Najib should produce proof or retract and apologise for his wild and irresponsible allegation that Bersih 3.0 “sit-in” was a coup attempt by the Opposition to topple the government

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has belatedly realized that he is losing out in the public relations war over the government’s mishandling of the Bersih 3.0 “sit-in” at Dataran Merdeka on April 28, 2012, as evidenced by the following recent developments:

• Najib upping the ante in the public relations battle with his wild and irresponsible allegation in Gua Musang on Friday that the Bersih 3.0 rally was a coup attempt by the Opposition to topple the government;

• the desperate roping in of three former Inspector-Generals of Police , Tun Haniff Omar, Tan Sri Rahim Noor and Tan Sri Musa Hassan to lend credence to Najib’s wild claim although there is not one iota of evidence that Bersih 3.0 was a coup attempt by the Opposition to topple the government (in fact, all evidence point to the contrary, with hundreds of thousands of Malaysians regardless of race, religion, class, region, age or gender gathering peacefully in the best manifestation of “1Malaysia” for a common cause for clean elections and armed at most with salt and water bottles to protect themselves from tear-gas attacks);

• The recycling of the Economist commentary “It’s that time of year” in the local media almost a week after its first appearance on the Economist website on May 1.

One lesson Najib’s “image” handlers have learnt from the government’s disastrous mishandling of the Bersih 2.0 rally of July 9, 2011 was to better manage the foreign media – and as a result, the Najib administration had a better foreign media perception and coverage on the night of Bersih 3.0 as compared to the night of Bersih 2.0, as illustrated by the Economist commentary of 1ST May.

But with every passing day, this better foreign media perception of Najib’s handling of Bersih 3.0 as compared to Bersih 2.0 is coming apart.

I had predicted a week after “428” that Bersih 3.0 is even greater public relations disaster for Najib than Bersih 2.0, with damage growing in magnitude and impact when all the horror stories of police rampage of violence and brutality are told – and I am proven right.

Najib should realize that the public relations war, whether inside the country or internationally, over Berish 3.0 cannot be won by more wild and scurrilous attacks on Bersih organisers and Pakatan Rakyat leaders.

Who gave Najib the “information” that Bersih 3.0 was a coup attempt by the Opposition to topple the government? Such information can only come from the police.

But what has the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar got to say about the Prime Minister’s allegation? Ismail was reported by Bernama in Kulim yesterday as saying that the police are investigating Najib’s claims that Bersih 3.0 was a purported coup d’etat attempt.

Here we have come full circle – the Prime Minister alleging that Bersih 3.0 was an attempted coup d’etat against the government (which information could have only come from the police) with the police responding by announcing that the Prime Minister’s allegation is being investigated.

Can there be another episode to illustrate how reckless and irresponsible the Prime Minister could descend to – making the most baseless allegation as well as the blind chorus of support given by current and former IGPs, greatly dishonouring the reputation and professionalism of police officers, both currently in service as well as those who have retired?

Najib must not be so irresponsible as Prime Minister of Malaysia. He should either produce proof or retract and apologise for his wild allegation that Bersih 3.0 “sit-in” was a coup attempt by the Opposition to topple the government.

1. #1 by Godfather on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 3:23 pm

You want proof, Kit ? I’ll show you proof – 3 IGPs agreed with me, and even the old fox Mamakthir agreed with me ! That’s enough proof for the majority of Malaysians…..

2. #2 by donplaypuks on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 3:43 pm

Najib and Kerismudin should resign forthwith because they gave Bersih 3.0 the approval to go ahead with the rally, declaring it “no security risk.”

One presumes that Najib and Kerismudin would have done their homework before giving the green light.

So, the claim now that that Bersih 3.0 was a coup attempt is clearly a desperate attempt at PR spindoctoring at damage control, and playing to the Perkasa and BUMNO/BN gallery.

A more dimwit and worthless M’sian PM, I have not seen!

Dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

3. #3 by SENGLANG on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 4:26 pm

Many have of the readers of this site and many who walk at 428 have been BN supporters before. They have voted BN for many many years. I believe my statements can not be too wrong. I have been voted BN since I first become a voter until last GE and will be voting against BN for reason that BN know better than ever one else.

We have reason simply just want to topple BN by cope and the opposition have no mean of doing so but the people will, and BN must know that those who want to topple them are not previously opposition supporters. Instead of blaming opposition BN should really look inside and ask themselves why people who voted them has since turn away? The reasons that BN know very well but the problem is they simply can admit it.

Opposition now will not have the mean to topple BN but with many of the voters who have been voted them many years but now turn away from BN will just do it..

BN should not just blame it is their doing…….

4. #4 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 4:36 pm

This donkey obviously do not see the difference between the tree and the river. It crashed right into the tree trunk in search of water.

Its the people you idiot! Bersih is an effort by the ppl to clean up the election process in the country. The political parties were mere participants in the rally just like everyone else.

