RCIII in Sabah – Integrity of Election Commission and National Registration Dept? (4)

‘We gave Muslim foreigners IDs to vote’
Free Malaysia Today
FMT Staff | January 16, 2013

Sabah NRD director tells the RCI that he was personally instructed by Megat Junid Megat Ayub to recruit new voters.

KOTA KINABALU: A former National Registration Department (NRD) officer told an inquiry here that he took part in a project to give foreigners here identity cards so that they could vote in an election in the 1990s.

Mohd Nasir Sugip, who was detained under the now repealed Internal Security Act (ISA), told the Royal Commission of Inquiry (RCI) he was part of a top secret operation dubbed ‘Ops Durian Buruk’ (Operation Rotten Durian) on the instruction of his bosses in the department.

He claimed the operation ran from 1992 to 1995 and said the instruction to furnish the foreigners with identity cards so that they could vote came from the state Election Commission (EC).

“At that time, Sabah SPR director Wan Ahmad handed over a list of 16,000 names to be made into ‘bumiputera Islam’ voters.

“My boss, Sabah NRD director Ramli Kamarudin, then verbally told me to execute this project,” he said.

Mohd Nasir said three other individuals were present when the instruction was issued but their names could not be immediately ascertained.

He said he followed the instructions given to him and recruited other officers at the district level for the operation.

Based on a list of names provided by the EC, foreigners were issued with new identity card numbers that contained their date of birth, photographs and names and all were mostly from Sandakan, Tawau, Sempoerna and other parts of the state, he said.

“The list consisted of Filipinos and Indonesians who were Muslim and aged above 21 years,” Mohd Nasir told the inquiry.

‘We planted voters’

These individuals were then planted as voters in various constituencies around Sabah with the objective of boosting the number of Muslim voters in the state.

“An example is in the state assembly seat of Sugut and the parliamentary seat of Kinabatangan. We planted about 800 voters in Sugut and in the next general election. the result was in favour of BN. The candidate won by 79 votes,” he said.

Mohd Nasir said all he was doing was following orders and he did not receive any payment for taking part in the operation. He was detained under the Internal Security Act, for three years from May 30, 1995.

The former NRD officer’s evidence flies in the face of repeated denials by top state leaders including former chief minister Harris Salleh that there was no concerted effort to provide immigrants with citizenship in exchange for votes for the BN as has long been alleged.

Meanwhile, NRD director, Ramli Kamaruddin, backed up Mohd Nasir’s claim saying he embarked on recruiting ‘new’ voters after personally receiving instructions from then-deputy home minister Megat Junid Megat Ayub.

“I received a call two weeks before the 1994 Sabah state election to meet Megat Junid at a hotel. I was instructed to help to ensure a state government endorsed by the federal government would win,” he told the inquiry.

He said he was instructed to issue to immigrants receipts for identity cards containing the details of people who were already in the electoral roll but had never voted.

“I was instructed to issue NRD receipts using the name and IC number of voters already in the electoral roll just to allow them to vote,” he said.

1. #1 by drngsc on Wednesday, 16 January 2013 - 9:03 pm

We know. We all know. BUT because we belive in democracy, and change thru the ballot box, we still have to beat them despite their cheating. Let us all work very very hard. Get all to vote. If all eligible voters vote, we have a good chance despite all the cheating going on.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. KL 112 is over. GE 13 is coming soon. Maybe end February. Please work hard, very hard. The finish line is near. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. CHANGE WE WILL

2. #2 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 16 January 2013 - 10:28 pm

Change needs good strategies:-
    http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/opinion/2013/01/16/strategies-to-ensure-electoral-victory/

May I add:-

1)Each Pakatan coalition party should think & behave like a responsible member of a new federal government. On national issues, you can no longer affort to shoot as and when you like like a loose canon.

2)Pakatan Rakyat should have a common national platform to deal & speak on national issues based on common agreement.

3) Focus on vital issues eg. BN Corruptions, BN frauds,BN wastes, Social welfare, Pakatan successes etc etc.

3)Learn to protect one another and bear with one another’s weaknesses.

4)Be truthful to the nation and Change will surely come.

All the best to Pakatan Rakyat!!!!!

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:36 am

Maybe the scam still continues till today. Remember the many regular bus loads of foreigners sent from Johor to the Klang Valley last year and protected by UMNO / Police / NRD ?

They were housed in some resorts to attend ‘training courses’, remember ?

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:42 am

George Soros did not recruit foreigners to become voters and determine the political landscape of this country.

Only local and UMNO people like Aziz Shamsuddin and Megat Junid did this dastardly thing, according to the RCIII witnesses. UMNO devils were responsible.

Is this scam still going on in the peninsula with GE13 so close ?

