Human Rights Day arrests – police takes off velvet glove to show iron fist

The high-handed and arbitrary police arrests of eight people, including five lawyers, for the peaceful march to mark the International Human Rights Day in Kuala Lumpur this morning has marred the celebration of Human Rights Day and blotted Malaysia’s international image on human rights.

The arrest of the eight, including five lawyers, N Surendran, Latheefa Koya, R Sivarasa, Eric Paulsen and Amer Hamzah, and human rights activists Anthony Andu and Norazah Othman in totally unprovoked circumstances is a great shame for the Abdullah premiership, as the some 100 people who had gathered at Sogo Department store in Kuala Lumpur to march to the Central Market in the federal capital clearly posed no threat to anyone, let alone national security, public order or peace.

Why couldn’t the police leave the marchers alone, only taking action if they pose a threat to national order or security, eschewing all forms of police over-reaction which can only add to the list of adverse international publicity which had been piling for Malaysia in recent months.

The police arrests of the eight on International Human Rights Day is doubly ominous for it is a clear symbol that the Abdullah premiership, which had started with the false promise of greater respect for human rights, has finally taken off its velvet glove to show the iron fist within to crush expressions of human rights in the country.

It makes total nonsense of Royal Police Commission headed by former Chief Justice, Tun Dzaiddin Abdullah which had identified upholding human rights as one of the three core objectives of the Police force in the 21st century – the other two being to keep crime low and to eradicate corruption in the police service.

Suhakam has also been calling for a revamp of police mentality on human rights, to transform the police stance of innate hostility to human rights to that of an agent and ally of change to promote and protect the human rights of Malaysians. Clearly, Suhakam’s various proposals to mainstream human rights in police mindset and strategy have fallen on deaf ears.

Abdullah has been Prime Minister for four years and is starting his fifth year as Malaysian premier. The institutions, instruments and mentality of repression of human rights have not been dismantled in the past four years of Abdullah premiership, which means that there has been no basic difference from the Mahathir premiership as the draconian laws and powers can be dusted off any time to crack down on human rights and democratic freedoms in Malaysia.

The eight arrested today in connection with the Human Rights Day march should be released forthwith and Abdullah should direct the police to undertake a full review of its mindset and modus operandi to ensure that the police are attuned to the Merdeka Constitution and Rukunegara principles which give pride of place to democracy and human rights as important national objectives.

I will raise in Parliament tomorrow the high-handed and arbitrary police arrests of the eight on international Human Rights Day and demand a public apology by the police.

(Media Conference Statement at the DAP Ipoh Timur/Batu Gajah foodfair-cum-children colouring competition at Tou Boo Kong Temple, Ipoh on Sunday, 9th December 2007 at 11 am)

1. #1 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:04 pm

look like, level of tolerance for public rally is lower than myanmar or so called communist china or any of the asean countries

2. #2 by hutchrun on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:08 pm

Wel, well, well this needs the UN to hop in now:

This letter was delivered to the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights Louise Arbour at the Palais Wilson, Geneva, on Wednesday afternoon, December 5.

5 December 2007
    Mme Louise Arbour
    UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
    Palais Wilson, Geneva

Your Excellency,

As we all prepare to celebrate Human Rights Day next Monday at the continuation of the 6th session of the Human Rights Council, we wish to express our deep anxiety for its very future. This was expressed on numerous occasions since 2004 – especially in our 23 May 2006 letter to you on Darfur, signed by 43 NGOs, which concluded with a viewpoint, now generally recognised by the international community: “We believe that the role of the new Human Rights Council will be, in part, tested by the way the Darfur conflict is faced.”

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights was adopted on 10 December 1948, one day after the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide.

In his historic address at the Palais des Nations on 7 April 2004, Secretary-General Kofi Annan declared: “We must never forget our collective failure to protect at least 800,000 defenceless men, women and children who perished in Rwanda ten years ago…we must all acknowledge our responsibility for not having done more to prevent or stop genocide.”

Yesterday evening, Arte TV devoted two hours to the great tragedy of Darfur, with two moving documentary films, followed by a debate. No one can ignore the Gathering Storm.

