The tangled web Umno weaved (1)

— Sakmongkol AK47
Mar 29, 2012

MARCH 29 —

Oh what a tangled web we weave,

When first we practise to deceive!

That’s the whole problem with Umno in short. It has deceived the country and most of all it has deceived the Malays into believing that only Umno can deliver the Malays to the Promised Land. And it continues to weave the web and got itself entangled that the only way to free the Malaysian races is to destroy the web of deceit.

Let’s us now resolved to do just that. Kick out the band of robbers and the trader of false hopes. Let us kick out the deceivers.

It forfeited what it got- power since 1957 to accomplish what it set out to do — uplift the Malays. Why? Because it started on the wrong premise, and that premise wasn’t adapted and evolved into the engine to uplift the Malays first (since Umno’s struggle and raison d’etre is to serve Malay interest) and this country.

What’s the fundamental flaw in that premise? The fundamental flaw is, and this is what I believe personally, you think by having Article 153 in our constitution the position of the Malays would be automatically improved. No one in Malaysia, including the DAP leadership, disputes the meaning and intention of Article 153 as far as it involves the protection of Malay rights and so forth. Umno rule of over 50 years has proven to us one thing — that legislating rights do not confer the desired effects without applying dedication, quality leadership and determination over well-thought of policies to accomplish what Article 153 sets out to do. Umno hasn’t provided those other than living off Article 153 and stoking the fears of the Malays, believing that just by having that article Malay position would be automatically improved.

Let’s have a small debate over this fundamentally flawed premise which we can only resolve by offering a better alternative. But first, let us do away with some minor irritants.

I find it pitiful the half-spirited responses of Umno supporters here in my blog. The way they responded show they are in sixes and sevens. They can only do the ad hominem attacks and make unreasoned judgment calls. Example, I reasoned out why Umno will be rejected, they can only respond with a miserable and very personalised statement — no! Umno can triumph.

Here, we present to you a reasonably argued position and you can only respond by giving one or two sentenced rejoinders with expletives and exclamations? You are at liberty to hold that view but please honour us with some reasoning. That which is written cavalierly cannot be expected to be taken seriously. If you insist you want to respond in such a wishy-washy manner, may we recommend some of the gutter quality pro- Umno blogs?

But I also understand their frustration. They must say something. Even making an incomprehensible noise. Then there is this habitual spiteful question asking me whether this morning I have already sucked Guan Eng’s or Kit Siang’s ****. That’s the Umno quality. Umno is the sugar glider hiding in the pouch of Article 153 as they interpret it.

Umno has reached its end. Malays don’t have to feel sentimental about it. We can’t hasten nor postpone its demise. Umno has survived on several myths spun and drilled into the Malay subconscious over generations. It has survived on the myth that the Malays and Umno are inextricably linked.

The myths we mean include:

(1) The fate of the Malays rests on the fate of Umno.

(2) The fate of the Malay Rulers is linked to the fate of Umno.

(3) The fate of Islam depends on the fate of Umno.

This is Umno’s trinity of falsehoods. These formed the foundation of Umno’s legitimacy with the Malays. It makes itself out as the protector of Malay rights, protects the Malay, their religion and their country as represented by the Malay Rulers. Expose the myths and Umno loses legitimacy. This now is the overriding fear of Umno because it can no longer defend its legitimacy and therefore its reason to continue to be in power.

The only and principal reason why Umno is coming to its inglorious end is because these myths are no longer sustainable. A party that survives on falsehoods and not sustained by principles can never endure. This is the gravest mistake of Umno. Its claim to be pragmatic really means it makes up whatever is convenient as it goes along.

After over 50 years of leading the nation, what has Umno achieved for the Malays? Development? Umno has overrated itself.

Development is not something unique to Umno. Every party that has power can carry out development. We should be able to separate government and political party. A political party does not own the government. It legislates yes, but the implementation is carried out by civil servants beholden to the constitutional Ruler. So Umno can’t go around claiming only they can bring on development. The governments in Penang, Kelantan, Selangor, and Kedah also carry out development, indeed the development there has been achieved on more meritorious grounds. These states have better reserves, operated and achieved surplus budgets and have been able to avoid wasteful spending. Those are sterling qualities of good governments.

Last week PM Najib, leader of the party that lives on falsehoods and deception, lectured the people not to repeat their mistake. What mistake? The only mistake which people are now realising is that Umno and BN havs fleece the country. This is a government that subsidises its falsehoods on mounting debt. The public debt in relation to our GDP is almost reaching the camel back-breaking point. Yet the country’s incompetent and ignorant leaders are proclaiming it’s all right. And we have not even counted the value of guarantees given by this government to incompetent GLCs which, if they default, places all the questionable loans given to questionable people with questionable business proposals on the shoulders of the people.