5. #5 by vsp on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:45 am

The setting up of the RCIII is Najib’s rearguard offensive against Mahathir. Najib knows that there is a plot by master schemer, Mahathir to topple him, so if Mahathir wants to kill him off then he will have to move fast and strike first. Brilliant checkmate!

6. #6 by chengho on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 2:24 am

Making movie eh

7. #7 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 2:32 am

WHO r d TRAITORS who put our national security 2 risk n who cheated rakyat of their democratic right?

8. #8 by Noble House on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 2:45 am

We are going to witness the same modus operandi over here in the Peninsula this GE13. In fact, it’s already in the pipeline. Apart from those illegals here, there are millions of our very own ‘absent voters’ who have been living abroad for years but had never voted. Their names are already in the electoral roll which you can check up with the SPR website. So don’t be surprised if you find ‘someone’ turning up to vote with an NRD receipt or ID card bearing the name and IC number of your son or daughter or whosoever as the case may be.

If this is not treason that these people are committing I do not know what else to call it!

9. #9 by yhsiew on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 6:03 am

EC: Listen, Listen, Listen!
    That is why we rakyat need BERSIH to redress the injustice.

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 8:23 am

Tell me how different is this from Jewish settlement in Palestine?

11. #11 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 9:00 am

So the original / authentic bumiputras of malaysia take note. This is how umno bakes fresh bumiputras.

That’s right. That also means your position and rights, as bumiputras, have watered down. Diluted. Stretched thin.

Of course both chengho and cintanegara are not bothered. They are mamak or in any case they must be umnoputras, not bumiputras.

12. #12 by tak tahan on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 10:52 am

Listen!Listen!Listen!They are the retards cum parasites of NEP products.

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 11:21 am

So these bug-gers get to walk all over Sabah with impunity.

As loyal BN voters and ‘fixed depositors’, will BN want to catch these people and deport them? Of course not. Now Sabah is overrun with possibly hundreds of thousands of loyal voters who have immunity and get to enjoy the 1Malaysia life.

Pairin Kitingan, Maximus, Dumbok and gang must be glad to know all this. Will they be witnesses in the RCIII? What will they do next?

14. #14 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 11:38 am

Blame it on a dead man. Dead man tells no tales. This is how they are going to wriggle out of this.

15. #15 by Cinapek on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 11:43 am

Even though l, like most Malaysians, had strongly suspected that BN had used dirty tactics to win elections, the confirmation at this RCI of the scope and scale of issuing identity documents and citizenship to illegals to vote for BN is mind boggling.

The testimonies that Megat Junid and Aziz Shamsuddin were directly involved, if true, must be the tip of the iceberg. All Malaysians will ask why would Megat Junid want to commit such a treasonous act unless he was acting under some instructions. And is it a coincidence that Aziz Shamsuddin also walks in the corridors of power of the BN administration? He was not a politician. It then begs the question why would he allowed his house to be used by the Sabah NRD group tasked to issue the false documents?

This whole scam stinks of a conspiracy of the highest order. And it does not take any stretch of the imagination to believe that the same dirty tricks will now used in Peninsula for all those seats that BN wants to win. But with the evidence already out in the open, Sabahans should rally together and teach BN a lesson and regain control of their own state and not allow illegals to dictate their destiny.

16. #16 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:22 pm

Who ? What ? Me ?

17. #17 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:24 pm

If they could ignore the recommendations of the RCI on Lingam-gate, they are probably going to ignore the recommendations of the RCI on Sabah-gate. Notice how quiet and compliant the mainstream press is on the ongoing proceedings ?

18. #18 by drngsc on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:42 pm

Gofortruth, with change ( UBAH ), we have a 2 party system. We have a check and balance so badly needed, after all our systems have been so badly corrupted and killed by the Mad-hat-tir guy.
    We need this check and balance, If PR does well, let us keep them. If not, let us change again. We must have a check and balance.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming. Let us keep working harder and harder. Convince more to register and to vote. First to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

19. #19 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 12:49 pm

Hmmm… If EC was in cahoot with both the NRD and umno with the aim to secure a win for umno then surely, technically and legally speaking, the win must be invalid.

So what sort of legal impact has that got if the invalidity was not discovered until long after the event?

Anyway, citizenships that were illegally granted are invalid right from the begining (i.e. invalid ab initio). And the passage of time will certainly not cure the invalidity.

So what do we do with these illegal people? Smoke them out and shoooo them away? Any room for amnesty?

20. #20 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 3:15 pm

Surely AI, while a top gou of UmnoB/BN, MUST know abt this dirty scheme
    Was he a traitor as well? Treason!
    Y no sound fr MCA, Gerakan, MIC, etc?
    Where’s d TilamKid?

21. #21 by cseng on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 3:35 pm

Listen,x3… we need another walk for this. Hang those who sell my country to the foreigners. Hang them 3x.

22. #22 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 17 January 2013 - 4:42 pm

The great umno I Talk U Just Listen-style.