Support for Ambiga’s proposal for the calling off of the “thosai” plan outside Deputy IGP’s house to initiate a virtuous circle to restore decency and civility to politics and public life

The break-in attempt at the office of Bersih 2.0 co-chairperson Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan in Damansara this morning is a matter of grave concern to rational and decent Malaysians, although full details of the attempted break-in have still to come in.

Rational and decent Malaysians want a return to the decency and civility of politics and public life, instead of growing desensitization to sense, sensibility and sensitivities as happened recently, for instance in the Perkasa “funeral rite” in front of Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s house in Penang, the setting up of a burger stall in front of Ambiga’s house at Bukit Damansara and the disgraceful and deplorable “butt” dance by a group of armed forces veteran in front of Ambiga’s house.

For this reason, I support Ambiga’s proposal, as reported in Free Malaysia Today, asking the NGO, WargaAMAN, to reconsider its decision to set up a thosai stall outside Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Khalid Abu Bakar’s house on Sunday.

While Khalid had failed his duties as a public servant when he gave his blessings to the setting up of a burger stall outside Ambiga’s house, a most insensitive and irresponsible act, two wrongs do not make a right.

WargaAMAN secretary S. Barathidasan’s positive response to Ambiga’s proposal is to be commended, as he said that the NGO’s committee members would meet this afternoon to decide on whether to proceed with the plan.

WargaAMAN would be doing the nation a great service if it calls off its “thosai” plan outside the Deputy IGP’s house and initiate a virtuous circle to restore decency and civility to politics and public life in Malaysia to be emulated by all Malaysians in politics and public life.

It would also save the country from becoming a laughing stock in the world.

1. #1 by SENGLANG on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 11:54 am

We are big enough to think rationally and no need to perform all those childish acts like mock funeral, butts dancing and frying burger etc. It is just a laughing stock for others.

It is time to think and act.

2. #2 by rahmanwang on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 11:59 am

I am game for free thosai at Deputy IGP house served by NGO’s but not from those dirty burgers served by corrupt BN.

3. #3 by Godfather on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 12:47 pm

Our problem is that we all think that these clowns will play by the rules. Words like “virtuous”, “civility” and “decency” are not part of their vocabulary, so sometimes it is good to just go make a point. We don’t have to make noise with loudhailers, or jump up and down like monkeys or even offer Khalid a thosai. Just set up store at the side of his house, offer free thosai for 3 hours, then pack up and go.

4. #4 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 1:18 pm

Umno is god damned uncivilised. Jib, no one in umno seems to heed your words.

5. #5 by vsp on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 1:25 pm

If ever Malaysia were to go to war against Singapore, Indonesia, the Philippines or Thailand, there is no need for expensive and wasteful defense spending. Just deploy the butt-exposing veterans and they can distract the pilots from bombing Putrajaya. A burst of farts from their rumps will choke both the jet engines and the pilots. This 1Malaysia’s most valuable defense assets – the Butts’ Brigade.

6. #6 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 1:44 pm

Just heard the 1:00 pm news over a local chinese radio station. After 22 yrs USA’s embassy door in burma will re-open. Foreign investors will surely be flocking there by the train load soon. Meanwhile umno is still busy shooting sex videos, planning the latest butt dance move, rehearsing its next funeral rite and perfecting its patties flipping skills (using space technology, perhaps).

JIB JIB BOLEH.
    ROS ROS CANTIK!

7. #7 by monsterball on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 1:50 pm

Tit for tat is childish.
    Let them think they scored big with their bugger stall and butt showing.
    PR must not fall into the trap and then…the real issues what BERSH 3 is all about…all forgotten.

8. #8 by Saint on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 1:56 pm

Dear Mr. S. Barathidasan, protest we must but let us be very “shrewd” about. Picket in front of the Home Ministers house, and call for a press conference to denounce his actions. Go to the homes of the head of the MIC, Gerakan, PPP, MCA and ask for their comments on “Eng Guan’s funeral rights”; the “beef burger to a Hindu, the “butt showing by army veterans” and video tape their comments. Then load it up for the whole world to see. This will do “enough damage” to their reputation” Selling thosai is only retaliation, which may back fire by planted UMNOBN members. Also call in the opposition political parties as the UMNOBN is taking this country in lawlessness. It is the duty of all political parties to bring peace to the country.

9. #9 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 2:22 pm

Remember folks. We are witnessing the might of ketuanan umnoputra – the awesome power of Tuan Rempit McBullys unleashed upon a fellow Hamba de Bully.

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 2:57 pm

Maybe WargaAMAN should distribute the free thosai in front of Amiga’s house.

NOT to protest but to show goodwill and support for her. Thosai is, after all, a vegetarian breakfast item.

Let us all show our support peacefully and not break the law. OK or not?

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 4:49 pm

becos some idiots behave like idiots, doesn’t mean the world must behave like idiots to get even.

So Dy IGP and War veterans, got the message?

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 4:51 pm

Sheriff Singh, I don’t mind paying for 1,000 thosais to be distributed to all who turn up in yellow BERSIH colours at Ambiga’s residence.

Any takers?

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 4:53 pm

Oh, just give me your Bank a/c no. for the free thosais in support of Ambiga provided Ambiga does not feel repulsed by all these crowds around her house.

maybe, PDRM can volunteer their traffic officers for duty and crowd ccontrol.

14. #14 by Taxidriver on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 5:00 pm

Let our fellow Malaysians and the world know that UMNO B and their supporters are the “uncivilized” lot in Malaysia. Retaliation will only make us no different from them. Let them make monkeys of themselves. My vote for NO THOSAI

15. #15 by Godfather on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 5:47 pm

Why is the Penang Institute insisting on offering a post to Tunku Aziz ? Why are we doing silly things like this that reopen perceived wounds and give the opportunity for people to term the Institute as “utterly mad” ? For once I agree with that comment – the Institute must be utterly mad.

16. #16 by yhsiew on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 6:23 pm

Ambiga I am with you for the calling off of the “thosai” plan outside Deputy IGP’s house.

17. #17 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 18 May 2012 - 6:57 pm

Good to call the thosai event off but good for all those good men to hv suggested it in the first place. At least we let them know that we too could do something similar, only grander, better and involving all races.

Silly umno fools.

18. #18 by drngsc on Saturday, 19 May 2012 - 12:54 am

Yes, surely we can understand the reason for the “thosai” plan. But tit for tat is not correct.
    But, we must not allow them to demonize Ambiga, and more importantly, we must not allow them to side track us from the need for clean, free and fair election.
    I think that if there is no significant electoral reform before GE 13, we may have to go out again. Bersih 4.0 may be necessary, if there are no significant electoral reforms before GE 13. I know that Bersih 4.0 will be costly, and we should not take it likely, BUT without significantly electoral reforms before GE 13, all the previous Bersihs, become meaningless.

No to “thosai” plan, but yes to clean, free and fair. election.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming. Will it be clean free and fair.
    Fellow Malaysians, we must prepare for Bersih 4.0 unless the government give us a free, clean and fair election.

Change we must, Change we can. Change we will.

19. #19 by boh-liao on Saturday, 19 May 2012 - 9:09 am

Ai yah, Y cancel free thosai at Deputy IGP house?
    D poor, d marginalised rakyat look forward 2 hving free makan there mah
    Lagi, ful of sai plans 2 go there 2 tho his sai n show off his butt 1