Songkok compulsory wear for JB English College prefects?

Letters
by a JB EC parent

I have a query for you about the English College, Johor Bahru, which is now also known as Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar.

My son who is in Form Five this year, has been a Prefect in EC
since he was in Form Two. He has always been an exemplary student, as well has won praise from many teachers for his exemplary conduct and commitment to his duties and studies. He is also a member of the ExCo of the Prefectorial Board.

Recently, in the beginning of this year, there was an instruction from the school, which I believe came from the teacher advisor to the Prefectorial Board, that Prefects have to start wearing the Songkok as part of the official uniform. At first, the instruction was that it would only be required during “official functions” like school assemblies and during interschool events or major events like sports day and speech day. Hoever, this has now been revised to include daily prefectorial duties.

There are reasons to believe that the practice of getting Prefects to wear the Songkok, is a prelude to getting ALL the students of the school to eventually follow suit.

My son, after conferring with me, has decided that he will NOT wear the Songkok. He is willing to resign from the Prefectorial Board if forced to wear the Songkok.

The rationale behind his refusal, which I stongly support, is that the Songkok is an emblem of the MALAY identity. As non-Malays, he should not be forced to don attire which does not reflect his true identity.

Also, since the Constitution defines Malay as someone who is Muslim, it may give others the wrong impression that he may be Muslim. Although, at first thought, this may sound a bit far-fetched, as the complexion of a Chinese is very different from that of a Malay. But it is also about principle and of providing a precedent. What of the case of a dark-skinned Chinese, or even an Indian, who wears a songkok? Will they be mistaken for Malays?

The issue is also that of “stumbling others.” My son is a devout
Christian, and has been on two trips overseas in the past two years on mission outreaches, to help the poor, and to spread the Gospel. In Christianity, there are exhortations to Christians not to “stumble your brothers.” Apostle Paul had written in the case when food which had been offered to idols should not be consumed esp in the presence of Christian brothers who are not strong in the faith. Perhaps the wearing of the Songkok may also lead others to stumble, as the songkok is associated with Malay identity, and Malays are invariably Muslim. People who see my son wearing a songkok may think that he is a Malay, and thus a Muslim.

There will be those Malays who wish to enforce their culture, albeit in a creeping fashion, unto others, who may defend the move to enforce the songkok, claiming that the Songkok is a National identity, rather than a Malay or Muslim identity.

To that, I ask why:

– the songkok is part of the uniform of the Royal Malay Regiment, and not of say the rangers and others.
– the songkok is worn by Malays who go for Friday prayers, and not on other days.
– the songkok is worn by Malays on Hari Raya and Hari Raya Haji, but NOT on Hari Merdeka.

In fact, the songkok is identified with Malay cultural dress, just as
the cheongsam is with Chinese, and the saree with Indian. And just as the tudung is for Malays, so too the turban is for Sikhs.

IF the rationale behind the move to enforce students is “uniformity” then are Sikhs exempt from wearing them? Where then would be the uniformity?

My other contention, and which should probably be more IN THE INTEREST OF THE MALAY MUSLIM COMMUNITY, is that my son’s refusal to comply with the requirement for non-Malays to wear the songkok, WILL ACTUALLY PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY AND SANCTITY OF THE SONGKOK.

Despite all the denial about the Songkok being associated with Malay identity and hence with Islam (since all Malays are Muslims), the common perception even amongst Malay Muslims themselves, are that someone wearing a songkok IS a Muslim. IMAGINE a situation where a man wearing a songkok is having a beer, or a group of men are photographed in a pub, all wearing songkoks and each lifting a pint into the air!

What would Malays have to say about it then?
Would these be considered as an insult to Islam?

There are other situations where men in songkoks should not be
seen doing things which a Muslim should NOT be doing. For instance, would Muslims be upset if I were to wear a songkok and have my picture taken with a roast pig and the picture displayed?

What if my son wears a songkok and eats in a mamak shop during the month of Ramadan? Of if my son wears a songkok, and walks in the park at 7pm with his girlfriend, who is wearing a tudung (she also a non-Muslim!)

Would Muslim feel a sense of their culture being violated by
non-Muslims in Malay dress, doing things which good Muslims should not be doing? A non-Muslim boy walking sitting on a park bench at night with a non-Muslim girl would be nobody’s business but their own (or their parents). However, this would be a no-no for Muslims. Imagine the confusion if a non-Muslim boy with songkok were to be seen in this “khalwat” situation with a non-Muslim girl in a tudung?

Therefore, I reiterate – it is probably best to preserve the integrity and sanctity of the songkok and tudung, IF they are reserved for Malays and NOT enforced upon non-Malays. Alternatively, it should be left to the personal choice of the individual.

Do you think that my arguments have a basis?

I have no complaints if they make the songkok NON-COMPULSORY, and IF wearing it is just “encouraged” rather than. Would they have a problem if a small cross is pinned to the songkok, to designate that the wearer is not a Muslim?

1. #1 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 4:53 am

I boycotted my once-a-lifetime convocation in UTM because of wearing songkok issue.

My advice to this parent, ask your son to resign from the perfect’s duty as your strong protest of this kind of barbaric forced assimilation. Don’t sell your soul out!

2. #2 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 5:03 am

Since UMNO claims Allah is theirs right, songkok shall be copyrighted for Malay Muslims only.

Why there is such a double standard?

Today they ask your son to wear songkok, tomorrow they will asking your son to wear sarung to match the songkok attire, the day afer tomorrow, they will asking your son to convert to Islam because songkok and sarung are reserved for muslims only.

3. #3 by sybreon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 5:55 am

Personally, I’m not sure if there’s anything wrong with wearing it. Assuming that the school principal has the authority to mandate the school uniform (like making students wear red neck ties and black shoes) then, this really isn’t an issue.

When I was in school, I used to remember the girls wearing baju kurung, regardless of race/religion. In this case, it’s a purely personal decision as the school does not mandate such dress. Nobody seemed to have any complaints about this.

If the son doesn’t want to wear it, he definitely has the right not to. However, quitting the prefect board should not be the thing to do. That is too drastic and it does not help anybody. There are other ways to go about handling this situation. For example:

1) Ask his friends if any of them mind wearing it. If there are others who mind, get them to write a letter to the principal, explaining that they would prefer it if the songkok was encouraged, but not mandatory. If there are enough prefects who’re against it, get their voices heard and the principal will probably have to reconsider the decision. Personally, I’d think that wearing it for formal functions would be okay. Wearing it everyday would be troublesome. Just like school neck ties, they’re normally worn during assemblies and functions, but not all the time.

2) Ask for written guidelines on wearing a songkok. As he is a Chinese/Christian and has never worn one before, he would need guidelines. Like, is it okay to wear it in class. No other Chinese/Christians are allowed to wear hats in class. Would this create some tension between the prefects and normal students? Should it be worn when visiting the loo? Should it be taken off to scratch an itch? What coloured songkoks are allowed and what are not allowed? Would a prefect be allowed to keep his hair long as long under the songkok? There are just so many things that need clarification. That’s why it’s important to have a written guideline before implementation.

3) How about the cost of the songkok? Ask for the school to subsidise the cost of the songkok. During my days, my school subsidised the cost of our blazers and ties. The songkok would only be worn as part of the work attire when discharging their duties. No part of the prefect uniform is part of the national uniform code. It’s mostly extra. So, it’s only fair that the school pays/subsidises for them. It should be considered “work clothes”.

As much as some people would like to turn it into one, this isn’t a race/religion issue. And asking the son to quit the prefect board on such a trivial issue is detrimental to his future. Goodness knows that he’ll need as many positive karma points as possible to secure places in university and/or scholarships.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:33 am

“….//…Do you think that my arguments have a basis?…//…” -JB EC parent.

No. The preservation of the integrity and sanctity of the songkok and tudung as Malay cultural emblems and giving others the wrong or mistaken impression that a Christian Chinese may be Malay Muslim will not count in the minds of those who want to either forcibly or by persuasion procure others to follow Malay culture.

They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. For the case of those who believe in supremacist concept of racial and cultural superiority and hegemony of the majority over the minorities, such “adoption” of their cultural emblems reaffirms the pride and dominance of the majority’s culture and political power and the subservience of the minority, much devoutly to be wished for. It is a signifier, a public statement of the hegemonic relationship between “dominant” and “minority” positions, otherwise denied in politically correct language.

When the Manchus came to power in China, they enforced the pigtail, a symbol of Manchu dominance meant for Han Chinese humiliation.

They would further justify it that this form of creeping asimilation is the long term solution for racial and religious polarisation and divisions in the country and facilitate nation building.

What happened in English College, Johor Bahru, which is now also known as Maktab Sultan Abu Bakar (the change of name for the same reason to so called divest local institution from colonial hegemony through markers like English name) is a fruit of TDM’s and Anwar Ibrahim’s labour of active Islamisation of the country for the last 22 years during which many, educated in religious studies, are now occupying positions throughout the public sector and educational institutions. Though the “songkok” is not national policies, these people will try wherever and when ever possible to advance and implement their values on others.
    T

5. #5 by undergrad2 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:34 am

If Malays and Islam are not given their special status under our Federal Constitution of 1957, if Malays are not legally deemed Muslims and could choose their religion, and if non-Malays and non-Muslims are not prohibited from proselytizing the Malays and if Islam is not the official religion of the federation, would the issue regarding the banning of the use of the Arabic word “Allah” by other faiths be an issue at all today?

Would the government (read: UMNO) remove and re-locate Hindu temples with such ‘zeal’, and would the government remove crosses atop school buildings and seek the removal of non-Islamic icons from public display the way it is now doing, if not for the fact that Islam occupies a special position within our Constitution, and that Malays are deemed legally Muslims?

So those of us who did extensive research on the real meaning and origin of the word “Allah” aren’t they missing the point here?

If religion in Malaysia is not politicized, would we be even talking about it? Would the government have banned the use of the word “Allah” except among Muslims, and threatened not to issue a publishing permit to the Herald a Christian publication by a Church in East Malaysia where the work of Christian missionaries and the spread of the Christian religion attracts the displeasure of Muslim public officials and Muslim politicians there.

Now another symbol has emerged – that of the Malay ‘songkok’ long regarded as a cultural and religious symbol. Whether it is more likely a cultural symbol which over the years has merged to be a Muslim symbol since all Malays are Muslims is not important.

We have wrestled with this issue before when our Malaysian judges irrespective of whether they are non-Malays and non-Muslims, were asked to replace horse hair (called ‘wigs’ traditionally worn by British judges) on their heads with ‘songkoks’. What of the ‘tengkolok” worn by dignitaries at official functions and royalty? Were not the Malays once Hindus before they became Muslims?

The politics of religion has run parallel to the politics of language and education ever since the Constitution was passed by the first Parliament in 1957. While the politics of language and education may have reached a flat so to speak, the politics of religion has gathered momentum in recent years especially post 9/11 and is on the incline.

Religion anywhere is divisive in its nature.

With the country facing general elections that could well put a new coalition of political parties in power, despite what the pundits are saying or are not saying, it is not untimely to ask if a new approach towards religion is not in order. The call by U.S. Presidential candidate Barack Obama’s resonates round the world. As Malaysians we could take a leaf out of his thoughts on the reclaiming of a dream long lost – a dream that Malaysians would live happily together not like they do now together but separately, aware and tolerant of our differences and united in our diversity. It may be hard to undo the damage done over decades of misrule by UMNO but hope is what it is all about.

