Najib – teaching baby crabs to walk straight

Today’s New Straits Times carried two intriguing and controversial front-page headlines in the aftermath of the Chua Soi Lek sex video scandal: “LET THIS BE A LESSON” and “’My biggest mistake’”.

The “LET THIS BE A LESSON” headline and NST report (p 6) elicited the common reaction from most readers – “Is Najib the right person to give such a warning?”

The report quoted the Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak telling Barisan Nasional leaders and members “to learn a lesson from the resignation of health minister Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek”.

Najib told Barisan Nasional leaders “to behave themselves so as not to embarrass the party”. He said party members must exercise discipline and abide by the code of conduct of the party.

Had Najib set exemplary standards in his political career as to qualify him to issue warning or is he akin to Father Crab teaching Baby Crab to walk straight?

Or was Najib saying that the real lesson to be learnt was not to be caught with the pants down?

The second NST frontpage headline “’My biggest mistake’” – also front page headline of Star My mistake – Chua blames downfall on hardwork“ and the Sun “Chua’s biggest mistake” – is equally thought-provoking.

Chua attributed his political downfall to his being too conscientious and hard-working as Health Minister and MCA vice president , to the extent that he gave this unsolicited advice to future Health Ministers – “Please go slow. If you go too fast, you will also be subject to speculation. This is political reality, so I agree with some people that it is the Ministry of Hell, not because of the ministry’s work but because of the political system that we have.”

A heart-felt advice by Chua to his successors to be Health Ministers of mediocrity instead of excellence and distinction?

A very perceptive observation and comment was left on my blog by one TruthEnquirer as an off-topic on a thread on January 1, 2008 at 8.47.26 am (more than six hours before Chua’s admission in Labis) raising very pertinent questions not only about the real power-equation in Barisan Nasional but also about the mainstream media, viz:

Scandal of V. K. Lingam video clip – immediate Media Blackout for 2 days when Internet Blogs and Online Bulletins buzzed with its news.

When it involves digital video disc involving a bedroom romp of a person resembling “a senior MCA politician from Johor” being distributed in several places, including Muar and Batu Pahat, this looming sex scandal received immediate mainstream papers’ attention. No Media Blackout ordered pending investigations.

Is the MCA marginalised? Do its office bearer and image deserve less protection judging from no immediate restraint imposed on mainstream media on this scandal as compared to treatment of VK Lingam video?

No wonder Chua said yesterday that he was also “killed” by the press.

On 1st January 2008, New Straits Times carried the front-page headline “Minister in sex-video poser – DVDs being distributed in Johor. State police chiefs warns against possessing or making copies. MCA party chiefs decline to comment…” with a Page 4 lead story “’MCA minister’s sexual escapade’ caught on tape”. The Star on the same day carried a report “Sex DVDs of ‘politician’ out in Johor” in p 16.

Would the mainstream media reported with equal alacrity the sex DVD scandal if the personality involved had been a key Umno leader?

To Chua, his “biggest mistake” was not to be a laggard like other MCA Ministers and secondly, being serious about a new “healthy political culture” like Ministerial responsibility whether over his sex video or the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal.

Is the MCA Central Committee meeting next Tuesday capable of proving Chua wrong and demonstrate to Malaysians that the highest decision-making body of the MCA sets high benchmarks for the party’s goal of a new “healthy political culture” and will discuss not only the implications and consequences of Chua’s resignation, but also the biggest financial scandal linked to any MCA Minister in party and nation’s history – the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) bailout scandal of the MCA Deputy President and Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy?

Or is the MCA Central Committee of the view that Chan’s RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal is much less serious than Chua’s sex video scandal and can therefore be ignored altogether?

The MCA had ushered in the new year with the general election expected to be held within 80 days with a RM10 million government angpow to Chinese schools nationwide, which was announced by the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting at a ceremony at MCA headquarters last week giving out RM6.32 million to 33 primary and secondary Chinese schools.

What is the paltry RM10 million compared to the RM4.6 billion squandered away in the PKFZ bailout scandal – as without the PKFZ scandal, the bulk of the RM4.6 billion could be disbursed to Chinese primary and secondary schools for their development to make up for the decades of government neglect and discrimination suffered by Chinese schools!

