Mahathir vs Kit Siang – no penance for old men

Nov 10, 2013

YOURSAY ‘This is a classic case of David vs Goliath. Mahathir had everything at his disposal to get rid of Lim.’

‘Mahathir wants me dead, but I want him to live’

Slumdog: DAP leader Lim Kit Siang, you are a true statesman and you always conduct yourself with dignity and decency, qualities that former PM Dr Mahathir Mohamad does not possess.

Your eloquence in rebutting whatever Mahathir dishes out to you is said with decorum and intelligence. This is in contrast to Mahathir’s usual vile and sarcastic manner in which he attacks his political foes.

The legacy that Mahathir leaves behind with not be cherished by the majority of the rakyat but he will be remembered with much disdain.

Swipenter: This is a classic case of David vs Goliath. Mahathir had everything at his disposal to get rid of Lim. He tried but did not succeed just like he tried to kill off his then deputy Anwar Ibrahim.

Slowly but surely Lim is getting the respect and admiration of Malaysians for standing up to Mahathir and Mahathirism whereas the latter is receiving the opposite from Malaysians.

Lim is not the only one who hopes Mahathir will live up to 100 years, so do millions of Malaysians. We all want him to witness the end of Mahathirism for himself for what it is worth.

ACR: Someone commented here about Mahathir being a ‘world leader acclaimed by his admirers and feared by his detractors’.

I was once told by a reliable source who worked in Wisma Putra in the 1990s that all Mahathir’s diatribes against the West and being seen as the leader of the 3rd World (mostly by despotic African tyrants) never made news in the West.

Perhaps in some countries, a small corner of a newspaper tucked inside one of the pages on the deeper end of the paper would carry his news. Why would the West bother about some noisy third world leader of a nation of 20-25 million?

What Mahathir did do in this regard was to create a civil service with ego of ‘ketuanan’ inflated proportions that some officials in Wisma Putra had the audacity to remark that the international beggar was in town when Nelson Mandela visited Malaysia in 1993

Yeoh Chee Weng: When the common Malay realises and speaks up against all the ills that were begotten from the decades of the ex-PM’s twisted mentality to institutionalise racialism and mediocrity, then finally would Malaysia mature and achieve developed status. May this malevolent PM live to see this day.

Onyourtoes: Saudara Lim, you should just let the people, the commentators here and everywhere to defend you. The whole world knows you won hands-down.

You represent integrity, principle, and competency. He represents duplicity, dishonesty and mediocrity. You are a democrat; he is a third world tribal chief. You are in politics for Malaysia and its people. He is in politics for himself, his family, cronies and friends.

You sacrificed, suffered and agonised, he exploited, enjoyed and lived lavishly. You are respected home and abroad, he is despised everywhere. You can walk with your head high; he will only sigh.

Funny, the Abrahamic monotheist people should understand their destiny better. But not this one.

Crazy Analysis: I agree with Lim. I like to see Mahathir live very long although I am many years younger than him. In fact, he should outlive me. I love his ‘contradicting jokes’. I want to die listening to his jokes and I wish he will continue with his jokes on the other sides we arrive.

Each time he will say different things and make you so confused that you can’t make it out what is said. Anyway the real joke is that he himself claims he has “retired” from politics.

Atilla: A well and meaningful reply to Mathathir’s sarcasm. A mark of a well-respected and responsible leader unlike those in Umno who say things without using their brains.

It is very obvious that Mahathir still craves the influence and power that he once hold and that explains why he is so bitter that he no longer calls the shots after he stepped down. To try to get into the spotlight, sadly he turned back to his radical ways and has lost whatever respect he had over fellow Malaysians.

JTC: We want Lim to live for a long time more. We also want Mahathir to live for a long time too. The only difference is that we would prefer if the latter was kept in jail and that the key thrown away.

Clever Voter: The reality is that the feeding chain that Dr M has not created many loyalists but also many dependencies. They are also proxies who have chose to remain silent.

Dr M may seem to have lost political support his influence is not to be underestimated, and the potential trouble he can create cannot be ruled out. Lim is not a threat to him but more as an irritant.

FairGame: Nobody is afraid of Mahathir’s shadow. But Mahathir is definitely afraid of all the skeletons in his own closet. He is truly a forlorn and pathetic old man.

Even in his twilight years, he is still full of bitterness and hate. He is even not at peace with himself, which truly shows that in the event of his demise, he will not go peacefully.

Trublumalaysian: An ode to Mahathir: “Surely if living creatures saw the results of all their evil deeds, they would turn away from them in disgust. But self-hood blinds them, and they cling to their obnoxious desires. They crave pleasure for themselves and they cause pain to others; when death destroys their individuality, they find no peace; their thirst for existence abides and their self-hood reappears in new births.

“Thus they continue to move in the coil and can find no escape from the hell of their own making.”