“Since when has ‘hope’ been false?” to quote Obama the next U.S. President(?).

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 6:45 am

Based on what I have said, it is clear that I am diametrically opposed in viewpoint and principle with what sybreon said ie :-

· That “this really isn’t an issue”….

· That “quitting the prefect board should not be the thing to do. That is too drastic”…

· That what his (presumably non muslim/malay friends) think when asked if they mind wearing it is important;

· that “wearing it for formal functions would be okay”….

· asking for written guidelines on wearing a songkok or subsidies for wearing it (what is there to ask?)…

· “this isn’t a race/religion issue….” – I would like to ask, “what is it then?”

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:00 am

There is a theory going around that we Malaysians and in particular non-Malays in this country are at a crossroads. The BN formula of ‘compromise’ which has had its share of success, we all know is not sustainable over the long run. But the first problem with the BN formula is that over the years like such issue of the songkok which in reality is about Malay so-called ‘special right’ has been perversed much as the Islamic state official religon has been perversed, shortening usability of the original ‘compromise’ formula as envisioned by our founding fathers.

The current formula may still work but its an eventuality that it will not. Before that day come, we have to decide what kind of country we want to live in. That is why it is said we are at a crossroad because its now we have to think about it as the date may not be far off.

Our PM is wrong the day when he was elected that he said, there need not be a new vision. He single handedly has proven that over his tenure. But more importantly, those that follow him, the fourth floor mafia, Nazri and others do not have an answer to our impending question.

The truth is the right-wing UMNOist in this country have no idea where they are taking us. They see nothing wrong in making JB’s son wearing the songkok by force or otherwise. They see themselves as pragmatist when in reality they are not. Some may even say non-Muslim women are lucky not to be forced to wear the Hijab.

We are at a crossroad and we don’t have the leadership now or within sight to make decisions at this juncture. The truth we have been in this situation before. For the fight for independence, a liberal Malay royal called Tunku Abdul Rahman tapped the enlightened non-Malay as a counterforce to over-zealous Malay-Muslim nationalist to gain peaceful independence. When Razak’s original nationalist-Malay protectionist formula was killing the economy, the pragmatic Mahathir tapped the Chinese businessmen to liberalized the economy and saved the economy.

At every critical juncture in this country’s history, the liberal non-Malays have played a critical role in bringing this country back from disaster. The question is are we doomed to wait until disaster before something is done about it or do non-Malays in this country act now?

The issue before us are complicated and long term and the luxury of waiting may not be there anymore. More importantly it does not make sense.

We still have a luxury of debating the issues but we do not have the luxury of NOT debating it. This is where Badawi fails us more than anything else without a vision and his lack of conviction of his original promises. We are most fortunate for globalization and the internet. We are a blessed nation.

But do we prove ourselves again underserving of god’s blessing?

8. #8 by ahluck on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:06 am

the malay/islam issues are created by the muslim leaders. They are the ones creating racial and religious disunity among malaysians. Imposing with rules like songkok, tudung, allah, no cross on buliding. when non-malays or non-muslims oppose they been called racist or ISA waiting for them.
    UMNO govt is slowly changing beautiful Malaysia to Full bored Islamic Nation.
    so many roadsigns, names of schools or college names are changed.

9. #9 by Jimm on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:17 am

Religion have been guiding followers to understand what on earth and what is important to God.
    UMNO just created a new revised Islamic religion because of their greed for power.
    Anyway, since holding the no.1 seat for OIC, UMNO have been pull around by their stronger members like buffaloes all over.
    Malaysia have been make as another financial hub for their businesses and placement.
    Since UMNO sees only monies flowing daily all over Malaysia’s market, we can’t blamed them for acting more in these manner as they need to show to their bosses that they are in control.

10. #10 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:33 am

I agree with Jeffrey’s malay supremacy is played by certain Malay extremists.

Certain Malays try impose their culture, religion, etc. on minorities under the name of racial tolerance (read it as unilateral tolerance) and national unity.

Example 1: Unilateral religious tolerance (I wrote to Malaysiakini and edited version was published by steven Gan in Nov 2007)

Unilateral religious tolerance, only asking non-muslim respects Islam is not a proper way to incalculate tolerance between religions.

I refer to this religious text, “All praise for Allah who have given us food and drink and have made us Muslims” as mentioned in letters published in Malaysiakini, may sound alright for Muslims and Christians, but not all religious teachings such as Buddhist has same concept on God. Some people may feel offended for seeing such as insensitivity act in the public places.

“Doa Selamat” in school’s public gathering sounds a norm and long misinterpreted by certain quarters as a “Malaysian way”.

Did school authourities ever allow other religions’ prays during the school’s gatherings? If the school authourities are open minded and allow all religious prays during gatherings, then I will call it a true tolerance between religions, otherwise I will call it unilateral tolerance.

Another sensible approach is to have a religion neutral policy in schools as America, all parties shall play down religion issue and banning all religious texts in the schools.

Many unfair and bias policies are assumed “norm” after being imposed with barbaric manner on all Malaysians especually non-bumis by UMNO-led government is not doing any good to true unity and tolerance in this country.

Ask ourself one question, how many our close friends are from different race and religion background?

Example 2: unilateral proselytising (Was published in yesterdays’s Malaysiakini)

People in Malay archipelago used to be Hindus, Buddhists and animists at one time. If these religions or the governments then disallowed their people to convert to Islam, Fathima Idris might be born a Buddhist against her will.

Muslims here assume that converting non-Muslims is okay while vice-versa is absolutely wrong.

True religious tolerance cannot be built on a unilateral proselytising concept or banning others from using the term ‘Allah’. Malaysia shall learn from Indonesia, the largest Muslim country in the world, which demonstrates true freedom of faith to all its people.

Example 3: Male and female students are segragated in a school in Seremban)

Example 4: Wearing songkok in UTM convocation.

11. #11 by kun9999 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:37 am

Sorry, something out of this topic….
    today i receive forward mail regarding 10 yr old being able to vote.
    IC: 991214740101
    IC: 910815750017
    IC: 981231081137
    You can check the status via http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftarbi.asp

My question is there something wrong with SRP database or ???

12. #12 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:43 am

(Corrected) Are our school authourities ever allow other prayers from other religions during the school’s gatherings? If the school authourities are open minded and allow all religious prayers, then I will call it a true tolerance between religions, otherwise it is just another unilateral tolerance.

13. #13 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:45 am

I beg to disagree with sybreon. On principle and religious grounds, your son should either resign OR wear a small cross pinned to the songkok. It is against one of the ten commandments.

14. #14 by sybreon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:45 am

Hi Jeffrey,

“this isn’t a race/religion issue….” – I would like to ask, “what is it then?”

I’m coming from this point of view:

If he wants to wear a cross on a chain around his neck and the school bars him from entry, that’s a religious issue. If the school punishes him for speaking Chinese in school, then that’s a racial issue. His present situation fits neither of the above.

Like I mentioned, regardless of race/religion, school girls have been wearing the baju kurung in school since my days in school, more than a decade ago. Presently, I personally know many Chinese ladies who like to wear the kebaya (apparently it’s quite nice). Why isn’t this an issue then? If the son chooses to wear a baju melayu with songkok to school, there is perfectly nothing wrong with that. Heck, it might even be fun.

The only problem with this situation is that it’s being mandated for no good reason by a principal that isn’t thinking logically.

Let’s turn the situation around and assume that the principal insists that all male prefects wear a skirt to school. In this situation, I doubt that anyone would call it a gender issue.

15. #15 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:45 am

kun9999 Says:

Today at 08: 37.15 (6 minutes ago)

===

This junk was posted umpteen times.

16. #16 by sybreon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:53 am

dear bystander,

I don’t seem to recall the 10 commandments mentioning anything at all with regards to attire.

PS: I do not wish to turn this into a religious argument.

17. #17 by Libra2 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:54 am

I fully agree with the writer. In any case what is so great about being a prefect? When he receives his SPM results do you think his role in the school will have a bearing when he applies for a place in the university. Malays who are inferior in studies and extra mural activities will have a better chance than your son.
    To be there is only one issue here and that of principles. Stand by it come what may.
    This issue is no different from the the one in Seremban whoch segregated boys and girls. Its all about Islamization.

18. #18 by k1980 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:55 am

Where is malaysia’s Kemal Ataturk? The wearing of the fez, which had been introduced a century earlier as a modernizing reform to replace the turban, was outlawed because it had become for the nationalists a symbol of the reactionary Ottoman regime.
    http://www.allaboutturkey.com/reform.htm

19. #19 by farseer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:57 am

Here’s an article on who are the “the real Malays” from an anthropological perspective. Not sure if the facts are true but it makes interesting reading.
    http://balajoe27.wordpress.com/2007/10/03/who-are-the-real-%E2%80%9Cmalays%E2%80%9D/

20. #20 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:00 am

Malaysiatoday is right and correct in every aspect. Yes religious tolerence cannot be 1 way street. Why cant non-muslims be exempted from Doa Selamat in schools? [deleted]

21. #21 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:08 am

Sybreon,

Wearing baju kurung for non-muslim female students may sound okay for you IF is under voluntarily basis.

I am telling you this is another example of unilateral tolerance. If a Malay student is wearing “cheongsam” kinda uniform, UMNO fella will condemn you to hell and brandish their kris.

I say it again, many unfair and bias policies are assumed “norm” unconsciously by you and your children because they are repeated umpteen times in your daily life.

22. #22 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:18 am

the commandments have nothing to do with attire but religious principle. your reasoning is shallow and illogical. you are entitled to stoop low if you think its ok for your son to wear the songkok or you are agnostic. But others should also be entitled to their rights and as such it should not be made compulsory for those who are religious and for those who think that it is against their religion. Who are you to say it is not a religious thing? What happens if muslims in UK or US are made to sing gospels or wear a cross on their uniform during assembly? there will be riots and violence just like when mohammed drawing appeared. Its 1 way, got it.

23. #23 by izrafeil on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:20 am

Uncle Lim,

Dont they know that the Indonesia Christians (Malay Archipelago Origin) in Surabaya attends Sunday Masses wearing Songkok

And some Hindus in Bali also wear Songkok, also sellers of Pork and pork related foodstuffs in Medan (mostly Batak origins/Malay Archipelago) also wears Songkok!

I dont know what this Had(a)Hari Has become!!

Yours truly

24. #24 by farseer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:24 am

I wonder if those girls would wear baju kurung with tudung voluntary as well? I doubt it.

25. #25 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:30 am

izrafeil,

In Malaysia context, UMNO Malays can claim Allah is solely reserved for muslims. In the same token, songkok is rightfully a symbolic for Malay race.

Who bother those things outsite Malaysia?

26. #26 by oknyua on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:35 am

JB EC Parent.

This is the requirement in all Matriculation colleges too. All Sabah and Sarawak students who are non-Muslims are subjected to the same dress code.

This, I believe, even occured in some of the Universities (UTM, UiTM ?). There was a similar protest about the same thing sometimes back.

27. #27 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:53 am

“Dont they know that the Indonesia Christians (Malay Archipelago Origin) in Surabaya attends Sunday Masses wearing Songkok”

The songkok and batek is part of the official attire in Indonesia. No religious connotation there. Indonesian Chinese do not think twice about wearing songkok at official functions.

