Najib’s denial syndrome claiming that he only lost in the “war of perception” in 13GE will condemn his “national reconciliation” plan to failure and a recipe for the resounding defeat of UMNO/BN in the 14GE

The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s denial syndrome in his luncheon talk to Malaysian students in Indonesia at the Malaysian Embassy in Jakarta yesterday that the Barisan Nasional had won the GE13 but it lost in the “war of perception” will condemn his “national reconciliation” plan to failure and a recipe for the resounding defeat of UMNO/BN in the 14GE.

Najib said Barisan had carried out many transformations in terms of delivery over the last four years and had validly won the GE 13, but it lost in the war of perception because of the slander and lies churned out by the Opposition through the alternative media, which many people believed in more than the truth provided by the mainstream media.

Najib said: “For the next general election, Barisan must equip itself well to fight the war of perception”.

Is Najib promising more Umno/BN lies and falsehoods on the cyberspace in the next five years, despite the abject failure of the 10,000 UMNO/BN cybertroopers trained in a series of nation-wide 1Malaysia Social Media Conventions involving hundreds of millions of ringgit of public funds in the run up to the 13GE?

I am no apologist for the alternative media, but is Najib prepared to establish an independent commission of inquiry to ascertain why the mainstream media have lost all credibility and authority ceding the ground to the alternative media?

Let such an independent commission of inquiry delve into the lies and falsehoods of UMNO/BN mainstream media, whether Utusan Malaysia, New Straits Times, Berita Harian or Star alleging that DAP funded the alleged “Red Bean Army” of 300 to 3,000 cybertroopers, spending from RM108 million to RM1 billion in the past six years to demonise and character-assassinate UMNO/BN leaders.

Even now, the UMNO mouthpiece, Utusan Malaysia, is continuing to publish such lies and falsehoods about the DAP funding the “Red Bean Army”!

In the 13GE, UMNO/BN lost the majority popular vote but won the majority parliamentary seats because the UMNO/BN coalition failed the test among Malaysian voters on delivering the great national issues of a safe, clean, transparent and moderate Malaysia although Najib managed to scrape through to victory because of the absence of a clean, free and fair election system.

Najib’s claim of “transformation” is a totally empty one, as highlighted by the fact that Malaysians today have never felt so unsafe in public places and even in the privacy of their homes, with the crime situation seemingly gone out of control – with Malaysians for the first time feeling unsafe eating out with the spate of mass gang armed robberies of owners and customers in open restaurants and eateries.

Can Najib, the new Home Minister Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi and the new Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar empathise with the following comment on my latest blog on crime?

“I was seething with anger today when I read a news item about the police providing hourly checks on ATM machines!!!

“Why? ATM machine security is the responsibility of the banks.

“Where are the PDRM’s priorities? The people are being robbed, slashed, rape and all manner of harm done to their properties and personal well being and the police are more worried about the banks’ ATM machines?

“Banks pays more taxes? Banks’ ATM machines more important than human lives?

“We have reached the stage where our streets have been hijacked by criminals and we are too afraid even to step out of our houses.

“I would be more than happy to settle for two hourly patrol by the police on the streets on crime hotspots.

“And where is that large number of motorcycles recently presented to the police with much publicity to help them in their patrols?

“I have NEVER seen any policemen anywhere near the street where my house is either on motorcycles or cars over the last six months. And I live less than 2km from a police station that was opened with much fanfare less than 3 years ago.”

Can Zahid or Khalid answer these questions?

Is it any wonder that for the first time in Malaysia’s 56-history after 13 general elections, Najib’s legitimacy as Prime Minister is such a widespread question among Malaysians in the country?

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 1:26 pm

This loss of perception must be due to the bad haze we are experiencing now especially in Putrajaya. Did our leaders bring this haze back with them from their trips to Jakarta?

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 2:25 pm

Oh boy!

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 2:30 pm

Its obvious.

We need to talk to jib

L-O-U-D-L-Y—–A-N-D—–S-L-O-W-L-Y

4. #4 by worldpress on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 3:34 pm

If you love MALAYSIAN and the country MALAYSIA, you will practice JUSTICE, TRANSPARENCY, HONEST, FAIR and HONOR ELECTION

Very very obvious, they do not

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 5:11 pm

Let us be clear about the ATMs. In 1Malaysia, most banks have already outsourced the upkeep and maintenance of all their machines to outside contractors who come regularly to top up the machines. Maybe the thefts could be outside jobs planned by people in the know.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 5:12 pm

Another thing. The money is insured. Banks are smart to an extent.

7. #7 by Loh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 5:34 pm

///Making graft suspects declare their assets ‘when there is no proof of corruption’ could lead to abuse, argues Nancy Shukri.///–Malaysiakini

This minister has ingenious reasons, but she should say how the abuse can come about. Ministers should declare their assets, whether or not they are graft suspects. Proof of corruption can only be confirmed if the assets are recognized. Only questions of how they were obtained will tell us whether they were obtained without corrupt practices.

8. #8 by Loh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 5:41 pm

///4:21PM Jun 17, 2013 | 22
    ‘I agree with competition but if there is competition, Umno will be split into two,’ explains the former party head.///–Malaysiakini

If competition can split the party then the party does not practice meritocracy. AAB stepped down because he wanted to preserve the party so that there was no competition. It is Najib’s turn to step down so that there is no contest. The deputy will move up, or any other person who thinks that he can do better. The important thing is no competition. Once Najib declares that he step down, the person first to declare an interest shall be President, else there will be competition that would split the party.