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 4:53 pm

Najib dare not say Bersih 3 walkers are traitors.
    Why not?
    He is such a patriot…ran away to Kuching to talk freedom to 1000 “guests”.
    Best is his godfather said…Malaysians must give Najib a big win on 13th GE..so that he can bring back ISA to shut mouths….like he did before.
    These people are loving in a dreamworld…ans why not….they are billionaires.

6. #6 by Loh on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 6:30 pm

Najib has reasons to believe that the situation in Malaysia has the conditions to turn into Malaysia spring. Rampant corruptions on the table for all to see, such as the hundreds of million RM paid to a traveling agency to service the two Scorpene submarines, the Cowgate, the Lynas project; these are good enough reasons for Arab Spring in other countries. But there is PKFZ and much more in Malaysia.

But Malaysians are patient to wait for GE13, the general election to topple the government constitutionally. Mamakthir said that the opposition would cause chaos if they did not win in the next election. That is illogical since BN has never lost for the past 12 elections and losing it would be abnormal to BN and thus BN will try at all costs to stay in power. By claiming that Malaysia spring could have arrived on 428, Najib conceded that BN government deserves to be overthrown. Najib just hoped to create situation and excuses, such as a repeat of operation lallang or May 13 to prevent having to face the voters.

Most dictators in the world would claim that his government would remain in power, because it is loved by the people. Only Najib has the thick skin to criticize others trying to overthrow his government in the unconstitutional means through which he hoped to retain power. Malaysians want to overthrow BN government; there can be no doubt about it. Malaysians have patiently waited all these decades to have smooth transition of power, and which was why they abide by the rule of general election even though election had not been done in the Bersih way; which is why Bersih has to be repeated three times! The people cannot be so stupid as to demonstrate for clean and fair election and choose to give away their legitimate right to overthrow the government in a constitutional manner.

7. #7 by cseng on Monday, 7 May 2012 - 11:32 pm

What proof do you want?

Najib just need this statement to be aired thru TV1,2,3 targetted at the selected 18% of voters for simple majority win.

Other seats are bonuses for him to remain as PM.

8. #8 by bumiborn on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 12:52 am

I was also the supporter of BN since day one until last GE. I will vote for opposition on GE13 again. I also participated first time in Bersih rally, the version 3.0 which was peaceful until Police go wild charging on peaceful rakyat. That’s why I find it perplexing and very very amusing to read first Mahathir said rally is an attempt to topple government!? Then, Najib echo the same rhetoric, apparently forgetting that he’s the PM now, need not repeat the ex PM’s words.

9. #9 by bumiborn on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 12:59 am

Coup detat??? Bersih 3.0 can topple government??? Where are the guns and weaponry??? Plain STUPID just to think of it. We rather vote you out, then shedding blood.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 7:21 am

Najib’s argument that Bersih 3.0 ‘sit in’ was a coup attempt was not valid because Chua Soi Lek had allowed MCA members to take part in the ‘sit in’.

11. #11 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 7:23 am

topple the government? who is the proposed new prime minister? Ahmad Said? Ambiga? Auntie Bersih? By golly, can’t even spin properly

12. #12 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 7:45 am

Najib should ask Chua Soi Lek, who gave green light to MCA members to take part in Bersih 3.0, whether the ‘sit in’ was a coup attempt.

13. #13 by madguyho on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 8:00 am

Najib is clueless. He hid behind fat Mama sarong weeks before 428, only dare to dig out after the dust is over. Yet his initial statement is not about to topple the BN’s government, not until Mamak Kotor opened his bad mouth. Now Najib is just dancing to the tune of the evil old man. It seem the old man is in firm control now, ready to play hard ball with another Operasi Lalang. Najib has just reduced to a bystander!

14. #14 by rockdaboat on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 8:22 am

“Bersih 3.0 “sit-in” was a coup attempt by the Opposition to topple the government”?

Excuse me, knock knock, anybody home???

Or is someone afraid of his own shadow?

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 8:26 am

If people are afraid of a Tharir Square. the simple solution is simply to vote in PR, find out the truth if BN is cheating rampantly as charged and if PR cannot prove it, then vote back in BN…There is no reason to get all scared and nervous except if you are a UMNO-Perkasa/BN with skeletons to be found out.

I personally think there is much about PR that I don’t like these days but I will still vote for them simply because like Bersih its simply about finding out the truth at whatever necessary price. If PR is up to no good eventually, given BN expertise for spin doctoring, its hard for PR to hide to the truth when they are in power.

You can’t do anything if you don’t know the facts and right now we don’t know crap about the electoral role and so much like the defense budgets and the myriads of crony deals in the last 50 years. Its time to just clean house, even if it means it gets really messy and expensive for a while..

16. #16 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 10:04 am

What coup attempt? Didn’t Ambiga also invite BN to the “sit in”?

17. #17 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 - 10:17 am

I hv nothing to fear. So let me tell you jib. Come GE13, I will vote only the opposition. In fact I would vote anyone but umno (or for that matter mca mic etc). My hope of course is so that my one vote together with all other similarly intended votes would produce the desired cumulative effect of booting you and umno out of putrajaya. In case you are still uncertain, let me make it clear to you: My intention is to dismiss you as my servant through the ballot box!