28. #28 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:54 am

If we take it a bit further. Tomorrow, they will say all non malays must have malay names. all non muslims must pay expatriates tax rate. all non muslims must go to mosques on friday. where does one draw the line? when is enough is enough? when do we stand up and fight for our rights to freedom of religion, speech, democracy etc?

29. #29 by Bigjoe on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 9:55 am

All sort of argument about whether this is an issue about religion or an issue of freedom of choice/individual rights. Undergrad2 point out that it began with mixing religion and politics.

My point is that its really about both not separating religion and politics as well as lack of protection of individual rights starting with the perversion of Malay ‘special rights’. That is what I mean about being at a crossroad with BN’s ‘compromise’ formula.

All the argument about right to choose and religious intolerance don’t go very far if we don’t fundamentally adhere to the basic principle that our nation is secular AND that there is equal rights among citizen. It begins there and then everything else follows not that someone is forced to wear the songkok or girls choose to wear the baju kurung.

Here is a test. In the US, every Christmas, fire stations put up Christmas trees BUT they are not allowed to put up a nativity scene. Why? Understand that and you understand the issue.

30. #30 by megaman on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:00 am

Wearing traditional attire belonging to another race should be a non-issue as long as the wearer takes extra care to make sure the attire is wore properly and is not reserved for certain ceremonies or rituals.

However, the points raised by the poster do have its merits. The tight association of Malay with Islam means that the Malays may be offended if non-Muslim from other races does certain unIslamic activities while wearing the traditional attire.

This may not be an issue in other countries like Indonesia where a Songkok is just a Songkok but not in Malaysia. The way things are going right now, the poster’s son could be in trouble just by wearing songkok and eating char siew rice at the same time.

There should not be any issues with appreciating Malay traditions and clothing but there has to be reciprocal efforts as well. Malaysia do not belong solely to the Malays and a true Malaysian culture is not of 100% Malay origins. Chinese, Indian and other races’ cultures should have its places as well but have we seen the Malays wearing cheong sam or dhoti ?

31. #31 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:01 am

“Undergrad2 point out that it began with mixing religion and politics. My point is that its really about both not separating religion and politics…” Bigjoe

I believe he referred to the “politicization of religion” which is the same thing.

But aren’t you guys afraid that one of these days they may require that you be circumcised??

32. #32 by cancan on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:03 am

These Umnoputras keep on irritating the non-muslims thru race and religion issues.

They preach one thing but do the other thing.Never ever trust them.

Ultimately,they will be the laughing stock of the world.

33. #33 by melurian on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:04 am

“The songkok and batek is part of the official attire in Indonesia. No religious connotation there. Indonesian Chinese do not think twice about wearing songkok at official functions.”

don’t compare with indonesia, in indonesia the ruling party is not race-based party. if malaysia wants to have tudung and songkok as uniform, they should also start do away with their own racist yard (merge mca, mic, umno, gerakan into single entity) and “special privilege” and uphold malaysian malaysia.

34. #34 by melurian on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:07 am

and speaking of religion, there is absolutely no freedom at all as it limits only to muslim, christian, buddhist and hindu. what if you’re scientology ? what if you’re yahudi wearing star of david ? i wonder if you fill “yahudi” will sure kena bashed….

35. #35 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:14 am

Rao Says:
    January 10th, 2008 at 12:14 am

Bersih report this votes on 31st Dec 07, but there are still on the SPR database, what do EC mean no more phantom voters

Bersih reports :
    We have received several emails questioning the credibility of the following IC numbers which are currently on the electoral roll. We checked with EC headquarters in Putrajaya today, Monday 31 December 2007 and were told that these three names belonged to deceased voters, and therefore were in the process of being removed.

Periasamy K : 910815-75-0017
    Seer Hor Leong : 991214-74-0101
    Hj Abdul Wahabbin Md Saman : 981231 -08-1137

We will be keeping tabs on this matter, and check again in a few weeks. – BERSIH

http://bersih.org/?p=865#more-865

36. #36 by AhPek on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:15 am

Songkok and baju kurung is a cultural symbol identifying the Malay race much as the cheongsam is associated with the Chinese.There is nothing wrong for anyone wanting to wear baju kurung out of her own volition if the weare feels it looks pretty on her.It is an entirely different story altogether if any authority were to impose songkok as part of uniform or work attire.The person who is imposed such a ruling may feel strongly that he has no wish to be identified with the Malay culture although he may even be appreciative of the culture.Like Jeffrey says it signifies a hegemonic relationship between a ‘dominant’ and a ‘minority’ position.In such a situation it is in perfect conformance with one’s conviction to quit being a prefect.It is most logical decision.Nobody should occupy a position if he has doubts of what he represents.
    In the case of the person wanting to wear the baju kurung out of her own volition it is completely a different case. Again like what Jeffrey says imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and here the Malay culture takes pride of place for it has contributed to the fashion world!

37. #37 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:15 am

It is anathema to the Chinese because the Chinese take great pride in their language and culture, for anyone to impose a condition like the wearing of the songkok. It is offensive because it smacks of assimilation rather than integration.

In Indonesia where ethnic Chinese make up a mere two percent of a total population of some two hundred million mostly Muslims, wearing songkok and batek at official functions is a non-issue. They even change their names to appear Indonesian and speak only Indonesian and attend Indonesian schools rather than vernacular though there are some who still use their ethnic names and attend Chinese and Catholic schools.

Wearing of the songkok has none of the religious connotations as there is in Malaysia. I have shared pork ribs with songkok wearing Indonesians. No big deal over there.

38. #38 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:16 am

But aren’t you guys afraid that one of these days they may require that you be circumcised?? – darkhorse

Malaysia is to consider using mass circumcision ceremonies to promote racial harmony.

Circumcision is a rite of passage for young Muslim boys, and in Malaysia it is common for the ceremony to become an event with dozens, or even hundreds of boys being circumcised together.

Now the prime minister’s religious affairs adviser has suggested that circumcision can bring Malaysians of all races and religions together.

Dr Abdul Hamid Othman said that with the growing popularity of circumcision among the country’s non-Muslim minorities – who see it as good hygienic practice – they too could be invited to join in the celebrations with their Muslim friends.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/3326861.stm

39. #39 by smeagroo on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:18 am

Maybe abt time the chinese schools enforce a cheong-sam ruling to the malays during CNY season in school.

40. #40 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:18 am

Oh ho. apologies. That circumcision comment by Count Dracula.

41. #41 by wizzerd on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:19 am

Wearing baju kurung for non-muslim female students may sound okay for you IF is under voluntarily basis.

I agree with malaysiatoday.com..the issue here is non-compulsion.

Whether what costume one wishes to wear, it should be up one’s decision. Non-malays would want to wear songkok or baju melayu to functions if they like..but it should not be enforced upon them what to wear or otherwise.

In a Hari Raya function many years ago in my college, I remember several of us, non-Malays..were wearing Malay costumes..with songkok, kain pelikat and baju Melayu, and some of our malay friends wore Chinese samfu. There was no issue, everyone was pretty comfortable and proud with our ethnic diversity.

It is only when the politics get into the picture, these overzealous people turn it into a big issue for sake of winning support with their bigoted views.

42. #42 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:26 am

“We have wrestled with this issue before when our Malaysian judges irrespective of whether they are non-Malays and non-Muslims, were asked to replace horse hair (called ‘wigs’ traditionally worn by British judges) on their heads with ‘songkoks’.” undergrad2

If judges willingly put on songkoks while on the bench, what’s wrong with school prefects doing the same?

43. #43 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:28 am

`IMAGINE a situation where a man wearing a songkok is having a beer, or a group of men are photographed in a pub, all wearing songkoks and each lifting a pint into the air!`

That one`s going to be a pub joke for the next few weeks at least.

44. #44 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:30 am

Tickler,

Jews too are circumcised but at birth.

So let’s circumcise the girls as well. In Africa that is referred to as FGM or female genital mutilation. United Nations recognized that as a human rights issue.

45. #45 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:32 am

I don`t think the UN has a leg to stand on that. FGM is now begining to get more support. The UN will have to back down.

46. #46 by grace on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:33 am

“My son, after conferring with me, has decided that he will NOT wear the Songkok. He is willing to resign from the Prefectorial Board if forced to wear the Songkok.”

THAT IS THE RIGHT MOVE! THIS IS THE WAY TO SHOW THEM!
    I really do not know what is actually happening to our school half past six principals! Most of them are utterly useless. All they know is to implement all sorts of irrelevant policies which do not contribute to academic excellence.
    There is one scholol reported in Star that boys and girks must use seperate lanes and in the canteen boys and girls could not eat on the same table.
    What type of lousy policy!

Anyway, when the non-muslims are faced this tpe of policy, they only have DAP to turn to. Hey what is happening to MCA or Gerakan which most of you voted for?
    If in this coming election and if any one who voted BN, please do not cry baby in front of DAP or PKR! Go to your godfathers MCA or MIC or UMNO! ** I do not mean the writer of the letter above, please. The statement is meant for others!!!

47. #47 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:33 am

I think we should not be too fast in making a judgement here.
    I am not so sure the songkok is an Islamic attire.
    I remember my brother wearing the songkok as part of the dress uniform of the St. John Ambulance in the 1960’s. It is still part of the dress uniform today. They also have beret, etc., but for different occasions.
    I have seen non-Malay Ministers wearing songkok when in dress uniform, (is it part of the uniform that comes with the Dato’ title, etc.?).
    It is of Malay origin, but does not have Islamic connotation unless people want to make it that way.

48. #48 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:41 am

Getting into the car of a muslim lawyer once, I accidentally pushed the songkok (which was on the front seat) to the floor.
    He was exceedingly upset.

49. #49 by Cinnamon on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:42 am

Dear Parent,

Why should your resign as a prefect? He has earned it.

You should send a letter to the school principal and telling him your objection. Tell him anything related to this issue the school must talk to you directly.

Tell your son not to wear the songkok.

Let’s wait and see if the school dare to remove your son’s position.

50. #50 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:42 am

You guys still don’t get it. The non-Malays are in a minority and if the majority ask the minority to adopt certain practices or rules, then the minority has to follow or quit. If you find wearing a songkok to accept a datukship or a tan-sri-ship an affront, then don’t accept the datukship or tan-sri-ship. If you find wearing a songkok as a prefect an affront, then quit as a prefect.

No one can compel you to do what you don’t want to do. Stop whining. In a one-person-one-vote system, you have to accept that the majority is always right.

51. #51 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:45 am

Hey what is happening to MCA or Gerakan which most of you voted for? – grace

Well, both of them were happy with the proclamation of the Nation an Islamic State, so the voters were happy too. Now they reap the harvest they sowed. A rather bountiful harvest.

52. #52 by cheng on soo on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:48 am

This is part of the “goodies” given by govt for support of BN by Johorian all these years.

