting the myth that says Gerakan has the authority on this matter. As for a statement on Kelantan, PM has no aurthority to appoint athe Menteri Besar as PAS rules the state.
As for Majulah Malaysia, rest assured that I am not playing to racial gallery here. And I am not comparing DAP with PAP. And to the Malays, actually DAP is not “victim of maimstream media”. This is how Malay perceives DAP. On countless ocassions, DAP played to the racial gallery. Remember the relocation of a Chinese School several years ago. And how Malays could not forget Seputeh MP, Theresa without checking her facts created an issue out of nothing . Finally, she was proven wrong besides causing diplomatic protest by Beijing.
Need I say more when Kua, a member of DAP, wrote a book , putting the blame on UMNO with regards to May 13 incidents. As for Malays in Singapore, well correct me if my memory fails me. Was not Pm of Singapore several years ago said that malays cant be put in strategic defence system as their loyalty was in doubt “should a war take place”?.
If not blatant discrimination, I do not know what is this.
#30 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 12:20 am
Dear Jong,
There is no problem here. I am just stating what my Chinese friends are saying about “father and Son” in DAP. In other words, “a pot should not call a kettle black”.
#31 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 12:24 am
Dear Laksy,
Rest assured, I never imply that friendship with non Malays to be taken lightly. And I never deny contribution by any Malaysians, be he is a Malay, Chinese, Bidayuh or whatever race.
I am just saying what a Malay feels when he sees ridiculous statement like “Khairy to decide on Penang CM”. Malicious, I believe.