——————————————————————————–

The above is a selection of comments posted by Malaysiakini subscribers. Only paying subscribers can post comments. Over the past one year, Malaysiakinians have posted over 100,000 comments. Join the Malaysiakini community and help set the news agenda. Subscribe now.

1. #1 by Winston on Monday, 11 November 2013 - 4:41 pm

Yes, they tried.
    Very desperately!
    They even go to the extend of trying to hang the instigation of May 13 on LKS.
    This only shows the extent of their stupidity and desperation!
    Nobody ever buys that!!
    If I may say so, the finest hour for LKS was when he contested Gelang Patah in the last GE.
    None of the loud mouths dared to contest against him.
    And he won by a big majority.
    Perhaps this really rubbed them the wrong way.
    But this only shows that the political scene is shifting.
    This perhaps explains their phobic behaviour towards the opposition.

2. #2 by cintanegara on Monday, 11 November 2013 - 7:11 pm

Have you ever heard the famous Malay proverb? Naik Bakul angkat sendiri??? Lift own basket or blow own trumpet?? Pick and choose comments… as long as the feedback favours him…..using own blog for self praising?

Well. why do you compare yourself with our beloved Tun Dr M? its not an apple to apple comparison indeed….He is the true statesman dulu, kini and selamanya…..look at his blog….the feedback and responses are overwhelming … could easily eat the computer memory….what does that imply? People love him….people call him Ayahanda… people praise him…

Unlike this blog….Sorry to say la, pls check the average comments in each post?? As expected, the comments came from the same person….

3. #3 by worldpress on Monday, 11 November 2013 - 9:03 pm

as Liar vs Honor

4. #4 by Godfather on Monday, 11 November 2013 - 9:52 pm

And cintanegara gets committed to tanjong rambutan to be in same institution as Mamakthir.

5. #5 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 12:28 am

Do you ever evaluate the quality comments from your sateyman and the Yang Berhormat LKS’s commentators here.Your England I think boleh la,boleh tahan juga,but what about your Bahasa Kampung reading in chedet my friend.Frankly I find them all exactly just like you,ignorant lot and lacking in grey matters,not worth to bother at all.It’s only you that you keep on coming here to provoke,probaly out of jeolousy and tak tahan LKS is gaining more respect,popularity and praises ?Tomorrow onward ask Mahatai to post everyday and see his feedback how la leh.I and all will sure lol..Hahahahahaha

6. #6 by Noble House on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 4:03 am

Mahathir knows his past is fast catching up on him – an experience that’s difficult or painful to accept. Quite understandable for a man at his age.

Burdened by stigma or shame from past deeds, he is closed to finding himself at the end of the rope. His choice is to put the past behind him, or wear it like an albatross around his neck.

The playoffs show a different side of the weaker parties as they constantly try to find the Achilles’ heel in their opponent’s defense. It is all too cleared who will end up taking the bitter pill leaving him with such an angry mouth.

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 7:36 am

He is like hitler. From mediocre glory to shameless past and present. There is nothing progressive coming out from his forked tongue. He is only interested to prolong division amongst the races to benefit himself and cronies.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 9:04 am

People call Tun Dr M Ayahanda ? I call lanciau nyanyuk mamak Kerala ! Look at his blog..bla bl bla..bla black ship…oh I see you mean all the parasites could easily eat the computer memory.Why not ? He is what parasites attracted to..free lunch or what else you think some more hah ? What does that implies ? Malay Dilemma lor,got it ? Never learn that in Tanjong Rambutan meeeeeeeeeeeh ?

9. #9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 10:04 am

I was very civilised and never called Mamakthir anything but a mamak in his blog, and he banned me ! All because I had asked the pertinent questions regarding the judiciary, cronyism, monumental failures like Bakun, Perwaja during his time. PKFZ too. But I got banned because nobody, including the old mamak, had the answers.

• #10 by loo on Wednesday, 13 November 2013 - 12:28 pm

Godfather,
      To me, Mahathir is known as Mad-hate-r. In defeat, malice & In victory, revenge. Look at who he kow tim King Ghaz, Musa Hitam & Ku Li. I really rest my case

10. #11 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 10:34 am

Hahahahahaha..Godfather register another nick and tiau him kopi-o kau kau then chau la…lol

11. #12 by Erica Lim on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 - 8:13 pm

Many in Malaysia will rise up and called you, Mr Lim Kit Siang blessed. You have made a difference in Malaysia. Thank you, Mr Lim Kit Siang, for your unwavering love and dedication to the people of Malaysia, to fight for a better Malaysia. May you live long and prosper. God bless you and your family for generations to come.

As for the other person, it is not even worth mentioning him here.

12. #13 by on cheng on Sunday, 17 November 2013 - 11:01 am

Just under whose rule, when? that made ringgit Mal from 99 cents (Spore) 41 cents (Spore) ??
    So, what is so great about this person ??
    when Malaysians cross causeway or into Brunei, and find his RM100, is less than S$41 or BR$41, he or she know who to blame ?