How did Nazri (Protocol No. 16) become Minister for Ahmad Fairuz, when CJ is No. 11 on protocol list?

Malaysia is still reeling from the many shocks reverberating from the expose of the Lingam Tape — confirming what had been widely talked about concerning the perversion of the course of justice in the fixing of judicial appointments and court judgments but also from the responses from the Executive and Judiciary.

Both the Executive and the Judiciary had come out of the Lingam Tape scandal with their reputation in tatters.

The thunderous ten-day silence of the Chief Justice, Tun Ahmad Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim has completely drowned out the puny denial which the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz had made on the Chief Justice’s behalf.

In the 50-year history of the nation, one top judicial officer had been sacked from his office but he retained national and international respect for his honour and integrity. However, two other top judicial officers who completed their term of office did so under a black cloud and nobody would have thought there would be a third top judicial officer who would be exiting from office in ignominy.

The Executive on its part had brought the whole system of democratic governance into a tragic-comedy of errors — not least of which was the decision to set up a so-called “Independent Panel” to investigate into the authenticity of the Lingam Tape and headed by someone who is tainted by his role in the “mother” of all judicial crisis in the past 19 years, the 1988 Judicial Crisis.

Even now, the term of reference of the so-called “Independent Panel” into the Lingam Tape has not been fully made public. What is there so secretive that its actual term of reference is still being kept a secret?

But it is Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of law and justice, who has wrought the greatest harm to the system of governance in Malaysia.

Nazri publicly claiming that he is “Minister” for the Chief Justice when none of the five Prime Ministers in 50 years had dared to make such a claim shows how lowly the judiciary had fallen and the contempt meted out to the doctrine of separation of powers.

Under the doctrine of separation of powers, the three branches of government, the Executive, Legislature and Judiciary are independent and do not infringe upon each other’s rights and duties — providing an important check and balance for democratic good governance to avert any form of tyrannical government.

In this system, the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice and the Speaker of Parliament are meant to be independent and almost equal status as respective heads of the three branches of government.

This is why in the official protocol list as gazetted, the Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister are listed as No. 6 and 7 respectively after the Yang di Pertuan Agong, Sultans and royal dignitaries, while the Chief Justice is No. 11, the President of Senate No. 12, the Dewan Rakyat Speaker No. 13 while Cabinet Ministers are placed No. 16.

It is therefore most outrageous for Nazri to claim that he is the Minister for the Chief Justice when even the Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister, placed on a higher level than the Chief Justice protocol-wise, cannot make any such claim.

Protocol wise, the Chief Justice is No. 11 between the Prime Minister (No. 6) and Parliament Speaker (No. 13) — how did Nazri (No. 16 for Cabinet Ministers) become Minister for Ahmad Fairuz?

What is shocking is that Ahmad Fairuz is now so subservient to an ordinary Cabinet Minister, who is five places below him in the official protocol list, that he dared not even bleat a protest to uphold the dignity of the office of Chief Justice and the independence and integrity of the Judiciary from any Executive interference or encroachment!

However, Nazri had not only wrought great damage to the public standing of the judiciary, the de facto law Minister had also gravely undermined the credibility of the government with his tirade against the Bar Council and Malaysian lawyers for their historic march for justice on Wednesday from the Palace of Justice to the Prime Minister’s Department in Putrajaya and his comment: “There is no crisis in our judiciary. No crisis, no problems. I don’t seen any scandal.”

Is Nazri seriously suggesting that when some 2,000 lawyers could be so moved as to be involved in a March for Justice express their long-held and deep-seated concerns about the rot in the system of justice, Nazri is completely blind and deaf to such concerns?

And is Nazri typical of all the Cabinet Ministers in the country — for if so, then the former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was being very kind in dubbing them as “half-past six Cabinet”!

The 50th Merdeka anniversary has seen many knotty nation-building problems surfacing in public — including the long-standing rot in the judiciary. The question is whether the 50th Merdeka anniversary will see the beginning of a new national resolve to right these generational and historic wrongs or their further aggravation.

1. #1 by voice on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 2:27 pm

I see no hope

2. #2 by KL Dude on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 2:34 pm

Regarding the Lingham tape issue, I think at the end of the day, I wont be surprise those in the corridors of power (maybe the taxi Minister himself) would come out to say either one of these :

1) The video footage has been doctored and not genuine. So those who forwarded the video footage had caused the public to loose confidence in the judiciary system and shall be charged accordingly.. or

2) The lawyer in the video footage was actually doing a rehearsal for a local tv drama that he was invited to act… or

3) The lawyer in the vidoe footage just had a session of heavy booze and was talking in ‘hangover’ language… or

4) The lawyer in the video footage was held gun point by the camera man and was forced to speak all those nonsense… ha ha.

