I’m afraid, really afraid!

Zan Azlee
May 24, 2013

MAY 24 — I’m going to be honest and say outright that I’m afraid of the recent turn of events in our country, with the numerous arrests being made and copies of newspapers being confiscated.

But it’s a complicated situation that everything is in right now. And I am seriously tired of all these complicated situations that we’ve been in since the election.

Yes, the election has come and gone. And yes, Barisan Nasional (BN) won and Pakatan Rakyat (PR) lost. It’s the worst faring by BN and the best by PR.

BN was quick to swear in their prime minister, while PR was quick to declare the election process being a fraud and not recognise the results.

And since they won the popular vote, PR leaders started organising rallies all around the country, knowing full well that the turnout would be huge.

Yada yada yada. And that’s when all hell broke loose in the BN camp.

It started out with racist statements being made by the BN camp which rightly angered not just the PR camp, but many Malaysians, me included.

And now, the cavalry has been set loose. Four people have been detained, Adam Adli, Haris Ibrahim, Tian Chua and Tamrin Ghafar, for sedition.

The cavalry also went on a spree around Malaysia, confiscating PR newspapers Harakah, Suara Keadilan and Rocket from newsstands, and even from the back of the distributor’s lorries.

Any sane, logical and rational human being will realise that this is a wrong step to take by the ruling government if they want to improve their standing with the rakyat.

I dare say that no matter how hardcore your support is for the ruling party, it has to be very difficult to justify this sort of action in this day and age.

It may have worked in 1987 when they carried out Ops Lalang where 106 individuals were arrested and three newspapers were banned. But it doesn’t work now.

The rakyat are not as susceptible and gullible as they were decades ago when information was limited and not accessible as it is today.

Some may argue that it’s all legal, and the PR camp and the activists knew the consequences when they did what they did.

Of course they would have known the consequences of their actions. But I feel that this is hardly an argument since there really is no other way to express what they have to say.

Aside from the legal aspects (of which its ethics can be debated), I really see no wrong in whatever they have done. Not even the sedition part.

I may not agree to violence as a form of overthrowing a government, but I agree to the fact that they have a right to say what they want to say.

And I definitely agree that the rakyat have a right to gather and assemble to express their beliefs as this is one of the basic tenets of democracy.

So when I said at the start of my article that I am afraid about the recent turn of events that have occurred in our country, I wasn’t afraid of the current situation.

What I am afraid of is the consequences of the actions taken by the ruling party in handling the situation, and whether they realise it or not.

1. #1 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 25 May 2013 - 12:35 am

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 25 May 2013 - 6:53 am

Najib should be aware that its party’s unwillingness to reform and intolerance to dissent have caused it to be rejected by the rakyat (47:51), especially among the young people who are yearning for more democratic space. If Najib thinks that his party can continue in its old way, he is all wrong – BN will lose more seats to PR come GE14 or may even lose power to PR.

In this day and age where people are being inundated with information from all corners of the globe through the Internet, they know their rights and what a democratically elected government should be. They are no longer as susceptible and gullible as they were decades ago when information was limited and concealed from them.

Tun Abdullah Badawi was right, when he said (after stepping down from office) you cannot stop people from wanting change in this day and age.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 25 May 2013 - 7:20 am

Oops!

“its party’s unwillingness” should be “his party’s unwillingness”.

4. #4 by Winston on Saturday, 25 May 2013 - 7:29 am

Well, well, well.
    It all boils down to this.
    A good comparison would be to liken them to extortionists.
    Just like their ilk, the common criminals who extort money from the people, they will want to keep the game on no matter what.
    That way they don’t lose their source of “income” and they don’t have to answer for their crimes!
    And the extortion has been going on for decades!!!
    A stop must be made to such nonsense.
    Isn’t it??

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 25 May 2013 - 11:37 am

Truly, the whole of Malaysia – all right-thinking, all-sensible Malaysians, – are scared, truly scared of those sick-in-the-head UMNOputras and BN goons (aka mat rempit samsengs).

The violence is always one-sided, Umno-sponsored?

6. #6 by worldpress on Sunday, 26 May 2013 - 10:31 am

I’m afraid, really afraid!

If Urban tutup kedai the whole country economic would collapse

7. #7 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 26 May 2013 - 5:02 pm

They think they can cow the people into submission by intimidating them. Five years isn’t a particularly long time. Another small percentage in voter swing will spell the end of BN but they are still in their slumber.