Its Najib and not Zahid who should respond to Deepak’s most serious allegations at the UMNO General Assembly tomorrow

Defence Minister and UMNO Vice President Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi has said that he would respond tomorrow to allegations made by businessman Deepak Jaikishan on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s family which is also related to the high-profile and long-running Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu murder case.

It is not Zahid but Najib himself who should be responding in his winding-up speech at the 66th UMNO General Assembly tomorrow, for three reasons.

Firstly, Deepak’s allegations pertain to Najib’s family, that he had paid an undisclosed sum for the premier’s intervention to allow him to come in as a party in a RM100 million defence ministry project in 2005 when Najib was the Defence Minister – stitching a deal with a Selangor UMNO Wanita leader’s company where he would participate as a third party in the project. As Najib is not only around but chief of the pack in UMNO, he should respond as whatever Zahid could say would only be hearsay with neither credibility nor legitimacy.

Secondly, the Deepak connection with the high-profile and long-running Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu murder case. Deepak has expressed regret of his involvement in getting private investigator P Balasubramaniam to make a second Statutory Declaration which reversed an earlier one linking Najib to murdered Mongolian Altantuya. Deepak said in interviews that he got involved in Bala’s case to help “the family of the prime minister”. Again, Zahid’s response to Deepak’s allegation cannot be satisfactory as only Najib is in a position to respond with any credibility.

Thirdly, this is an acid test of Najib’s UMNO Presidential Address yesterday which had asserted that Pakatan Rakyat should not be given a chance to win the 13th General Election as UMNO/Barisan Nasional could boast of great success in governing Malaysia in the past five decades – one of which is the “efficacy of national institutions”.

The sordid Deepak/Bala/Altantuya scandals are shameful testimony, not to success but corruption and subversion, of the “efficacy of national institutions” as Malaysia would not have reached such a sorry pass in the Altantuya murder case if various national institutions, whether the Police, the Judiciary, the Attorney-General’s Chambers, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission and the Malaysian Press had maintained and upheld their integrity, independence and professionalism.

Is Najib prepared to fully vindicate himself, his government and the country by subjecting himself to a full and independent public inquiry into the sordid Deepak/Bala/Altantuya scandals and announce it at the UMNO General Assembly winding-up tomorrow?

If Najib is prepared to submit himself to a full and independent public inquiry into the Deepak/Bala/Altantuya scandals, his apology in his UMNO Presidential Speech on behalf of the UMNO leadership for any “mistake” or “oversight” would be a bona fide one. If not, his “apology” is just mere rhetoric.

1. #1 by Winston on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 7:46 pm

LKS, once PR is in Putrajaya, he’ll have no choice but to be put on trial for all his misdeeds.
    Not only him but also all his cohorts, including all those who signed lop-sided agreements with his government to bilk the Malaysian taxpayers.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 8:57 pm

This whole Altantuya-Scorpene thing makes us the LAUGHING STOCK of the entire world..

Truth is based on what evidence had been revealed on the Scorpene deal long ago, Najib should already have forced to resigned in any decent functioning jurisdiction. That it had not happened for so long just confirm we are no decent functioning jurisdiction..

BUT the Altantuya case now makes us NOTHING MORE THAN A BANANA REPUBLIC..Nothing else needed to prove how PATHETIC we are as a country. NAJIB GOT HIS ANSWER right here whether we are BROKEN or not..

On the surface, the sun still rise on the east, the stock market has not crashed, people still go to work, pay their bills etc. BUT the fact of the matter that WE ARE BROKEN and THERE IS A PRICE THAT WILL COME EVENTUALLY…Either we as citizens makes those responsible for BREAKING THIS COUNTRY or WE WILL PAY FOR IT OURSELVES EVENTUALLY – you can bet your money on it..

If UMNO/BN is not removed by the next GE, let me say this to EVERYONE pro-UMNO/BN or not – RUN.. Just anywhere because things will fall apart terribly – somethig may survive but it will fall apart. It has happen in many countries before and so it will happen here…

3. #3 by gofortruth on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 9:27 pm

These UMNO leaders are making Malays a big international laughing stock! All Malays should rise up in one voice to demand change!!!!

4. #4 by yhsiew on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 10:01 pm

Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi is so willing to help Najib. It makes one wonder whether Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi will be promoted if BN wins the 13th GE (you help me, I help you).

5. #5 by tak tahan on Saturday, 1 December 2012 - 10:11 am

Wonder if this time Reezal got a call as well from ‘oh my God’ that Zahid Hamidi was the chosen one to respond on behalf of Najib.

Hoi Reezal,quickly call God to double confirm who was the chosen one before the the winding-up speech at Umno GA today.Quick!!!

6. #6 by rjbeee on Monday, 3 December 2012 - 1:24 pm

Time is up for all this mamaks etc for they are neither here nor there.. ……lalang