Who is Zahid? Do we have a criminal as a new Home Minister?

I thank Malaysians who have expressed their outrage at the arrogance and cockiness of the new Home Minister, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, who was shown on television on Tuesday questioning: “Who is Lim Kit Siang? I don’t know who he is.”

What is important is not “Who is Lim Kit Siang” but “Who is Ahmad Zahid Hamidi” who has become the new Home Minister.

This has become particularly important following the call by the Chairman of the DAP Legal Bureau and MP for Puchong, Gobind Singh Deo, to the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak to suspend Zahid from the Cabinet to prove the Prime Minister is serious about government reform.

Gobind has told the Prime Minister that it is “improper” to put a man who has been ordered to answer a civil suit for assault to be in charge of the powerful home ministry where his actions and conduct could invite conflict, which would reflect on his Barisan Nasional (BN) government.

What is Najib’s response to Gobind’s contention that putting Zahid in charge of the Home Ministry, which is responsible for the police, is to create a position of conflict as the Home Ministry is one of the most powerful ministries, with significant influence over various bodies including the police and prisons.

Ahmad Zahid had been sued by businessman Amir Abdullah Bazli for allegedly punching him in the eye on January 16, 2006 at the Country Heights recreational club in Kajang, Selangor causing the latter to suffer a nasal bone fracture and a swollen left eye.

Then a deputy information minister, Ahmad Zahid had denied the allegation and applied to the Kuala Lumpur High Court for the case to be thrown out. The application was dismissed by the same court on April 21, 2010.

He later filed a countersuit against the 41-year-old, claiming to have suffered humiliation and emotional trauma as a result of the accusation.

But last year, a three-judge panel of the Court of Appeal unanimously ruled against Zahid’s bid to strike out the assault suit and ordered the minister to pay RM5,000 in costs. It also ordered Zahid to respond to the action.

A response from Najib to Gobind’s query is in order, especially as he is the first Prime Minister to specifically appoint a Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department to be specifically responsible for “integrity” and “good governance”.

Najib should specifically explain whether he knew of the serious allegations of assault against Zahid when the latter was deputy information minister, and whether the Prime Minister had inquired why the police had not charged Zahid for criminal assault in 2006, and the answers that he received.

Paul Low, who is the Minister with the specific briefs of “integrity” and “good governance” should also declare whether he agrees that Zahid should stand down as Home Minister until he has fully cleared himself of the serious charges of assault going back to January 2006 when he was deputy information minister.

The case raises the pertinent question why Zahid had not been charged by the Police for the criminal offence of assault.

This raises the further question whether Malaysia has a criminal as the new Home Minister.

Is Zahid or Najib prepared to answer this issue, on Zahid’s suitability as Home Minister with the serious allegation of criminal assault hanging over Zahid when he was deputy information minister and the failure of the police then to charge Zahid, on the first working day of Parliament on June 26?

1. #1 by yhsiew on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:03 am

How can a person with a violent background be the Home Minister? Wouldn’t his character influence the police to become violent?

• #2 by cemerlang on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:03 pm

The camera gives people a certain perception.

2. #3 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:05 am

Losing in a civil suit albeit for assault is not perceived as a criminal offence because it is not like losing in a criminal charge/prosecution of assault. Whether one’s fit and qualified to hold public office depends on the people (ie the one appointing who listens to his group of party members) who make that assessment and that depends on the values & culture of that group. So the question is – Is “integrity” and “good governance” the values of that group ? Or “cockiness” or ‘hentam’ your opponent even below the belt the values of that group ? Its all relative.

3. #4 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:08 am

If he doesnt know lim kit siang, he is not fit to be home minister.

Hoi, jib take note!

4. #7 by adityamahesh on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:17 am

Breaking a nasal bone is an offence under Sec 324 of the Penal Code. It is more serious than assault. If a police report has been made, the police must explain why no action was taken against the minister.

The public has a right not to have this man as a Minister until he clears his name.

5. #8 by ablastine on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 10:06 am

As far as a lot of people in the country is concern the UMNO government is really a mafia. So having a criminal as a home minister is not something unexpected. On the same note it is also not surprising that those under the custody of the mafia police are beaten to death while handcuffed. Who they don’t like they just arrest and C4 them.

