Nor Mohamed Yakcop should learn history

— Jaleel Hameed
May 13, 2012

MAY 13 — It is interesting that Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop is talking about Malaysian history, that the country would revert to the year 1511, when the Bumiputera agenda didn’t exist, if Barisan Nasional (BN) loses in the next general election.

Thank you, sir. Where did you learn your history? Because that’s pure bovine excrement.

What Bumiputera agenda was there before the May 13, 1969 race riots? In fact, BN came into being after the riots, when the then-Alliance government realised the majority Malays felt disenfranchised in their own country.

Let’s not even talk about Penang or the Malays in the state, of which you are one.

You mean to say the Malays entered the poor house only when Pakatan Rakyat (PR) took over in 2008?

You mean to say they were richer when BN was in power?

You mean to say that after 40 years of the New Economic Policy (NEP) by BN, all the Malays are richer?

If that is the case, why the “perjuangan belum selesai” (the struggle has yet to end)? Why the RM500 Bantuan Rakyat 1 Malaysia? Why the RM15,000 windfall for Felda settlers now?

Why not over the past 40 years? Why the “ketirisan” (leakages) or the various programmes that your government are still conducting, like the one you attended in Penang today?

Come on, sir. There are rich Malays; the cronies who made money from access to the political elite. And there are the poor Malays, still eking out a living from independence until now.

And Malacca, sir, has always welcomed foreigners. It was the original services industry in the Malay peninsula. And Malaysia has inherited that, always welcoming foreigners in spite of the Bumiputera agenda.

Your government still seeks foreign direct investment. Your InvestKL seeks foreign companies to set up their headquarters here. You call that a Bumiputera agenda?

I know you need to win support to stand in the next election. But don’t sell us such hogwash that PR will set the country back. BN is doing a fine job of that already.

Please go back to school and learn history, sir.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 2:13 am

Nor Mohd Yakcop was the man who lost and cost the country RM 30 – 50 BILLION when he speculated in the forex markets some 20 years ago using the COUNTRY’s RESERVES.

People in the know says he is a poker player and was known to be a heavy drinker then.

This massive loss could have been used to buy up all the highways in this country and make our roads free.

We could have built hundreds if not thousands of hospitals, schools, universities and other infrastructures for the people’s benefit.

We could even build a new Putrajaya if we wanted to even though the current one is really not necessary and a waste of money and is merely to please a certain Maha fellow.

So what right has this Nor Mohd Yakcop to talk about the Bumiputra going backwards?

Incidentally, NMY is a mamak but tries very hard to be accepted as a pure Malay like many others.

Why is NMY rewarded and is where he is today? He should be investigated thoroughly when PR comes to power. Maybe that is why he is afraid of the BN and UMNO losing at the next GE. Then his goose and the many other geese and gander will be cooked together with him.

2. #2 by monsterball on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 2:24 am

He said..Malaysia will revert to year 1511 if Oppositions win.
    What has Francis Light and Alphonso de Alburquergur got to do with present politics?
    One is the founder of Penang….the other welcomed by the Sultan of Melaka.
    He talk like that in S’pore about Stamford Raffles..he will be immediately be arrested.
    In Malaysia all OK as long as the intentions is to win votes for BN.
    You can say…UMNO b falls…all corrupted rouges tumble and he is one of them.
    It’s defending…protecting…threatening..by all sorts of ways and means they can think of.
    This Yacob guy is afraid he will be jobless very soon.

3. #3 by monsterball on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 2:33 am

PR have not govern one day yet…and here comes Dooms Day news.
    55 years under UMNO b….sure we had plenty developments…all planned by employed experts…and UMNO b execute with vast overpriced on all..small and big projects.
    Their corruptions see no ends.
    Yacob guy is full of shheet!!

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 2:49 am

Nor Mohd Yakcop was misquoted.

He said Bumiputras can go back every work day at 15:11 (i.e. 3.11 pm) while others must slog on.

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 3:18 am

Sheriff….come…I say.. c.o.m.e.
    Go to sleep young man.
    Want to be like Russel Peters?…fat chance.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 7:33 am

Actually if you think about it, 1511 can happen then Malays are really screwed because that means for the last 40+ years of UMNO rule was no different than the self-interested fractious, prodigal Sultanate rule that made it possible.

The real fear is 1511 WILL REPEAT if UMNO-Perkasa/BN continue to rule.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 7:37 am

When PR takes federal power, it will foil BN’s race card tactic for good and will replace the Bumi agenda with the Malaysian agenda.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 7:50 am

What Bumi Agenda? Here a racist minister wanted to practice racial segregation.