Though the 4 presumptions above may not be true and sound ridiculous.. he he, I still believe the jokers will find a way to divert the rakyat’s attention from this issue by creating another petty issue like Namewee / burning of Jalur Gemilang, etc, etc, etc. Perhaps with Hari Raya coming soon, they may catch some nut trying to smuggle in fireworks or ketupat from somewhere and sensationalised the whole thing to divert the rakyat’s attention… he he.

Alternatively, they may let the issue die off and be swept under the carpet after some time once everyone forgets about it … Just like the previous issue in the AG report on the abuse of funds noted in the Ministry of Sports…seems like have died off or diverted already now after a big huha when it was first disclosed.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 2:35 pm

In the Lingam tape, Fairuz was told to just keep quiet and he would be appointed CJ. Since he was successful listening to that advise in 2002, he just used it again. The intellectual peon that he is can’t tell he is only confirming his guilt by his silence.

Nazri is no intellect which is why his opinion don’t matter. He is also so used to breaking the law, proper manners etc., wha tis protocol to him? You can expect a brute to behave like it knows the rules do you?

4. #4 by michgyver on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 2:37 pm

Dear Yb,

This stupid monkey is not only embarrassed himself but also bring shame to the country .Please help us press for his removal. He is not fit to be a federal minister and is a waste of taxpayer money.

5. #5 by hasilox on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 3:00 pm

Normal lah. What is the SIL’s protocol again?

6. #6 by HJ Angus on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 3:23 pm

Protocol?

A protozoa does not comprehend protocol.

7. #7 by iStupid on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 3:26 pm

God first makes mad the person whom He wants to destroy. Nazri is that person God wants to destroy.

8. #8 by waterman on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 3:40 pm

Well like our foreign minister had said ealier in the HARD TALK interview that in Malaysia “we do things our way”.

-That “our way” had in the past 36 years put down other races in the name of wealth distribution.( haven’t they heard of fiscal & monetery measures to handle economy distribution instead of using a facist, racist poisonous NEP?)

-That “our way” has of course now unveiled itself to be above the law.

And if our Agong remains silence, you will know

-That “our way ” is in fact above our king.

Hold your breath folks!

9. #9 by Libra2 on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 3:49 pm

With this kind of government, judiciary ,police and civil service, we don’t need any communists or terrorists to destroy this country.

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 4:08 pm

Nazri is the Minister for CJ Ahmad Fairuz. So who is the Minister for PM Dollah? Don’t tell me it’s the silly SIL

11. #11 by grace on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 4:20 pm

Mr. Lim,
    As I always believe our ministers are mostly morons, iq no better than a donkey and Nazri is definitely one of them.
    Youprovide facts, research and statistics, those donkeys do not pay any attention. Tell me people like Bung Mokhtar ever debate seriously with facts? All I used to see he behaved like a fat babboon shouting at the likes of you , Karpal , Dr Tan or Theresa Kok! Waste time talking to those imbeciles!!!

Yes, I strongly agree with mostof the comments by the bloggers.At the end of the day, recording doctored!!! No case!!!

Malaysia ? GONE CASE!!!!

12. #12 by voice on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 4:29 pm

BN is just too funny, CLOWNS!

13. #13 by grace on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 4:51 pm

The latest onMkini: Terms of reference of panel: To establish the authenticity of the tape!!!
    Ha!Ha!

With modern technology, we need not have those types of people to do so. Get established multimedia firm to do so.
    Looking at the tape, I can safely say that they are genuine.
    Do you think it is that easy to dub those speech on the tape? Even movies dubbed in otherlanguages were so obvious.

14. #14 by Rocky on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 4:56 pm

Nazri has insulted the Agong in this case. Cos CJ reports to Agong as he is independent of the executive branch. So since Nazri says he is the boss thus even side stepping our Agong. Agong appoints the CJ, not Nazri. Can the UMNO info chief file a police report which is nothing compared to his willingness to be bombed for King, Country and Religion.

Time we defend our Agong from this clown of a lawyer.

Daulat Tuanku!!!