53. #53 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:58 am

Now about circumcision…another practice that is misunderstood in the discussion here.
    As some posters said, it is part of Islamic and Jewish religious practice.
    Most males (white and black) in the US are circumcised. The excuse being it is hygienic. But in recent years, it has been deemed medically unnecessary. Health insurance does not cover that anymore because it is not medically necessary.
    For us, it is obvious because billions of Chinese males have never been circumcised and yet we never see higher incidence of penile-related diseases among Chinese.
    Was it a Jewish conspiracy to introduce male circumcision in the US on the pretext of cleanliness? That is an arguable topic.
    But, some parents (believe it or not, Chinese included) in the US insist on circumcision so that their boys would not feel different when taking common showers in the boys’ room. I criticised my Chinese friend for being so stupid to do that because it hurts the baby.
    There are now many males in the US who are upset for being circumcised claiming that the missing piece is hampering their sex life. Not joking..
    Female mutilation in Africa is more drastic and different from female circumcision as practised in other Islamic countries. I would let the women here talk about that.
    So, technically, if you are circumcised, it does mean you are a Muslim although it makes it easier if you want to convert.

54. #54 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:04 am

Godfather,

If the majority wants to see non-bumis get “potong” or else leave the country. Shall I comply this demand under your pseudo-democratic system?

In a democratic or even islamic system, majority is not equal to totalitarian, the rights of minority must be protected as well.

55. #55 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:05 am

The flip side is that many plastic surgeons made much money (esp. In California) in `prepuce growth` for the circumcised (as kids) – this being done thru skin grafts from the thigh area. I hear it`s a somewhat painful process.

As for FGM, in Djibouti and Somalia, 98% of the girls are mutilated, in Egypt up to 95% which gives an indication of the popularity.

56. #56 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:07 am

Serious typo mistake in my posting above..
    “So, technically, if you are circumcised, it does mean you are a Muslim although it makes it easier if you want to convert.”
    should be:
    “So, technically, if you are circumcised, it does NOT mean you are a Muslim although it makes it easier if you want to convert.”
    Sorry..

57. #57 by grace on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:07 am

I think we should not be too fast in making a judgement here.
    I am not so sure the songkok is an Islamic attire.

Whether it is Islamic attire or not, this extra headwear is not neccessary and is not part of the school uniform. The issue at hand is that if one principla can have his ways at implementing rules and policy at his/her whims and fancy , there would be no end to controversies.

58. #58 by disapointed86 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:09 am

“The songkok and batek is part of the official attire in Indonesia. No religious connotation there. Indonesian Chinese do not think twice about wearing songkok at official functions.”

Laughing* To the people who agree with the statement above..INDONESIAN CHINESE doesnt have Chinese Name ok? So dont compare with them..We, MALAYSIA got MCA/MIC to represent other races in Malaysia…as to call it MUlti-Racial Society..How can you force someone to wear songkok where songkok is a obvioulsy shows ur identity in Malaysia?(Muslim)..But to the poster above..Malaysia today is unlike Malaysia before..the leaders now seems to be uneducated..As what i’ve read from a reply somewhere in other section of this LKS blog which read ” I rather spend my whole-life saving to send my children studying abroad”..If u’re studying in a GOV Universities and Colleges, dont hope too much..and the ranking of those universities getting worse day by day..and it seems to me that Malaysia isnt a country for the non-muslim anymore…i recall few months back where the Minister even utter such a word to chase the non-muslim out of the country..As for the SONGKOK matter..for me if its a “MUST” wear to me.. “over my dead body”.. but if its for fun or for some special purposes..i may consider …just my 2cents of view..

59. #59 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:10 am

Key word :Perception.

60. #60 by madmix on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:14 am

The songkok is not a religious headgear; but it is silly nowadays to wear any kind if head gear in a a hot and humid climate unless you are a policeman, guard or in the armed forces or other uniformed group. Imagine Texan prefects wearing cowboy hats, Mexican prefects wearing sombreros, Brits with bowler hats in school!

61. #61 by BobSam on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:16 am

Undergrad2, u miss the point. If a Non-Moslem, whose education in primary & secondary school was in Malay, and who is well versed in Malay, cannot pray to Allah being his God during his religious observance becoz his Allah is different from the Moslem Allah, hence the same should apply. We cannot have this creeping assimilation, and then when that kid dies, the religious authorities will come and say, he has been dressing like a moslem, eating halal food, talking in the Malay language and observing Malay cultural standards, hence he is a Moslem. Q.E.D.

62. #62 by mendela on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:17 am

To me, the main purpose of forcing us to wear things we don’t like is to discourage us not to participate.

The same applies to police force and army.

63. #63 by cheng on soo on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:23 am

May be next time: All msian males, must wear songkok n batek shirt when he goes to all govt dept, (pay tax or fines, renew licences, submit any forms, apply passport, cast a vote, apply IC etc), otherwise he will not be entertained. Ladies must wear baju kurung or kebaya, Why? Reasons? whatever anybody can think of!

64. #64 by mendela on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:23 am

By the way, a friend of mine in Klang with 4 eligible voting adult family members have 4 different constituencies to vote at though they all stay in a same house!

Is this another way for UMO to split the opposition ballots?

65. #65 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:23 am

oknyua Says:

Today at 09: 35.55 (1 hour ago)
    JB EC Parent.

This is the requirement in all Matriculation colleges too. All Sabah and Sarawak students who are non-Muslims are subjected to the same dress code.

This, I believe, even occured in some of the Universities (UTM, UiTM ?). There was a similar protest about the same thing sometimes back.

=============================================

Two minus signs are not equal to a plus sign.

UTM is a pioneer to use songkok in convo. Only 1/3 of chinese in my course boycotted convocation.

For me, holding principle is more important than a few photo snaps in a convocation.

Johor sultan also resigned from the chancellor post after spotted his graduates wearing slippers in convocation and also due to other issues.

66. #66 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:26 am

My advice to the parents of this boy would be to discuss with the other parents, PTA, and principal, and to hear what the exact reason is. If it is part of a dress uniform, i.e. full ceremonial uniform, then it is OK. As I said, it is not Islamic unless people want to make it an Islamic issue. That goes for the person who introduced that policy and also to the non-Malay parents.
    I know some posters here are hopping mad about this issue and want to march on the street.
    As one poster mentioned here, you can reject the “Dato”, “Tan Sri” or whatever if you don’t want to wear the songkok. Likewise, the boy can quit if he insists on not wearing the songkok. But in my mind, that would be a mistake without first studying and discussing the issue. That is my level-headed advice.

67. #67 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:28 am

Wouldnt it be great! if the UMNO give all the Malaysian inrespective of race or religion the same privilege as the Malay and also the VVVVIP if we all wear Songkok.. there would be no more Hindraf, no Bersih rally and no More DAP, PAS and …..and the crime rate goes down to zero

Love to see Our PM and ministers wearing songkok, sarong and not forgetting the kris in the parliament.

68. #68 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:31 am

mendela Says:

Today at 11: 17.54 (5 minutes ago)
    To me, the main purpose of forcing us to wear things we don’t like is to discourage us not to participate.

The same applies to police force and army.

========================================

Non-bumi cannot join malay regiment. What is the fuss for non-malay joining police and army?

I had never wore songkok when I was with the military. Don’t condemn something you don’t know.

69. #69 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:40 am

Non muslim females in the police have to wear tudung.

70. #70 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:41 am

To want to remain a prefect and insisting on not wearing the songkok, that would become a discipline issue. That would be bad for the boy.
    I don’t think the parents should advise the son to do that.
    Quitting would be enough to safeguard your dignity if they think that is more important in this case.
    As adults, we should be more responsible when giving advice.
    That is my two-cents and I am out of here..

71. #71 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:44 am

madmix Says:

Today at 11: 14.46 (17 minutes ago)
    The songkok is not a religious headgear;
    =================================================

In Malaysia context, Malay is Muslim and Muslim is Malay, both are indistinguishable.

Songkok is malay traditional attire and it’s not wrong to say songkok is a religious headgear.

72. #72 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:47 am

The songkok is not a religious headgear – madmix

Maybe not. But most seem to think so as they fell they must wear it when going to the mosque for prayers.

73. #73 by Tickler on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:49 am

Aiya. Repost :But most seem to think so as they feel they must wear it when going to the mosque for prayers.

74. #74 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:51 am

Maybe we could have a red songkok for the Chinese and white one for the Indian. That way everybody happy..

75. #75 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:52 am

I forgot Green ones for the ministers

76. #76 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:56 am

Old Geezer Says:

Today at 11: 41.10 (3 minutes ago)
    To want to remain a prefect and insisting on not wearing the songkok, that would become a discipline issue. That would be bad for the boy.
    I don’t think the parents should advise the son to do that.
    Quitting would be enough to safeguard your dignity if they think that is more important in this case.
    As adults, we should be more responsible when giving advice.
    That is my two-cents and I am out of here..

======

First step is this parent writes a letter to headmaster to demand no songkok for his son. If the headmaster refuses to accept his reasonable demand, he then escalate the issues to state education department and up to minister level if needed.

Second step is to ask his son resigns from perfect after (if) minister rejects his demand.

Third step is to gather supports from opposition parties and chinese communities to blow up the issue.

77. #77 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:57 am

As for the school, i am sure you will all like blue with white..

78. #78 by sani on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:14 pm

YB

I remember, when i was performing overseas, i wore a songkok. I am proud of it, as to me it is a “Malaysian Hat”.

Now, “Uniform” means plainly + simply……..everyone wear the same stuffs. Plain + simple.

Uniform is extremely important when the Rakyst are not uniform in ethnicity. That is the whole purpose in the 1st place.

1st choice :
    No Cheong Sam, no Sarees, no Baju Kurung, No Sarongs, no exotic clothings from Sabah + Sarawak etcs. No Turban, no Chinese hats with pig tails, no warriors heads gears from Sabah + Sarawak, no Songkok, no Hats, no Berets, no Wigs, no Tudung etcs. No expensive accesories, no religious accesories, no gang Tatoo……just plain “UNIFORM”

2nd Choice :
    Wear anything……just as long as your private parts are conseal. That’s call a”Dress Code”.

Just like so many other issues, i can’t see our peanuts goverment making a clear stand on this. Everyone in the BN is just so uniformly uninterested in the Rakyats’ welfare.

79. #79 by Cinapek on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:17 pm

At the root of this is the present climate of perceived creeping Islamization of Malaysian society by non Muslims.
    Even whilst some may defend the songkok as a non religious symbol, the songkok or “peci” is indeed an Indonesian Islamic headgear popularised by the late Seokarno (see Wikipedia). In Malaysia’s context it is perceived as a Malay headgear and hence by extension, also a Muslim headgear. Hence the objections.

By the same argument that Muslims would be “confused” by allowing the Christains to use the word “Allah” for God, likewise non Muslims should not be required to wear songkoks, lest Muslims be confused why a headgear worn only by Muslims are now worn by non Muslims.

What troubles me is why all these provocative acts now? MSAB is one of the oldest school in the country and has existed for a long time with its proud traditions and history. Some of its most illustrious alumni includes Tun Ismail and Tun Hussein Onn and if they do not see any need for the school to change its legacy, why little petty officials are doing it now? What are their motives and intentions?

Sometimes these petty officials need some sense to be knocked into their heads. Years ago, my son, who was also a student in MSAB, was inexplicably transferred from the top class to one of the lesser classes. When I went to ask the reason from the Pengetua, initially he told me it was because they want to group all students active in extra curricular activities into one class so that it is easier to arrange lesson breaks. When I pointed out to him my son’s main activity was chess and had nothing in common with a single one of his new classmates, he hemmed and hawed until he finally admitted the reason was to distribute the better students amongst the various classes to help the weaker students. It sounded more like trying to bring the standards down to me and I told him so. Finally, in short, he moved my son back into the top class after I threatened to speak to the press about his silly directive.