RM1.3 trillion of ill-gotten money has been spirited out of the country over a period of 10 years, RM130 billion of which could be injected into the national budget to finance development funding. In addition we have RM20 billion a year lost on leakages, an euphemism for corruption. We try to convince ourselves that using a refined term is able to assuage our sensibilities. — sakmongkol.blogspot.com

* Sakmongkol AK47 is the nom de plume of Datuk Mohd Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz. He was Pulau Manis assemblyman (2004-2008).

1. #1 by tak tahan on Thursday, 29 March 2012 - 8:18 pm

After over 50 years of leading the nation, what has Umno achieved for the Malays? Development?

1) Fake ketuanan melayu ego
    2) seige mentality
    3) tongkat dependant

2. #2 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 29 March 2012 - 9:28 pm

If UMNO fights for Malays.
    Why are there so many malays still riding motorbikes and eating nasi kari.
    Look at Malays in Singapore. They stand shoulder to shoulder with the Chinese. So many Singaporean Malays are so successful.

3. #3 by Jimmy Leong on Thursday, 29 March 2012 - 9:29 pm

Sir, people who support you guys are the people who received well in education or someone who can think what is right and wrong. Those Ummo’s supporter comment without support with fact and reason is because they have nothing to support anymore. I really don’t understand why their supporter can support something without proof and fact, most of all why can’t they see the thing happen around them with fact. I don’t hate them but I start to sympathy them. Is Ummo really good in brainwash until their supporter’s support them blindly.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Thursday, 29 March 2012 - 10:14 pm

I still keep in touch with some of my malay friends and they do not believe the true spirit in Umno-fighting for the malay cause.Even some of the ordinary malays i meet at supermarket,stalls or anywhere when we have any light conversation,they will say “Umno ni untuk crony crony saja,terlampau makan rasuah,tidak boleh dipercayai,tak relevan dan inclusive dari segi pencapaian economi dan kemajuan untuk negara” and all negative thoughts about Umno.

So when Umno comes to its end,malays should open up themselves to toast back champagne to non-malays with air bandung together with firecrackers in joint-celebration mood.Mati Umno!

5. #5 by yhsiew on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 1:37 am

The problem is that harping on falsehood repeatedly will eventually turn it into truth and sink into people’s minds subconsciously.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 3:10 am

UmnoB/BN keep going after Christians n nonMalays as d boogeyman 2 attempt 2 get misinformed Muslims/Malays 2 continue 2 vote 4 them

7. #7 by boh-liao on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 4:01 am

Y r there still rakyat die die must hang on 2 corrupt, incompetent UmnoB/BN?
    http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2012/03/30/19.html
    Pg local gomen service rated 4 stars
    槟州成为“四星州”!在槟岛市政局及威省市政局在今年的全国地方政府服务水平评审中颁四星级后,这相等于槟威两地的地方政府服务水平,已全面提升至四星级。

8. #8 by undertaker888 on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 8:03 am

PR should consistently make umno/bn the bogeyman of this country. Tarnish them with facts that no sane people would like to associate with them. Only crooks and slime balls are with them.

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 8:11 am

Politics has always been and still is partly based on dishonesty and at least some untruth. However, its quite another thing for politics to solely rely on lies and cheating and this is what Najib and current UMNO B is doing.

If they have an honest debate with you, they will point out they are not and that their actual projects are real and substantial. The problem is that no ruling govt can survive even days without some level of functionality and all the actual so called projects are merely saying the govt is not completely dysfunctional. It does not mean, the politics, the debate on govt policies of which elections and their jobs are based on, is not dysfunctional.

The not the job of politicians to do just projects – their real job is to decide policies and ideas. To argue that their projects show that they are governing properly is simply to ignore the main job they are suppose to do..

So strip away these projects which are debateble which is only part of their job, it just means that UMNO current politics of lies and cheating means they are simply dysfunctional and not doing most of their job..

10. #10 by k1980 on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 8:13 am

11. #11 by monsterball on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 8:47 am

It has always been deceiving the Muslims for 55 years.
    It’s these 30 years under the banner of UMNO b founded by Mahathir…that deceiving is not good enough.
    It must have billions to buy up the country and rule over all…forever.
    Thus under Mahathir…corruptions is not just to accept some money to live comfortably…but to steal billions …without fear..going to jail.
    It was under Mahathir…laws were designed to protect UMNO b and with the controls done…laws and orders are laws from UMNO b…not the recognized Universal Laws…and Orders..are their absolute power to corrupt …pick and chooses cronies…puppets…to perform under his orders.
    The establishment of a Dictator governing the country is complete….and he showed UMNO b powerful leaders …how to cheat and steal…where Mahathir is credited to have stolen RM100 billion by himself..alone.
    The original UMNO is totally different from Mahathir’s UMNO b.
    Mahathir is the dirtiest…cruelest….cunning..low down politician you can ever find in the whole wide world….and so Race and Religion politics intensified….fooling his own race was his greatest achievement…he feels so proud…up to today….no change.

12. #12 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 9:06 am

BN/UMNO suckers do not care about public health hazards and environmental safety! What they do care is to win and bring in more foreign investments to our Bolehland as to show their credibility and capability to govern and lead…

With projects are on, they can pocket more tax payers money… They are dying of implementing Projects, more projectssss!!! Without projects; they won’t have such big bellies!!!!

