2007 crime index crashed through 200,000 barrier – biggest failure of 4-year Abdullah premiership

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s five-prong strategy announced yesterday to combat the rising crime index is not impressive at all – too little, too late and too indifferent in lacking seriousness and commitment by Abdullah to make Malaysia safe again for its citizens, visitors, tourists and investors.

Under Abdullah’s premiership, crime has reached endemic dimension with Malaysia gaining an international notoriety as a country unsafe for her citizens, visitors, tourists and investors.

When he became Prime Minister on Oct. 31, 2003, Abdullah pledged that one of his top priorities would be to reduce crime to restore to Malaysians their fundamental right to be free from crime and the fear of crime, whether in the streets, public places or the privacy of their homes.

Today, Malaysians feel even more unsafe from crime than when he became Prime Minister.

Abdullah had raised great hopes about his commitment to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional and world-class police service to declare an all-out war against crime when he set up the Royal Police Commission which came out with 125 recommendations, the most important of which was the proposal for an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

All such high hopes of Malaysians for a world-class professional police service to keep crime index low to make the country safe for the people, visitors and foreign investors have been dashed to the ground in the past four years.

All these high hopes have come to nought. The proposal of an effective IPCMC has been killed, replaced with a clawless and toothless Special Complaints Commission proposal.

Under Abdullah’s premiership, the police fought a losing war against the rising crime index, which had worsened from 156,315 cases in 2003 to 224,298 cases in 2007 – a sharp rise of some 45% in the past four years.

The crime index crashed through the 200,000 barrier for the first time in nation’s history with rape more than doubled from a daily average of four women in 2003 to 8.5 women last year.
This means that under Abdullah as Prime Minister, women are even more unsafe from the crime of rape, with the risk of rape more than doubled than when Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad handed power over to him four years ago.

Abdullah’s multi-pronged anti-crime strategy announced yesterday has fallen like a damp squid as nobody believes that it will have any effect to make Malaysia at least as safe for personal safety and property security when he became Prime Minister four years ago.

When will Abdullah wake up to realize and admit that crime in Malaysia has become endemic under his premiership, and that the prevalent feeling of citizens, visitors, tourists and investors that they have lost the sense of personal safety and property security is one of the greatest failures of his premiership?

Print Friendly

1. #1 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 12:54 pm

As an after-thought I should have worded it thus:

“don’t you think Mahathir has to go through SECOND childhood FIRST before becoming a ‘come back kid’? He would then be the THIRD contender for the PM post though he needs to contend with the FOURTH floor boys. The plight of the minority race making up about a FIFTH of the population would then worsen should the one whose name starts with the SIXTH letter of ‘RAHMAN’ be the eventually victor.”

2. #2 by Kit on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 1:14 pm

I am in trouble. For the past 21 hours I have not been able to upload onto my blog, although this glitch does not seem to affect other WordPress functions like receiving comments and that of the moderation list.

The first blog casualty is Farish Noor’s excellent piece “The A, B and C of God”, and I tried to upload it umpteenth times but to no avail.

Unless this WordPress problem is resolved, it will not be possible to update the blog. While trying to figure out what is wrong – and I have absolutely no clue at the moment so anyone who can help will be most welcome – I am producing below Farish Noor’s latest article so that Farish words of wisdom is immediately available to visitors of this blog and to even farther afield including the Fourth Storey and other floors of Putrajaya. – kit 10.1.08 1.15 pm

3. #3 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 1:37 pm

Uncle Kit,
    No wonder no new post uploaded onto your blog today..maybe someone is trying something fishy to freeze your blog? and as you said that “this glitch does not seem to affect other WordPress functions like receiving comments and that of the moderation list”….anyway i believe someone out there may come up with the solution as i’m not familiar in hosting a blog…good luck Uncle Kit…God Bless..