80. #80 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:31 pm

There is no dispute on this point is there that “songkok” (traditional Malay cap) is a headdress for the last 50 years worn by or with the traditional outfit for Malay men?

so why must there be a school ruling that a prefect must wear in order to be a prefect?

World over to be a prefect is an acknowledgment from the school that the student has good qualities of being reasonably good in academic and sports pursuits, responsible, reliable, and has leadership thereby making him not just a “guard” over other students to maintain school’s rules and discipline and also to be a role model for other students.

Why is then the student forced the dilemma of either accepting the Malay cultural signifier/emblem of a songkok or by default losing the school acknowledgement of a position he otherwise deserves? It is his entitlement!

The fact that he is put in a dilemma shows that it is not voluntary. So how can it be justified? Why should any deserving student be deprived of the entitlement of acknowledgment unless he wears the songkok?

Do all schools have this ruling for prefects? Is this a ruling by our Ministry of Education ? No.

It is the ruling of some overzealous head principal so why should it be entertained and apologized for as if it was that innocuous? Have you heard of such ruling 50 years ago until recently?

If I were the father I would write to the Ministry of Education to ask of it whether such a ruling is tenable with copies extended to Malaysiakini & YB Lim for bringing up such an issue to the public.

Lets not bring in examples of those who have to wear the songkok (and other ceremonial regalia associated with malay traditions) to receive Datoship because that is a different ball game – it concerns ceremonies based on Malay feudal culture and the honours given are part of the system, so if you want it badly, you have to conform.

But getting acknowledgment of one’s attributes to be a prefect is not part of the feudal patronage system of giving state’s awards, it concerns all of us common people, and so there is no comparison.

Even for the judges, it is contentious to substitute horse hair wig for songkok. Don’t want to wear the wig don’t wear. One need not have wear the songkok as if you are dispensing not civil justice but Islamic justice!

But what to do when some people want to be judges so they conform since the ruling must be made by the number 1 in judiciary but that does not make it right as you will recall, talking about values, the no 1 was also embroiled in controversy of judicial fixing which is now a subject of the Royal Commission! The same one also talked about civil law being substituted by Malaysian comon law (read with Sharia elements), so that is very consistent from where he was coming.

On the issue of consistency/inconsistency, why then “allah” cannot be used by non muslim in bahasa to avoid confusion but it is ok if everyone else wears songkok? What’s the principles behind the differentiation, one may ask?

81. #81 by smeagroo on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:42 pm

our edu system is busy doing all these things except churning out good students.

But hey, maybe kerisman thot hang tuah wore a songkok now all must follow suit.

82. #82 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:43 pm

“Indonesian Chinese do not think twice about wearing songkok at official functions” but Indonesia is not Malaysia : the former has proceeded with assimilation by majority, here officially is not. Integration has been touted. Do you think YB will conform to a ruling that he has to wear a songkok in Parliament to be an MP? :)

83. #83 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 1:06 pm

right on jeffrey. that is logical reasoning and argument. why bully the non muslims student? why not make it compulsory for MP to wear songkok to parliament like jeffrey says?

84. #84 by bystander on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 1:32 pm

latest from my daughters school BU4 in bandar utama. the new malay principal just announced that from 2008 onwards cheer leading is banned from the school as opposed to previous years under a non malay principal (its a fact all non malay principals are being replaced by malays) and bu4 school will not be participate in any cheer leading competition anymore. presumably, its considered haram. dragon dance is banned in the school as this will attract malay ghosts. lol, a principal who is so backward and extreme. what sort of islamisation are schools undergoing. No wonder our education standards are going down the chute. why cant we non muslims have own vernacular or english medium schools? where is our choice for our children’s education? cant we have a say in wanting the best education for our children? do we have to have second rate education just like the malays?

85. #85 by cto on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 1:34 pm

But aren’t you guys afraid that one of these days they may require that you be circumcised??

——————————-

Hey, stop publishing these brilliant ideas. There are cybertroopers around. :)

86. #86 by brt on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 2:31 pm

Why are you all still moaning about this?

Pack your bags and get out of this psychotic country. If they want to go down the path of Islamic extremism and burn like their cousins in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and elsewhere, let them do it.

It’s about time the monied non-Malays yanked it all out and watch the collapse from across the shores. Trust me, a few shaky years and the prospect of oblivion staring these “tuans” in their face and they will go back to the path of moderation and reconciliation to beg for capital.

87. #87 by jus legitimum on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 2:52 pm

This example of insensitivity only shows the arrogance of some racial bigots in our country.Vote for Dap and other opposition parties to at least slash their 2/3 majority so as to make them humble and respect the minority.

88. #88 by cto on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 2:55 pm

IF the rationale behind the move to enforce students is “uniformity” then are Sikhs exempt from wearing them? Where then would be the uniformity?

——————————–

These are good questions. Why not make everyone wear the turban if uniformity is the objective? Has the songkok been declared the national head dress?

89. #89 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 2:58 pm

Some of you seem to equate the wearing of songkok as an affront to all non-Muslims and that it is equivalent to “them” asking the non-Muslims to “potong”. I see the issue as that of personal choice.

If “they” say that you must wear the songkok at the swearing in of a prefect, or a convocation, or the swearing in of a datuk or the national day parade, then you have a choice of not proceeding. For every one of us who see this as an affront, there are others within the minority who see this as merely an inconvenience, and hence you see non-Muslims wearing songkoks at swearing in ceremonies.

Do you see Semi Value and Ong Ka Ting and Lim Keng Yaik wearing songkoks at Parliament openings ? Of course they do it. If they can do it, where are you complaining about it ? Is this any different from the discrimination that we face every day in quotas for universities, for scholarships, for discounts on property ? Yes, we have a choice, even if “they” ask all the minorities to potong. You have a choice to leave the country because there are others who will be willing to do it to stay in the country. That is stark reality.

90. #90 by k1980 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:08 pm

Will female prefects will be required to wear the burka?

91. #91 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:28 pm

[deleted. The last thing we want is for this blog to be accused of inciting violence. – kit]

92. #92 by kanthanboy on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:37 pm

Dear EC parent,

You should write to headmaster to let him know that you son’s favorite food is roast piglet and you are worried that some curious tourists might take a picture of him eating roast piglet at the restaurant with the songkok uniform on. You should request a written reply from him to guarantee that your son would not be responsible if someone post in the internet a picture of him eating roast piglet and wearing the songkok uniform. I think the possibility of such a scenario will scare the shit out of him.

93. #93 by dranony on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:40 pm

Godfather Said: “You have a choice to leave the country because there are others who will be willing to do it to stay in the country. That is stark reality.”

Would Godfather also use the same argument to defend perpetuation of Apartheid, ie “If you (blacks) don’t like it, you can leave the country?”

94. #94 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:40 pm

Do you see Semi Value and Ong Ka Ting and Lim Keng Yaik wearing songkoks at Parliament openings ? Of course they do it. If they can do it, where are you complaining about it ?

============

Malaysia constitution does not spell out I as a rakyat must follow OKT. Do you know Samy got booed in Penang by Indians?

Songkok issue is not new, it was raised since early 80s.

95. #95 by dranony on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:50 pm

Samy Vellu and Ong Ka Ting and Lim Keng Yaik has a right to wear the songkok if they CHOOSE to. Nobody should deny them that right, just as nobody should FORCE them to, if they have conscientious objections.
    But I would also defend Nik Aziz’s right to wear the kopiah, instead of the songkok, if he so chooses.

The important principle here is of choice.

Just as I detest schools enforcing female students to wear the tudung, I would also protest schools which deny female students the choice to wear the tudung.
    But it would appear that some people in positions of a little power to make decisions, cannot understand the principle of choice.

96. #96 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 3:51 pm

bystander Says:

school will not be participate in any cheer leading competition anymore. presumably, its considered haram. dragon dance is banned in the school as this will attract malay ghosts.

===================

Dragon dance is listed as national heritage. The ban is not a LOL stuff, my dear friend.

Today is dragon dance will attract malay ghosts, tomorrow is your chinese face will attract Indon ghost, both must be banned.

97. #97 by ahoo on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 4:08 pm

It would really be interesting IF someone can ask PKR’s Dato
    Anwar Ibrahim what he was thinking then (80s’-90s’) when
    Islamisation was so widely implemented with so many religious
    schools and asrama built ! He MAY think differently now.

Our school going children have to endure many policies that
    is being subtly introduce. Non malay students with longhair
    were told to wear “tudung” by their PE teacher (malay) in
    order to keep it tidy during exercise. Just like their malay
    peers who are wearing it. Of course they discussed it among themselves and tell the teacher concern, NO as they prefer
    to use hair clips and others to tie it instead. This is just one
    of the many issues out there.

Then the issue of mixing up the class with high achievers with
    low and medium achievers were implemented. With the school
    reopening, my girl (form 2) was moved from top 2 class to the
    class 5 out of 6 classes in total. Reason is that by placing her
    there to sit with the under achievers, teacher hopes to get
    her to guide her under achieving peers to do well !

Now, as parent when confronted with such a dilemma, what
    can we advise our children ? Can we tell them that’s the job
    of their teacher’s ? Anyway, in my case, my girl sporttingly
    said that she will do her best and hope that her class
    teacher will not blame her if those classmates under her do
    not live up to expectation at year end exam.

To me the songkok issue is just another subtle ways of
    over zealous officers pushing “their agenda” unto us and
    plainly ignoring others of their own rights.

They will do whatever they can to “desensitised” the mind
    set of non muslims until you accept it as norm. What we all
    should do is to invest enough monies into opposition parties
    to give bn a run during the coming GE rather than just pack
    and go as …… brt said.

Beside voting wisely, we need to support the candidates in
    whatever ways we can. Those with monies, send it to YB
    and those no so well to do can offer their time instead. Be
    positive to see some changes and continue to share about
    the excessess, leakeages and the never ending policies !!!

roots to all these
    that we also have rights

98. #98 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 5:54 pm

“…//…With the school reopening, my girl (form 2) was moved from top 2 class to the class 5 out of 6 classes in total. Reason is that by placing her there to sit with the under achievers, teacher hopes to get her to guide her under achieving peers to do well ! ” – ahoo

Sorry I am not aware of this happening. I am of the opinion that you should not accept such an arrangement from the school. If possible transfer your girl to another school where there is no such policy.

The reason I say so is that it is most unfair to expect an achiever like your child to bring up and motivate the underachievers. It is not your girl’s job; it is teachers’ job and the Ministry of Education’s reponsibility.

The rationale is that by placing a high achiever like your girl amongst the under achievers it will by peer group influence enable your girl to bring the rest up. But this can work and cut the opposite way : by peer group pressure and influence your girl achievement and motivation for it may be brought down by those under achievers.

That is why you notice in any sports game those who train with better players improve their game whilst better ones who sparr with lesser ones slowly lose their competitive edge and skills.