6. #9 by ella hamzah on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 10:17 am

Obviously BN has no other person to fill the position. Zahid is using his position which he thinks no one can take action against his case. Justice will prevail evntually.

7. #10 by BMBoy on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 10:47 am

The perception is that the entire cabinet and many of the senior civil servants are also criminals. So what’s the difference to our beloved PM? Like they say, Birds of the same feather flock together.

8. #11 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:02 am

Zahid is a UMNO thugs. Gangsters in English terms and Mat Rempit for Malays.

9. #12 by Cinapek on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:14 am

People with skeletons (and huge ones at that) in the closet are perfect for Najib’s purpose to do his dirty work as these people will do anything for him in return for not being charge for criminal offences. I can think of another recently appointed minister who is also implicated the “correct, correct, correct” video scandal.

10. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:17 am

So is Zahid a criminal or not?

If he is, so what?

Aren’t there other criminals in UMNO’s cabinet?

Pet answer: there are probably others who are worse than me.

So, the moral of the story seems like: he becomes a minister who has the less baggage or evil?

Or is that so?

11. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:18 am

Proves that UMNO is rotten to the core.

Mahathir is right.

12. #15 by buylower2003 on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:25 am

Ta daaaaa! Our new Home MONSTER!
    Beowulf, please do drop by… we have a monster for you to kill !!!

13. #16 by buylower2003 on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:26 am

And FYI, Dear Home MONSTER,

what you don’t know won’t hurt you…

BUT it might KILL you :)

14. #17 by DAP man on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:45 am

UMNO has always been above the law. It steps on it or hide it as it deems fit. UMNO does not even respect the constitution. Remember the illegal Ministers appointed by Najib.
    Zahid is a shameless man. The DAP must press for him to step down. Don’t give up on this case when you are in Parliament.

15. #18 by buylower2003 on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:50 am

From this mad dog you will know what kind of master he serves

16. #19 by worldpress on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:55 am

Do we have criminals in EC?

If we have clean, fair election we may not live under this bunch of Mat Rempit another few years

EC was the main factor delivered us and protecting a monkey system allowing cheat, fault, bribe, protected those monkeys tempted the monkey with banana (bribe) to vote brainless in the jungle dominate the election with much less vote

EC protecting corruption, cheat, lie, bribe and unfair election PRACTICE, delivered another 4-5 years under Mat Rempit admin

Are they get away easily?

17. #20 by john on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 12:30 pm

This biadah is just doing wayang kulit with the coming Bumno EGM in view. Same clone, copycats like past,present Bumno Crooks and Cheats.

18. #21 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 1:51 pm

If they were able to cheat 51% of the rakyat and to deceive the agung by swearing before HM their loyalty as HM’s servants then there are nothing that they could not or would not do.

Yes, umno cheated us of our victory in GE13. But they know for a fact that the cheating can go on forever.

19. #22 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 1:57 pm

samseng kelas tinggi. Made in umnob

20. #23 by Jim55 on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 2:00 pm

If Police were to charge Zahid for the 2006 assault, then Zahid will turn around and charge the Police for insubordination against the BOSS!

Hence, case can’t proceed, NFA (no further action).

21. #24 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 3:05 pm

Send him to one of our infamous lock-ups? Who knows what might happen there?

22. #25 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 3:54 pm

Mahathir is puff, puffing to be the Oracle of Putrajaya.

Too late, ol’ fella.

Once you shed off yr PM mantle, everybody has seen your KKK feathers.

So calling DAP racist, Mahathir is like KKK screaming at Mandela: hey, you Afrikaan-hater!

It just doesn’t work anymore, ol’ man.

We all know you are kranky, krazy, kafka-esque, man. KKK.

23. #26 by sotong on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 5:52 pm

How many more with criminal record?

24. #27 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 6:45 pm

I have been knowing LKS since my childhood! I know nothing about this sucker!!! Where had he been popped out???? He suppose to be in the dog pens and enjoy dog foods!

• #28 by buylower2003 on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:39 pm

And also let Najis ride him doggie style, oh yeah!

25. #29 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 7:34 pm

A gangster as Home Minister? The Police have a Gangster a the boss of their boss?

