Paul Low as marketing gloss for Cabinet

– Fakry Osman
May 15, 2013

MAY 15 – The appointment of Datuk Paul Low as a minister today appears to be another symbolic gesture in the fight against corruption and to promote transparency in the Barisan Nasional (BN) government.

On the face of it the Transparency International president’s appointment is a nod towards how serious the government is in tackling graft.

But is it?

After all Datuk Seri Idris Jala was also made a minister when Datuk Seri Najib Razak came to power to tackle the same problems.

Now after the GTPs, ETPs and many other acronyms, and not to mention the hundreds of millions of ringgit spent, the BN government is still seen as a failure in solving issues like corruption, rising crime and government bureaucracy.

So what can Low add to the mix?

Also by retaining personalities like Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor and naming former Perlis Mentri Besar Shahidan Kassim, the PM seems to be sending a mix message to say the least.

Shahidan is an old style political warlord representing the politics of the past who once urged the government to ban Facebook.

Tengku Adnan is a man linked to the VK Lingam judge fixing scandal.

So by appeasing the party warlords, Najib is now offering us the latest puppet he can parade around to tell Malaysians that BN is reforming.

Really?

If there is one thing the results of Election 2013 should have revealed to BN is that Malaysians are not buying cosmetic attempts at reform.

Please Mr PM, we have had enough of symbolic gestures.

* Fakry Osman reads The Malaysian Insider.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 8:56 am

Uhh.. Najib’s Administration IS Marketing Gloss.

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 8:56 am

I always see mca ministers as wallpaper in umno’s grand palace. Serving only to decorate the place. Now, will we get to witness paul low being turned into paintwork for the facade of umno’s grand palace?

My suspicion: But of course. Umno has always been tuan – the Tuan Rempit McBullys and everyone else are their Hamba deBullys. So dont expect the Tuans to listen to their Hambas. Never.

Good to see zero mca and gerakan ministers. Todya is the day when these two groups of good for nothing idiots got buried – no, got cremated.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 9:20 am

Can Paul Low hold on to his principles and not toe the party line? I think this is the question in everybody’s mind.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 9:25 am

By appeasing the party warlords, Najib’s grasp on Umno presidency is secured!

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 9:41 am

Badly remixed, stale alphabet soup + a bit of rasam + a bit of red bean soup + soup buntut = ‘Transformational’ Cabinet.

You might get ‘high’ on it. Probably not. Diarrhoea more likely.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 10:15 am

In the entire kitchen cabinet I see only one (1) choice piece of “carrot” (Paul Low), the rest are ‘expired condiments’ making up the bulk in the pot.

Now, how would it be possible for 1 lonely carrot to flavour a potful of stew?

Paul Low, it’s over to you. Don’t let us add pressure on your shoulders. Just do what you have got to do. ANd if the kitchen cabinet gets too hot, tell us what’s boiling, ok!

7. #7 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 10:34 am

How Low can Najib go?

How can he stoop so Low?

8. #8 by Winston on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 10:44 am

Well, well, well.
    The overridding factors in all of the ruling party’s actions are to keeping the gravy train moving.
    And to keep it moving, everything will be done to thwart any factors that will endanger it.
    And judging by the childish, scurrilous methods used in the incessant attacks on the opposition, even well after the recent GE, they will do everything to neutralise them.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 10:54 am

That Tunku must be frustrated because he was overlooked even though he bodeks a lot. He looks too much Thai I think or maybe he is just all gas.

10. #10 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 11:07 am

yhsiew in one comment above asked whether paul low could resist toeing the party line.

Actually paul is party-less. So really he has no party line to toe except his own line of conscience and justice.

The 1billion ringgit question (any smaller, umno would lose interest) is whether paul – being a lone ranger in the land of idiots with oversize ego and greed – is strong enough to stand up for justice, equality, transparency and good governance.

Lets be reminded that Zaid attempted the same. And he had to resign in protest.

Lets hope paul has better luck fighting those idiots.

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 11:33 am

Ah, I see that Najib is now following my advice to keep his friends close, and his enemies even closer. Paul Low will resign out of frustration within 12 months.

12. #12 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 11:42 am

I mean, what does a clown like Waytha-whogivesadamn do in the cabinet ? Provide advice on fasting and protest movements ?

13. #13 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 12:54 pm

WOW! Chua SOLD DAD, you play lip services! In fact, MCA is dying of holding any Cabinet position…

14. #14 by boh-liao on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 1:06 pm

Aisay man, at least 2 MCA MPs really lou nua, dying 2 b ministers (they happy 2 know dat AhcheatKor reserved two seats 4 MCA)

Transparency International – Wasn’t TAAI a former president of TI? Is PL sama sama with TAAI? Gone case lor

15. #15 by rockdaboat on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 1:45 pm

Sometimes I really pity this so-called President of a party. A run down old hack who can’t wait to plp his master and nobody in his party listens to him!

16. #16 by drngsc on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 2:38 pm

Why Paul? Why?
    Why be a window dress for UMNO? You should know better.

Can I good apple change a basket of rotten apple, or can the basket of rotten apple change the good apple? I suppose time will tell. Common sense can tell now.
    Why Paul? Why?

Looks like TI is a breeding ground for “Turn Over International”. Remember that Tungku A, also from TI?

All the best to you Paul. Swimming against the tide is difficult and many a strong man have been swept away by the stronger tide.

Why Paul? Why?

17. #17 by DAP man on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 7:01 pm

By accepting this post Low has mortgaged his integrity. He must have two horns to succeed. Why should a decent man join these sullied, immoral and despicable beings in BN.
    No UMNO man will ever stoop to a Chinese Minister. Try to get an UMNO leaders and vicious allegations will be leveled against him. Low will be disgraced. Just you watch.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 8:30 pm

At least, syiok 2 b a minister mah, even a YES man, better than many drooling MCA, Gerakan, MIC kaki

19. #19 by kaifoong on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 8:35 pm

I hope Paul is not being threatened (like Bala), or bribed (to join the gang).

20. #20 by tuahpekkong on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 9:16 pm

Paul Low witnessed Najib sign the Election Integrity Pledge. What difference did it make? The election was the dirtiest ever. After the Chinese had chosen the candidates of their choice in good faith, they were subjected to insult, intimidation, insinuation and slander. Has Najib forgotten what he had signed? I think Paul Low is just Najib’s veneer of determination to fight corruption and promote transparency.

21. #21 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 16 May 2013 - 9:24 pm

Oops!!! Chua SOLD DAD, I uncounted you in… Lies over lies, cheats over cheats, sucks over sucks and etc-etc…