I think it is most unfair on your girl. I think you should not accept this. Why should she sacrifice for these under acvhievers brought down by government policies? I won’t. I will never agree to this.
    chthere is no reason to o

[As a matter of interest, can ahoo tell us which year he is referring to with regard to this incident. – kit]

99. #99 by teluyalam on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 7:56 pm

personally, jus dun accept the crap. i refused to do stpm because i had to learn “sejarah islam” in school. as far as i am concerned, i felt it had no bearing on me n had no wish to waste my time. we were poor, stpm would seemingly be the only choice. i enrolled in apvt college, ate 1 meal a day n taught in the evenings to pay my fees.

All non-muslims (n others who r “muslim” due to compulsion), don’t accept it. walk out, refuse, do not participate and don’t comply. if our useless ministers have no qualms to sell their soul y shud we?

vernacular schools or pvt schools. its time to act and react.

100. #100 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:02 pm

“So, technically, if you are circumcised, it does mean you are a Muslim although it makes it easier if you want to convert.” Old Geezer

One reason why Muslims cannot convert out is because they cannot re-attach their foreskins – they say.

101. #101 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:09 pm

“Yes, we have a choice, even if “they” ask all the minorities to potong. You have a choice to leave the country …” Godfather

Does the ‘asking’ that you refer to here include asking the ladies whether they prefer their men to be with or without their foreskins? Free speech does not belong to men without foreskins only. No matter what our UMNO MPs say.

102. #102 by Count Dracula on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:24 pm

“I don`t think the UN has a leg to stand on that. FGM is now begining to get more support. The UN will have to back down.” Tickler

FGM in Africa is a serious matter because it is real mutilation of the female genitals. Malay and Muslim girls in Malaysia are spared from having to go through the same procedure as some African Muslims are made to go through. In Malaysia female circumcision is more symbolic than real.

FGM is a human rights issue and under U.N. law your African girlfriend is qualified to seek asylum in countries that have adopted the U.N. Convention for Refugees of 1954.

If FGM is practiced in Malaysia than YB Kit should consider fighting against it. It is after all a human rights issue and not a Muslim non-Muslim issue.

103. #103 by Old Geezer on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:14 pm

Count Dracula: There was a typo in what I said. I meant to say
    “So, technically, if you are circumcised, it does NOT mean you are a Muslim although it makes it easier if you want to convert.”

“One reason why Muslims cannot convert out is because they cannot re-attach their foreskins – they say.” – Count Dracula

There is a way to re-attach the foreskin to convert out but would cost too much.

“The flip side is that many plastic surgeons made much money (esp. In California) in `prepuce growth` for the circumcised (as kids) – this being done thru skin grafts from the thigh area. I hear it`s a somewhat painful process.” – Tickler

104. #104 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:17 pm

This is really much ado about nothing. We still have a choice – and the choice is not that we leave the country if your son refuses to wear the songkok at a prefect swearing in ceremony. The choice is that your son ceases to be a prefect on the grounds of an individual’s principle.

Equating the wearing of a songkok to the act of forced circumcision is mischievious and is totally out of proportion with the issue of individual choice.

Don’t go for your convocation, don’t accept a datukship, don’t go for the national day parade – if the compulsory wearing of the songkok at such functions is an affront to you personally. As someone said above, others don’t see it as an affront, so let’s not impose our “principles” on others.

105. #105 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:18 pm

We have far bigger issues to tackle compared to this compulsory wearing of songkok at a prefect swearing in. We are merely distracting ourselves from the core issues.

106. #106 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:43 pm

The core issues are:

1. freedom of speech (forced assimilation of ethnic minorities)
    2. freedom of religion (songkok is a religious symbol?)
    3. freedom of speech (right not to follow instruction to put on the songkok, creeping Islamization)

But as Dracula says the practice of circumcision like the wearing of the songkok is as much a freedom of speech issue. It is not totally irrelevant.

107. #107 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:50 pm

YB Kit would do well to take up the matter of the wearing of the songkok among non-Malays as a freedom of speech issue when he next appears in Parliament.

108. #108 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:51 pm

The core issue is that of enforcing our enshrined rights under the constitution. With the corruption of the judiciary, the AG’s chambers, the ACA, the Police, there is increasingly no recourse.

109. #109 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:57 pm

It is not just “compulsory wearing of songkok at a prefect swearing in” as the father said, “however, this has now been revised to include daily prefectorial duties”. Of course the boy does not need to be a prefect just like the way Herald could either stop publication of its Bahasa version or use “Tuhan” instead of “Allah” in the Bahasa version of the Herald and so on. That’s not the point : why should people be forced to choose between undesirable alternatives and forgo what is deservedly theirs, just like the case of the boy to being a prefect? It is nonchalence of these small almost imperceptible daily transgressions by petty Napoleons having their unilateral dreams to forge an Islamic State on their own that makes one forgets that, in aggregate, these marginal transgressions accumulate to one Big Trangression of one’s fundamental right as a citizen in the country (unresisted).

110. #110 by Godfather on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:11 pm

The stark reality is two-fold. First, the balance of power has shifted significantly and will continue to shift significantly as the Muslim/non-Muslim ratio rachets up over time. In 20 years, Muslims will outnumber non-Muslims 4:1 through a combination of birth-rate differentials, preferential intakes of new immigrants, and emigration of non-Malays. The 20 pct will become irrelevant in a one-person-one vote system. Second, this 20 pct minority will inevitably become more accomodating rather than more rebellious. That’s the nature of Malaysian Chinese.

Reality, folks, reality.

111. #111 by Jonny on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 12:39 am

Wearing songkok is no issue at all. But the sinister thoughts behind the works is which puts me off. It can be fought back by …

Why not for whole of next week all non-muslims wear songkok to work, to market. Buy pork from market. Go to bah kut teh in songkok?

What would happen next? There would be uproar right? From then on there shall be a ban on songkok wearing by non-muslims???

Or a set of rules that when wearing songkok can’t buy pork, eat pork or go to bah kut teh stall?

My point is, we Malaysians are really superficial lot and got not much substance within.

112. #112 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 1:03 am

Guys! What is in a songkok?

What’s in a songkok?

I tell you what’s in a songkok. You could hide explosive in your songkok. To board a plane in the U.S. you’d need to take them off to be examined.

That’s what in a songkok!

113. #113 by Old Geezer on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 1:29 am

As I have mentioned in an earlier posting, the songkok has been part of the dress uniform of the St John Ambulance in Malaysia since at least the late 60’s before this Islamic fervour started in the country. I presumed it was chosen to give a Malaysian identity. Note that St John Ambulance has a Christian origin and the cross is on its emblem. I am not sure about now, but I know that years ago, there were Malay members and for all I know there was no problem of them wearing this emblem with a cross.
    The trouble started when people (both Malays and non-Malays) associated the songkok with Islam. That include the people who originate the policy with an ulterior motive (or sinister motive as Jonny puts it) to make it an Islamic symbol, and those that perceive an ulterior motive when in fact there could be none.
    Jonny has an interesting point there about buying pork in a songkok. That would be interesting to see. If they are offended, then we can say for sure that it is now a Muslim symbol. If they are not offended and if the iman also said so, then the non-Malays should not complain but treat it as part of a Malaysian attire. The govt should clarify that and make an official pronouncement.
    With DAP’s concept of a Malaysian Malaysia, what would be the appropriate head gear for a man that all in Malaysia would agree that represents the Malaysian identity?

114. #114 by politicalopinions on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 1:35 am

I looked through Malaysiakini a while ago. I saw a news where the internal security ministry confiscated children christian books. What if I start confiscating your Muslim books and deprive your kids of the teaching of your God? Don’t do to others what you do not want others to do to you.

[deleted] if UMNO really want a peaceful country, forget about race, forget about religion…WE ARE MALAYSIANS. Look at USA. They seek for a change. They might even have a black president…so what? Go back to meritocracy and humanitarian. Let the best leaders lead us and at the same time, have the qualities of Christ.

History teaches us a lot about what would come next. I have a feeling that if things go on like it is today, we’ll end up like Pakistan and Kenya. At that time, no matter what great deeds you’ve (UMNO ppl) done, people will only remember your bad deeds. That time, you’ll be cursed by millions and your descendants will suffer the punishment and humiliation.

115. #115 by malaysiatoday.com on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 3:19 am

Godfather Says:

Yesterday at 22: 51.00
    The core issue is that of enforcing our enshrined rights under the constitution. With the corruption of the judiciary, the AG’s chambers, the ACA, the Police, there is increasingly no recourse.

====

Erosion of your personal rights in perserving your culture and religion is not CORE issue. What on earth something is called core issue.

116. #116 by gofortruth on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 3:38 am

I think there are enough issues for every fair minded Malaysian citizen to want to have a change of gorvenment or at least a stronger opposition representation in the next parliament so that the gomen can’t bulldoze their way through any ridiculous policy, eg extention of EC tenure for 1 year.

The most important thing at hand now is how do we pass these messages down to our folks in the cities & villages.

Is there a web site where we can easily download ‘the materials’ quickly in different languages so that we can send to those without access to the internet???? Its urgent now that GE is just round the corner.

Uncle YB Lim please get us involve!

117. #117 by kwkean on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 6:01 am

UMNO ban the word ‘Allah’ from being use by non-Muslim due to religious issue, then we should ban non-Malay from wearing ‘songkok’ too. Correct, correct, correct, anyone ask you to wear it, you just tell them your religious don’t allow it, the same reason as UMNO’s Islam don’t allow us to use the word ‘Allah’. Nanti boleh jadi HARAM!

To all the Malay, pls remember this. Wearing anything voluntarily is different then wearing something FORCEFULLY. To us Chinese, wearing songkok = masuk Islam. It is not longer an official outfit of the Malay culture, to us is more like a religious issue. I don’t mind wearing Baju Melayu, very beautiful indeed but for songkok, is a no, no. If you want me to wear something, I would rather wear those bandanna wore by Malay warrior during the Sultan era. Thats what I call REAL Malay outfit, not the songkok which have Islam value in it!

To the concern parent who wrote this letter, advise your child to quit the Prefectorial Board and his prefect duty if the school insist them to wear songkok everyday. Do not sacrifice your children freedom of religious and your children don’t need a good testimonial to get into a good college or private uni, a good SPM/SPTM result is more then enough. With the current local uni ranking, give me free I also don’t want to enter, spoil my future only.

118. #118 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:32 pm

My contention is not about the wearing of songkok, but the way the school authorities are trying to implement this for political reasons only known to them. Personally, I feel that wearing a songkok is just donning an apparel which is culturally inclined. I see a lot of Chinese girls wearing baju kurung on Fridays, and with pride. As a Malaysian of Chinese origin, I used to dress up my sons with baju Melayu complete with the songkok and samping whenever we attended Malay wedding receptions or kenduri. On the other hand, during Chinese New Year, I have seen Malay TV news presenters wearing Traditional Chinese ancient costumes which I find quite grotesque. Reminds me of those corpse lying in Chinese coffins. Our dear friend Raja Petra enjoys wearing a French Cap (I mean French Beret). That doesn’t make him any French. But, having said all that, I strongly protest against the implementation of wearing songkok for school prefects, especially for non-malays. Schools and places of religious worships are very noble institutions, not any political playing fields.

119. #119 by ahoo on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 2:33 pm

Thanks YB and Jeffrey! I was told by my daughter that
    her class teacher told her that by moving her to a lower
    class was to get her to help those lower achiever than
    herself. Whether this move is a new policy implemented
    or just the teacher’s way of new teaching methodology.