4. #4 by Evenmind on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 2:24 pm

This what happens when certain communities are marginalised in any one country, picture this, if have a a large family at home , say 10 children, and u give exceptional treatment and care only to 7 of them and you totally ignore the the other 3, guess what happens to them , who will be the future renegades, your guess is as good AS MINE, NOW THE CHICKENS HAS COME HOME TO ROOST., Do you the Government can contrlol the crime spree, I doubt it, it is only going to increase, and who knows, criminals would even start looting the policy makers ,what goes around ,comes around Good Luck to the morons who are running this helpless country, its all doom and gloom , if these morons are to continue running the country. May Allah bless Malaysia.

5. #5 by bolehlandor on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 2:26 pm

YB
    This buffoon aab is still sleeping or has he ceased to exist (ever heard of voodoo’s living dead?) Crimes is exploding like an atomic bomb & this buffoon is planning to tour the world on the rakyat’s money with his new wife.
    Sadly the so-called cabinet is also comprising of living deads who are conscious of cheating money of the nation through corruption & other hidden criminal deeds. Should the rakyat put such a circus to rule again?!!!

6. #6 by khch01 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 2:43 pm

CRIME IS THE REFLECTION OF CORRUPTION. GET RID OF CORRUPTION WILL GET RID OF CRIME. CCTV WILL NOT REDUCE THE CRIME RATE.

7. #7 by mendela on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 2:52 pm

”I am in trouble. For the past 21 hours I have not been able to upload onto my blog’. Kit.

During this critical period (b4 GE is held), this blog must be protected from hijacking at all costs!

Can bloggers out there offer your expert opinions on how this can be done?

What is Kit’s Plan B or Plan C when this blog is down? How can we get communicate?

8. #8 by bystander on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 2:55 pm

Our Jeffrey here is even better than the Federal Court judge who does not even know what prima facie means. A conflicting written judgement with mistakes by a once high court judge now a federal court judge. What a joke. They are all there because of colour of skin. Most of them are really shameless.

9. #9 by Loh on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 3:05 pm

///I am producing below Farish Noor’s latest article so that Farish words of wisdom is immediately available to visitors of this blog and to even farther afield including the Fourth Storey and other floors of Putrajaya. – kit 10.1.08 1.15 pm///

I believe the name “Farish Noor’ has triggered the virus attack. The article never appear as you have intended.

10. #10 by mendela on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 3:08 pm

For some unknown reasons, today’s Chinese language dailies are for the first time giving substantial reports on activities of opposition parties….

11. #11 by mysn1st on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 3:14 pm

Oh…Ya YB,
    I believe what most Malaysians worried about, especially those who had left and are planning to leave the country soon.

However our Abdullah administrative are not sensitive about this.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 3:22 pm

For those who want to read and comment on Farish Noor’s “The A, B, C of God, here is the link – http://www.othermalaysia.org/

13. #13 by KanNinNeh on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 3:52 pm

The corrupted situation in BN has given rise to a consequence that all the good quality are now in PAS, PKR and DAP !

So don’t expect too much from the bunch of the corrupted monkeys !

Vote them out !

14. #14 by Jonny on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 4:05 pm

KLSE going up very good also ma. Proof of good economy. Soon, crime index will go down. everyone got job. everyone got money to spend. Thanks to the share market. Thanks to the coming Chinese New Year, more stock rallies. More goodies to come. Vote for BN, we all won’t go wrong for another 5 years. LOL.