15. #15 by Phat-kor on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:04 pm

with all these things happening, dollah and his team will be too edgy to call for the next ge ,,,,,,,,,and then the longer it gets to the next ge, the more things that will crop up in this batu land ,,,,,a knotty situation.

let’s pray that the Rulers will do something following the petition

16. #16 by MALAYSIAN8 on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:12 pm

i flick this off Juslo,it really crack me up.
    this is Chillie Lingam’s reply to fellow malaysian for his sorry excuse as a human being.he taught Fairuz and it works,now he is gonna use the same line of defense

“don’t say anything. Don’t … even the press ask, you said I leave it to God, that’s all. Don’t say. I really like your message. You said I work very hard, what can I do? I leave it to God. That’s the best answer datuk that you can ever give. Ah.”

17. #17 by twistedmind on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:27 pm

Can DAP send a letter to the Agong, seeking the Agong’s action on this (donkey) Nazri’s intention to over-step the Agong by claiming to be the Minister-In-Charge of the Chief Justice of Malaysia?

I would like to see him explain this to the Agong – in his full moronic manner (he gives me my daily dose of humor!)

Nazri – You are a natural idiot – a natural standup comedian in the making.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:40 pm

Both Nazri and Ahmad Fairuz are pressing the panic button – they have been hiding behind and protected by the bullying system, created by TDM, for so long that they don’t know how to react to the exposure. Of course, Ahmad Fairuz has been put there by the Executive and is willingly subservient to the Executive. Nazri, kepala kosing as usual and ignorant of protocols, tried to be tai ko.

How low can Malaysia go?

19. #19 by Old.observer on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:56 pm

I believe 99.99% of the Rakyat is unaware of this fact:

“in the official protocol list as gazetted, the Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister are listed as No. 6 and 7 respectively after the Yang di Pertuan Agong, Sultans and royal dignitaries, while the Chief Justice is No. 11, the President of Senate No. 12, the Dewan Rakyat Speaker No. 13 while Cabinet Ministers are placed No. 16.”

Does anyone here knows where the public may access a politically neutral and factual site on the web that states this fact?

Once the public and the web-surfers knows that this is a fact, then, it becomes obvious that both Nazri’s claim that he is the Minister for the Chief Justice, as well as the Chief Justice Fairuz’s silence are silly, and illogical.

I tried googling, but found this instead – http://www.malaysianmonarchy.org.my/portal_bi/rk2/rk2.htm. From the list, it seems that there could be 6 positions above the No 1, i.e. the Agong and Permaisuri, Timbalan Agong and Permaisuri(? not sure), Prime Minister & Timbalan, i.e. Chief Justice should be No 11 … but it doesn’t seem to be exactly the same as the one YB LKS refers too.

Would appreciate if the more savvy and knowledgeable web surfers could point me to the right website that is politically neutral, such as the above.

Thanks.

[Access the official protocol list from http://info.mohr.gov.my/ptk/notaPTKbaru/protokol/SKP.pdf – Kit]

20. #20 by Old.observer on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:59 pm

YB,

Many thanks for your very informative and educative writings. Since visiting your blog, I have personally learnt a lot about the importance of our Federal Constitution, the key role played by our Agong, the appropriate positions of our PM, Chief Justice, Ministers, etc.

Keep up the great work! The country is indebted to you as always.

Old observer.

21. #21 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 5:59 pm

perhaps FBI should be hired to check the authenticity of Linggam tape.Why ask the non-experts to check it? We don’t need NIOSH to check the authenticity of the tape.

22. #22 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 6:16 pm

[September 28th, 2007 at 16: 20.18; grace Says:
    All I used to see he behaved like a fat babboon shouting at the likes of you , Karpal , Dr Tan or Theresa Kok! Waste time talking to those imbeciles!!!]

Thats very true . Just his act in one of the parliament sitting at this website http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwM1WXXCaRI

and this video recording is very real- not doctored.

Then judge yourself whether this ‘nazri the jaguh kampung’ is fit to be in Parliament or to be a ‘minister of justice’

23. #23 by badak on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 6:50 pm

From day one ,The so call independent investication has already showed that its not independent at all..When the panel chairman says that he has to get instruction on the scope of investication from the DPM, How independent is that.

