Najib throws more election goodies

Anisah Shukri| March 25, 2013
Free Malaysia Today

The prime minister announces four changes to the 40,000 staff of seven statutory bodies ahead of the polls.

KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak today announced sweeping benefits for the 40,000 staff of seven government statutory bodies, ahead of the general election which must be held within weeks.

The benefits to be given to LTAT (Lembaga Tabung Angkatan Tentera), LHDN (Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri), EPF (Employees Provident Fund), Tabung Haji, Perkeso, Perhebat (Armed Forces Veteran Affairs Corporation), and Bank Simpanan Nasional are:

*a pension fund set up for all personnel;

*fixed housing allowances equivalent to that of civil servants;

*gratituities for retirees; and

*streamlining employer contribution towards the EPF.

The benefits come in the wake of Najib’s announcement yesterday that the government would award 10,000 individual permits to taxi drivers, in what can be seen as a last-minute attempt to woo voters before polls are held.

When concluding his announcement today, Najib told the cheering audience of about 8,000 workers that they knew what must be done “soon”, in one of his many hints at the general election throughout his speech.

“I have fulfilled my promises to you, so when the times comes, can you fulfil your promise?” he asked them. His question was greeted by enthusiastic cries of agreement from the sea of red before him.

The audience, comprising the staff of the seven statutory bodies, held up placards that read “I love PM”. They started stomping, cheering and applauding before Najib delivered his speech, in obvious anticipation of the goodies he would announce for them.

At the beginning of his speech, Najib explained that the government’s philosphy was to prosper the economy before pleasing the rakyat.

He said the country’s current robust economy was the reason why the government was now able to “share” the profits with the rakyat.

“If we don’t generate the economy first, [everything will be] destroyed… When we develop the economy, we are able to share with the workers, the rakyat.

“That’s why I stand before you today with confidence. My conscience is clear. This is based on our success story. We are not a failed state, our country’s economy has not fallen the way it almost did in 1998, and now the person responsible wishes to become prime minister,” said Najib, referring to Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim.

In a veiled swipe at Pakatan Rakyat, he said the government would not take a populist stance and give all that the rakyat asked for as that would be a recipe for disaster.

“When we do something, it is not just to fulfil short-term needs that could destroy the future of our grandchildren.

“So, ladies and gentlemen, if we want the success to continue – and we want to share the success together – then when the time comes, you know what to do,” said Najib.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 7:36 am

Najib’s uncontrolled spending will soon drive the country into bankruptcy.

2. #2 by PoliticoKat on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 7:58 am

Robert Mugabe drove Zimbabwe into hyperinflation by increasing the salary of the civil service and the army, without actually having any money to pay them. He ended up printing money. This led to inflation.

Najib is just inviting another round of price increases.

As the permit to be taxi driver? Anyone should be able to obtain a permit to be a taxi driver after the appropriate exams. The fact this is not so is another sign of monopoly by the powers that be.

3. #3 by Sallang on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 8:02 am

To the 40,000 staff of seven statutory bodies, take what has been promised, but you still have to use your brain when comes to election time.
    Why do you think, only near election time, that we are being given goodies, like BR1M and so on?
    So that, when you vote for them, they will have control over your destiny, give you that hundred ringgit, but they reap the millions.

4. #4 by balance88 on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 10:11 am

When the Pakatan manifesto was launched, every so-called intellectuals were questioning where the financing is coming from. We spend and spend but where is the revenue coming from? Well, now BN is literally throwing money at the people in a spend, spend and spend drive and my question is, where is the revenue coming from to finance all these spendings?

This is not a pre-planned spending spree where economic planners can try to balance up the spending with some planned revenues be it this fiscal year or in the coming years. But this is a desperate move to cling on to power and this will have serious implications for the country’s economy down the years. Perhaps we can expect an increased tax?

5. #5 by tuahpekkong on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 3:23 pm

Looking at the way things are going, don’t be surprised if our public debt, currently at around 53% of GDP, races ahead to exceed 60% of GDP by the end of the year, excluding debts owed by GLCs. Looks like the PM is prepared to go to any lengths to win votes.

6. #6 by good coolie on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 10:23 pm

To keep the populace of Rome satisfied, the emperors of Rome would throw bread to them at public functions. They would also entertain people with circuses (gladiatorial combats and horse/chariot races), just like the BR1M and the PSY concert in Malaysia. Keep throwing food, Emperor, its like throwing food to chicken, to quote one old politician of the opposition front.

7. #7 by chengho on Tuesday, 26 March 2013 - 11:15 pm

suddenly Pakatan silent

8. #8 by monsterball on Wednesday, 27 March 2013 - 12:57 am

Suddenly Chengho speaks!!
    When he speaks….you listen.

9. #9 by Noble House on Wednesday, 27 March 2013 - 1:05 am

All cheers now for the 40,000. Margin is called when it hits limit down. Simple mathematics. When the time comes, you know what to do?