Tunku Aziz – lets move on in our separate but still common destiny to create a clean Malaysia which upholds integrity, human rights and the just rule of law

I would have been the first to welcome any change of mind by Tunku Abdul Aziz about his resignation as DAP National Vice Chairman and DAP member but I fully respect his decision if his mind is set on resignation.

Over the decades, I have known Tunku Aziz as a man of principle and integrity and my views have not changed one dot, as Tunku Aziz would have known in our three recent meetings, twice at his house and the third time in Parliament.

If a parting of ways with his resignation from the party is unavoidable, let it be as gentlemanly as possible with the minimum of rancor and acrimony. Let us move on in our separate but still common destiny to create a new and clean Malaysia which upholds integrity, human rights and the just rule of law with an equal place under Malaysian sun for every Malaysian.

Many thanks to Tunku Aziz for his services and contributions as DAP National Vice Chairman as well as the first DAP Senator from Penang.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 6:05 pm

Enough said, Kit. That applies to everybody, including me !

2. #2 by All For The Road on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 6:38 pm

Let’s look forward and move on. If the parting of ways between Tunku Aziz and the DAP is the best option, so be it.

We hope that Tunku will continue to fight for a clean and better Malaysia and not indulge in mud-slinging against the party in which he was once Vice-Chairman. Hope he’s a gentleman!

All the best to Tunku Aziz in his future endeavours!

3. #3 by Dap man on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 7:15 pm

“Over the decades, I have known Tunku Aziz as a man of principle and integrity …” Kit

Would a man of principle and integrity say all the nasty things abut DAP leaders after quitting? He would just quit and shut up?
    He is sore because his senatorship was not extended. People like TA are dime a dozen these days.
    In any case, I doubt his departure will make any dent in the DAP.
    What damage can he do that has already not done by Utusan, TV3 and UMNO?
    Never mind, Tunku Aziz will be forgotten next week.
    He can do whatever he likes for all I care and form a party with Mahathir, Ezam and Zulkifli Nordin.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 7:46 pm

If I were Tunku Aziz, I would not be offended by Lim Guan Eng’s remark and whether I was selected or dropped as senator. I would stay with DAP and help to accomplish the party’s aims and struggles. Certainly, I would not attend any interviews organized by BN controlled media.

5. #5 by Albert Choong on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 7:56 pm

If Tengku thinks that he could still contribute to the betterment of the Malaysian society, he should leave DAP without rancour and ill-will like Lee Lam Thye. We wish you well.
    Datuk Lee, a former school teacher, repaid DAP for the opportunity to serve the people of KL by not criticizing his former colleagues. He went on to serve Malaysians nationally and socially through the BN government.
    Just like the former Defence Minister of UK, Mr John Profumo after a proven sex scandal left politics and went on to do charity work. Ha, Mr. Chua Soo Lek, how about you?

6. #7 by monsterball on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 8:26 pm

To me… that is a politician diplomatic way to say get lost.

7. #8 by monsterball on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 8:29 pm

Making a mountain out of a mole hill Tunku Aziz has his own agenda.

8. #9 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 8:50 pm

The situation is actually comedic tragedy but its very telling of the challenge that befalls DAP with regard to Malay votes, you can’t think normal and you can’t assume. You are dealing with over-entitlement for decades with very messed up EQ..Technocratic methods can fail. Rushing things can fail..

9. #10 by negarawan on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 10:11 pm

You can already see journalistic like Joceline making negative reports in bad taste driven by MCA Soiled Leg.

10. #11 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 10:58 pm

In order to build a better Malaysia for everyone,we need a lot of big hearted and selfless people.Small hearted and selfish should be ignored and forgotten asap.

11. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 11:20 pm

Tunku, those who have read yiour articles and listened to your speeches have no doubt about your integrity.

I am inclined to think the present hiccup is a case of confused handling and the understandable hesitancy to react swiftly by LGE because of your seniority and intelectual stature. He needed the time to react and you were perhaps a tad too fast to make conclusions. Be it as it may, I think theblast thru the STAR was brutal and the reactions of a man spurned and scorned.

LGE would have learnt his lessons well; older men need tender loving care; gentlemen need to be handled with a certain amount of sensitivity and consideration.

I think, what has happened is really a non-issue in the light of more urgent national concerns. Personal hurts must subside in the wake of seismic national interests. We can talk and argue till the cows come home or till the moon turns blue, it would little avail the question of who is right or wrong in these moves.

I believe, magnanimity hould rule. Then let bygones be bygones.

12. #13 by drngsc on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 11:37 pm

Ayooh,
    Tungku 1.0 is not the same as Tungku 2.0. Looks like he has turned. Better now than after GE 13. I wonder if money has a role here. Everyman has a price. They have found his.
    Be polite with him. No need to be nice. Some of the words that he used after Bersih 3.0 were not so nice for a “man of principle”.
    Goodbye Tungku.
    We are disappointed at this “man of principle”.
    There are more Trojan Horses in PR. Let us smoke them all out, before GE 13.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13, the mother of all elections is coming. True Malaysians stand up and work hard, very hard.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

13. #14 by Jong on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 - 11:41 pm

Such magnanimous and kind words from Lim Kit Siang!