9. #9 by FrenchConnection on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 8:18 am

HELLO YOU DIM-WIT HP6 MINISTER OF WHATCHAMACALLIT: LET ME TEACH YOU A BIT OF HISTORY:
    Year 1511 – Portuguese led by Alfonso de Albuquerque captured Malacca
    Year 1786 – Francis Light acting on behalf of the British East India Company swindled Penang island (then known as Prince of Wales Island) from the ruling sultan with a promise of protection. The British usurped the land to break the Dutch monopoly on the spice trade. This mark the start of the British interest in Malaya.
    Year 1963 – Formation of Malaysia
    SO WHAT IS THE SIGNIFICANCE OF MENTIONING 1511? IT MARKS THE START OF SIGNIFICANT EUROPEAN COLONISATION IN THE ARCHIPELAGO. MALAYSIA DID NOT EXIST UNTIL 1963. WHAT BUMIPUTRA AGENDA FROM 1511 ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? THE SULTAN THEN COULD NOT EVEN PROTECT ITS OWN PEOPLE FROM THE COLONISERS, YET UMNO CLAIMS MALAYA WAS NEVER COLONISED. NOW UMNO CANNOT EVEN UPLIFT THE MALAYS, MUCH LESS THE OTHER BUMIPUTRAS.

TRUE MALAYSIANS MUST NOT TOLERATE THIS BALDERDASH – FROM A NINCOMPOOP.

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 8:46 am

Better way to put this: Haters are going to hate irregardless.

11. #11 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 9:19 am

In the year 1511, I am sure nor yakcob’s ancestors were busy learning indian history (of the colonial variety, maybe). No wonder he is soooo confused! Hey you son of yakcob, pordah.

12. #12 by monsterball on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 9:44 am

Perhaps his ancestors are somewhat related to Mahathir…who knows!!
    Both have the same personalities.

13. #13 by monsterball on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 9:48 am

A Tan Sri talking like that?
    Where got class.
    Malaysian titles are a joke to the whole world.

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 9:50 am

UMNO b guys with titles are a joke to the whole world.
    Sad very sad…Malaysians deserving the titles are spoil by these thieves.

15. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 12:20 pm

“Nor Mohamed Yakcop should learn history” – only history?

Economics too – for the man who lost billions.

Morals too – for the man who has little inkling between what is right or wrong.

And now, history too – for a man who has little between his ears on the history of Malaysia since God knows when his ancestors came to this great land

Actually, Nor is still sloppily wet between (behind) the ears!

16. #16 by sotong on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 12:40 pm

Talk about bad leadership, gross mismanagement and corruption destroying the bumiputra and country…..it’s only a few decades instead going back few hundreds years ago.

17. #17 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 7:00 pm

Hey, this parable of the Missing RM99 is circulating on the internet:

“In the Malaysian Parliament recently, an UMNO MP during his speech told a story……..

“There was a father who gave RM100/- each to his 3 sons and asked them to buy things and fill up a room completely.

First son bought hay for RM100/- but couldn’t fill the room entirely.

Second son bought cotton for RM100/- but couldn’t fill the room entirely.

Third son bought a candle for RM1/- and lit it up and the room was filled with light completely.

The proud UMNO MP declared: “Our Prime
    Minister JIB is like the third son. From the day he has taken charge of his office, our country is filled with the bright light of prosperity”

A voice from the backbench asked : “Where is the remaining RM99/-??

Now the whole nation is asking this same question !!!

18. #18 by negarawan on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 7:55 pm

Nor Mohamad Yakcop is an utter disgrace to Xaverians. What happened to the billions of ringgit lost caused by him through forex speculations? Is he accountable to the Malaysian taxpayers? He can only act “brave” behind the tailcoat of his UMNO masters. Otherwise he is a failure! Vote him out in the coming GE!!

19. #19 by negarawan on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 10:38 pm

Nor Mohamad Yakcop can’t even manage his own political secretary who masterminded a multimillion money laundering case. How can the rakyat trust him to manage their money? Yakcop is an utter disgrace to the mamak community.

20. #20 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 14 May 2012 - 11:56 pm

Sometimes, it baffles many Malaysians to think that 2 million UMNO supporters can listen to COCK and BULL story when their leaders just cleaned up the national Coffer. maybe we understand supporters like the late Zakaria whose main job didnot changed much from railway gate to UMNO gatekeeper but surely a good number of them did see all the Gates; FZ gate, Cow gate, Submarine gate and so forth. Don’t they understand if his UMNO leaders collect $100 million then his $100k will be made so much smaller in the market?