13. #13 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 9:20 am

Why are the umno ppl unable to counter AK47’s arguments with reasons? Two reasons, really. (1) Umno has nothing good to show. 55yrs of rotten record is just plain impossible to justify and defend with reasons. (2) Umno’s (-)meritocracy policies practised for so many decades are now bearing fruits.

ABU!

14. #14 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 9:43 am

Look!! Why Singapore can do it? Why our Bolehland BN/UMNO suckers cannot think of and do it? Our coastal lines and deep blue seas are more attractive, such as Eastern coastal lines along the Peninsula and along the Sarawak or Sabah, than Singapore. Why? Because the suckers only think for themselves by pocketing heaps and heaps of tax payer money…

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/visit/southeast-asia-next-mediterranean-cruises-927766?hpt=ias_t2

This is one of income we can tap and earn!!!!!!!!!!!

15. #15 by PRmaju on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 12:51 pm

Never in the history of humankind that someone, so devious , so evil, so cunning, so successful in fooling an entire race, for so long , so thoroughly and causing so much and so deep harm to the country and society !!

A great tragedy for the Malay race and Malaysia !!

16. #16 by sotong on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 12:53 pm

Get rid of all the non Malay parties in BN first and a change of government will happen.

17. #17 by PRmaju on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 1:43 pm

Sotong, you are really like the name you suggest, as stupid as sotong. Non MAlay parties, if umno want them out , umno would have kicked them long ago easily. Umno wants MCA, MIC to fool Chinese and Indian and to provide cover and semblance that BN is a multi racial party.

18. #18 by sotong on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 4:56 pm

PRmaju, get rid of its tentacles eg. MCA, MIC and etc……it becomes harmless and respectful.

19. #19 by GodIsWatching on Friday, 30 March 2012 - 10:06 pm

Well said.  Power in its absoluteness is given absolutely to the bottomless pits of greed & ego & selfish desires. Couple this with frighteningly weak and clueless leaders put in UMNO by default, legacy, nepotism & cronyism – we get what we have governing Malaysia today. 

A state of mess and moral decadence amongst (what could have been a vibrant, energetic and strong) Malay race so pitifully and unfortunately surrendered to having to believe (not by choice but only due to systematic indoctrination) in a lie formulated by largely weak, unethical, unmotivated and indisciplined leaders who desperately and meaninglessly chant a failed mantra “defend UMNO for your own sake but just in case you don’t buy this shenanigan, then defend your GOD or face eternal consequences” just to command allegiance and fear, whether voluntarily or by entitled duress based on religious tones. Such is the height of religious manipulation and fear tactics by authoritarians who have lost grip.

UMNO’s lifespan is up. It expired a long time ago, but UMNO of course is too powerless even to admit it’s lost all powers, and still believes in flogging the dead horse & deceiving self that it is still relevant & performing. It matters not from what (distorted) perspective UMNO sees things, it matters only that the rakyat sees it already – this is what seals the fate of UMNO.

Many agree that UMNO is NOT synonymous with Malays or Islam in the truest sense. Why? Because corruption, abuses, arrogance, wicked tactics, deceit are not taught in Islam.  UMNO merely displays a cultivated trend, a culture based on its self beliefs, self-motivation and practices. One should ask self whether UMNO fails completely to embody (and is devoid of all) essences of a race and religion that true Malaysians know and vouch for.   Yes – That of peace, gentleness, humility, uprightness, ethical, God fearing, progressive, inbuilt strength, true spirited and much more that we Malaysians know Muslims are – yet find their profound presence in society gravely diminishing in this  worrying generation who are fed and bred by UMNO defendors.

Notwithstanding, all is never lost. 

Take UMNO completely out of the equation by confiscating all power that has been exhausted & consumed by greed, selfishness and ego ….. And Malaysians, being fundamentally spirited to rebuild itself in racial and harmonious unity and love, will find our way, led once again by a rescucitated moral compass. No longer the broken compass stomped and thrown from the nest of vipers. When we bid UMNO BN Good Riddance, we can once again embrace & live out our beloved Rukun Negara with revived love, passion and dedication. 

UMNO BN R.I.P this GE13.

20. #20 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 31 March 2012 - 1:58 pm

PMaju, I think sotong is right!

21. #21 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 31 March 2012 - 2:03 pm

BN, especially UMNO has failed this country in general and the Malay in particular.

Instead of helping the Malay to improve, what UMNO has done is taking the short-cut by equipping the Malay with wheel chairs. This is not helping but destroying their own race!

22. #22 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 31 March 2012 - 2:23 pm

Singapore was recently ranked as the ‘Happiest country in Asia’ in a study reported by ABC News.

Among the various races in Singapore, the Malays are found to be the happiest!

This is contrary to UMNO’s claim that the Malays in Singapore are marginalized!

Perhaps, it is time UMNO open it’s eyes!