As for year concern,…… 2008, just last week. We should
    all concentrate on the more urgent matter of the coming
    GE and I personally will find out more clearly directly from
    the teacher concerned. Sorry YB can’t meet you in
    Sitiawan as that is my voting place but not my work place.

120. #120 by Kanasaikia on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 6:47 pm

Ok, everyone! I’m a prefect in EC currently & I would like to tell you all this that this songkok wearing thing didn’t just come out recently. It has already been there for nearly 30 years & for vetaran like us (currently in upper 6), wearing green songkok is a tradition. I have wirte about this in my blog. The current situation is due to miscommunication between school & prefect & also lack of history knowledge about prefectorial board of EC by the juniors

121. #121 by dranony on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 10:46 pm

kanasaikia,
    i have reliable information that you have only been a Prefect at EC for only SIX(6) months!
    That _hardly_ qualifies yourself to be a “veteran” (btw it is not “vetaran”) of the Prefectorial Board.
    It is plainly evident from the initial post by EC Parent that his son has been a prefect much longer than you have, and this issue had NEVER been raised in ALL the entire time that the son had been a prefect.
    So PLEASE Do NOT mislead everyone here into thinking that wearing of the songkok had been ongoing for the past thirty years.

If you wish to wear the songkok, whether by choice, or out of fear of reprimand or intimidation by school authorities, it is entirely up to you.
    But we should not FORCE anyone to wear the songkok if they choose not to.

A student from that same school, tells me of yet another serious incident, which occured some time ago:
    During the school’s Co-Curriculum Day in 2007, a Doa session was held at the start of the events. ALL students were required to raise their hands in prayer as Muslims do, whether they were Muslim or not!
    Those who felt uneasy to comply as they were not Muslims, were punished by the teacher! I wonder, were you one of those who DID comply?
    I have been told that about thirty non-Muslim students (chinese and indian) were eventually punished. Why don’t you ask those who were punished and report here whether this is true?

122. #122 by Kanasaikia on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:21 pm

Well! Y i say i’m vetaran becoz i study in dis school for nearly 7 years eventhought i’m not a prefect be4 det but I noe well in dis abt songkok stuff ( i hv a lot of fren wic is prefect) n becoz dis this songkok thing started 2 vanish in my form 4 years ( wic is wen det prefect get himself in 2 de prefectorial board. Det time he is form 2) det is y he didn’t noe abt de songkok matter. If u dun believe dis songkok thing reli existed be4 he came, u can ask ppl of my batch or be4. I swear dey will tell u de same answer as i said. Since i’m in dis sch for so long, is it consider misleading? Or u wan me to get u some old time pic or bring u in2 our museum to look thru de album den only u believe?

As for the songkok thing, i have already explain in my blog, u can go n hv a read abt it & if u wana noe wad a person i’m, plz go thru my blog posts. I’m not those who will side anyone ezily.

For de co-co day matter, i don’t know about it coz I didn’t participate in it. Btw, i muz thx u 4 telling me det such things existed n i will like to noe more on de incident.

123. #123 by Count Dracula on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:29 pm

“To all the Malay, pls remember this. Wearing anything voluntarily is different then wearing something FORCEFULLY. To us Chinese, wearing songkok = masuk Islam.”

This is the public perception of the Malay ‘songkok’ that has to be corrected.

The ‘songkok’ per se has nothing to do with Islam. Islam requires that Muslim when praying should cover their hair. Even then visit mosques in London or in Chicago, or Istanbul you will Muslims praying without any covering that would prevent their hair touching their prayer mats.

Of course this is not an argument for the compulsory wearing of the Malay ‘songkok’ by non-Malays. We are a nation of diverse ethnicities. How boring would it be if everybody were to dress the same way?

The government should not intrude into the private lives and preferences of the individual. It is an issue best viewed as a freedom of speech issue.

124. #124 by Count Dracula on Saturday, 12 January 2008 - 11:34 pm

“During the school’s Co-Curriculum Day in 2007, a Doa session was held at the start of the events. ALL students were required to raise their hands in prayer as Muslims do, whether they were Muslim or not!
    Those who felt uneasy to comply as they were not Muslims, were punished by the teacher!”

This is really sad!

125. #125 by mindenn on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 12:02 am

I grad from EC 6 years ago, during that times all the male prefects wore the songkok regardless of races as told by Kanasaikia, so it’s really not a new issue in EC.

126. #126 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 2:51 am

One reason why Muslims cannot convert out is because they cannot re-attach their foreskins – they say. dracula

This is the debate of a great intellect. We no one else. They say? who say?

127. #127 by Old Geezer on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 3:12 am

I am glad to see some level-headed comments but also sad to see people criticising for the sake of criticising.
    I have mentioned before that we have to look at all the facts first before arriving at a conclusion.
    If Kanasaikia is right about the songkok being historically a part of the ceremonial uniform for many years, won’t it make us all a bit stupid to be making a storm in a tea-cup for nothing?
    Both Malays and non-Malays may have misconceptions about the songkok. So, ask the govt to announce whether the songkok should be an Islamic symbol to inform both Malays and non-Malays, and then proceed from there.
    Otherwise, it would be tragic if a Chinese get beaten up by an ignorant Malay mob if he happens to eat or buy pork in his ceremonial head gear.

128. #128 by laifoong on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 9:03 am

aiyaaaah! limkamphut…lu punya ‘foreskin’ sudah potong la…apa lagi lu mau cakap??

129. #129 by chiakchua on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 3:04 pm

“If Kanasaikia is right about the songkok being historically a part of the ceremonial uniform for many years, won’t it make us all a bit stupid to be making a storm in a tea-cup for nothing?” Old Geezer

Yes, better to get facts right.

While letting the posters to comment on current issue, it is ‘VITAL’ for DAP/PKR/PAS to come up with their ideal management policies for the country; short term, mid term and long term.

If NEP is the culprit, what is the alternative?
    Complete abolishment? You would scared away all the Malays and you would never take control of the government.
    Religion policy?
    Education policy?

Come out with the opposition front’s manifesto on the above few important issues so that posters could have a chance to contribute their view. It will also let the rakyat have a clear mind of what would it be if the opposition front comes into reign.

130. #130 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 January 2008 - 9:19 pm

laifoong, saya banyak boleh cakap, walaupun foreskin sudah potong. Kamu tidak ada foreskin langsung untuk dipotong. Lagi sedih, bukan.

131. #131 by lakshmi on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 9:56 am

I am a Hindu mother. As much as I think that the baju kurung is a comfortable attire, I forbade my daughter from wearing it to school because, as I told her, the matter is small, but the principle is great. As long as the non Muslims are discriminated against in many ways in school, universities, employment, buying houses, places of worship etc, we have to show them that we will not make them feel that it is okay to wear a baju kurung or a songkok for the non muslims but haram for the muslims to wear the sari, the cheongsam or the gandhi cap or anything else deemed by them to be haram.

132. #132 by needtospeak on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 8:56 pm

I spent 5 years in a fully residential school back in the 70’s schooling & living with malays. Being the only chinese girl in the whole form, all my friends were naturally malays. I made some good friends during that time. I used to wear the baju kurung on fridays even though it was not compulsory to do so. However it would be a totally different situation if it had been forced upon me. I agree totally with a post(er?) from another thread who wrote “the forceful imposition of one cultural emblem or practice unto another minority, serves only to alienate them and make them feel even more marginalized.”

I believe that if left alone, most of us will eventually accept each others cultures and practices and may even adopt the ones we like. For example the giving of “ang pow” packets during CNY. We even have pink packets for Deepavali now! And the adoption of the baju kurung which is so comfortable as lakshmi mentioned although she has forbidden her daughter from wearing it. That is her prerogative and she should stand by what she believes in.

In the same manner, many of the people who have written in have actually tried to tell the “EC parent” & “EC prefect” what they should or should not do. That, to a certain extent is also exerting their values upon others. The boy has shown that he is capable of thinking for himself and the parents should support & encourage him if they feel that he is right in his stand.

However, as far as the “EC prefect wearing songkok issue” is concerned, I am surprised that no one has yet posted that the issue has been resolved amicably as the headmaster himself has announced today during an emergency prefects meeting that it is NOT compulsory for the prefects to wear the songkok for whatever function or duty.

I am glad that we can put this all behind us now. I just hope that there will be no other teachers or headmasters elsewhere in the nation, who would impose their personal values and cultural practices upon student minorities. After all, we all want to live in a happy and harmonious society despite our cultural differences.

133. #133 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 10:06 pm

Dear Readers.

I refer to many remarks by concerned citizens. Perhaps I can give some insight on “songkok” or “Baju Kurung” or “Sari”. Songkok is just a head gear just like turban or cowboy hat. Nothing more and nothing less.

It is a cultural thing, not a religious requirement. It does not signify that a Malay boy is more pious if he wears a songkok. What I am trying to say is that songkok is not religious driven. But rather a beautiful headgear of the Malays.

The same principle is applied for baju Kurung. It is a beautiful dress , originated from Malay community, just like sari for Indian ladies. Islam allows cultural variety so long the basic requirement is followed. It means a person can wear a flowing robe like an Arab, or a 3 piece suit like a European or Baju Melayu like a Malay provided the minimum decency is maintained. I remember how my American university mates complimented several Malay ladies wearing Baju Kurung to university. Such a beautiful dress, they said.

As for Sari, the main reason why Malay ladies do not wear is due to the fact that it exposes part of body( around stomach area).

I remember the uproar several years ago when A university insisted on songkok during convocation. Many saw as forcing Malay values on non Malay students. Actually it is not. Each university is unique. The main reason for songkok during that convocation is that the university emblem on that songkok.

Nevertheless, overzealousness is bad. In school, I see no reason why songkok to be insisted even on Malays. And I also see no reason why a 5 year old girl needs to wear tudung. A child is a child , therefore active. Let her play. Let her choose to wear tudung on her own.

Several years ago, A Malay lady sued Federal Govt for not allowing her to wear purdah and all black to the office. She lost the case. Personally, I will feel depress if wearing all black and to cover everything except my eyes. Why burden yourself. Even Islam does not insist on it. What is wrong by wearing colourful dress.

As goes the saying, a swallow does not make a summer. Similarly, should anybody not happy with some requirements, then he should try to go through PIBG, headmaster, or even Member of Parliament. Sometimes, the Govt never sanctions it but overzealous low level officers implement what they feel is right.

134. #134 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:50 am

“Several years ago, A Malay lady sued Federal Govt for not allowing her to wear purdah and all black to the office. She lost the case.”

I remember this case. She was represented by none other than Karpal Singh. She lost her case because the court held that it had nothing to do with her religion but with the need to identify herself to others when working. How would others or members of the public she is serving know who she is if all they could see are her two eyes!

A common sense judgment.

135. #135 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:04 am

“I remember the uproar several years ago when A university insisted on songkok during convocation. Many saw as forcing Malay values on non Malay students. Actually it is not.” shamshul anuar

Why depart from the international practice of wearing black mortar boards with tassel? Why put on a gown at all? Let’s all come for the convocation dressed in traditional attire?!

It is accepted international practice. Why interfere with it??