This is all just an eye wash.Because election is near… Next week will have another scandel and this one will be forgotten

24. #24 by straight talk on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 7:00 pm

Nazri is a confused mass of protoplasm… He shoots his mouth first. Remember when he was investigated by ACA a couple of years back, he called a press conference to say that the ACA has cleared him…and that he was ‘clean’. Is any one waiting for anything intelligent from this man, then he has a long wait.

25. #25 by azk on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 7:00 pm

I wonder where are the Sultans?

26. #26 by azk on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 7:01 pm

I tot they are supposed to uphold the integrity of constitution and prevent such thing?

Where are them now?

27. #27 by grace on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 7:08 pm

The whole system rot! Even though thepanel finds the tape authentic, I bet you that this episode will come to pass. Pak Lah, as usual has no finishing. Just cakap tetapi tak bikin.
    Ahmad Fairuz will get his extension. Lingam will still be presenting cases in court. Oh yes, i wonder why Bar Council did not disbar Lingam . Funny isn’t it?

28. #28 by boh-liao on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 7:31 pm

A team of three blind men leading the politically abused nation and the majority of ‘we don’t want to know’ and ‘too scared to bother’ rakyat.

29. #29 by Jonny on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 8:18 pm

This was what I was THINKING ALOUD as well.

WHY NOT SEEK FBI help to authenticate the video?

I think all our MSC status multimedia companies are dead.

Those 3 Stooges on the panel ARE NOT experts in this area.

Who are they going to sub-con the authenticity of the video works to?

An MSC-Status company? Or FBI?

CIA?

30. #30 by Jonny on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 8:23 pm

This was what I was THINKING ALOUD as well.

WHY NOT SEEK FBI help to authenticate the video?

I think all our MSC status multimedia companies are dead.

Those 3 Stooges on the panel ARE NOT experts in this area.

Who are they going to sub-con the authenticity of the video works to?

An MSC-Status company? Or FBI?

CIA?

Maybe some rights of Malaysia should be sold away. Be compromised. That these international experts be can help COLLABORATE BETTER.

End of day. Tape is a dud. CASE CLOSED.

31. #31 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 9:32 pm

LETS TALK PROTOCOL.

malaysians at large are pretty laced up with fancy titles.

Aside DYMM the King and The Sultans , and The Raja and TyT.
    ( the above category is under the Rukunegara and we shall fully respect the Rukunegara and offer due respect as we law abiding good citizens of Malaysia. )

down this list of VVIPs that roams the freeway and highways with police escorts and red carpet grand entree are the ketua menteri and chief ministers of each state. they are called yang amat berhormat. i wonder where to place them in protocol list ?

than of course we have the ministers and deputy ministers and their ksu, all these are senior vvips too. plus some tuns, many tan sris and hundreds of datuk, dato .

( the only time, the raayat is the IP- important person is during a general election or by-election ).

i am getting confused. IF, AND IF, WE (JOKERS) that include me, have the rights to vote and to vote , are we not the master, that the elected are supposed to serve. NYET. NO. sorry folks, we are so ordinary that to make an appointment to see these vvips are almost impossible after the election.

of course, those elected by us are to be looking after the raayat interest, but we are wrong again, because the so many scandals makes us , feel BETRAYED.

I would like to add this IF NAJIB IS READING kitsiang’s blog ( sorry YB Lim, Najib is deputy pm ,so the capital letter ). please remember that you nearly lost your pekan seat the previous election. sometimes the slave too have a mind of their own.

as for nazri, i cannot and will not capitalise him, as he is a minister in the primeminister department. The de facto law portfolio, is still de facto.

dear nazri, please also remember how the taxi drivers are LOST WITHOUT A TAXI PERMIT while some big shots owns the permits. also do remember, now that you have indicated that the ketua hakim negara reports to you. i supposed that you are doing a coup de ta on the premier. i think abdullah badawi wouldnot even dare say so. “I am the Minister” . THIS ARROGANT IS unnecessary.

i am further confused Mr. Lim by Instructions given by:-
    (reported by the media)

1. prime minister – asked the police to investigate.

2. deputy prime minister – asked the 3 men panel to investigate.

3. ag office- asked to aca to investigate.

4. minister nazri – where got scandals.

NO WONDER. the downline gone haywire. menurut perintah. tetapi atas perintah siapa???

to be or not to be is the question said Sir William shakespear.

in Malaysia ( the country i love) the question is :-

OOPS. WHO IS REPORTING TO WHO ?
    so kit siang- does this anwer your protocol dilemma.

yours sincerely

nama tak tukar.