At this moment of great anxiety worldwide, we call on you to speak out firmly next week when you address all delegates on this solemn occasion. You are our watchman – clearly described in Ezekiel – who sees the sword approaching and must blow the trumpet loudly – so that all will hear that sound and react strongly to the warning of ongoing devastation.

Respectfully,
    René V.L. Wadlow
    David G. Littman
    Roy W. Brown
    NGO Representatives to the United Nations, Geneva (c/o Case Postale 205, 1196 Gland)

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:12 pm

Didn’t the eight arrested know that the date of International Human Rights Day in Malaysia has been changed to 30th February every year?

4. #4 by mendela on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:15 pm

Can someone contact CNN’s chief international correspondent Christiane Amanpour to do a 3-hour scope on this Gomen?

Yes, 2007 is Visit Malaysia Year and we are celebrating 50 years of Independence, we need more world attention so that more visitors will visit Malaysia.

5. #5 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:16 pm

Like that, next time NUBE, or any union, or any worker associations just gather to ask for better pay, bonus or working condition etc can also get arrested by polis, be very careful oh!
    Seems cannot jalan jalan for human rights days. so even u jalan jalan for thaipusam, vesak day etc, can be ‘tangkap’ also.

6. #6 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:24 pm

She was not jailed for amassing a “library” of extremist material “without reasonable excuse”. So why the urge to jail Hindraf protestors?

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22885935-2703,00.html

7. #7 by Jong on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 1:26 pm

This is getting too far! What is happening to this country?

I’m interested to know if Zaid Ibrahim the MP of Kota Baru was among those in the peaceful march to mark International Human Rights Day? Was he arrested too?

8. #8 by smeagroo on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 2:06 pm

What can we do? SInt it time that the rakyat have another mass gathering so that the fools can jail us all and put the entire nation to an economic standstill?

9. #9 by Man_of_Honour on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 2:08 pm

After 1 month of the BERSIH rally, still no sign from our King.

Seems like hopes are getting dimmer. I’ll plan for migration real soon.

Yeah, better move when you still have the right to migrate. Unless the BN monkeys step down in the next election.

10. #10 by negarawan on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 2:17 pm

We’re living in Nazi and Apartheid Malaysia now. Forget about this Hadhari nonsense

11. #11 by misty_eye on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 2:42 pm

Devamany contradict BN on HINDRAF rally figures in parliament, got to answer lah. show typical malaysian indian repressed mentality, cepat cepat minta maaf. yes samy, yes samy. Zaid Ibrahim publicly say peaceful protest or march is very much the malaysian way, sure
    they have an issue, look at the issue. Why BN boys not saying anything? because not said in parliament ah? [deleted]

12. #12 by choong on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 3:05 pm

Dear Mr Lim,

Edmund Bon has been arrested just now for attempting to prevent DBKL from removing the banners in support of human rights day in front of the Malaysian Bar Council.

Where is this country going to? Perhaps they would now argue that they need licensing for putting up banners. But many shops put up Digi, Celcom and Maxis banners. Are they licensed to do so and do DBKL take immediate actions?

13. #13 by trevthum on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 3:22 pm

Remember what Pak Lah promised, then?

“Work with me, NOT for me.”

Perhaps we should not forget about that :)

14. #14 by raven77 on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 3:26 pm

The country must hit the government hardest where it hurts….economic paralysis…an NGO that can organise this….will grab the attention of the government…..

15. #15 by St0rmFury on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 3:28 pm

Read more about the march here:

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/index.html

16. #16 by peace on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 3:37 pm

I somehow think “rights” is something you need to purchase with “ringgits” here in Malaysia.

No Ringgits = No Rights

17. #17 by kay on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 4:16 pm

Dear trevthum

Correction:
    Pak Lah said- “Tolong berkerja dengan saya tapi tolong jangan
    kerjakan saya”

18. #18 by sj on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 4:37 pm

Is a matter of control. They want everything to go their way. Any form of demonstration by the people is considered as a threat to their so called “National security”. What does a despotic leader wants? Always more control and more docile people to control. Anything that goes against them will be considered a threat.

