My three personal objectives in the 14th GE: for Pakatan Harapan to capture power in (I) Putrajaya (ii) Johore and (iii) Malacca

When I left Malacca in 1986 to contest in Tanjong parliamentary seat in Penang, the objective was to make a bid to capture the Penang State Government.

That was the highest political ambition of the DAP three decades ago.

But we did not succeed in the two serious bids to capture the Penang State Government in the 1990 and 1995 general elections, although we laid the basis for the DAP’s eventual win of the DAP-led Penang State Government in the 2008 and 2013 general elections.

If ten years ago, in 2007, anyone had asked whether it was possible to topple the UMNO/BN coalition government in Malaysia, the answer would a categorical “No” and the questioner would even be viewed as to whether he is a bit crazy to ask such a question.

But there has been a sea-change in the political landscape in Malaysia, and we are aiming not only for a change of Federal Government in Putrajaya, but even talking about a change of government in several states.

I have said that if in the 14GE as compared to the 13th General Election in 2013, there is a swing of 10% of Malay voters and a 5% of non-Malay voters from UMNO/BN to Pakatan Harapan, out of the 165 parliamentary seats in Peninsular Malaysia, Pakatan Harapan would win 113 seats, UMNO/BN 50 seats and PAS 2 seats.

Together with support from the voters of Sabah and Sarawak, Pakatan Harapan would he on the way to form the new Federal Government of Malaysia.

In such a scenario, Pakatan Harapan would not only be able to maintain power in Penang and Selangor, we will be able to win power to form new state governments in Perak, Negri Sembilan and Johore.

More efforts will be needed if Pakatan Harapan is to topple UMNO/BN State Government in Malacca – a swing of 15% of Malay votes from UMNO/BN in the 13GE to the Pakatan Harapan in the 14GE.

I have three personal objectives in the 14th GE: for Pakatan Harapan to capture power in (I) Putrajaya (ii) Johore and (iii) Malacca.

(Speech at the kopitiam ceramah at Jalan Kesidang, Malacca on Saturday, Sept. 9, 2017 at 10 am)

1. #1 by lbn on Sunday, 10 September 2017 - 3:26 am

Your objectives can be achieved provided there’s no in fighting and no personal vendetta within your party and the coalition. Just do the right thing!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 10 September 2017 - 11:13 am

My two cents on the problem of Indian politics – Hindraf Waythamoorthy not only has no grounds to sue Charles Santiago, the latter point is actually valid and Hindraf is wrong – the problems of the Indians are NOT best served by their own leaders.

Frankly, Indian politics is chaotic – not just in Malaysia – in India especially.. LKY in the end said the problem is India was a creation of the British and not one nation. You see the problem also here in Malaysia with Indian politics – the Indians here are not one community even though majority of them are Tamil, there are Hindis, Telegu, etc..AND Tamil politics is chaos – they are themselves divided. Even on the issue of Tamil school and education they are divided.

There is too much noise in Indian politics and unifying it a gargantum task – even here in Malaysia. Hindraf is united by economic failure and even though led by brothers, they are still divided.

I believe what makes Indian politics very difficult is because you see highly admirable self-sacrificing and dedicated leaders like Dr. Jeyakumar and in the past there were also many and the Hindraf brothers are also self-sacrificing despite their self-opiniation, yet their influence does not go national, community wide. There always seem to be challengers and opportunists rapid to lessen them. Everytime something good comes along, the impatience for result and rewards overtakes it frequently destroying it, rather than try to add to it to build something larger for the community. There is too much feudalism.

So Charles Santiago is right, Hindraf is wrong – the community is best served by every party but then there is also just as many who chose to disservice them..