Bersih, opposition spun our Bill out, decries EC

By Kuek Ser Kuang Keng | 4:17PM May 10, 2012

The withdrawal of Election Offences Amendment Bill is the result of the government succumbing to the “spin and lies” created by Bersih and the opposition, said the Election Commission deputy chairperson Wan Ahmad Wan Omar.

“They spun and twisted (the amendment), made nonsensical stories creating the perception that the Bill is bad…

“To satisfy all quarters, so they won’t be people saying it is fraud, the government took the best way… that is to discuss among BN, the opposition and the EC.

“If that is the best way the Parliament wants, never mind… the EC will just do it,” he said during a luncheon talk today in a Kuala Lumpur hotel.

Wan Ahmad (right) stressed that the EC will not introduce a Bill that will jeopardise the electoral system.

“They spun and spun, lied and lied to create strong pressure, so we were forced to withdraw.”

The three-hour talk entitled ‘Bersih 3.0: What else you want?’ was organised by the Department of Special Affairs (JASA), an agency under the Information, Communications and Culture Ministry and the Institute of Mind Development (Inmind), and attended by many JASA officers.

Whole nation will be in disarray

Yesterday, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Nazri Abdul Aziz announced that the decision to abort the Bill was arrived at after a 10-minute meeting between the government, the opposition and the EC.

He tabled the motion to withdraw the Bill in the Dewan Negera today.

The Bill includes the proposal to remove the candidate’s agents from the EC registration booth and to remove the requirement for all printed materials to have printers’ and publishers’ details.

However, Wan Ahmad warned that retaining the requirement will bring the whole country into disarray during the election because there will be many campaigning banners without printing details, and taking action against those behind them will be a pain.

He explained that political parties should not be worried over the abolition of the requirement because the EC will form an enforcement team together with the contesting parties. It will have the power to remove any seditious or inappropriate material on the spot.

As for the retaining of candidate’s agents in the registration booth, Wan Ahmad again warned that it will disrupt the voting process in some 8,000 polling centres nationwide because from previous experience, the candidate’s agents would create trouble at the registration booth.

1. #1 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 5:48 pm

Err hey you Mr Umno man, apa you cakap? I tak paham lah.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 5:56 pm

It was a very, very bad Bill.

The EC’s impartiality and credibility has been questioned for a very long time.

Are the above very difficult to understand? What is there to ‘spin’ ?

What else does the EC want?

3. #3 by yhsiew on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 6:08 pm

Hi Mr. Umno man, you are not qualified to talk about election matters so long as you hold Umno membership.

4. #4 by lkt-56 on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 6:34 pm

Sir, Wan Ahmad Wan Omar, we hear your protest against the rejections loud and clear. But we have yet to hear your reasons for making those amendments. Care to explain?

5. #5 by monsterball on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 7:34 pm

A puppet of Najib must utter as many reasons he can think of to sort of expose the Oppositions.
    We have heard and seen many of these kind of nonsensical talks.
    Best is still Najib’s Patriots defending Traitors taking over PutraJaya and his famous “You help me, I help you”… deal or no deal offer.

6. #6 by negarawan on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 7:48 pm

Wan Ahmad and the current EC, please resign and make way for an EC of the rakyat’s choice. You’re disgusting and an utter disgrace in the eyes of fair-minded Malaysians. Resign now!

7. #7 by monsterball on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 7:56 pm

Ask him to resign is not good enough.
    It needs BERSIH 4 and 13th GE to kick all out.
    It needs a clean and fair 13th general election.
    Experts can analyze the results.
    If cheating is clearly proven…..Najib will be asking for real blood bath troubles.

8. #8 by monsterball on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 8:01 pm

Loosing 13th GE…bad news for Najib….Winning by cheating….worst news for Najib.
    He will have no peace to sleep or go anywhere.
    Killers may strike.
    His choice…his call.

9. #9 by mauriyaII on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 8:29 pm

Wan Ahmad Wan Omar is as brain dead as a zombie. Just because he thinks that he is appointed by UMNO and is a closet UMNO member, he can lie and spin as if there no tomorrow!

What a shameless and egoistic scum! He is doing his best to indoctrinate the JASA and Inmind bozos gathered to listen to his drivel. I really pity those guys from Institute of Mind Development. What type of mind development are they exposed to? Is it the same as BTN?

The EC should not only be infused with fresh blood after Pakatan takes over Putrajaya but the cancer that has eroded the integrity of EC should also be excised and thrown away. The first to be flushed out must be this Wan Ahmad Wan Omar.

10. #10 by Dap man on Friday, 11 May 2012 - 10:35 pm

Wah Ahmad speaks exactly like an UMNO politician. I suggest he contest the general elections under the the BN ticket.
    He attacks the Opposition like a BN man.

11. #11 by Cinapek on Saturday, 12 May 2012 - 12:32 am

“If that is the best way the Parliament wants, never mind… the EC will just do it,” he said during a luncheon talk today in a Kuala Lumpur hotel.”

His behaviour is unacceptable and an embarassment to this country. Here we have a bad law without a leg to stand on and when challenged it could not be justified hence it gets thrown out. Who is he to “merajuk”? Parliament is the supreme law in this country and he is just to follow what Parliament has passed – not throw childish tantrums when he cannot get his way. And the EC’s ways have all been viewed with scepticism and suspicion and they only have themselves to blame for thier loss on integrity by the way they have acted.

12. #12 by monsterball on Saturday, 12 May 2012 - 3:39 am

Holding on to his cozy job like an idiot with no shame….keep uttering nonsense.