Special Complaints Commission – totally different creature and very negation of IPCMC proposal

The Special Complaints Commission proposed in the bill tabled for first reading in the Dewan Rakyat yesterday is a totally different creature from the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) and the very negation of the independent external oversight agency for the police recommended by the Royal Police Commission.

No wonder the Chairman of the Royal Police Commission, Tun Mohamed Dzaiddin Abdullah said yesterday that he was “very disappointed” as the proposed Special Complaints Commission was not what the Royal Police Commission had in mind. Dzaiddin described the Special Complaints Commission as “something entirely different from what we recommended”.

Another member of the Royal Police Commission, Tunku Abdul Aziz, former Transparency International Malaysia President, is also a disappointed man.

He said: “The whole purpose was to ensure that no only were the police protected against unfair criticism and allegations but also that there would be a return of public confidence in an organization that had lost it. If the new bill is watered down, obviously we are not going to achieve this purpose.”

How can the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and the Cabinet expect the 26 million Malaysians to have confidence in the proposed Special Complaints Commission when the leading lights of the Royal Police Commission like Tun Dzaiddin and Tunku Aziz are totally disgusted by the breach of faith and the complete watering-down of the IPCMC proposal to produce something quite nonsensical?

For instance, the Royal Police Commission had proposed that IPCMC commissioners should not be serving or former members of the police force. But the whole idea of an independent external oversight mechanism to ensure that police officers keep to the straight and narrow path of the law, steering clear of abuses of power and corrupt practices, was overturned with the proposal that the Inspector-General of Police is a permanent member of the seven-man Special Complaints Commission!

With the IGP as a permanent member of the Special Complaints Commission, how could the function of independent external oversight of the police from abuses of power and corruption be exercised?

Is the Prime Minister and Cabinet seriously suggesting that members of the public would have confidence to complain against top police officers or even against the IGP himself with the IGP as a member of the Special Complaints Commission?

On initial cursory reading of the Special Complaints Commission Bill, it not only falls far short of the IPCMC proposal of the Royal Police Commission, it is so weak and flawed that it is most unacceptable if the government is serious about wanting to create an efficient, accountable, incorruptible and professional world-class police service.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by antz on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 9:41 am

I just wish to highlight is that in terms of position/ranking which i observed that racial supremacy is being pressed on across all boards regardless of various results…..thinking of maintaining the dominance by so called priviliges maybe yes works in malaysia in the expense of malaysia natural resouces….but in terms of singapore/world especially to the western it cannot simply works in the globalised world that changes rapidly…
    in other words, a well high technology vehicle cannot just simply run by a moderate/basic driver just because of that specific ethnic…in terms of quality but not quantity…
    i haved lived in Singapore for the past 28 years of my life…system that being run here totally varies from the system that malaysia practised….i received my education…grow up here and work here…here is a culture of merits…where everybody competes to be the best regardless of who you are….so simply saying it does not matter if u cannot make it the first time around…try again…it’s a matter of quality that is dominant….if so called racial supremacy is being force/pressed on here…is a downfall of singapore cos it’s no longer productive and competitive….malays in singapore choose a different path compare to the malaysia malays….it’s better to compete….if we fall it’s okay get up and try again…it’s not a failure but maybe not putting enough effort…we cannot simply have the special privileged..simply because we do not want to be a laughing stock and every now and then keep defending the special rights policy…we lived in the globalised world…and it’s essential for survival if we ever step the boundaries of the outside world so that we have a place in the world…
    if so called allegations that we are marganilised here in singapore then why there are still malays in singapore???it’s because singapore is our homeland…this is where we stand and this place is where we fall…the bitterness that the pioneer politicians of singapore being forced out by malaysia that my grandparents considered the motherland and the place where i myself have in fact lost contact of my relatives.This bitterness of being kicked out for the sake of the pressing on of the special rights policy by tuanku abdul rahman makes mr Lee Kuan yew..strive to ensure everybody belong here….am just putting my points here cos as i say i stumbe into this blog by chance and at the same time clearing the doubts…and allegations that malaysian malays just like to make it an issue that i find sometimes ridiculous and not logic…

2. #2 by hutchrun on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 9:48 am

I had an `interesting` situation with a m`sian royalty once at the Holiday Inn. When it was over a malay came over and said:

`I am very sorry for all that. Please understand that I am from singappore, but not all like these fellows`

We were smiles after that.