32. #32 by bystander on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 10:08 pm

We cannot trust the :
    1. PM and his cabinet ministers with our/public funds
    2. Judges when we seek justice against the Govt or private matters
    3 PDRM when we seek safety and protection
    4. Doctors when we need urgent medical attention
    5. Teachers with the educational future of our children
    6. Local councils when we object to encroaching hazardous new developments robbing us of the greenery and safety
    7. PWD when we use bridges and public buildings commissioned by them
    8. JPJ when we balik kampong in buses
    What else? Anybody cares to add on? What the hell is wrong with this country? Everything. This nation is SICK. What are the root causes? Corruption, corruption and mediocrity.

33. #33 by ablastine on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 10:50 pm

If I am the PM I will fire the stupid fella Nazri and replace him with Zaid Ibrahim. Then I can afford to go back to sleep.

34. #34 by thearmchairbitch on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 10:51 pm

There can be panels, and there can be panels, and “investigate” they will, only to come to conclusions that there are insufficient evidence to establish anything. Sounds familiar? Another beat around the bush perhaps? Still remember the slew of high profile corruption cases when Abdullah first came to power? One by one, the protagonists have gotten away scott-free or their cases simply faded into oblivion. No prizes for guessing the outcome of the Altantuya case.

35. #35 by verbal-lash on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 10:53 pm

I agree with ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH. To think it is the norm of the rakyat to kowtow to these people with titles when we are the ones who actually put them there?

Imagine this scenario … they drive into the hotel porch driveway, they get out of the car grandiosely. We greet them with heads bowed. They profer the tips of their fingers for a hand shake (as if we would dirty their hands). Then they strut into the lobby as a VVIP. Hell, we were the ones who put them up there!!!

Today, we should spit into their faces for mismanaging and stealing our money!

36. #36 by badak on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 11:03 pm

Serve us right for putting this bunch off cheats to run the country.Then again with all the cheating ,BN does during election no way the opposition will ever win.

Looks like we are doom ,With BPR doing the bidding of BN ,We are stuck with this goverment.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Friday, 28 September 2007 - 11:15 pm

It’s time to leave this moron alone.

How’s that at all possible for the ACA not to be able to get in touch with V.K. Lingam? Perhaps the private secretary to the Sultan who awarded the Datukship could help?

Forget INTERPOL.

38. #38 by UFOne on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 12:14 am

Well if the top level bosses are doing it, you can bet your bottom ringgit that their subordinates are doing the same thing too. Imagine two Pengetuas convincing a State Pengarah to appoint a new Pemangku Pengetua whom they favoured but who has little experience in that particular post ? Irregularities of authority are happenning everywhere and it starts from the top. If these appointments are planned and fixed, then what is the use of all the promotion examinations, the interviews and the courses ? They are just a waste of time and money. So much for cemerlang, gemilang and terbilang. Also this goes against the Tonggak 12. In one of the tonggak which talks about personal achievement, the negative achievements include
    -proud and likes to show off
    -shoe polisher and false accusations against colleagues
    -greedy in chasing after rank and position
    -look down and belittle the effots of others
    -jealous
    -a pretender
    The Tonggak 12 speaks a lot. A favourite examination topic for promotion purposes. But how many actually put them into practise ? It is easy to preach. It is easy to pass. It is hard to do it. In fact, only a handful believe in the Tonggak 12 and carry them out religiously.

39. #39 by k1980 on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 12:44 am

Is Nazri one of the numerous veiled men in this country?
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Middle_East/II29Ak02.html
    Most men in our societies are more veiled than any of these women. A man’s veil is an abstract one, created by him at will and not imposed by God. It is a veil against freedom and education. It is a veil against new ideas and dialogue. It is this man-veil that makes him walk up to the Danish Embassy and set it ablaze, thinking that this will lead him directly to heaven.

40. #40 by Old.observer on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 12:50 am

Another consideraton:

If Nazri reports to the PM, doesn’t the boss have a responsibility to ensure that the error is rectified?

If the boss allows such mistakes and confusion to spread, isn’t the boss is at greater fault, since Nazri is his staff?

Did Nazri act in isolation, or with the blessings of his boss?