19. #19 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 5:32 pm

He sure has big ears, plus a long nose and powerful legs to trample down the weak

20. #20 by taikohtai on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 5:45 pm

The BN gomen is hellbent on maintaining the status quo, hence the lastest fiasco.
    The rakyat can sense that when it resorts to more injustice to deal with simple matters, it can only mean that the gomen is scared that it has lost its dubious control over the people who have for too long, been looking the other way. I sincerely hope that the rakyat does not lose its resolve to right any injustice from here onwards.
    Personally, I think the hope of getting your Agong to fight for your rights is baseless. Your King has long lost his voice to speak for the rakyat and is a mere figurehead.
    The rakyat need to fight the good fight if Malaysia values a future for the good of the country. I hope there are still some good judges left with conscience in Malaysia.
    IT IS TIME to right the INJUSTICES!

21. #21 by hutchrun on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 5:56 pm

This is final proof of the desperation of badawi. He`s very insecure and knows that he doesn`t have long to go. Within UMNO itself the guns are out for him.
    Keep pushing and he`ll keel over. Everyone`s breathing down his neck now. Most of all his deputy who himself has badawi`s SIL breathing down his neck.
    It`s so lovely to see this disintegration.

22. #22 by hutchrun on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 6:07 pm

Was it not King Canute who tried to stop the waves.
    “Sea,” cried Canute, “I command you to come no farther! Waves, stop your rolling, and do not dare to touch my feet!”
    http://www.mainlesson.com/display.php?author=baldwin&book=fifty&story=canute

Well, M`sia has a reincarnation: PM: Realign rivers to beat floods
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/12/8/nation/19703179&sec=nation

How much more dumbo can one get?

23. #23 by Furiousity on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 7:10 pm

I guess that any sort of rally or march is not allowed in this country (except for the ones gov orgarnize).

Perhaps, the government should come out and define their terms of “democracy”. Maybe we are not informed of their definition to that meaningless word :)

24. #24 by Chong Zhemin on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 7:11 pm

Just read that Mat Sabu and Tian Chua was arrested under the Police Act. Any updates folks?

25. #25 by harrisonbinhansome on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 7:43 pm

The ‘illegal’ arrest of 8 was a sham to the self-proclaim democracy by PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. He duped Malaysians in his war against corruption upon assuming the top hierarchy and now enhanced his blatant lies to connive the world for his-self righteous intepretaion of democracy by suppresing the universal intepretation of democracy.

Now everything Mr. Flim-Flam man said or promised is in the drain. He invented Islam Hadhari under the smokesreen to further his piety in finagling tax-payers monies to enriched his illegal coffers.

Badawi is guilty of persecuting Human Rights accepted universally and must be brought to the International Court of Justice for trial.

Oh yes, of course, to think that it will materialised is like O.J. Simpson’s being re-trialed.

‘illegal’=adjudicated by UMNO

Like someone said of migrating, I am thinking of that as well having years of voted for the opposition in futility bacause of the Malays.
    Let them rot in their own land.

26. #26 by stk on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 7:47 pm

Sure the bodowi guy says he has big ears,but what the use,he is deaf afterall.
    From now on we are going down all the way of Myanmar and Pakistan if WE don’t do something now.

27. #27 by sparrow on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 7:52 pm

I feel disgusted. The gomen now too scare to see people assemble together. Arrest here, arrest there. Why dont they arrest the son-in-law who behave like beruk sometimes ago.

28. #28 by k1980 on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 8:12 pm

29. #29 by benny on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 8:16 pm

Mr LIM
    I am lost !! are we in emergency state.We are oppresed,discriminated and treated like slave.I wonder where is the platform for us to aire our grievences.Devamany did in parliment but the umno controlled govt said is not the right channel.I WONDER WHERE ELSE WE NEED TO HIGHLIGHT THE PROBLEMS.THE UMNO LED GOVT WANTS EVERYBODY MCA,MIC,GERAKAN AND THE COMPANIES TO BE UNDER THEIR FOOT.WE WILL TEACH THEM DURING THE ELECTIONS,I SWEAR.

30. #30 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 8:43 pm

If this is not oppression, I wonder what is.