3. #3 by Godfather on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 10:02 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 10:07 am

The day Mamaktail handed power over to the Iman, he handed the latter 2 sealed envelopes marked Satu and Dua. “Open these letters one at a time when and only when you really cannot cope”, he ordered the clueless Iman.

So when faced with the issue of Hindraf terrorism, the hapless Iman opened letter A and read, “Use the ISA, you dope!”

Then came the fast approaching general elections and the desparate Iman had to open letter Dua. This is what he read:- – “Write 2 letters”

5. #5 by harrisonbinhansome on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 12:40 pm

I recalled of my interview with a local press during the the tour by the fact procurring team of the Royal Independent Commission wherein I said (can’t recall word for word)- “The Royal Police Commission of Inquiry and Police Misconduct must be enacted out of eminent men and women from NGOs and those profound in law preferably foreigners with credible records assuming the role as overviewing officals with unlimited funding and powers not to supplant police investigations but having an oversight of police investigations with the authority to recommend further inquiries and other leads deemed neccesary to be followed up”.

When asked of a question by the reporter whether Malaysians have high hopes for the formation of such independent commission, I said “I can’t see any high hopes until it’s proven to have high hopes that we perceived but you don’t see any Jew that would be foolish enough to complain Hitler to the Gestapo if the IPCMC is formed”. (meaning to say we are “—-” if the formation comprised of thier own men).

Indeed after these years of physical lobbying and paper pushing, all we got, or may get which is the same thing. As for the hope, I am waiting for the first “Jew” complainant ended up as the first “Jew”
    victim.

“Jew”=Malaysian

Do you think that if anyone based on the documentation based on Malaysia Today snoutily went up and lodged complaints for investigations onto the IGP himself, would the IGP investigate himself or the complainant/s ended up in lock-ups? Please don’t answer because it’s a foolish question.

This is MALAYsia, and no country in the world would be so blatant
    in naming a country our of a race.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 1:00 pm

The Man with the Big Ears says he will “listen” but after “listening” (we hope, and not sleeping) he gives you something else. Its like a poker player asking to see your cards, then he plays something else for his benefit.

The pertinent issue is, the government asks the King to set up the Royal Police Commission but then does not give any respect to its findings and recommendations. So why set up a Royal Commission in the first place? Is the government snubbing or disregarding the King? The Commissioners have been “had” and made used of. How do they feel now? Stupid? How about the “new” Commissioners?

Follow this precedent:

Royal Police Commission ———> findings and recommendations ———–> government ——–> hijack ————-> Special Complains Commission

Can the following happen?

Royal Lingam Tape Commission ———> findings and recommendations ————> government ———–> hijack ———-> Special Film and Tape Censorship Commission

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 1:38 pm

Oh, Nazri says critics (including the Commissioners) are “clueless about the country’s legal system”. He also called them “ignoramuses”.

Hmmmmm. He appears to be the only “smart” one while others are “racists”, “stupid”, “with loose wires in their heads”, “crazy” and now “”ignoramuses”. Boy, he’s a gem, the only “talented” one.

8. #8 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 1:45 pm

Since this Nazri is so smart, why didn’t send him to Holland ICJ to fight on Pulau Batu Putih against those from little red dot, real sayang lah!

9. #9 by liaw3003sc on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 7:23 pm

Yes, its a pity that the police subject finally twisted to racial topic again. I fully agreed with Bigjoe, this is so because of the UMNO racist agenda. The country has been split into 2 BIG POLARITY; Malay in the civil and GLC sectors, non-Malays in the private sector. When you comment on a particular sector which comprises of a major particular race, it could be readily turns into a sensitive racial issue easily.

Its bad for our beloved country. Will our PM do something now. Don’t let ‘FINANCIAL CATASTROPHE’ forced the change on us!

Change NEP to 3000EP; special privilege only to Malaysian families (parents + any unmarried children) whose combined income is less than RM3000.00. Only a suggestion, may be our economic think tank can explore on it. Surely our annual growth will improve by leap and bound!

