No one to speak up for the Tunku

– The Malaysian Insider
Jan 19, 2013

JAN 19 – It is a measure of how far Umno/MCA/MIC have fallen that not one of its members has leapt to the defence of Tunku Abdul Rahman in the wake of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s self-serving statement on the award of a million citizenships in the early days of Malaya.

Even a primary student can see that there is an ocean of difference between the award of citizenship by the Tunku Abdul Rahman and the insidious manner in which senior members of the Mahathir administration in the 1990s gave ICs to illegals in Sabah so that they could vote in the state elections and pervert the electoral system.

Tunku Abdul Rahman did not give citizenships to Chinese and Indians under the counter. It was an open exercise and it was not done to circumvent any election.

But just listen to the treason at play in Sabah since the 1990s to keep Barisan Nasional (BN) in power and dilute the position of the Kadazandusuns.

Just look at the phenomenal jump in Sabah’s population and the number of foreigners in the state holding blue or citizenship identity cards.

Money and ICs were given by Dr Mahathir’s acolytes without regard for national security and the sanctity of the electoral system.

It is vintage Dr Mahathir that when caught in a sticky situation he tries to deflect the blame.

But to try and justify the actions of his administration by dragging in the Father of Independence is just dishonest. And to even suggest a Royal Commission of Inquiry (RCI), be it in jest or sarcasm, is plainly undermining and insulting all those who became Malayans and Malaysians because they lived here long enough or were born here.

This is to be expected. Didn’t Dr Mahathir do the same during the infamous VK Lingam RCI where his role for subverting the judiciary was highlighted.

But what happened to the voices of MCA and MIC and Umno?

Aren’t their sensibilities troubled at least by the attempt to sully Tunku Abdul Rahman’s name and paint the legitimate attempt to give citizenship to Chinese and Indians like what was done in Sabah.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 19 January 2013 - 11:05 pm

Is everyone in BN still afraid of the big, bad wolf and ‘devil’ Mahathir ?

I suppose after 22 years of his domination everyone in BN has been rendered permanently dumb and impotent.

2. #2 by gofortruth on Saturday, 19 January 2013 - 11:16 pm

How sad indeed not even one from MAC, MIC & UMNO stand up for Tunku abdul Rahman!
    Dr. Mahathir is an utter disgrace to Malaysia.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 19 January 2013 - 11:41 pm

How about the the ex-Senator Tunku? Has he got nothing to say about this and all the revelations at the RCIII in Sabah ? Maybe he is cowed too. And brainwashed.

4. #4 by john on Saturday, 19 January 2013 - 11:41 pm

You kissed his hand and asked for his forgiveness once here. Now you forgotten again, you don’t ever have the chance at all lifeafter, as he is up,up there but you’ll be down,down there; deep,deep dark,darkest tight, tightest black,black hole you dug yourself into !
    FOCUS G13 and ABU !!!

5. #5 by gofortruth on Saturday, 19 January 2013 - 11:55 pm

….During 1955 and 1956 UMNO, the MCA and the British hammered out a constitutional settlement for a principle of equal citizenship for all races. In exchange, the MCA agreed that Malaya’s head of state would be drawn from the ranks of the Malay Sultans, that Malay would be the official language, and that Malay education and economic development would be promoted and subsidised. In effect this meant that Malaya would be run by the Malays, particularly since they continued to dominate the civil service, the army and the police, but that the Chinese and Indians would have proportionate representation in the Cabinet and the parliament, would run those states where they were the majority, and would have their economic position protected. The difficult issue of who would control the education system was deferred until after independence. This came on 31 August 1957, when Tunku Abdul Rahman became the first Prime Minister of independent Malaya…..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Malaysia
    —————–
    So it was a constitutional settlement in transparency under broad day light.
    Mahathir has to hide for more than 20 years before he admits the Project IC or Project M done in secrecy & under the cover of the night.
    Shame on him to insult our Fathet of Independence, Tunku Abdul Rahman.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 1:01 am

