Kit Siang says would weigh coalition rule if BN embraces Pakatan manifesto

By Ida Lim
May 10, 2013

KUALA LUMPUR, May 10 ― Pakatan Rakyat (PR) may consider working together with the Barisan Nasional (BN) to form a coalition government if the former’s election manifesto is endorsed by its rival, DAP’s Lim Kit Siang today said.

Stressing that this proposal was merely his personal opinion, Lim said there would only be “basis for discussion” with BN if the ruling coalition “endorses” PR’s common policy framework and manifesto for the 13th general election.

“On that, we made it very clear, it’s my personal view, because this is something which can only be officially responded by the Pakatan Rakyat leadership,” said the veteran leader from DAP, one of three parties in the PR pact.

Think-tank ASLI had on Wednesday proposed a broad-based BN-PR coalition government, a suggestion that comes on the back of BN’s reduced support in the national polls on Sunday.

The BN won a weaker majority with only 133 federal seats after it ceded an additional seven seats to PR, failing to meet its stated aim of forming the federal government with a two-thirds parliamentary majority that needed a 148-seat win.

Lim also reiterated his stand yesterday that DAP would not join BN to replace MCA.

“I have not advocated or agreed that DAP should join BN to replace MCA,” he said firmly, having said that the party’s objectives is to fight for the interests of all ethnic groups in Malaysia.

Both MCA and DAP are widely regarded as Chinese-based parties, although the latter pointed out that it has a multiracial composition and its membership was not restricted by race.

Lim today again pressed the BN administration to give Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman a government post, following the four-term Johor mentri besar’s defeat in the Gelang Patah parliamentary contest.

When pitching his proposal to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, he said that Abdul Ghani was still able to contribute to the country.

“I would today suggest to Najib that he should be appointed as a senator, as a minister in the Prime Minister’s Department to take the place of Nor Yakcop, to be able to contribute to economic planning and development of the country.”

Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop was in charge of the Economic Planning Unit (EPU) during Najib’s first term as the country’s prime minister.

“I hope this proposal by us will not be sabotaged by Umno leaders,” Lim said when saying that politicians across the political divide should come together for the nation’s benefit.

1. #1 by Godfather on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 7:19 pm

Giving up the right to steal is not an option for UMNO. Don’t even bother. They will just drag you into endless discussions and then put the blame on you for “unreasonable behaviour”.

2. #2 by Winston on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 8:52 pm

LKS, don’t even think of collaborating with these devils!
    Haven’t you have enough of their devilish acts!!!!
    They are unforgivable!
    Haven’t they put you and LGE through the grinder before??
    What you are doing means condoning all the thieving, robberies, scamming and scandals of the scums all these decades!
    And collaborating with such people makes one an accessory!!!!
    Do you want to be near the ink pot and be stained black???
    What the heck is going on in Malaysian politics???

3. #3 by Godfather on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 9:14 pm

Don’t ever let Teoh Beng Hock and Ahmad Sarbani die in vain. The rakyat will not be forgiving if you folks ever make a pact with the devil.

4. #4 by bruno on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 9:21 pm

If Kit Siang or the DAP had any intentions of joining the BN,they would have done it decades ago.And the DAP veterans would have been ministers many terms over.To even think that Kit Siang and the DAP would join BN now would be an insult to one’s intelligence.

5. #5 by good coolie on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 10:48 pm

One party has corruption as a way of life; Pakatan does not. Itek dengan ayam boleh kahwin kah?

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 10:48 pm

///Pakatan Rakyat (PR) may consider working together with the Barisan Nasional (BN) to form a coalition government if the former’s election manifesto is endorsed by its rival, ///. I ask why should the way BN’s manifesto crafts its intentions – and whether PR endorses its contents- be the defining yardstick for PR to consider working together? What is a manifesto but a mere declaration of the intentions, motives, ideological positions or views? Can one not declare intentions on one course and proceed on another opposite course? Isn’t ‘1 Malaysia’ or Economic Transformation Program a manifesto of sorts of Najib/BN and did it deter any acquiescence with Perkasa’s actions? On the other hand does the existing BN’s manifesto mention anything about Ketuanan and if not isn’t it not a prevailing ideology of many within ruling party? So what’s so great about how a manifesto is worded or sounded? Isn’t deeds and felt experience with a bunch of politicians the truer yardstick than whatever lofty aspirations and intentions declared in mere words ?