Not only hardcore poors are covered, many Malays will be covered if their average annual family income figures are correct.

If the main policies are set right, there is no need of SCC or IPCMC!
    Whatever ‘c’ also ‘c’ (die in Hokkien).

10. #10 by liaw3003sc on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 10:20 pm

3000EP: the RM3000.00 refers to monthly income.

11. #11 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 10:36 pm

To: HUTCHRUN who says,

“Darhorse might be able to explain who the current highest ranking non malays are in the M`sian Armed forces vis a vis the no. say in 1965. Similarly, the position of civil servants. Also extend that to the malay controlled banking/finance sector. Figures in %age please.”

I asked ANTZ those questions in order to provide some perspective to the issues he raised earlier.

The UMNO dominated government does not deny the government is under their control. The Federal Constitution of Malaysia 1957 has Articles like 3, 10, 11 and 153 and Article 160(2) – all skewed to protect and benefit the majority race.

Singapore’s Constitution, I believe, has none of these skewed as they are to protect and benefit the majority race, or the equivalent of UMNO’s NEP. So how do you explain the absence of members of a minority race, for example, among their pilots in their Air Force?

12. #12 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 15 December 2007 - 10:51 pm

“..if so called allegations that we are marganilised here in singapore then why there are still malays in singapore???” antz

I’m trying to understand what you’re saying. What you meant to say – and correct me if I’m wrong – is that Malays in Singapore despite being a minority race have not been marginalized like the Indians in Malaysia claim they are. I’m not sure if your opinion is shared by your brothers and sisters. Perhaps it is the numbers game when you see Malays doing cleaning jobs, acting as lift attendants or salesgirls.

I don’t know.

13. #13 by liaw3003sc on Sunday, 16 December 2007 - 8:06 am

Dear Darkhorse,
    You are really trying to find fault with everything! What’s wrong with cleaning, lift attendant and salesgirl jobs? These are quite highly paid jobs! Do you know how many older Malaysian Chinese are trying to go for such jobs in Singapore but just couldn’t? They are paid well, and their productivity is high. Do you know there are so many highly efficient cleaning ah-mah (chinese ladies) and ah-chi (Indian ladies) contracting cleaning jobs in the private sector in Malaysia? What’s wrong with such jobs? They can earn an above average income if they have the initiative and competency to turn their job into subcontracting basis. Don’t always think jobs are only limited to ‘white collar’ jobs.

14. #14 by antz on Sunday, 16 December 2007 - 9:18 am

reply to darkhorse,
    i think i need not actually explain in detailed the whole concept of what u tried to question me as i find that u have been twisting and turning the whole picture and the real meaning of meritocracy that i know u just refused to understand…here in singapore the chinese does not have any so called official privileged that u have in m’sia that is what you called bumiputera policy…and frankly speaking it’s the majority,the chinese that have been spearheading the economy…excellent in business and to make sure too that minorities in not being left out from the economic opportunities….
    and also need not to actually touches on issues like jobs..or etc…or ranking that u keep pressing me…what you mean is that oh okay meritocracy why shout…!!oh no malays eh how come…oh that is what i called marganilised…this is what u are trying to say and this is what i called racial supremacy and not meritocracy u miss the point…and whatever the case is till the end of the world in singapore there will be always malays here…this is the land that we will fall together…the land that u left us in a cold and the land that we will perished together with the majority chinese and also indians…and sorry to say if m’sia happens to maybe offer me citizenship well i no need to think twice…i’ll reject it..m’sia is not the place where i want to be where things are being messed up and keep missing the point..and for 50 years of privileged u have in your so called tanah melayu…statistic still show u are still way behind in all sectors…in anonther 50 years i do not know where u will be….i doubt iam a malay and i know my race…there will always be thinking of colonolised and at the same time fearing loss of power….in u…and anyway that’s your country…you run the country…and also there is a malay fighter pilot here..and there are minorities working in the defence force and why are u so interested to know whether they are really malays…u want to really see them stepping on your soil…i think what u lack is maybe spent some time here..open your eyes wide and ask around see things in a wider perspective…u have been in the comfort zone for too long till you loses touch with reality…only ppl that have been here understand the system…and to answer your question…earlier majority of the malays here some sort share my views…i live with them here and not you…we are malays but we are different in thinking…to have the priviliged here in singapore for the malays it does not work…and in the meantime pls attend to your screaming indians and your unhappy chinese…we the singapore malays do not owe our life to you…we have better things to do here…and just look at the real statistic…and finally don’t keep blaming the singapore chinese…they accept us as citizens equally…compare to you and that’s make the whole difference…

15. #15 by lakshy on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:35 am

antz, thanks for the comments. Very enlightening.