Mamakthir has just joined UMNO when Najib was President. He is junior to most UMNO supreme council members. It is strange that they dance to his tune.

• #9 by cemerlang on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 10:28 pm

Meritocracy can be acted up, can be a pretense. Simple thing like when boss is around, one becomes an actor or an actress. How will you know if meritocracy is genuine ? Because genuineness will lead to justice, transparency, honest, fair and a honourable election. Or in whatever you do. Competition can be so ugly that one’s abilities and achievements will be sidelined. Get the supporters on to your side and whatever weaknesses you have can be made to look great. Between these two, Malaysians know who did better no matter how ugly it gets. Your supporters matter.

9. #10 by Loh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 5:54 pm

///New minister Shahidan Kassim says the Chinese must first be willing to share power and abandon their alleged ‘racism’.///–Malaysiakini

Is eating pork racism? Is practicing Chinese culture racism? If so is the UN convention on basic human right is racism too?

10. #11 by worldpress on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 6:45 pm

If you trust Mama word abet you unprepare, you be finished

He bite you when you are not prepare

11. #12 by bryanbb on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 7:25 pm

He left one word out, because he did indeed lost on the war of perception but one that was based on ” facts” and not fantasy nor amateurish attempts to conjure a smokescreen ,but succeeding in magically transforming indelible into delible

Perception war he lost maybe on the hocus pocus, now you see me now,now you see some more ballot boxes. And i found 38 reasons more here
    http://dumdumtrivia.blogspot.com/2013/06/36-reasons-why-bn-wasis-rejected.html

12. #13 by Di Shi Jiu on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 8:34 pm

Hey Ah Jib Gor,

You may not believe me but it was not perception that lost you my vote.

It was not “lies and slander” by the Opposition, either.

I walked into GE13 as a first time voter with my eyes opened and my ears listening to the common man on the street.

Unfortunately for you, my very own eyes have seen the corruption your BN government has fostered.

My very own ears have heard the bitterness and anger in the voices of the common man in the street.

No, Ah Jib Gor, you didn’t lose the “war of perception” with me – you lost credibility and you lost my trust.

13. #14 by Loh on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 8:44 pm

///Kessler also attacks Najib for making a hard play for Malay hearts and. One must ask: why not? It may have escaped his notice that Najib heads a party called the United Malays National Organisation. One would naturally expect him to seek their votes and sympathy, especially in the Malay heartland.///– the CHOICE-http://www.thechoice.my/top-stories/64889-an-artful-exercise-in-pseudo-intellectual-spin#sthash.du76qoeY.uc6kVomh.dpuf

Yes since UMNO is a race-based party, the president of that party is also the prime minister for that party, and serving the interests of the members of that party. The action is justified and that is why Malaysia is racially polarized. A Prime Minister for all races should look after all races. Najib is expected to look after the interest of one race, as the above paragraph justifies, then he cannot be looking after all races, since he will then be a traitor to his party.

For Najib to serve all Malaysians he should either quit a race based party or he should open up the party he leads so that he is not tied to serving only one race. As to the question why not, the answer is he is the prime minister for the country comprising people of Malays and other races.

///Yet Kessler also claims that Najib and his advisers wrote off Chinese and Indian votes. This is categorically absurd. Whatever Najib’s failings, a lack of desire to bring Chinese and Indian voters back to BN is not one.///—the CHOICE

Certainly Najib hoped to get Chinese votes and that was why he even showed off his drumming skill. But Najib had no intention to make any policy change such as fleshing out what 1Malaysia should be, to gain Chinese votes. Perhaps Najib thought that by pretending to appreciate Chinese cultures Chinese voters would be so thrilled as to vote BN. Najib was not naive. He had actually given up trying to win non-Malay votes, but was hoping against hope that some could still be fooled.

• #15 by cemerlang on Monday, 17 June 2013 - 10:31 pm

Malaysians know who is the Tuan. Just that they keep quiet. Or put it this way. Make so and so happy first. When so and so is happy, then make the others happy.

14. #16 by Noble House on Tuesday, 18 June 2013 - 2:02 am

What Najib lost was not in the war of perception but rather on deception. Which comes to mind the following:

* Smear your opponents
    * In & Out the $$$$$
    * Suppress the vote
    * Hidden/Missing ballot boxes
    * Recount the ballots
    * Not get caught!

15. #17 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 18 June 2013 - 7:07 am

They are in denial because, as jack nicholson said, they can’t handle the truth..Its unbelievable how their minds have shut out certain realities.

Nothing can be more classic of their shut mines. than Najib put KJ in charge of ‘perception’ and how quickly he make a big blunder by saying that people want stern action on the guilty of custodial death – when what people want is NO custodial death..

UMNO/BN is hopeless in what they do…

16. #18 by bryanbb on Tuesday, 18 June 2013 - 11:19 am

Perception..well, i have a very worrying perception on the quality of the billion dollar stuctural construction projects by the Gomen given to cronies, and what may be a possible future catastrophic scenario.Call me an alarmist, call me paranoid but my perception is that are they tragedies waiting to happen, with a human toll?
    http://dumdumtrivia.blogspot.com/2013/06/a-very-inauspicious-runtuh-culture.html