15. #15 by Kit on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 4:08 pm

[There was no virus attack triggered by "Farish Noor". I had appended Farish's article to my note, but had deleted it after several failed attempts to upload the entirety. At least the note got through. I was wrong when I said the other WorldPress functions were operating well, as the WorldPress 'comment' mechanism is operating erratically. - Kit]

The above was a note to Loh’s post (15: 05.22) but it was another function which failed. – kit

16. #16 by Jong on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 4:51 pm

“But isn’t Abdullah Badawi half Malay half Chinese? People of mixed parentage are supposed to above average in intelligence.” – undergrad2

He is an abrasion. For every rule there’s an exception. In this case, he is de only exception! :D

17. #17 by AhPek on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 5:32 pm

K1980,
    Whilst I think your remarks that cross-breeding a horse and a donkey will result iin getting a mule which is a worse off product than its original 2 progenitors is superb retort to undergrad 2′s comments on mixed blood, I have a nagging suspicion his remarks is employed to show how the sly fox mammak’s game is outfoxed by a supposedly timid dopy looking chappy who is half malay and half chinese.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 6:02 pm

Jong

I think you mean “aberration”?

19. #19 by KanNinNeh on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 6:50 pm

“Another girl goes missing in Taman Medan area

PETALING JAYA: Another girl has gone missing. This time the victim is five-year-old Sharlinie Mohd Nashar who disappeared while playing about 200m from her house in Taman Dato Harun on Wednesday.

Missing: Mohd Nashar holding Sharlinie’s picture as Suraya and Sharliena look on at their home in Taman Dato Harun, Petaling Jaya, on Wednesday.
    Police are not ruling out the possibility that the “Kampung Baru molester” – the man responsible for the cruel killing of Nurin Jazlin Jazimin – could have abducted Sharlinie, the second to be reported missing in the Taman Medan area in two days.

On Monday, a six-year-old girl was abducted by a man on a motorcycle when she was playing alone near her flats in Kampung Sepakat, Taman Medan, about 2km from where Sharlinie went missing.”

So, which is more important and urgent now, the little girl or CSL Sex DVD ?

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 8:35 pm

ALtPJK,

Hillary Clinton (soon to hit her 60s) after the New Hampshire primary two days ago is now touted as the “come back kid” just like her husband Bill was. In the U.S. they love “come back kids”. Americans like to see someone falls and then picks herself or himself up and rise above the fray.

Could Mahathir be Malaysia’s first “come back kid” – not an impossibility given the present circumstances affecting UMNO, however remote it appears to us. It need not have to be as the country’s prime minister.

21. #21 by Jong on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 8:50 pm

oooops my spelling mistake, should have double checked. Thanks Angus!

22. #22 by zioburosky13 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 8:57 pm

There’s a saying when a country’s crime rate is climbing, its economic status is going down hill.

Perhaps this is the real reason of Malaysia’s high crime index – everyone is too poor and force to do anything to get money no matter it’s legal or not.

23. #23 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:40 pm

I’m sorry to hear about your abrasion, Jong.

24. #24 by Jong on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:54 pm

You had been extremely quiet, how come? Guilty?

25. #25 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 7:30 am

To lift up your spirits and your mind away from the abrasion you suffered, here’s an old native American joke.

Among the Indians (nothing to do with Samy Vellu) hordes of young braves would visit their villages now and then, and with each visit their squaws would get pregnant.

But on one such occasion their chief laments “Many braves come. Many moons go. How come no baby come??”

I hope it does not remind you of your abrasion.

26. #26 by csl on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 8:25 am

Talk is always easier than do. Ask yourselves 1st what if you are sitting on the PM chair. To control your son is not hard. But to control a more than 26 millions population is not easy.

You always hate white elephant project. They shut down few. But end up with rising crime. Don’t know if those mob in penang or kl who destroy things or make the town full of rubbish in a blink can consider a crime or not.

If one person ever able to make things become perfect in a short time, he/she will 1st work for Singapore gov 1st.

I’m pretty surprise that, most people here, judging a thing just base on emotion. For me, the only thing can be blamed, is the country don’t have much rakyat that have independent thinking, that, will not easily effect by others.

People will only endlessly demand. After all the things you complaint about, do you ever ask what had you done in the 1st place? I just afraid you can’t even refuse to use a plastic bag that is not environment friendly or share car to let the country to have less burden on the fuel subsidy. Talk about other more importing things, I just afraid you will soon divert the subject to else where.