No one 2 say: Listen, listen, listen, ……..
    No one 2 say: Sumpah, sumpah, sumpah, ……

Veri strange 1, only in 1M’sia, a man n a woman declared we swore we did not do dis or dat, we r innocent 1
    They no heard of Armstrong meh?
    If they so sure they did not do dis or dat 1, Y they NOT SUE d pants off ppl who wrote abt them
    Y carpet trader claims daily dat he knew what they did many summers ago

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 1:09 am

Mhatathir and his reasons for “Citizenship for votes” says one thing:

That which is done under the cloak and darkness shall be shouted form the top of Mount Kinabalu and echoes throughout every hill and vale in Malaysia and beyond.

Now the world knows Mahathir is evil to the core, an extrem opportunist and schemer, and desperately wicked. He is downright cunning and what he did truly stinks to the high heavens.

Such men should suffer the fate of Lucifer and his fallen minions….and you know more about Lucifer than I wish to say here.

8. #8 by john on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 1:29 am

Whichever angle one looked at it UMNO IS TOTALLY FULL OF HISPOCRISY. In the hour of need no one within even attempt to defend one of their own (whom is defenceless) , THEIR FOUNDER from being simply (most nonsense point) sullied and in the most uncalled for manner by a MM (race,only in the context/issue raise here.).
    Even is actually with the ‘B’ now, is still has to be fully back by letters U,M,N,O to form UMNO B – is just plain Dr.MAD psychopath style.
    Another event was the day of Tunku’s demise, it struck me (a non-malay, in this context again) as a non event as if it was a ‘disgrace’ (the/in constrast, considering if he panders to Dr.MAD and sully himself) to have him amongst them, again mainly due to this same MM.( in same context again).
    UMNO B is all talk this, tokok and all RINGGIT TALK ! PORDAH TOKOK !
    ABU IS THE ONLY WAY COMES G13 !

9. #9 by Noble House on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 4:52 am

The usual display of elegance silence is a common malady of these political eunuchs when it comes to issues affecting Umno’s interests. To be ignorant of one’s ignorance is the malady of the ignorant.

This is a good opportunity for Najib to prove he is indeed the Prime Minister for all Malaysians as proclaimed, or just a PM of Umno.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 4:56 am

///But what happened to the voices of MCA and MIC and Umno?///

There are still many Chinese and Indians born in Malaysia who have yet to receive their blue ICs after staying here for decades. It would not be fair to these people if the government gave out blue ICs to foreigners who had only been here for three years.

MCA and MIC should emerge from their TIMIDITY and fight for their compatriots.

11. #11 by chengho on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 6:27 am

lets do TAR day

12. #12 by sotong on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 8:01 am

This is the greatest insult to non Malays after 50 years of significant contribution to the country.

He is saying that non Malays cheated before independent to gain citizenship and this betrayal by granting instant ICs to millions of illegal has correct the unfairness.

Some Muslims’ loyalty to their fellow Muslims from other countries are stronger than to their own citizens, including bumi.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 8:09 am

“self-serving”? “vintage”? “deflect”? “dishonest”? – These hardly even come close to telling the real story. The only word that is close is “insulting”..

I would add these – “Vindictive”, “Malicious”, “Hateful”, “Psychotic”, “Mad” and even “Insane”..

The man should be locked up in an asylum and the keys thrown away…

14. #14 by good coolie on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 11:49 am

I think Dr. M is bargaining for one of his sons to be in a top position in government. After that, he will give his body and his mind the rest they deserve. Meanwhile, he will keep entering one fray after another.
    Tungku is a towering Malay; Dr. Mahatir is worthy of contempt as a politician. This said, I give my best wishes to Dr. M, especially to his good health. The same heartfelt wishes to his family.

15. #15 by Winston on Sunday, 20 January 2013 - 1:31 pm

When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out.