Dr M: Will Kit Siang only retire when he’s dead?

By Zurairi AR
The Malay Mail Online
November 8, 2013

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 8 — Age has not dulled his acerbic tongue as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad continued to trade barbs with political foe Lim Kit Siang, asking the DAP adviser if he was still fearful of the shadow of a man who had retired from government a decade ago.

The former prime minister, who has repeatedly crossed swords with Lim in Parliament between 1981 and 2003, hit out at the opposition leader in his latest entry on his Chedet.cc blog yesterday, in exchange for the blows rained upon him in the run-up to the Sungai Limau by-election on Monday and immediately after the results were announced.

“Kit Siang also campaigned but it was as if DAP is still afraid of my shadows. The focus of Kit Siang was to run me down, as if I was the one contesting. Kit Siang was uncomfortable that I am still active even after my retirement,” Dr Mahathir said.

In his blog rebuttal, Dr Mahathir said he had not planned to campaign for the BN in Sungai Limau, but had decided to hit the ground for certain reasons—which he did not elaborate—and that the state seat had been part of the Kota Setar Selatan parliamentary constituency that he had represented as an MP between 1964 and 1969.

The 88-year-old Kedah-born said both he and Lim had cut their teeth on politics in 1964 but while he had passed on the government’s reins to another 10 years ago, his former parliamentary opponent chose to stay on the political battlefield.

“When will Kit Siang retire? When he is dead? Even if he retires, will he remain the DAP’s Senior Leader?” Dr Mahathir asked.

The two had locked horns in the run-up to the May 5 general election when Lim ran for the Gelang Patah parliamentary seat—which he won—and more recently in the campaign for the Sungai Limau by-election, which was called following the death of its incumbent assemblyman, Tan Sri Azizan Abdul Razak from PAS, the DAP’s political ally.

Lim had said in the campaign last week that Dr Mahathir’s waning influence on Malaysian politics would be confirmed if BN failed to wrest the seat from PAS.

Even as Dr Mahathir made a last minute campaign appearance for BN in Kedah, the Gelang Patah made several jibes against the Umno veteran’s failure to prevent his victory in the Johor federal seat.

Lim also took several shots against Dr Mahathir’s son and Kedah Mentri Besar, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, who had thrown his hat in the ring for last month’s Umno vice-presidency election and lost.

The senior opposition politician alleged that Dr Mahathir had mounted a campaign of “lies, falsehoods and character-assassination”, which he added, had formed the staple ahead of polling day in Sungai Limau.

Lim noted that it was similar to the campaign the former prime minister had initiated against him ahead of the 13th general election, citing Dr Mahathir’s accusations that he was contesting in Gelang Patah to make the Chinese “dislike and hate the Malays”, and claiming that the DAP wanted to remove the Malays from political dominance to set up a Christian state.

1. #1 by tak tahan on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:18 pm

Lim Kit Siang 3 against Mahatai
    Padan muka dah mula merajuk cakap bukan bukan tak tau malu punya satey man,Balik Kedah jual goreng pisang la.Pordah mamak tua Kerala sore loser..hahahahahahaha

2. #2 by tak tahan on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:19 pm

supposed to be..Lim Kit Siang 3 against Mahatai 0

3. #3 by tak tahan on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:20 pm

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahaahahaha

4. #4 by worldpress on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:30 pm

Justice holders welcome fight till the end

Corruption holders fight till the jail

JUSTICE!

5. #5 by tak tahan on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:39 pm

Why will LKS retire when one still can contribute enormously to nation building unlike his political foe Mahatai nothing good to contribute except now,then and forever spewing out venom of race polarization and causing havoc to nation progress.Mahatai,gooooooo retire and bring your Perkasa balik Kerala to save Malaysia become malusia.Pooooooordah !

6. #6 by tak tahan on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:47 pm

LKS pls hold this comment #6 cause I had accidentally posted this comment on my facebook.Thank you.

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 12:50 pm

The problem is Gelang Patah people wants LKS. But nobody wants mamakthir. Even in Sg limau. When is this guy going to retire six feet under?

8. #8 by good coolie on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 1:02 pm

The trouble with Malaysian politicians is that they can’t sit together over a cup of coffee.
    I challenge Lim Kit Siang and Dr. Mahatir: can you have tea or coffee with each other and have a photograph taken and published in the media?
    (You can make- up your faces with Max Factor before the photo- shoot).
    Mr. Lim, why don’t you take the iniative?

9. #9 by Winston on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 3:18 pm

It’s as well that Dr Evil had gotten out of the active political arena.
    Otherwise, the Malaysian electorate will bury him seven underground.
    But with LKS, Malaysians will never have enough of his leadership.
    It is extremely unforunate that the ruling coalition, in spite of its fifty-six-year governance, has only attracted evil, diabolical, pornographic and grovelling “leaders” to its fold.
    This is diametrically different to the opposition where the interests of the country and the people are held in high regard.

10. #10 by Bobster on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 3:35 pm

Apanama legendary Bapa Penbangunan?!

He will be remembered as Bapa Pembinasa by the younger generations when crude oil resources depleted by he and his Proton one day.

This bardy old man burning away precious black oil in one generation in support of his Proton and mega white elephants and the entire nation still think he is legendary. Utter Madness!