136. #136 by dranony on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:27 pm

shamshul anuar,
    if there are no religious connotations to the songkok, can you please explain why the songkok is worn on Fridays and not other days?
    if there are no religious connotations, why is the songkok worn by the rakyat Melayu during AidilAdha and AidilFitri, and NOT on Hari Merdeka nor on Hari Keputeraan Agung and Hari Keputeraan Sultan?

you have also not addressed the questions mentioned in the initial letter by JB EC Parent – will you also be confused and assume that a person wearing a songkok is a Muslim?
    Will a person wearing a songkok during ramadhan, and eating in a mamak restaurant, be confused with a muslim flouting islamic fasting laws?
    Will Muslims be confused if men wearing songkok are seen patronising pubs, nightclubs, empatekor shops, casinos and temples?
    Will Muslims be upset if men wearing songkok are seen pictured guzzling beer, or pictured with roast piglets, or pictured with scantily-clad women?
    Will Muslims feel that the use of songkok in the above fashions, demean the integrity of the songkok tradition?

Badawi has said that prohibition of the use of the word “Allah” is to prevent confusion amongst Muslims.

Similarly, do you not think that the NON-compulsory use of the songkok, would actually preserve the respect and integrity of the songkok tradition?

If non-muslims care enough that the muslims respect the songkok, and understand that muslim men would NOT be seen wearing the songkok when doing unislamic things, do you not think that non-muslims would similarly also appreciate that?
    (Yes, some muslims also drink beer and buy 4D and visit nightclubs and commit khalwat, but they would probably NOT be wearing songkoks while doing so.)

IF some Mufti NOW issues a fatwa that “songkok has nothing to do with islam,” and then a bunch of non-muslims go around town purposely to test public reactions, by wearing the songkok while posing for photographs drinking beer and buying 4D, and posing with scantilyclad women, or posing with roast piglets, or smooch inside cars in the dark with their girlfriends, and then have these photos posted on a blog somewhere, would Malay sensitivities about the songkok be inflamed?
    Would you, shamsul anwar, THEN decide that the songkok would in fact, have its respect as a muslim emblem demeaned?

I do agree with shamsul that if one is unhappy over overzealous actions by “little napoleons,” that one should go to a Member of Parliament.
    It would seem to me then, that LimKitSiang is doing a fantastic job right here!
    He got the problem solved for JB EC Parent!

137. #137 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 11:32 pm

Dear Dranony.

Many thanks for your responses and question. As I mentioned earlier, songkok to Malays is what Cowboy Hat to Americans in some states like Texas, New Mexico.

It is a headgear. Nothing more and nothing less. As for wearing Songkok during Friday prayers and also other praying sessions, the reason is more of practicality. From Muslims viewpoint, A praying is considered “not valid” should lock of hairs fall on your forehead as you touch your forehead on the ground( during praying). Hence, the need for hat or songkok or turban during praying session.

Besides, songkok is also worn by Malays in the presence of Rulers. A more traditional “tengkolok” is only worn by Malays on their wedding days. Malay Rulers wear “tengkolok” during official ceremony like Coronation of Yang DiPertuan Agung, or opening of State Legislative assembly. Just like Queen Elizabeth 11 with her numerous hats.

As far as I know, nobody in Malaysia is required to wear songkok in restaurant, shopping mall, pub, hotel, etc. And Muftis need not to offer a fatwa on songkok as it is only a hat. That is all. It has no religious conotation. It does not make you religious or more Malay by wearing a songkok.

This is what Islam teaches us. That mere mortals should not jugde people simply bytheir dressing. What is more important is his deeds. That does not mean that dress code is not important. Rather , do not be fooled by appearances.

The problem can be traced to overzealousness by some petty minded low level officials. Unfortunately, on the other end of spectrum, some people are quick to condemn it as creeping Islamisation. Both sides need to maintain sanity.

138. #138 by dranony on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:53 am

shamsul,
    You have still NOT explained why almost all malay men wear songkok during AidilAdha and AidilFitri but not during Hari Merdeka and Hari Keputeraan Agung and Hari Keputeraan Sultan. Sebol had tried to persuade me, unsuccessfully, that the songkok is a sign of respect to the royalties – but this would be contrary to what is observed, if songkok is NOT worn by the malay masses during the celebrations of birthday of royalties.

Now, even if you reason that “the songkok is just a hat to cover hair during friday prayers” without any connotation to religion, there is still the connotation or association with Malay culture.
    If we go by your line of reasoning, then the “chinese hat” (http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/asianideas_1985_103967541) is also “not religious.” How would you feel if someone tries to enforce you to use THAT instead, during your friday prayers?
    “No religious connotation wot…”
    Please, DO remember the principle of mutual respect, and respectful reciprocity:
    “You should only ask others to accept, what you would also accept if others ask of you in return.”

It is undeniable that there is an extremely strong association of the songkok with malay culture (just as the cheongsam has, to chinese culture).
    Sure, the songkok is not mentioned in the Quran, BUT does not the Malaysian Constitution define Malay as a Muslim?
    Since a Malay is a Muslim, hence wearing a Malay emblem, would be seen by non-Malays as wearing an emblem that is associated with Islam.

Next time you observe people wearing songkok (by choice), tell me what percentage are malay. The percentage would be close to 100%.

I notice that you have also TOTALLY AVOIDED my points about
    “non-Muslims caring enough about the songkok tradition, by not demeaning the songkok by wearing it while doing unIslamic practices”
    (since they have also noticed that muslims who flout islamic practices would not be seen doing so while wearing songkoks.)
    Does your lack of reply mean that you are unable to disagree with my point that a non-Malay wearing the songkok while doing unIslamic things, would DEMEAN the songkok?

If you pause for a moment to consider the implications, you’d probably see that it would be better if the non-Malays actually stay away from Malay attire, esp if the non-Muslims cannot be expected to refrain from unIslamic practices.
    The chinese have NO PROBLEM wearing Batek into Genting Highlands Casino.
    Would you be irked if the chinese now wear the full baju melayu, complete with samping and songkok, into the casino?

Even if YOU personally do not view it as an affront to the Malay-Muslim identity, would you agree that some of those more “hot-headed” or violent ones in the Malay-Muslim community (yes, those Keris-waving ones), might take it as an affront or provocation to their identity?
    Imagine a scenario where some provocative chaps from the NON-Malay community, take it upon themselves to challenge your views (that songkok or even baju melayu has no islamic connotation), by actually dressing in full baju melayu, songkok samping and all, and publicly display unIslamic practices while in such attire!
    Can you imagine the uproar then – the present unhappiness by non-Malays over the songkok issue, would be NOTHING compared to the uproar by the Malay-Mulsim community over these displays.

Face it, to have non-Malays respect the songkok, it would be better to NOT force it unto non-Malays non-Muslims, so that their respect for it as a Malay emblem, and hence as an Islamic identity, is maintained.

139. #139 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:44 pm

Dear Dranony.

Please reread my comment. Songkok is a hat that is associated with Malays. That is all. It is worn during Friday prayers or religious gathering as it is practical. It prevents lock of hair falling onto your forehead while Muslim bends down during praying.

If you care to observeofficial functions such as giving credential to Malaysian ambasaddors to foreign countries, you will notice that a proper attire of Muslim ambassadors ussually come with songkok.

Only songkok is associated with Malays . I am sure you are aware that in other cultures, wearing of hat is expected like when attending annual tea party hosted by Queen Elizabeth 11.

Confusion starts when ignorant people associates it with religion. It has nothing to do with religion. And some people went overboard by asking what will happen if A Chinese drinks liquour or eating pork while wearing a songkok.

Rest assured, It will not happen as even Malays do not wear songkok during office time or lunch. So, the question is irrelevant.

140. #140 by dranony on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:25 pm

shamsul,
    You are running away from so many of my questions.
    go and read them again, and answer them.
    The reference to Malaysian ambassadors to foreign countries being required to wear songkok is not an issue at all, since it may be required of them as protocol. Protocol may require them to wear a sash as well, but certainly not something they’d wear on a daily basis (read the original letter from JB EC Parent).

Again you have refused to acknowledge that Malay is Muslim, even when the Malaysian Constitution has defined it clearly.
    Therefore a Malay, hence Muslim, attire being forced upon non-Malays, non-Muslims, is simply hegemonic cultural imposition.
    Whether songkok is Islamic or not, by YOUR personal interpretation, is of no consequence to the many keris-wielding chaps who may not see your interpretation as being correct.

My questions are not irrelevant simply because you declare it to be so.
    Even the word “Allah” had been deemed not for use by non-Muslims simply because it may cause confusion.
    You may say songkok or samping or baju melayu or tengkolok has no Islamic connotations, but that is simply refusal to admit what is perceived by the common folk ie that Malay IS Muslim.
    Don’t pull wool, or songkok, over people’s eyes.

In any event, EVEN IF, as you claim, that Malay does not equal Muslim, then enforcing the songkok upon nonMalays, STILL constitutes hegemonic cultural imposition, which reeks of the “ketuanan” mindset.

Would all Malays accept if you are forced to wear a chinese cap?
    No, I’m not talking about just yourself personally or about the times you had actually donned one as a gag or for ‘just for fun.’
    I’m asking if you think that ALL Malays would accept being forced to wear an emblem or attire of another culture which does not reflect your true culture or identity.
    As many others have mentioned, so long as these emblems are not forced upon others, acceptance and respect for these emblems may be easier, given sufficient time.
    That is the whole crux of the matter – compulsion.

141. #141 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 10:11 pm

Dear Dranony.

With due respect to you, please reread my comment. In no way I express tolerance on forcing songkok on students, be they Malay or not.

I just try to correct the misconception. Songkok is a hat, just like Turban for some communities in Asia or Cowboy hat so commonly associated with many men in rural Texas or New Mexico. It is as simple as that.

Am I am not running away or evading any answers to your questions. I just plainly explain the significance of songkok to the Malays. And there is no need to issue a fatwa over a hat. It is just a hat.

As much as I abhor forcing Malay cultures to other races, I also abhor people who are paranoid. I fail to understand the significance of a question on how a Malay react seeing a Chinese eating pork while wearing a songkok. Just what kind of question is this. Since when does the authority insists on Malaysians to wear songkok while in office, pub, hotel, etc. So, that was what I meant as irrelevant.

142. #142 by dranony on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 4:03 pm

shamsul,
    I am glad that you agree that forcing someone of another culture to don an emblem of your culture, is abhorrent.

But obviously you fail to be sensitive to the cultures of others, and to the preceptions of others.
    I had repeated many times, and which you fail to convincingly rebut – that Malay IS Muslim.
    Malays wear songkok. Thus songkok is Malay attire. Malays being Muslim, means that in Malaysian context, songkok is worn by Malay-Muslims.

Even non- Malays understand that Malays respect the songkok, and would NOT be seen doing unislamic things while in a songkok. A Muslim drinking beer, a Muslim buying EmpatNomborEkor, a Muslim committing khalwat, a Muslim kissing a girl in public (please DON’T deny that these do NOT happen) – would NOT be seen wearing a songkok while doing so. Even they know how to preserve respect for the songkok.

FYI, all of the above actions are NOT wrong in the eyes of non-Muslims.
    Therefore, to preserve the respect for the songkok, non-Muslims know too that they should not do these things if they _choose_ to don the songkok.

Forcing them to don the songkok, may well change things.

143. #143 by dranony on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 4:09 pm

sorry it should be “Please DON’T deny that these DO happen.”