What else do Chinese want?

by Allan CF Goh

This is my personal view, spoken out of my soul and conscience. Though I sincerely believe many intelligent and fair-minded Malaysians, including Malayans, Sabahans and Sarawakians, share the same sentiment, it remains my personal conviction.

Merdeka came in 1957, while I was still in an English medium school during the 50’s. Then life was very slow and simple. True values were the basis of one’s education and upbringing, cutting across the racial lines. Indian, Malay and Chinese classmates mixed around as fully accepted Malayans, without being aware of, or awkward about our different colours. We visited each other’s home, and sometimes ate the food offered, without hesitation. Some may recall, we even called each other “racist” names as endearment, in real friendship without malice. No offence was taken. I remember some Malay classmates even took Bible Knowledge in their Form 3 Examination, with the full blessing of their families. They still remain good, devout Muslims.

When merdeka arrived, all communities welcomed it with great hope and unity. Merdeka was pledged to all, without exception. Reading the Straits Times and Straits Echo in the school library (we could not afford our own newspapers at home) during breaks, we were constantly assured by the then Alliance leaders from UMNO, MCA and MIC, that all races would be treated equally.

However ‘special rights’ were necessary for the poor Malays to help them bridge the social and economic gap. Non-Malay citizens readily accepted this concept because it was never meant to be a racial weapon of deprivation. Senior politicians and civil servants often defined ‘special rights’ thus: All things being equal, the Malay candidate will be given preference to the government’s largesse. However the best candidate, be he/she a Malay, Chinese or Indian, will be chosen otherwise.

Then came May 13, a black day for all Malaysians. This nefarious event was engineered by some racist Malay politicians to establish Malay supremacy. ‘Special rights’ become Malay rights. Aids go to people with the best connection, not those with the greatest need. Rabid patronage becomes the order of the day; so is corruption.

What else do the Chinese want? I, for one, want a fair, just social system, where government support is given to those who most require help, be he/she a poor Indian, Malay, Chinese or Dusun/Kadazan. Aid should be predicated on the degree of poverty, and not any other extraneous consideration. I believe in a social system that can develop the potential of its citizens in full, without being turned into a racial dilemma.

What else do I want? I want an impeccable justice system where wronged citizens can seek redress and fairness from unconscionable actions of the powers that be. I believe in a justice true and absolute in its manifestation, free from any unwanted influence, free from any immorality. I believe in a judiciary that is independent, that is supreme in fairness, so as to check and balance any wantonness from any party.

I believe in a citizenry that is based on loyalty and equality, sharing an equal place under the Malaysian sun, all pulling and pushing in the same direction to make the country the best. I believe in the Malaysian oneness, sharing the Malaysian responsibility, and dream of greatness.
There should never be any lesser Malaysians in this land, or any master race lording over an underclass.

Lastly, I want a government of the people, by the people, for the people. I want a government that is answerable to its citizens; not a government by ‘divine rights’. A good government is based on capability, integrity and morality, and not befuddled by racism and comunalism.
When the government is not performing to the citizens’ aspirations, we must have the absolute right to change it through a clean, untroubled election.

I, as a Chinese Malaysian, do not ask for more than these basic decencies of my government. These wants have nothing to do with race. These are just prerequisites of good governance.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 8:38 am

In a democracy, voters have the absolute right to vote for a certain political party which they think will bring benefits to them. Who are we to question them, “Why didn’t you support us, what else do you want?”

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 8:46 am

What else do I want?
    Really.
    Well since you ask.
    I want to be able to cheat like jib.
    I want to own a bank. Yeah. A bank.
    I want 10,000 APs every year.
    I want a 20ct diamond ring for my mistress and 40ct diamond ring for my wife.
    I want to be a Mr Ten Per Cent.
    I want to be able to condemn anyone I like and in any way I wish. Maybe, send them to macc even.
    Yeah. That all I want.
    Short list.

3. #3 by cseng on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 8:51 am

What else can BN offer? Other than racial and religion extremism….

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 8:57 am

Someone in DAP and PAS better take Anwar aside and ask him if he is planning to make another go in 5 years. Its clear he wants to and its clear PR supporters want to. BUT HE cannot make light of UMNO/BN ability to attack him on the matter. NOT watching the flank of PAS was HIS FAULT and he don’t want to compound it by doing another one by announcing his continue leadership WITHOUT significant change..

Like it nor not, Anwar has to name a HEIR APPARENT, he need to fix the leadership of PR even in PAS first before announcing whether he is going to lead again..

5. #5 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 9:46 am

What Else Chinese Want???

All politician more so BN know much better than any one else.

For the wrong reason they all purposely use it to turn on the Chinese as anti Malay etc. Anti Malays rights? No. Chinese never questions what other race rights ?

But we do reject policies that enrich only the cronies, the abuse of power robbing the money allocated to assist the Malays but end up in the deep pocket of the cronies.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 11:03 am

Najib claims we are the best democracy in the world. We are free to vote. We vote. Now he complains we did not vote for him. A-H.

7. #7 by balance88 on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 12:44 pm

It is quite a funny democracy here. When politicians lose, they asked what more do we want instead of asking what more they could have done to win the votes. They should do self examinations. They are projecting that they are the master of the people but the people should be the master as we vote them in.

Gone are the days when Malays, Chinese and Indians eat together, play together and study together. During my time, that was what we did. Until today, my Malay friends still call some of us “Cinapek” and we all take it lightheartedly, in jest and have a good laugh over it.

Similarly, we too have names for them and our Indian friends and they too laugh over it. But if we were to use those names today, we will probably start a racial riot. Those were the days when we grouped together to visit each others house during Hari Raya, CNY and Deepavali. It was truly muhibbah for us.

During holidays, we go on short trips like to Singapore, together, Malays, Chinese and Indians. We accommodated each other in food and the key was understanding each others culture and adopting a give and take mentality that kept the friendship going until today.

Sadly, you don’t witness such things happening nowadays. People get very sensitive over the slightest comment. We need strong political leadership and political will and commitment to bring back the truly Malaysian spirit.

To the politicians, ask not what we want but what more you can do to win back the hearts and mind of the people!

8. #8 by bush on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 2:10 pm

Dari UTUSAN : Apa yang Cina Mahu?

1) Cina mahu harga petrol/toll/TNB/Astro/Gula turun.
    2) Cina Mahu harga kereta turun.
    3) Cina mahu harga rumah turun.
    4) Cina mahu kadar jenayah turun.
    5) Cina mahu gejala rasuah dihapuskan.
    6) Cina mahu hidup aman damai.
    7) Cina mahu cost sara hidup turun.
    8) Cina mahu bisnes mereka jalan.
    9) Cina mahu keadilan.
    10) Cina mahu cost pendidikan percuma
    11) Cina mahu harga barang rendah.
    12) Cina mahu keadilan untuk mencari pembunuh Teoh BH/Sabrini/Kugan/Atantuya.

Semua yang Cina mahu, Melayu juga mahu, semua rakyat Malaysia mahu. Hanya Blanga saja tak faham.

9. #9 by on cheng on Thursday, 9 May 2013 - 8:37 pm

Yes, inter race relation were much better 50 years ago, in 1963 when Malaysia was formed,
    why so? an honest answer is not difficult find !