11. #11 by Bobster on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 3:38 pm

Uncle Lim, you are real champion can tahan this insane old horse for so many decades. We young generations also out run by you …

12. #12 by Bobster on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 3:53 pm

Mega projects in Dubai all because of rising crude price. Without discovery of crude oil in the 70′ you think Mamatail can do the same in the 80′-90′. This old man nothing to shout about. Don’t forget he squander off crude oil in Malaysia in 1 generation to sustain UMNO and cronies.

13. #13 by john on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 6:22 pm

Even now at his 44+44 age, this Mamak whenever open his loud orifice (ass-mouth) still spew ALL sh*t, venom, hippocrisy, spin, lies,,, and NOTHING ELSE !. FullStopped.

14. #14 by john on Friday, 8 November 2013 - 6:24 pm

Even now at his 44+44 age, this Mamak whenever open his loud orifice (ar*s*-mouth) still spew ALL sh*t, venom, hippocrisy, spin, lies,,, and NOTHING ELSE !. FullStopped.

15. #15 by tak tahan on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 12:33 am

Old serpent some more with poisonous venom accumulating years in the fang,kok,ar0s0and all,must fart out some to save oneself from over intoxicated.More to come…hahahahahaha

16. #16 by pwcheng on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 12:50 am

Those with better memories will be able to remember that when this old horse retired about 10 years ago he told the world that he will retire completely, unlike his counterpart LKY who after retirement is appointed as the government mentor. Sadly I think many will agree with me that he is definitely not a mentor but a trouble maker. Looking at his smile and evil eyes, you will know how cunning and vengeful this man is. It is a real shame that we had a former PM who by right should talk about unity and conciliations but instead spew hatred among the races and try to tear them apart.

A few months ago I wrote a poem describing this devil and for the benefit for those who had missed it, I would request LKY to allow me to repeat it here again.

A “Tribute” to Tun

A Doctor In The House wry and sly,
    The Malay Dilemma you feign to cry,
    Soon after the tragedy in May 69,
    Rising from the ashes you became mighty and high,
    A good 22 years you reign in style,
    Shedding crocodile tears when time to say good bye.

A crooked man with a crooked mind,
    Wanted a crooked bridge, the rational hard to find,
    Billions vanished without any trace or sign,
    Plundering the country is never a crime,
    Corruption, cronyism and racialism, all are fine,
    Leaving this beloved Bolehland way far behind.

Ketuanan Melayu, Hidup Melayu is you battle cry,
    You scream all these to cover your deception and lie(s),
    Many saw these but pretend to be blind,
    Mercy upon those who do not toe your line,
    Know not why you lose your memory when in a bind,
    Another intelligent devil like you we hope not to find.

17. #17 by tak tahan on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 1:37 am

Hahahahaha….gooooooooood one…love this..good for him !

18. #18 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 5:38 am

The fact is that he did not RETIRE.
    He was RETIRED by the very party he was in.
    That is was Tak Laku anymore and this is why he has been making so much noise since he was “kicked” out from his job.

LKS afraid of him? Ha ha ha ha ha, how conceited an expired Old Fart could be? In Chinese saying, he is pasting gold wafer on his own face.

19. #19 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Saturday, 9 November 2013 - 10:10 am

What about you, Mahathiu? You have been retired, but your mouth is still not dead? And when you are dead, I am sure you are still not retired.

20. #20 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 10 November 2013 - 3:24 pm

LKS can still make tremendous contributions to Malaysian politics and it will be a great loss to all Malaysians if he quits politics. Did Dr M actually retire from politics? I thought he was busier than everybody else in the political battlefield. He is today the father of racism.

21. #21 by tak tahan on Sunday, 10 November 2013 - 4:25 pm

His battle cry for Malays and Muslims cause has died down thanks to his super corridor project.News travel light lightning with just a click on this and that website for all to read his evil plots.People no longer wait in vain waiting for his appeareance to give ceramah and spew poison garbages ie batu api race and religion fire and sandiwara about Malays going to lose everything and Chinese are to take over Malays political power.He can save his fake cries for his near death !!!!!!!! Mukhriz can balik India then ! cintanegara can help carry his family travelling bags to Kerala and be institutionalized Kerala Man and marry one tangachi there.Speak Indian,follow Kerala culture,pray to elephant.hahahahahaha

22. #22 by tak tahan on Sunday, 10 November 2013 - 4:26 pm

correction->News travel like lightning……

23. #23 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 10 November 2013 - 8:21 pm

The question should to ask Mahathir – will his lies ever stop? He now says the internet has to be censored because of pornography – really what he meant that is he was in charge, the internet would be censored so that he can protect his fortune and legacy and his son would be in contention for PM already.

Pornography was widely available in Malaysia with the advent of VCDs and DVD long before the internet. Its well known a certain minister made a mint from approving APs for VCD/DVD making machines. Did he object to pornography then?

Now when everyone has filled themselves with pornography that the industry is dying because of the internet, he says the greatest technology since sliced bread has to be locked up – coincidently after his legacy is threatened and talk of confiscating his, his family and his cronies wealth.

Who is he kidding? LKS will always win over Mahathir in the end given the lies he continue to believe he can spin.

24. #24 by good coolie on Monday, 11 November 2013 - 4:08 pm

The best way to prick Mahatir is to compare him unfavorably with Lee Kuan Yew. Only trouble is that I dislike that fellow, too; especially when he blinks a hundred times before saying something very bland.