BN political chicanery, mendacity and bankruptcy of first order with CSL warning Chinese voters “A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS” while Najib warning Malay voters “A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP”

This is a disgraceful episode Malaysians must never forget, especially in the forthcoming 13th General Elections which holds out the possibility for the first time in the 54-year history of our nation of effecting a change of government at the national level.

The message of the MCA President Datuk Seri Chua Soil Lek in his debate with DAP Secretary-General and Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng on Saturday 18th February 2011 was his canard to Chinese voters warning that “A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS” resulting in an Islamic state and hudud Islamic laws.

Barely 24 hours later yesterday, the Prime Minister and UMNO President Datuk Seri Najib Razak decided to emulate the MCA President’s political chicanery and mendacity, producing his duly modified canard to Malay voters warning that “A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP” resulting in a “anti-Malay, anti-Islam and anti-Malay Rulers” future for Malaysia – and which can only mean no Islamic State and no hudud Islamic laws!

Imagine the sheer political insanity of a Barisan Nasional campaign where MCA warns Chinese voters that “A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS” in the sense that DAP will just be a stooge of PAS while UMNO warns Malay voters that “A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP” in the sense that PAS will be a puppet of DAP!

And horror of horrors, Barisan Nasional leaders do not see the sheer illogicality, insanity and even idiocy of such a campaign line!

No sane, rational and responsible political coalition would have used such diametrically conflicting canards – mutually cancelling each other out – with MCA warning Chinese voters that “A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS” while UMNO warns Malay voters the diametric opposite that “A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP” with the clearly explicit threat that Chinese or Malay rights would be sacrificed in each scenario!

There can be no doubt that with Chua Soi Lek warning Chinese voters “A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS” while Najib warns Malay voters “A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP’, Malaysians are seeing Barisan Nasional political chicanery, mendacity and bankrupticy of the first order.

But even more serious, this marked another important milestone in the Najib premiership – that in less than three years, the sixth Prime Minister of Malaysia has “given up the ghost” on his signature 1Malaysia policy to create a Malaysia where Malaysians regard themselves as Malaysians first and their race, religion, region or socio-economic status second.

The racist, irresponsible and dishonest Barisan Nasional propaganda, warning the Chinese that “A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS” and the Malay voters that “A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP”, is a total affront to the concept of 1Malaysia and Najib’s preachings calling on the moderates of the world to unite against extremists everywhere!

It stands as a testimony to the hypocrisy and bankruptcy of Barisan Nasional politics, where the basic thrusts of UMNO and MCA election campaigns are based on lies and falsehoods, and what is worse, sheer nonsense and illogicality which mutually cancels each other out.

In contrast, PKR, PAS and DAP offer a common message to all Malaysians to unite as Malaysians to save Malaysia from the corruption, abuses of power, injustices and racialism of UMNO/BN rule.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 3:35 pm

We live in crazy times. UMNO is the one now calling Malay racist and those that vote PAS not racist enough but DAP is the one defending them..

2. #2 by Loh on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 3:42 pm

DAP and PAS do not have the same policies, else they will be one party. As PAS and DAP are working towards forming a coalition government, then voting for PAS or DAP will achieve the same objective.

DAP stands firm against Islamic state, and PAS wants to form Islamic state; so unless PAS controlled Pakatan Rakyat like UMNO controls BN, Islamic state would not happen.

UMNO, MCA and MIC formed the race-based coalition, and yet CSL can only boast that they have created TAR university. The creation of a university needs no political power in any country in the world. Yet MCA gives up all pretense that it is powerless in the coalition government except some power-sharing arrangement at the personal wealth creation level of the politicians concerned.

MCA is selling the interests of Chinese since May 13 days and the advent of NEP. Would DAP lose out to PAS to have Islamic state created? Chinese have no choice on the matter since we are certain that racial discrimination would continue forever if BN continues reigning. We have a good chance of preventing PAS getting into Islamic state when they depend on DAP to form the coalition government. If PAS becomes as powerful as UMNO, then it would mean that UMNO members are PAS members. We can at least be happy that they would follow the true teaching of Islamic religion not to discriminate based on race. When we have no choice on the matter, Islamic state is better than racial discrimination.

3. #3 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 4:20 pm

“Or pek kong ka liao.”
    “Cho lang cho kui ah si e.”

These are the unmistakable kicks of a dying party. Totally aimless and completely meaningless. Annoying? Yes certainly but good sign I say.