Spread the words, deny BN the 2/3 majority in the next GE, and see how they will behave. Now, they have the mandate to do what they like in the name of an elected government.
    The last GE mandated this goment the following:
    1. Close one eye for corruption
    2. Close one eye for abuse of power
    3. Close one eye for blowing up foreigner
    4. Close one eye for misappropriation of public fund
    5. Close both eyes for marginalized citizens
    6. Close both eyes for deteriorating local universities standard
    7. Close both eyes for human rights
    8. Close both eyes for emitting the largest Green House Gas in the world
    9. Close both eyes for fair voting
    … more (anyone care to add on the list?)

31. #31 by shaolin on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 9:33 pm

We are FURIOUS about AAB’s stupid acts to arrest
    practically everyone, including the lawyers of Bar Council
    staging a peaceful HUMAN RIGHTS Walk…It is super
    ABSURD and Outragious!!

Any more HOPE and FUTURE for Malay-sia??

Human Rights is DEAD
    Democracy is DEAD
    Freedom of Bar Council is DEAD

Dictatorship and Communism is ALIVE!!

We DEMAND Justice and Freedom…
    We want REFORMATION to Government!!

Long Live the Spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King
    Long Live Fairness and Justice

Shame on You, Pak Lah… You are the Greatest Coward!!

Without Fear and Prejutice

32. #32 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 9:34 pm

I meant “Close both eyes for unfair voting”

33. #33 by NOT DUMB MALAYSIAN on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 9:35 pm

MALAYSIA’S FAST BECOMING MOST REPRESSIVE COUNTRY IN THE WORLD

The BN has yet again shown its ugly face. The arrest of a group of demonstrators engaged in a peaceful reaffirmation on World Human Rights Day of the principles of basic human rights enshrined in the 1948 Universal Declaration Human Rights adopted by the UN General Assembly. This coming hot on the heels of the systematic and regular repressive measures against the Bar Council, BERSIH, and Hindraf. The BN just doesn’t care. IT IS CHALLENGING ALL MALAUSIANS TO DO THEIR WORSE.

Malaysia is fast careening on a destructive course. More and more Malaysian are wondering if we have become a FASCIST state and be at par with the NAZI.

The complete disregard of basic human rights are there for all to see. The recent repressions by the BN against various groups politicise Malaysians of all race and creed to think of using their ballot and in the coffee shops, the talk is DON’T VOTE BN VOTE ALIRAN, DAP, PAS. Anybody except BN. Mr Long Ear is running scared. He said that it is still too early to fix the election date as ‘says there is still a to do before calling for a general election”. What are all these things to do – thinking of more ways of silencing Malaysians.

Many Malaysians are saying, STOP talking about ISA Just ago out detain whole church congregations on the ground that thy are a threat to national security. VISIT MALAYSIA YEAR 2007 IS AS GOOD AS DEAD. Which foreigners in his right mind would dare to come to a county which has been the subject of so much adverse comments lately. These foreigh tourists may get a cannister of tear gar punch into thie face or be shot with chemical water.

There is no doubt that the repression of Malaysians will be heightened. The BN is set on inexorable collision course with all and any all right thinking Malaysians. The process of ALIENATION OF MLAYSIANS IS PICKING UP SPEED.

Perhaps in the heat of the moment, it is useful to be reminded of Article 20 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of which Malaysia in is abject hypocrisy said it subscribe to. Article 20 says:

(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of assembly and association, and the duty to do so peacefully.

Or perhaps Article 18 which says:

(1) There shall be no compulsion in religion. It is a matter of choice.
    (2) Everyone has the right to retain one’s religion and to change one’s religion.

When Malaysia is measured as against these declaration we can see what a moribund and repressive country compared to the inhuman practices of the other repressive countries.

WHAT’S NEXT FROM BN? MARTIAL LAW OR A STATE OF EMERGENCY?? Tehn there is no complications of legal principles and Rule of Law.

34. #34 by Edchin on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 10:48 pm

Several lawyers among those arrested!!

Usually silent readers like me (exception this time) waiting to hear what the take is among those in the legal fraternity.