Whilst it is easy to dismiss Nazri as a moron, don’t overlook the role of his boss either. In Japan, it is not uncommon for the leaders to take responsibility for the actions / errors of their subordinates. The PM has a real choice here, to either fire Nazri, ask Nazri to retract / correct his earlier statement, or let it die a natural death or be swept under the carpet. Observe the PM’s choice carefully, as his choice (since I assume noone is pointing a gun to him on this issue to force his decision) will speak volumes on the type of leader he is, when he is left unchecked.

Old observer.

PS. Kit, thanks for the link. I find it very interesting.

41. #41 by Damnsore on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 1:50 am

Looking at their track records on all the dirty tactics they adopt to cover up their shit,the establishment of the Independent panel is merely to appease the public outcry. Note:The main objective of the panel is to “ascertain the authencity”of the video but not to probe into the rot of the judiciary. We can all expect them to later come out and announce publicily that the video is all a sham and next, the AG would be directed to press charges against all the persons who made the allegations including the source who provided the video.They will tell the whole nation that its the opposition party’s political ploy.

42. #42 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 2:29 am

Nazri is speaking the truth when he said he is the Minister for the Chief Justice. This is the truth. The whole truth is that the CJ receives instructions from the BN government. The CJ has to carry out the instructions of the BN government. Being the de facto law Minister, Nazri is in charge of passing government instructions to the CJ.

The official protocol list is for academic purpose only. The fact is that BN government has its own set of protocol list. In the official protocol list, Cabinet Ministers are placed No. 16. But in the BN government protocol list, only UMNO ministers are No. 16, Ministers from MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Supp are No. 16 for official functions only and in term of executive authority they are placed below the UMNO’s Secretaries General and deputy ministers of their ministries. Any member from MCA, MIC, Gerakan and SUPP has a different opinion?

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 5:59 am

“I wonder where are the Sultans?” azk

Oh, there are where they should be; and doing what they should be doing. I believe the Sultans each earn no less than MR65k. What a paltry sum to pay a sultan.

I think the Rt. Hon. Leader of the Opposition should suggest that their remuneration be revised.

Don’t forget to pass a motion calling for RM10 cut in the pay of our Minister of Law – for not knowing the law.

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 5:59 am

oops MR65k per month

45. #45 by k1980 on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 7:48 am

MR65,000 per month, i.e. over RM2,000 a day for just sitting pretty while there are lots of Malaysians slogging it out for long hours for RM290 a month. Hope the roles will be reversed when they get reincarnated in the next life….

46. #46 by Godfather on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 8:04 am

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG

The slogan of the den of thieves.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 8:14 am

“…//…Nazri is speaking the truth when he said he is the Minister for the Chief Justice. This is the truth….//…” – well said, kanthanboy.

Protocol is nothing but just the system of rules and acceptable behaviour used at official ceremonies and occasions and is no reflection of reality of power!

We should not use “protocol” to try to discredit and contradict Nazri’s claim that he’s the CJ’s minister, which is the truth.

We, who suspect and argue that there is a judicial crisis and lack of judicial independence due to executive interference, should take the position that Nazri’s claim confirms our suspicions. Nazri’s claim may, protocol-wise, be unjustified but in reality is absolutely true.

In this country protocol is upheld in ceremonies and public occasions but all kinds of transactions and power play occur behind the outward show : the clip incident corroborates this fact!

The clip, if believed, shows that a senior judge who, protocol-wise and even reality-wise normally lorded over a lawyer in open court, had to make supplication to the lawyer in a private conversation to help secure his and his friends’ promotion!

Nazri, as a minister may rank only no. 16 on protocol list compared to CJ’s no. 11 but so what if an ordinary lawyer who’s not even on such a list could be an intermediary to broker the position numbered. 11 on the protocol list?

So Nazri is not talking nonsense about being the CJ’s Minister : it is the truth.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 8:36 am

The clip, if true, also shows that whilst there’s NEP and Bumi non Bumi dichotomy for the rest of us, amongst our elites, there is true power sharing amongst all races : a Malay judge seeking an Indian lawyer’s assistance via his Chinese tycoon’s connections for the patronage of a PM of Malay/Indian Muslim parentage. So what is protocol of ranking?