4. #4 by Winston on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 4:43 pm

LKS, the BN has gone stark raving mad. Berserk!!!
    MAD!
    No doubt the distinct possibility of losing the next GE weighs
    very heavily on their minds. PR should keep piling up the
    pressure! No letting up!
    But be that as it may, PR is a rational party.
    That much we are agreed on.
    The PR, especially the DAP has plenty of good points!
    Points which make the voters want to cast their votes for it.
    So, why not capitalise on them?
    Cast the net as wide as possible and at the same time show up
    the BN for what it is, a vile, lying, corrupt, inconsistent, illogical
    party that is going to bankrupt the country, if not already
    bankrupted it.
    If possible show what is happening in Greece as a very good
    example of a bankrupt nation; how the people suffer!!
    With riots going on daily!
    I have a suggestion regarding a suitable title for a debate
    between the PM and Anwar.
    And that is – GOVERNMENT CORRUPTION!!
    I’m sure the PM would have plenty to talk about!!!!

5. #5 by jus legitimum on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 4:54 pm

It is because they are now desperate and can only resort to lies and threats to cling on to power.Don’t we see the MSM are their handy tools used shamelessly to mislead and bluff the voters.The latest example is Sin Chew Daily now follows the footsteps of Utusan and Star in its lopsided coverage and extremely biased reporting manner.This happened on its 19.2.12 publication.What Hiew Kuan Yau commented about some journalists behaved like prostitutes was after all not untrue.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 5:27 pm

The BN fellows are all having nightmares over PAS and DAP. They are all getting a bit coo-coo.

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 6:08 pm

UMNO, MCA and MIC share one thing in common. Got to do with their brains.
    UMNO = ultra mindless notorious orangutan
    MCA = mindless Chinese alsatian
    MIC = mindless Indian chicken

Together they make wonderful race-based animal kingdom.

8. #8 by monsterball on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 6:16 pm

They may as well say…..don’t vote for PAS and DAP.
    It’s like vote for UMNO b to take back the 4 States.
    It’s childish nonsense…low class…tongue twisting.
    It’s bankrupt with no ideas how to convince voters.
    It’s begging for votes…indirectly.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 7:40 pm

The Umno veteran (Tun Dr. M.) described his former protégé as “chameleon” who would only say what people wanted to hear in the latter’s quest to be prime minister.

“He is everything to everybody,” he scoffed. “He changes colour every time. When he is with the Chinese, he condemns the NEP. When he is with the Indians, he is Indian. When he is with Muslims, he will give talks about Islam.”
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/dr-m-malaysians-not-mature-enough-for-debates/

10. #10 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 8:28 pm

What the act for our Bolehland to exhibit cows in Condo??? Our tiny neighboring nation hosting the International Airshows!

Suckers are proud of their cows in Condo!

11. #11 by Kingkong on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 8:34 pm

” Chameleon ” sounds more like the TDM himself. He is even more superb with his notorious selective memory. He himself is a first class ” Chameleon”

12. #12 by gofortruth on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 8:57 pm

One can’t help sensing GE is very near and BN is hurry scurrying in a final attempt to divide the people by means of religious and racial fear.

I need help – My mother in law was told she can’t register as a voter in Muar because she is born in Teluk Intan. She has lived in Muar for the past 50 years with Muar address on her IC. Can anyone please let me know where ( a DAP centre) in
    Muar she can get help to get herself and her family members to register to vote in Muar. Many Thanks!

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 9:38 pm

BN is depraved is an understatement. But the motive and the rationale are quite clear. The assumptions here are: first, most Malaysians are racist and would vote purely based on race and second, many Malaysians are ignorant of what is going on. The Malays probably did not get to read what CSL was saying while many Chinese probably did not bother what Naj!b was saying to the Malays. Well, I hope these assumptions are wrong.

14. #14 by Winston on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 10:08 pm

#8 yhsiew, according to the article in the Malaysianinsider, an
    erstwhile PM was quoted as saying that we are not matured
    enough to have debates!
    If I’m not mistaken, we have been debating all this time!
    By posting our view-points in various blogs!
    Isn’t that one form of debating!
    Offering different view-points!
    Yet we were told we were not matured enough to do so?

15. #15 by jus legitimum on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 10:21 pm

I happened to know from MK that YB LKS is 71 today.

“Happy Birthday To You YB Lim Kit Siang”

16. #16 by Godfather on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 11:27 pm

And the MP for Kota Belud said that the diametrically opposing views of MCA and UMNO “are two sides of the same coin”. Yeah, it’s the typical “heads I win, tails you lose” position of BN. Same coin, and win either way.