Technically the guy was still VC of Dap when “Chat time with Tunku Aziz” was aired over NTV7, and why was him begging for a second chance for BN?
    The chap was so full of himself, definitely not a ‘team-player’ with total disregard for party leaders.

It’s not about his right to an opinion but about how he said it, to whoever he said it knowing pretty well they will have a field day spinning it to embarrass
    DAP whose policy was to give 100% support for Bersih 3.0 .

14. #15 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 12:22 am

Kit has spoken. Thanks Eng has refrained from responding. People, sit tight and observe whether this will close the chapter on Tunku Abdul Aziz.

15. #16 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 12:24 am

Correction: Guan Eng has refrained from responding.

16. #17 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 1:14 am

ENDANGERED HORNBILL, I think your assessment in #12 is basically correct. Based on what TheStar reported on what he said, Tunku Aziz appeared riled at an offer to him a senior fellowship in Penang Institute and a dangle of travel as an attraction” with a stipend of RM50 000 to go with it after his tenure as senator was not renewed. He found this “totally totally insulting”. A simple apology might have done more. DAP has to take a major set back because of this unhappy episode which BN esp UMNO gleefully leverages to the Malay audience.

17. #18 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 4:54 am

“Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned”
    “O fie, miss, you must not kiss and tell.”

Was William Congreve confused?

18. #19 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 5:10 am

Present 4 him (heart broken) lor: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afHQd-lP4yU

19. #20 by PRmaju on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 7:45 am

This tunku has strong principle ,my foot!
    Mr. lim , you are being too kind.

The thieves and lanuns are having an orgy of looting in the country, the court is under the thumb of a rogue regime headed by a murder suspect PM who declared that there will dead bodies and crushed bone in defending putrajaya!

He noblely , said he cannot support breaking law, umno goons can arm twist our kangaroo court to issue any court order. What a hypocrite! Are those stinking high corruption, looting not breaking law? Why Dataran is denied in the first place? EC and umno are working together to cheat big time, even commit treacherous act against the people, where is his strong principle ?

It is just too obvious for everyone what this bloody hypocrite was upto! No need to sound nice to him, in ceramah, just explain to all Malay , this so called tunku was just hypocrite !

20. #21 by ellese on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 8:15 am

It’s funny. What is so fundamentally wrong giving interview on ntv7. Why does this taint Tunku Aziz? Isn’t what he said more important. What did he say thats a lie or fabrication? He didn’t. And is airing these facts wrong? What about pro pr media burying these facts? Is that correct? Man, we got our values screwed.

21. #22 by joean on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 9:13 am

It sounds like Zaid Ibrahim 2.0, the principle man! All can see what he wants. We might first thought he was an hero, quit as minister as to defend his stand… what a wonderful principle man… until the second part and third part of the story…

Sometimes we see LKS having different view with Karpal Singh, so what? Do they need to leave the party? These leaders had enjoy the “curry rice” back then but still standing strong with DAP… they are the real principle man.

Post-308 leaders are questionable… some of these people have BN-culture in their mindset. Luckily, quite a lot of them not in DAP, but unfortunately many of them in PKR. PAS is just as safe as DAP.

Hope PR can identify these potential katak and not sending them for GE13.

So… Tunku Aziz, good luck with your choice.

22. #23 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 9:30 am

No all people can wear the political shoes. principled people may or may not make a successful politician. In the case of Tunku it is best he stay behind the scene and not the front line of politic. He is best to contribute to the country by working in an NGO but not national politic.

23. #24 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Thursday, 17 May 2012 - 9:32 am

Lets talk about something else.

Yeah, about stigma. Nobody likes stigma. For one thing it sticks like hell! It even goes to bed with you, if you are unlucky enough to hv one stuck to your forehead. Yes, it is that bad. It actually marks your (perceived) personality; and perception unfortunately is always larger and longer lasting than reality.

Ok, stickiness of stigmas aside, why are stigmas bad? Let me use some examples. You see, a woman does not like to be labelled “a bitch”; neither does a man like to be seen as “a dickhead”. But lets say somehow one of these descriptions got hold of you, man or woman, then you would forever (or at least for a long long time) be stigmatised by the implication, whatever it may be, that comes with that description, “dickhead”.

More examples. The collapse of BCCI brought about a string of cases involving stigma-stricken employees. Chinese in the country are seen as cunning and even greedy (although they are no where near as greedy as the typical umnoputra); indians, as troublesome (a much too general perception); and malays, as lazy (not necessarily applicable today). 55 yrs on and the stigmas somehow seemed determined to stay put.

Bad? Certainly. And sensible people, if they have a choice, would surely steer clear of doing stupid acts and be stigmatised thereby.

Umno. Yes. Today, we can see that umno is working extraordinarily hard to loop rings upon rings of stigma around its waist all the way up to its neck. Way to go, umno. Now umno is seen by everyone as “a party for clowns”, “good for a laugh”, “not serious”, “full of bums” on top of being “super greedy and power crazy” as well as “oppressive and abusive”.

Well done, umno! Keep it up.