26. #30 by good coolie on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 9:34 pm

Vice President Spiro Agnew, round about 1971, used the word, “Who?” in these circumstances after first names. Zahid seems to be saying , “Kit Who?”
    Here’s, with my compliments, “Zahid Who? Maha Who? Samy Who? and UMNO Bar who?”

27. #31 by Di Shi Jiu on Thursday, 6 June 2013 - 11:49 pm

To be honest, I don’t know who Zahid Hamidi is.

But, I do know WHAT he is :)

• #32 by cemerlang on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 7:21 am

You have to know who you vote for. You don’t know him personally or for that matter, any politician. Their dislikes, likes. Not even a friend. Not even a handshake. Not even a face to face meeting. Not anything at all. What you know is from the news published in whatever ways, from the fruit of the mouth. Not like your parents you meet everyday. Even that, you don’t know their hearts.

28. #33 by Noble House on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 2:28 am

Now, it’s beginning to make sense why we have 3 deaths in 11 days whilst under police custody. This must be quite a record for the Home Ministry!

• #34 by cemerlang on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 7:24 am

And if you don’t know them, they will not know you. And you wonder if they know anything that goes on under their noses.

29. #35 by undertaker888 on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 7:53 am

By saying who is LKS, we know he has this mentality that he is all big and powerful. You need to know him but he doesn’t need to know you albeit pretentiously. Usually, people like this has small brain and arrogant. Don’t try to make him think. He can’t. He knows only how to bulldoze his way thru.

If he doesn’t know LKS but know who is Obama, then go to USA and be the home minister there. Then again who will accept this kind of character.

30. #36 by undertaker888 on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 8:01 am

Furthermore if he doesn’t know who is LKS how is he going to know about the suluks intruding our territory. I can see the country going down the drain with him as Home minister. We thought we have the worst HM before but they keep on getting better at the other end of the scale.

31. #37 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 9:22 am

Obviously this goon has a very steep learning curve to mount.

Arrest. Arrest. Arrest. Charge. Charge. Charge.

Oh that was soooo monsterO’mamak – soooo last centuary!

Update yourself idiot before you utter the next public statement.

32. #38 by Jafri Basron on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 9:37 am

By not knowing Lim Kit Siang is not a big deal … a matter of fact; LKS is only well known for being a loud critics of the Malaysian establishment … Till to-date; I have yet to hear his solutions on improving Malaysia racial polarisation and ways to further improve the economics scale of Malaysia prosperity.

33. #39 by worldpress on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 11:54 am

They are trying distract you from suspicions over the legitimacy of the May 5 general election

Only in Malaysia

No country in this world done such a silly thing granted illegal immigrant rights to vote to keep their government administration

It is a big shame to all MALAYSIANS

34. #40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 12:07 pm

I happen to know who Zahid is….ha, ha.

Want to know who he is?…..ha, ha.

I didn’t invite him….he came…..ha, ha.

Want to know who Zahid is……ha, ha.

If I were you… I wouldn’t bother….ha, ha.

He came….ha, ha…

But I didn’t bother…..ha, ha….

35. #41 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 12:19 pm

PDRM/ DBKL Whodunit!

PDRM says : wait for DBKL approval

DBKL says: wait for PDRM approval.

Zahid says: This will be our new waiting game.

Welcome to UMNO Baru – tunggu sampai mati.

36. #42 by Loh on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 3:37 pm

Jafri Basron :
    By not knowing Lim Kit Siang is not a big deal … a matter of fact; LKS is only well known for being a loud critics of the Malaysian establishment … Till to-date; I have yet to hear his solutions on improving Malaysia racial polarisation and ways to further improve the economics scale of Malaysia prosperity.

You do not need any expert. To remove racial polarization, remove NEP first. Racial polarization is at its best or worst, take your pick, and no improvement is needed.

37. #43 by Peter on Friday, 7 June 2013 - 4:59 pm

As i have said upmteen times that our Peeeeeeeeeeee..M just talk and promise but no actions. Having a pariah asshole as a Home Minister is a laughing stock not only to right minded rakyat but to the whole world. This bum should be in prison by then. Prison is his home.