7. #7 by pwcheng on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 10:56 pm

Hello brother Kit, You will be making the biggest mistake in your life if you were to have anything to do with UMNO let alone forming a coalition government if the PR election manifesto is endorsed by UMNO. You are a very experience and well respected politician who by now must know the smell of UMNO better than anybody else. To even suggest that and saying that it’s your personal view is a slap to your own self as its unthinkable that DAP wants to run along with the devil let alone sleeping with them. I can rest assure you, if you go into their den, they will gobble you up. PAS has experienced that when they were with UMNO. Pas was again lured in 2008 but my top respect for them to stand firm. To me I think its best you do not even mention that you want to have any link with them as you will lose most if not all respect that you had earned all these years with your sweat and tears. In fact your suggestion is setting a very dangerous trend (hope you are aware of that) and can give food for thought to our PAKATAN friends or even some of their members including DAP to jump ship because if a hardened leader like you can have such ideas why not them. Just close that idea and solidify your commitment with PKR and PAS to fight another battle in 4-5 years time. Meanwhile its better that we prepare ourselves to fight the election fraud. Staying together with Pakatan is a better choice and I am sure many, including some from the BN will support my comment/suggestionthat we need you to check on those devils instead of them turning you into one of them. Just do not trust UMNO for if you are not like them you cannot be with them. That is why all the other parties in BN are just conformists to the UMNO’s way.

8. #8 by good coolie on Friday, 10 May 2013 - 11:59 pm

I don’t know much about politics, especially the politics of Sabah and Sarawak. So excuse this question, that sounds silly: Is it possible for Pakatan to partner the Sabahans and Sarawakians?

9. #9 by burn on Saturday, 11 May 2013 - 1:50 am

sir, do what is best! have faith in you!
    you’ve gone thru hell, and me just always behind the wall to make comments!

10. #10 by CTan1964 on Saturday, 11 May 2013 - 4:54 am

I’ve been pondering on similar idea but more.

Recognition that need to be given:
    1) BN need to settle down,
    2) PKR must not be forgotten,
    3) We Malaysian need HARMONY, and
    4) TDM need to rest.

Why not condition that some capable PKR’s members be part of DAP/BN.

I know my thoughts may be selfish and perhaps not acceptable to some/many that had supported PR in general. But what better solution do we have???

Honestly, I have been wondering what is the best solution and someone need to think out of the box then mere challenging.

Remember UBAH and BERSIH from within.

With Love and for Peace.
    May god be with us all.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Saturday, 11 May 2013 - 7:09 am

No deal!!!

12. #12 by boh-liao on Saturday, 11 May 2013 - 7:19 am

PR better REINVENT themselves, reflect, n improve on their weaknesses 2 topple UmnoB/BN in GE14
    Hv CHANGE AGENTS in rural areas 2 educate folks there
    Encourage their supporters 2 reverse migrate out of urban n sub-urban areas (change addresses n re-register as voters in areas of small number constituencies 2 vote 4 PR candidates; 1 vote there is worth 6 or more votes in urban or sub-urban constituencies)
    No point winning by 50,000 or 200,000 votes in certain urban or sub-urban constituencies, still only 1 MP

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 11 May 2013 - 8:32 am

They have KJ talking to FOREIGNERS about UMNO/BN fighting corruption, crime, cost of living (BUT NOT judicial reform). KJ also talks about building trust again..

If they want to talk about corruption, crime and cost of living shouldn’t it be with US THE RAKYAT FIRST? The fact that KJ talks about building trust RATHER than actual acknowledgement that something is wrong with UMNO/BN shows they still don’t get Pakatan Manifesto.

Everything they do is about fighting back without admitting the fundamental problem of UMNO/BN..They simply can’t even begin so long as Mahathir is still around..

Their no 1 problem is Mahathir whether they want to admit it or not..They know. THey simply think they can wait it out until he dies. But the fact is when he does, it will be too long…