But as you have rightly pointed out, we have a lot of growing up to do. Hope it happens in my lifetime, so that this nation and my childrens children can have a better future.

16. #16 by antz on Monday, 17 December 2007 - 9:59 am

lakshy,
    Malaysia can excel if only the govt practised meritocracy…it’s not right to champion one’s race but sidelined own citizen of other races…u play a part in nation buliding but have systematically sidelined…
    sudah letih dan lesu saya berkata-kata kpd bangsa sendiri
    tetapi apakan daya,kerna orang yang berkata-kata berkhyalan sendiri
    Anak melayu temasek hidup dibesarkan dan dibela dan diingatkan selalu
    supaya bila jatuh bangun sendiri..inilah kata-kata yang dilaungkan daripada bapa kemerdekaan temasek…dari bukan bangsa sendiri
    kami ditendang keluar dari bangsa sendiri pada masa dahulu
    kini kami sudah kedepan dengan berani tanpa teduh
    dan saya masih menanti bila lagi anda akan bangun sendiri??
    jangan gusar bangsa melayu temasek masih terpelihara kerana mahu nama kami agung di mata dunia
    and i hope u understand what i mean from the above…

17. #17 by sj on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:48 am

and just look at the real statistic… by antz

YOU ROCK MAN. RESULTS TELL IT ALL. Too bad those ignorants in the so called Tanah Melayu masih tidur dan tidak paham macam mana dunia baru beroperasi.

18. #18 by sj on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 8:50 am

One simple sentence, YOU ARE WHAT YOU ARE WORTH BASED ON WHAT YOU CAN DO, NOT BASED ON YOUR RACE.

19. #19 by Count Dracula on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 1:32 pm

Antz, I really think you should read this:

“The shame is that while Malays are recognized as the original inhabitants, they constantly feel marginalized by the dominant Chinese culture and policy. In addition, this group represents an unbalanced percentage of the lower-income classes, with the lowest levels of education and the highest number of criminal offenders. The government prides itself on policies to promote racial harmony but it is widely accepted that Malays occupy jobs on the low-end of the pay scale. Even in the military, while there are many Malays in the enlisted troops, there are almost none in the officer ranks.”

http://www.frommers.com/destinations/singapore/0077020416.html

20. #20 by antz on Tuesday, 18 December 2007 - 2:11 pm

count dracula,
    iam tired of repeating the same things over and over again the meaning of putting in on effort to have the goals that u want…
    rather than pointing other ppl weakness…u shld look at your own weakness…dun just copy and paste from resources that is not reliable…i lived here for the whole of 28 years of my life and i know what’s going on here….so pls read,comprehend and understand fully my explanation stated all above…dun be a frog under a skull and it’s no use i telling ppl that is forever have a mindset of fearing to be colonised,lost of land idealogy and fearing meritocracy…what happen here is not of your concern and in the meantime pls attend to your screaming indians and unhappy chinese…and in the military i have an uncle who is a retired officer…i have enough said…

21. #21 by icsl72 on Friday, 4 January 2008 - 6:42 pm

Uncle Lim, coming election, I will NOT vote for BN party. I never have for the past 2 elections, and never will. The country is going down the drain and fast! Corruption, discrimination, nepotism.. nuff said. Anyways, we won’t need this IPCMC/SCC (whatever) if the police is clean. And they won’t be clean if their protectors aren’t. Can you believe this, when I went to pay a saman recently – a policeman INSIDE police station wearing “Saya Anti Rasuah” badge asked me if I wanted to “settle” my speeding saman and he can even get an official receipt. I’d rather pay the full amount than feed this man’s family with dirty money. How can he even go to sleep at night. Makes me sick even thinking about it now.

Comments are closed.