Let all Malaysians await the outcome of the MCA Central Committee on Tuesday as to whether it is prepared to take a stand on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal, such as asking Chan to set up a public inquiry to establish his innocence of any abuse of power, misuse of public funds or any Ministerial wrongdoing, failing which Chan should be instructed to tender his resignation as Transport Minister and from all government and party posts.

It has been reported that the police in Muar and Batu Pahat would launch a massive operation to nab those involved in distribution and in possession of Chua’s sex DVDs.

Muar Police Chief Asst Comm Mohammad Nasir Ramli said the operation would include door-to-door searches of residents suspected to be in possession of the banned material.

The police must be forewarned that it should lay off any door-to-door searches purportedly to nab those in possession of the sex DVDs. By all means, go all out to bring to book those responsible for the crime of invasion of privacy and for distributing the sex DVDs – but the police would be turning the populace against the government for any trespass to private property in a house-to-house search for the sex DVD as this would be a gross abuse and misuse of police powers, transforming the country into a police state.

I call on the Prime Minister and Internal Security Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to issue a clear instruction forbidding any house-to-house search by the police. All MCA Cabinet Ministers should also speak up to oppose any such house-to-house police search operation. I am sure Chua would not agree to any such house-to-house trespass by the police purportedly to search for his sex DVDs.

1. #1 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:11 pm

Here’s the real lesson that they who run this government are loathe to admit but which is very relevant and concerns all of them.

Be very careful with your “extra marital activities” because you could be easily blackmailed. True, it is not the doing that gets you but being caught doing it. But in todays age of digital revolution, u-tube and i-reports and of close circuit hidden cameras and all, it is better to check any sudden rush of testosterone – and hold your future in your hands (some call that DIY) rather than let others hold your future in theirs.

2. #2 by 1eyecls on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 10:14 pm

CSL is telling lies:
    1.the ‘girlfren’ standing opposite side of the bed,stripping off clothes without much talking,it’s obviously a called-girl,
    2.why same hotel?i tell you ,these are free sex paid by certain ppl to serve for the pleasure of CSL!

As for the Najis,i m still waiting the Mongolian girl to unveil the photograph with tink-tank and altantuya!(PKR CTC was too hurried to ‘reveal’ doctored photo,subsequently ended-up with police case).

Please dun call him playboy,he is an OLD AND NASTY PLAYMAN!

3. #3 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:07 pm

“”Najib told Barisan Nasional leaders “to behave themselves so as not to embarrass the party”. He said party members must exercise discipline and abide by the code of conduct of the party.”"

Is this a cat with a mouthful of canary or what?

4. #4 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:38 pm

“I suppose Chua’s second biggest mistake is cheating on his wife.” St0rmFury

Nope! Cheating on his wife was the one and only mistake.

5. #5 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:48 pm

“The presumption of innocence in the law of evidence requires that you be caught in the act to be found guilty rather than the mere carrying out of the act i.e actus reus without the mens rea.” Undergrad2

Not in the case of Anwar Ibrahim when he was charged then convicted for the crime of sodomy.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 11:59 pm

“Or was Najib saying that the real lesson to be learnt was not to be caught with the pants down?”

Yep! This in the one. Najib’s saying was based on his own personal experience, in that sense, he is the most qualified person to give some advices on Chua misadventure, he can proudly tap Chua on the shoulder and say “man, trust me, I know how it feels being caught with your pants down.”

7. #7 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:01 am

Come on. my comment is harmless, let it thru!

8. #8 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:13 am

“Would the mainstream media reported with equal alacrity the sex DVD scandal if the personality involved had been a key Umno leader?”

What mainstream media when you have youtube and facebook?

9. #9 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:19 am

“Muar Police Chief Asst Comm Mohammad Nasir Ramli said the operation would include door-to-door searches of residents suspected to be in possession of the banned material.”

Someone please pass Nasir Ramli a copy of the DVD so he can satisfy himself, he is desperate.

10. #10 by disapointed86 on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 12:19 am

Lets not criticized CSL over the scandal anymore..no doubt he made a mistake over the affair…but i believe to certain extend he is and was one of the best serving minister under AAB…moreover he admit it in the first place..and resign…which minister under AAB will do so? all got no balls.. CSL polical carrer ended not because he had an affair..the only reason is he got caught on tape..as we all know and made to understand..most of the minister under AAB SUC**.. and recently the headline which read “LET THIS BE A LESSON” by Najib? someone better call him “cermin muka diri dulu” before uttering such a statement..to be honest that statement doesnt suit him…

11. #11 by dapbestrong on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 1:10 am

Yes Uncle Lim Expose them all!! all the liars including the zakaria too have to go!! give BN NO face at all!