49. #49 by son of perpaduan on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 9:54 am

Dear YB LKS,

Criminals use money to buy their path out to freedom, how?
    This is how our judicial system work in the past years;
    Criminals bargain with IO ( INCHARGE OFFICER), IO collarborated with DPP ( DEPUTY PROSECUTOR ), DPP liase with defense lawyer and defense lawyer reached consensus with judge. Final verdict is ACQUITTED. FIY….this is no false allegations…

50. #50 by waterman on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 4:11 pm

Well said Jeffrey.
    That’s what our PM said “I have been fair, I want to be fair, I’ll always be fair”
    But it seems now that they are having lots of “wealth distribution” problems up there among themselves & that’s why we get to see “ugly” things begin to surface one after another- our law minister is controlling our Chief Judge; the underworld is controlling our police & ACA…..
    FRIGHTENING!!!!!

51. #51 by sec on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 4:12 pm

What is the Protocol No. of the 3 monkeys of the Commission of Inquery. Is it Protocol No. +1

52. #52 by Old.observer on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 5:34 pm

Jeffrey,

Re your 29/9 8:14 AM posting, I don’t think you can simply toss out the “Protocol list” or the “Order of Precedence” as gazetted on 22/1/98. (per http://www.malaysianmonarchy.org.my/portal_bi/rk2/rk2.htm)

There is a reason for having such an “Order of Precedence” in the first place. Even if it is for ceremonial purposes only, there is a reason for having such an order. A rational person would normally expects such order to reflect something similar to an “Organizational Chart”. Otherwise, why bother to gazette something like this? Why not place the Agong at the bottom instead of at the top? The reason the Agong is number 1 is because as you know, under the Constitution, he is the Supreme Ruler, ahead of the PM and everyone else. And the Order of Precedence reflects that.

The way I would look at the “Order of Precedence” is that it provides additional supporting evidence to the ridiculousness of Nazri’s claim that he is and should be the boss of the Chief Justice. So, it should not be tossed out. But I agree with you that this alone is insufficient reason (there are other better reasons) to say CJ should not report to Nazri.

I just want to say that we should not toss out nor minimize the importance of the Order of Precedence. Everything helps.

Further, one of the roles of the Agong in the Federal Constitution is to appoint the Chief Justice. If the Chief Justice now reports to Nazri, there should be something in writing from the Agong in the past to enable such a change in “reporting lines”, right? Is there such a writing? If there isn’t, who gave Nazri the authority to be the CJ boss?

Now, can any cabinet ministers just claim that he is the CJ boss, and then, it happens? This is definitely not the right way to govern a country. You can easily see that there will be chaos! Perhaps YB LKS should next claim that the CJ now reports to him. And then invite every other Cabinet Minister to claim the same thing. What written right does Nazri has to claim that he is the boss of the CJ? And does this has the written support by the Agong? In fact, is such a thing sufficient, or does this also need to be approved by Parliament also, etc.?

If not, then, who gave Nazri the right to be the CJ boss??

Old observer.

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 11:29 pm

You guys are missing the point.

The point Kit is making is that a Minister should know that it is not appropriate for him (the Minister) to have mentioned that phone call from the CJ in that context to the media. What was really stupid of him to do was to say that the CJ called him because he is “his Minister” in response to an inquiry. That shows the arrogance of this man!

54. #54 by k1980 on Saturday, 29 September 2007 - 11:54 pm

“I have been fair, I want to be fair, I’ll always be fair”

The fella’s just refering to the tons of SKII skin products he has purchased to make his dark skin a bit fairer to impress Jean

55. #55 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 September 2007 - 11:18 pm

People in this country, especially those in power, follow or deviate from protocol – no matter that one may argue that protocol makes sense and is appropriate – as it suits their convenience. Power or nearness to power determines events – not protocol. When TDM appointed Tun Ahmad Fairuz as chief justice then did he listen to the Yang diPertuan Agong No. 1 on the list or someone else not even listed? When TDM first became PM, wasn’t Tun Daim (then not a Tun, not an MP, not a minister, just a close friend and chairman of Peremba, nowhere on any list) more influential than any other minister ranked 16th on protocol list?

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 September 2007 - 11:22 pm

Today is it any different from then? When Nazri said that he was the CJ’s minister he didn’t mean in protocol sense of the word of “reporting” etc but that he has the ears of the numero one (PM) to influence events.

57. #57 by Godfather on Monday, 1 October 2007 - 12:41 pm

Nazri the Mouth is the hero to many UMNOputras, so we should be careful about belittling him. UMNOputras like FakeWorld and Archer are constantly surveilling the comments here, trying to figure out how to divert our attention.

58. #58 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 1 October 2007 - 7:55 pm

From the various statements and comments, that he could not wait to give, on various issues of the day, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of law and justice only augment his ignorance.