Hey Rahman Dahlan, can you come up with a better analogy ?

17. #17 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 11:35 pm

One can hardly expect a man about to drown in the shit he has created to be reasonable. It is sign of desperation! Sign that the END is near! Any lies to avoid truth will do. This is BN today! They claim the Opposition is nothing and yet they are desperate! With the anount of cash being used to buy over Malaysian hearts, they think they will pull through this gimmick again. They actually gorgot this is 2012! Not 1220! We shall all cheer to enjoy their desperation!

18. #18 by Godfather on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 11:42 pm

I had nurtured the rambutan tree for over 30 years. It was in no man’s land, but I nurtured it all the same. At harvest time, I shared all the fruits with my Malay and Indian neighbours.

Then Cintanegara with the support of UMNO ultras claimed the rambutan tree as his. MCA persuaded me to give way “for the sake of harmony”.

Then UMNO decided to give free fertilizers to Cintanegara with the taxes that I paid. UMNO set a minimum price for rambutans way above what I could import from Thailand. They said I need an AP to import rambutans from Thailand. MCA persuaded me not to make any noise “for the sake of harmony”.

Now Cintanegara has affixed speakers at the top of the rambutan tree to spread the azan. MCA says I should bear with it 5 times a day “for the sake of harmony”.

What should I do when Cintanegara and his UMNO cohorts come calling to buy my land and if I do not sell, they will invoke compulsory acquisition ? Should I ask the MCA for help ? I think I’ll tell all these robbers to f*** off.

19. #19 by Tango on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 11:43 pm

At Bersih, I saw Malay, Chinese and Indians unite. I saw them able to set aside racial or religious differences bcos they are united in same cause. I saw they helped one another regardless of race and religion. We all want the same thing. And that day was a day I was convinced Malaysia has hope. That day i felt our children has hope. That day reflected what PKR, DAP and PAS can bring together. 50 years plus is enough chance, what more can I give to u BeeAnn? Since you won’t change, well now my vote will.

20. #20 by shukurhasran on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 1:53 am

Come election time..as agreed by Pakatan Rakyat…if the candidate is DAP, will vote…if it happens to be from PAS, will will vote…that’s what PM and CSL really mean..good for us

Parliament Kuala Langat..my wife and I never vote for BN since PRU10 hahaha..

21. #21 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 2:05 am

Our msm CONFIRMED their unprofessional n ugly 1-sided reportings
    UmnoB n MCA confirmed their racist stands + divide n rule DNA
    They just CAN’T STAND a peaceful, harmonious, united, race-blind rakyat

22. #22 by monsterball on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 4:05 am

It’s a childish low class tongue twisting speech by Chua.
    It’s not a debate.
    It’s insulting DAP and PAS in a hall filled with MCA members.

23. #23 by k1980 on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 7:51 am

Our great mamak changes colour every time. When he is with the Jews, he talks Yiddish. When he is with the Mamaks, he talks Tamil. When he is with the Americans, he condemns the jihadists, and when he is with the jihadists, he condemns the Americans.

24. #24 by k1980 on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 7:53 am

PR slogan for the 13GE—–

“A vote for mca is a vote for adultery”

25. #25 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 9:20 am

MCA and UMNO are two sleeping partners, they are talking with the same wavelength but with different colour.

26. #26 by Loh on Tuesday, 21 February 2012 - 4:05 pm

MCA tells Chinese that if PAS is in the coalition with Pakatan Rakyat taking over Putrajaya, there would be Islamic state. We are not sure whether Islamic state would ever be formed since DAP is against it, and PAS can only do so without DAP support. MCA tells Chinese that they are able to prevent UMNO excess if it is in the government. MCA has been part of the government for the past 55 years, and UMNO is getting ever more ultra by the day. Thus MCA has proven that UMNO is worse than PAS, and MCA is useless; less useful than eunuchs. MCA can claim that DAP prevents Chinese supporting MCA. That is actually a good thing. If MCA remains, race-based politics in the country will not end. Political parties representing their own community works only to UMNOputras interests, and to some extent MCA leaders. Chinese would be stupid to make the same mistake over and over again for the past 5 decades. Chinese should try a new structure. Bury MCA. UMNO can of course tell Malays that voting for PAS is voting for DAP. There are Malays in DAP. Why shouldn’t Malays support DAP?

27. #27 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 22 February 2012 - 8:27 am

A vote for DAP is a vote for PAS? Yes, I will vote DAP. PAS is more trustworthy than an adulterer.