27. #27 by ckl on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 12:12 pm

Please do not simply comment that “most Malaysia do not have independent thinking”. Actually, Malaysian are now improved and more can think maturely compared to old time. Now, Malaysian are more educated, know how to judge and not fooled by “temporary sweets”. Evidence of this is the methods of Malaysian solve the problem or raise their request are more like those developed country such as Europe. Unfortunately, the government handled the issues using crocodile and ostrich method. This make the unique of Malaysia. People starts their request with gentle but meet with ostrich, continue the request with gentle but meet with crocodile. In the end, problem not solved. This is Malaysia.

In the modern days, no more kings, only left leaders and leaders is public servants. hence, Public is the BOSS and Leader is the SERVANTs. It has no problem for public to demand, just like our boss demand us. If the leader cannot make it, he or she should give way to a more capable person. Once again just like those developed country, none of a party of leader can lead a developed country for more than 10 years, 1 thing is because of the election regulation but please be clear that even do not have election regulation, they will still fail, just like US, Taiwan, Australia…..
    For Example, the US president is changed from Republic and democratic all over the time, old Bush to Clinton, Clinton to young Bush, this year most probably will be Hilary or Obama.

In a democratic country, a healthy political climate should have 2 parties or 2 aliances that can think maturely and able against each other at anytime. Then, they will always think for the citizen and work hard for their BOSS in order to preserve their support. As a BOSS, public should think maturely and do not fooled by those political trick easily. In order to achieve this, qualitative education is very important, but sadly, Malaysia practise quantitative education.

In order to handle a country is not the one man show, the advisory board compatibality is also very critical and important, if the leader found that his advisors cannot perform, he should “chopped off” and replace with capables and not wait till the BOSS angry on him or her.

For the sake of Malaysia, we should look forward to develope our country to achieve Vision 2020 and we should also learn the lessons from the developed countries experience and avoid the pains, obstacles and mistake that they have did or encountered in the process to achieve it.

For the future of Malaysia, self awareness of those leaders and citizen is most important. Remember, only the BOSS can fired the SERVANTs, even CEO also cannot fired director. Please do not make the thing upside down in Malaysia. This may tumble the whole country.

28. #28 by Jong on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 1:32 pm

Thanks DarkHorse, your native Indian joke was a good one! My spirits are ok, I’m not so easily offended but I have said my piece and I stand by it.

Whilst we are on that native Indian joke, here’s one on former Minister of Health Dr Chua Soi Lek’s blatant failure in lack research on Alzheimer’s:

“There is more money being spent on breast implants and viagra today than on Alzheimer’s research. This means that by 2040, there should be a large elderly population with perky boobs and huge erections and absolutely no recollection of what to do with them!”

29. #29 by DarkHorse on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 10:12 pm

Which one would you prefer the former or the latter?

30. #30 by chgchksg128 on Friday, 11 January 2008 - 11:27 pm

too much of foreign labour make the crime high..we have more indon than Indian in Mlaysia especially in KL
    http://2hard2lie.blogspot.com/2008/01/too-much-of-foreigners.html

31. #31 by EARNEST on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 3:12 am

“But isn’t Abdullah Badawi half Malay half Chinese? People of mixed parentage are supposed to above average in intelligence.” – undergrad2

So what if mixed parentage? Crossbreed a horse and a donkey and you get a mule, which is not more intelligent than a horse or a donkey — k1980 Says

Whilst I think your remarks that cross-breeding a horse and a donkey will result in getting a mule which is a worse off product than its original 2 progenitors is superb retort to undergrad 2’s comments on mixed blood…. AhPek

Theoretically, mixed marriages will produce better looking offsprings with better qualities than both parents because usually the best traits which are genetically dominant from both parents will be expressed. This is generally true.

Those who believe in the theory of evolution accept that nature learns by trial and error in improving the species.