50 years is Enough!
    Time for a Change!

12. #12 by Old Geezer on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 3:05 am

You have to pity this guy because his nightmare is not going to end. That DVD will circulate for years and the title will be among the top made-in-Malaysia porno list. We could only imagine what went on when witnesses testified in Annuar’s trial; but here it is all there in the open. If I were caught like that, I would probably blow my brain out because how to live with all these DVDs around?
    The people behind this taping is really despicable. Same as the Ah Longs who continue to go after helpless poor people even long after the principals have been paid.
    Though I am a Chinese, I always tell my family not to trust their Chinese “friends”. They would appear to kowtow to you, bowing low and smiling; but will stab you or steal from you when you turn your back. Ask those who have been cheated in China.
    Good luck to the Malaysian Chinese when the culprits in MCA come to power.
    Watch out when you book into a hotel in Malaysia. You may be on Candid Camera.

13. #13 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 4:08 am

Did you realise that the news about the sex video and resignation of Chua suddenly disappeared from the main stream newspapers? The hottest news could last for two or three days only?? Is BN putting their four security cameras on the media?

14. #14 by Old Geezer on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 6:01 am

Reading between the lines, Najib did not say not to screw around or not to be corrupt and to live a clean life. For all I understand, he could mean don’t get caught lah and embarrass the govt. Just be smart lah and then business as usual. In that sense, then he was not acting like the pot calling the kettle black.

15. #15 by catharsis on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 7:22 am

“Najib said party members must exercise discipline and abide by the code of conduct of the party”………….. he is not all that wrong depending how you define CODE OF CONDUCT- Maybe Najib’s definition of CODE OF CONDUCT is to walk like a crab and not get caught. This is definitely a Pot and Kettle syndrome

16. #16 by catharsis on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 7:59 am

Najib, do take heed from Jesus: “Let that man with no sin cast the first stone”………………..

17. #17 by ktteokt on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:10 am

The Chinese has a famous saying, “Better let others know than let others see”. Knowing is something and seeing is believing. In this case CSL was not only seen but recorded. So we have not taken into consideration the others whom we know have committed this shameful act but got away simply because they were not caught on tape.

But whatever it is, once someone has committed any act, it will be “recorded” on his soul and conscience and it will one day come to light.

18. #18 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:45 am

“Let that man with no sin cast the first stone”………………..

But he doesn’t cast stones— he casts C4 grenades!

19. #19 by miwaki on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 9:45 am

catharsis,
    No one dare to cast the stone as almost all (99.99%) has done it .

20. #20 by democrate on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 11:31 am

Lets this be a lesson to all BN members if they want to flirt around lets be smart . This should be the way man, anyway , very natural lah,when one has money and power what else they want sex right. sama2 lah no need to teach others on what to do ok!

21. #21 by Jonny on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 6:00 pm

There is not much more news on CSL coz the media has served the purpose as being softly guided by their masters.

To Kick CSL out before the imminet general election. It is all about power play. Not about CSL’s ministerial monthly salary. How much is a PM or even a minister’s monthly salary anyway? That is only tip of the iceberg.

We vote for monkeys, we shall get monkeys again. Period.

22. #22 by 1eyecls on Saturday, 5 January 2008 - 10:14 pm

another crab was talking nonsense!guess who?few months back,bold,with a name SYED,typical idiotic look!go to ‘youtube’,search” BBC HardTalk with Malaysia Foreign Minister”
    Damn it!btw,even Astro was not allowed to broadcast the interview,bcos the BN still know wat is shame!
    SHAME SHAME SHAME ON YOU SYED HAMID!

23. #23 by ktteokt on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 11:01 pm

Lucia, you need not wait for long. UMNO is famous for “havoc caused by chickens in the coop” (in Chinese Long Li Ji Zao Fan). Remember how Semangat 46 came about? Remember how the chicken Razaleigh was thrown out and re-entered UMNO as a silenced dog?

In fact, I have been drumming on the UMNO signboard which stands for “UNITED MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION”, a political party formed in 1946 but has since failed to unite the Malays in the nation. I have on several occasions suggested that the signboard be changed to stand for “UNITING MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION” – still UMNO you know, but that meaning fits better into its present state.