35. #35 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 10:48 pm

So next time, teachers who take a group of students (maybe 40 or more) for sightseeing, tourist guides who take a group of tourist,(maybe 50 or more), factory conducting for job interviews (may attract 99 or more applicants), an outdoor wedding reception, construction site sell houses, etc must get permit?
    If u put any banner in front of your premise, whether to sell houses, wedding reception, job interview etc, n local authority can take down immediately without any notice or warrant. u better let them, or else u can be arrested. This is UNDANG ! FAHAM?
    So if U apply for permit, what,? reject or imposed 101 conditions with big deposits for A…Z…ZZZ, can forfeit yr big deposits for slightest reasons, so majlis/dewan n polis can make money lah!

36. #36 by cancan on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 10:56 pm

We cannot fight the Umnoputras in our own turf as they are controlling the judiciary and the police.

We can all fight them outside ie.internationally.
    Compile all the evils of these Umnoputras in a VCD and showcase it to the world and distribute it to the people of Malaysia esp.in the rural areas.

We fight as true Malaysians and for Malaysians.

37. #37 by dawsheng on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 11:11 pm

Let us see if Abdullah is as good as Mahathir.

38. #38 by 1eyecls on Sunday, 9 December 2007 - 11:46 pm

no wonder the idiot premier also siphon the INTERNAL SECURITY MINISTER,dont tell me he is going to catch himself?

Actually do not worry about TC,he goes to police locked-up station

like we go to GIANT!

Forum cannot,rally cannot,this cannot,that cannot,are we at stoneage???or Jurassic Park ‘s animals are more freedom than us!

Every1 quickly tender your RESIGNATION of membership from MCA,MIC,GERAKAN,BERSATU,PPP…………..to indicate silent protests to the present arrogant gomen,we do not want to go backward!!!

39. #39 by harrisonbinhansome on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 12:00 am

Well 1eyecls,

They said that the lawyers were arrested by the police. I saw the video of lawyers been arrested but not by the Royal Malaysian Police but the GESTAPO. I must have optical problem, maybe I am losing my sex appeal these days.

40. #40 by negarawan on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 12:16 am

We appeal to the United Nations Council for Human Rights, in particular the United States of America and the European Union, to issue a stern and strong statement of condemnation of the Malaysian UMNO-led government, for gross and despicable violation of the basic human right to peaceful assembly, for the unlawful and inhumane prosecution of innocent victims of peaceful rallies, for the instigation and false accusations made against participants of peaceful rallies, for the abuse and corruption of the judicial process, and most of all, for the failure to protect and uphold the statutory rights and civil liberties of the Malaysian citizens as enshrined in the constitution.

41. #41 by harrisonbinhansome on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 12:48 am

I am wondering if Uncle Kit retires from politics one day, I can’t really see a candidate of YB Kit’s calibre. So now that he is still fighting for our rights, every equal Malaysian rights, it is our duty to convince those swing and non-voters to the opposition side.

I will spread the words Uncle Kit but I dunno whether it works! It’s not your struggle alone fighing for us, it’s time for us to return the favour esp. in pre-election time.

42. #42 by Count Dracula on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 3:48 am

“….it is our duty to convince those swing and non-voters to the opposition side.”

Where do you want them to swing? They have been swinging from the trees too long. It is time they use their legs.

43. #43 by dawsheng on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 7:52 am

“I will spread the words Uncle Kit but I dunno whether it works! It’s not your struggle alone fighing for us, it’s time for us to return the favour esp. in pre-election time.”

Facebook it!

44. #44 by Bigjoe on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 8:05 am

“No one is above the law”-PM

The thing is this. The lawyers marched because they argue that the law says they can. Who knows the law better? – the lawyers or the PM who relies on the likes of Nazri to tell him

This statement tells you how the PM really don’t know what he is doing and that is the real danger. He is resorting to cliche and old tired ways to get through the problems.

45. #45 by June07 on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 8:18 am

Guess when there is a conflict between “Universal” law and “Local” law, Local law prevails. Therefore, Art 18/20 is not applicable here for Human Rights

Compare with … If there is a conflict between UCP (Uniform Customs Practices) issued by the International Chamber of Commerce for both importers and exporters, and if local law prevails, what do you think the situation will be? ICC prevails because it is meant for international trade.

