Low better up the anti-graft fight

May 17, 2013

MAY 17 — There is much more that is expected from Transparency International (TI) chief Datuk Paul Low now that he is a minister in the Najib administration.

That Malaysia’s fight to eliminate corruption and be transparent about contracts becomes a reality rather than just a plan or target under its transformation programme.

For too long, there has been criticisms that Putrajaya is not doing enough to fight graft despite setting up corruption courts or beefing up the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

Their record has been spotty at best, prosecuting the so-called small fries rather than the big fish.

Low put it succinctly when he told The Malaysian Insider today, “It’s very easy to be critical…what is the other alternative? Shout from outside? From TI, be an armchair critic? I cannot do it alone…I’m a minister in the Prime Minister’s Department. That gives me stature.”

But Low better up his game, instead of already repeating the Putrajaya mantra that ministers declaring their assets to the Prime Minister and the MACC is sufficient rather than making a public declaration.

“If you tell the public your kid is worth RM20 million, you put your children at security risk, it’s not fair,” said Low.

That example, however, is wrong. Worrying about the minister’s child’s security is laughable because the minister should explain how his offspring earned the RM20 million.

Fact is, no one forces anyone to run for office and their family must be seen to be cleaner than clean if they do any business.

Until today, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s claims against Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and his children’s wealth have not been challenged in court or even taken up by the MACC.

That speaks volumes for the inertia to fight allegations of corruption by political leaders and their families.

Low has his work cut out for him, and that is more than just making policy. He should realise that if he is part of the window dressing, then expect to be dismantled by public scrutiny.

The Cabinet must not carry passengers and the public will want to see action, not hear talk of a better future without ever reaching there.

1. #1 by Noble House on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 4:16 am

Datuk Paul Low should start with Penang investigating all those pre and post elections payouts conducted in broad daylights. Not even a squeak from the authorities. Prove that you are not another one of those NATO!

2. #2 by Winston on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 7:45 am

For too long, there has been criticisms that Putrajaya is not doing enough to fight graft despite setting up corruption courts or beefing up the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC). – End of quote

Don’t we all know that Putrajaya personifies corruption, scams and scandals?
    Would they prosecute themselves?
    They’d rather prosecute the opposition for daring to mount such an effective election campaign against them during the recent GE!

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 8:29 am

There IS NO SUCH THING as fighting CORRUPTION slowly. These things are done CATHARTICALLY, especially for a country like ours which has become part and parcel of its culture, especially politically.

The root of the problem really is the CULTURE OF HYPOCRISY in our country’s politics. They believe in it and ITS IN OUR BIGGEST NATIONAL POLICIES AND THE IDEOLOGY OF UMNO..From that fundamental believe the leap to corruption is merely babysteps and deeprooted.

The problem with slow transformation is that all it does is MAKE THE CORRUPTION MORE SOPHISTICATED..The waste is less but systematically its the same thing – the MISALLOCATION OF RESOURCE IS THE SAME EFFECTIVELY. The productivity does not make a leap and hence changes only the corruption but rid it.

There is no such thing as slow change in corruption, not for us.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 9:02 am

Paul, paul, paul, how LOW can U go?

U cunningly justify yr acceptance 2 b a cabinet member by d BACKSIDE way (ahem, hv U oredi been appointed as a senator ?) by boasting dat U CANNOT beat them, so JOIN them 2 CHANGE fr INSIDE

Dat’s a lot of crap n BS, U n rakyat all knew

U better get some1 2 examine ur bolls now, still there aaah? Or measure them now n c how they shrink n disappear – no believe? just ask d infamous BOH HOOD fr Pg (he who also boasted 2 enter BN 2 change UmnoB/BN fr inside; ultimately, he was d 1 who kena changed, just shiok diri n kaya raya)

What’s WRONG with all these TI’s chiefs? So easily silenced n BOUGHT over by UmnoB, shameless, n NO PRINCIPLE 1

How can he rub shoulders with guys who cried 4 Chinese bloood with their unsheathed keris, guys who think dat dis is their grandfathers’ land n urged rakyat unhappy with d 505 tainted GE results 2 leave 2 country

By right, as TI’s chief, he should b INVESTIGATING d 505 tainted GE results
    What 2 do lah, he who knows NO SHAME n die die wants 2 b YB (Yang BerBOHONG) what

5. #5 by lauksnatlks on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 9:05 am

Mr Paul Low,

If u think u are not able to do an effective job and the system is too entrenched. Don’t accept the appointment and speak straight to BN’s face the nation can’t wait a second longer. In short, don;t waste ur time with this half past six minority government.

6. #6 by quigonbond on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 9:57 am

Paul has already failed us with his maiden unofficial speech.

He said MACC is independent and it’s ok to declare assets only to the PM, two points of which I find highly offensive.

It’s been known for far too long that MACC is compromised. A political adjutant is invited to interview in MACC office and found dead, the blame is on overboard interrogation technique; while no weight is placed on “you take your victim as you find it” principle and hence no punishment for abuse of power or procedure.

Malaysians are also too aware of selective prosecution, and especially MACC’s meekness in dealing with Taib Mahmud.

Also, isn’t there something wrong if, as Paul said, a minister’s son owns RM20mil? Isn’t that a lot of money for a mere civil servant’s son to have, especially if they don’t have established business record? The son and their family is definitely endangered, but certainly not from gangsters or kidnappers, but from MACC!

And did Paul just say “yes PM, thanks for the invite” or did he ask “why do you want me on board? TI-M has a laundry list of things to do – will you give me a free hand to do it?” If he didn’t do the latter, then he is already discredited as a closet UMNO supporter, because being wishy-washy about reform just don’t “wash” it with Malaysians anymore – we can smell the BS a mile away.

The way I see it, Paul is already a lameduck even before he begins. It’s only a matter of time before he becomes the chief apologist for the UMNO regime, or call it quits with his reputation somewhat intact. I hope I’m wrong, but I was just as cynical about a Pakatan win in GE13 given the odds stacked against them, I think I will be right on this score too.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Saturday, 18 May 2013 - 5:58 pm

Fear not, some1 UP there will certainly give crooks like Paul d REAL ULTIMATE REWARD
    Dis sicko tries 2 fool others by justifying how nobel he is – a shining white knight entering in2 d devils’ den 2 clean it up, just plain BULLsh!t