However, ceteris paribus need to be considered when drawing conclusions about the outcome of a particular mixed marriages. There are too many variables confusing the issue.

We all belong to the same species, Homo sapiens — the modern man –irrespective of races.

Homo, is a Latin word for “ human”. Homo sapiens is the only extant species of its genus. The study of the origins of Homo sapiens often demonstrates that there were other Homo species, such as Homo floresiensis, Homo neanderthalensis, etc, etc, etc., all of which are now extinct.

A species can be defined as a group of individuals that breed together to produce fertile offspring. Individuals of a species cannot breed with other such groups. It is sometimes possible for different species to breed, but the offspring will be sterile. A mule is the sterile offspring of a donkey and a horse, and the mule can never mate and reproduce itself. (adapted)

A horse and donkey are 2 different species of the genus Equus, viz., Equus caballus and Equus asinus respectively.
    A mule is the offspring of a jackass (male donkey) and a mare (female horse).
    A hinny is the offspring of a stallion (male horse) and a jenny (female donkey).
    Mules and hinnies are usually sterile. The sterility is attributed to the differing number of chromosomes of the two species: donkeys have 62 chromosomes, whereas horses have 64. Mules and hinnies have 63 chromosomes that are a mixture of one from each parent.

You see, Mother Nature also imposes check and balance to prevent adverse consequences of inter-species crossings from messing up her plans.

I am not sure if the mule is not smarter than its progenitors, and in fact “it possesses the sobriety, patience, endurance and sure-footedness of the donkey, and the vigor, strength and courage of the horse.” – adapted.

In view of the above facts, an inter-racial marriage (mixed marriage) can not be equated with an inter-species crossing between a horse and a donkey. An inter-species crossing between different human species is impossible because besides us, the rest were already extinct.

Humans’ closest living evolutionary relative is the chimpanzee. Humans shared a common ancestor with chimpanzees five to eight million years ago. Research has found 94% identical DNA between human beings and chimpanzees. Theoretically, it is possible to transfer genes between humans and chimpanzees, but it would be unthinkable to attempt a cross.

32. #32 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 11:15 am

“Theoretically, it is possible to transfer genes between humans and chimpanzees, but it would be unthinkable to attempt a cross.” – EARNEST

I think it has happened before. Don’t you remember Zam??

33. #33 by Jong on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 3:23 pm

Another good one, I just fell off my chair !! :D

34. #34 by aiD_kamikuP on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 3:57 pm

We are victims, you see, in this country of one repression after another. So when there is an opportunity to have laughter, though somewhat cruel at the expense of someone else, it can’t be resisted. Sorry you fell off your chair but I am still having abdominal muscle aches from non-stop laughing.

35. #35 by Colonel on Monday, 14 January 2008 - 10:37 pm

“Theoretically, it is possible to transfer genes between humans and chimpanzees….” Dirty Old Man EARNEST

This DOM is at it again! We’ve not forgotten his fixation with the “woman’s vulva and the re-growth of the clitrois, now he’s advocating that we have sex with the chimpanzees!

36. #36 by Jong on Tuesday, 15 January 2008 - 12:53 am

When divine anger ruins a man, it first takes away his good sense.

37. #37 by EARNEST on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:19 am

Colonel’s distorted inferences reveal a hidden subconscious preference, which is a deviation from what is natural and normally considered good sense.

38. #38 by ntradical on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 11:38 pm

After 20 over years staying in a peaceful town call Nibong Tebal(Seberang Perai Selatan, Penang main Land), this is the first time my house get broke in! Where are the police who claim they did their patrol job? They claim they have so call “8 pondok Polis”, but what’s the use when they are sleeping?! Many complains have been done! But no effort! Lucky my son was not harm as he was sound asleep ion the house! NEW UNIFORM won’t change a thing unless ATTITUDE is reform! We can’t accept sikap “TIDAK APA” anymore!!! Security is at stake!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.