Therefore business is more important than human rights. It seems human rights is at the far end of the list of priorities then. So we need to be like robots and practice “Silence is Golden”

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 8:31 am

June07,

Are you sitting for the AIBM any time soon?

In the event of a conflict between the Constitution and subsidiary legislation, the former prevails because the Constitution is supreme – or is it?

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 8:38 am

“The lawyers marched because they argue that the law says they can. Who knows the law better? ” BigJoe

The lawyers march because not only do they know the law better but they know that they know the law better. They of course know that Article 10 of our Constitution is qualified by Clauses (2), (3) and (4) – like many other articles in our Constitution.

48. #48 by 1eyecls on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 8:50 am

looks like we are also having a compatible version of SADAM,infact,this is the second,the 1st was alredy scot free by crownning TUN,why they never want to learn from history?

As i did mention long time ago,mayb,mayb 1 day,these superpowers may ‘invade’ malaysia,just like what they did to Iraq,remember,Malaysia is also an oil-rich country!(the USA will surely love to come on to this BOLEHLAND!,at the same time,taking down BRUNEI,wat a 1 stone kills 2 birds OPERASI!)

49. #49 by 1eyecls on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 9:02 am

there are three scenarios that fully described the political climates here by chinese proverbs:

1)the ppl of intelligence though meeting the soldiers,nothing much that they(the lawyers) can do,

2)they can trigger the fire,but we cant even light- up a candle,

3)you give them an inch,they want a yard later!

50. #50 by Irene on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 9:12 am

When BN big shot go around the country we see banners on every lamp post leading the the venue of visit. Why? Why? Why? these banners can be freely put up and no one says that they should be taken down or did they apply for a permit.
    IS IT NOT DOUBLE STANDARD?????
    MR. PM (Abdullah Badawi) ARE YOU EXCEPTIONAL????????
    IS IT FAIR TO THE RAKYAT??????
    CAN WE ASK FOR HUMAN RIGHTS FOR YOU DOUBLE STANDARDS????

51. #51 by Putra-Malaysia on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 9:53 am

COMING SOON to Malaysia.
    New headlines of our newspapers are around the corner : “Kelalahn BN bukanlah satu yang mengejutkan”; “Kekalahan ‘majoriti’ menimpa BN.”; “Rakyat sukakan kerajaan baru yang lebih berjiwa Malaysia”; “Kekalahan teruk BN -rakyat tak mahu kerjaaan berbau perkauman”.
    I guess most Malaysians love to read such a different headlines too!

52. #52 by k1980 on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 11:20 am

Question: IS IT FAIR TO THE RAKYAT?

PM’s Answer: Sure, they can apply more skin-whitening products and alakazam! they’ll be as fair as me

53. #53 by sheriff singh on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 11:42 am

Today is International Human Rights Day.

What is the Government doing to celebrate this day?

54. #54 by pwcheng on Monday, 10 December 2007 - 11:51 am

“Nobody is above the law”. Yes that is absolutely correct insofar as the ordinary citizen is concerned, but for UMNO and it cronies , can we say that he same. Look at the one eye Jack, the railway keeper, The MBPJ where hundreds of illegal signboards are erected illegal on private or government lands. Have they torn down any of these signboards. Temples are torn down because of squatting on illegal land and by the same reasoning why are these signboards not torn down. Obviously somebody is benefiting from it and the government is giving them protection as till today no ministers or the PM has given any comments . Look a the funeral parlor in PJ that had been operating for umpteen years without a license. Isn’t that going against the law and why are they above the laws.

At the end of the day it is the corrupted that is above the law as the law is only for the ordinary citizen.

55. #55 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 11 December 2007 - 1:36 am

Talk is cheap! Do we want to be like the PM & DPM and the bunch of half past six cabinet who just talk and no action to respect human rights and to take care of its people well being?

19 December 2007 – Rest A Day

To show our support to those who have been arrested for their fight against the injustic in our beloved country Malaysia regardless of race, religion or language.

Just Do It!

56. #56 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 11 December 2007 - 3:40 am

““Nobody is above the law”. Yes …”

Wrong! If you make the law then you’re above the law.

57. #57 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 11 December 2007 - 9:35 am

Before long, every Malaysian may need to apply for a permit or licence to breath Malaysian air?