Malays should not fear the DAP

Sakmongkol AK47
Jan 02, 2012

JAN 2 — I am not going to respond to the xenophobic responses around news that Aspan Alias and Sakmongkol are about to join the DAP. No explanation will be able to change preconceived biases. So why bother? So we are about to join or have joined the DAP.

The DAP is a democratic party committed to the rule of law, good governance and good government. It abhors corruption and abuse of political office. To me those are attractive propositions. Umno, on the other hand, has turned its back on these. It harps only on one primal worry of Malays — when Umno is threatened it shares the threat with Malays at large. So a threat to Umno is translated mindlessly into a threat to Malays as a whole. Nothing can be farther from the truth. That is how Umno has approached politics in Malaysia basically — make its fears public, make the gains private for selected Malays within Umno.

I have only one message to that; those salad days and that halcyon period are over.

Umno is trapped by its own successes. Indeed its supporters and leaders assume ownership of the wrong things and end up digging in to support the wrong choices.

My answer is, if we do indeed change our political vehicle that is what we are actually doing. Don’t read our move as blasphemous or treasonable. The DAP is more relevant and functional in achieving a more democratic and abuse-free society. As a Muslim, we are changing wadah not aqidah.

So, I thought it would be more substantive to answer my critics by writing an article, why shouldn’t Malays embrace DAP politics? That’s the only way to dominate and conquer your fears.

How has DAP politics been inimical to the general political health of this country? Can any DAP Chinese leader be a PM when it’s contesting only at most 50-55 seats? Can any DAP non Malay leader harbour the dream of becoming a PM in a country dominated by Malays? Has the DAP threatened the institution of the Malay Rulers? The DAP has never done that or will not be mad to countenance such rebellious idea, but Umno, on the other hand, has insulted the Malay Rulers way back in the 1998 constitutional crisis. Can we reasonably accept the allegation that the DAP is instrumental in claims that Malays are being converted into Christians when most DAP members are themselves not Christians? We have to do better than that to take Malays as imbeciles. Only Umno seems to do that.

But the DAP is a Chinese chauvinist party and anti-Malay. I will answer by examining the deeds rather than slogans. When I was an ADUN in the Pahang Legislative Assembly (2004-2008) I have never heard the lone DAP member ever speak about anti Malay themes. He spoke about abuse of power, about mindless spending, he spoke about maladministration. The first book Lim Kit Siang wrote that I read was “Time Bombs in Malaysia”. After that I read so many books written by Kit Siang that touched on the Maika scandal, the BMF financial scandal and so on. If we are honest enough, we have to admit, the issues raised were never about one race dominating the other but were always about the abuses of those in power, corruption, and a continuous attack on policies that are ruinous to this country. So we are going to oppose Kit Siang on the basis of the fact that these things are spoken of by a Chinaman?

To the Chinese, Umno is also a chauvinist Malay party except their leaders can be easily bought. The Malay will sell all to abandon their cause. Er…correction, the Umno Malay, I mean.

I would also like to respond by saying why Malays should consider joining the DAP en masse. It’s a party committed to democratic principles and rule of law. I can only imagine so many can prosper under a regime of freedom of speech within the DAP. I can speak on the plight of the displaced and disowned Malays with more energy than allowed in Umno. The interest of Malays can be fought on any political platform other than Umno. That is what Umno fears. Its monopoly is broken.

So the past week I have had many friends calling me asking whether it’s true I am joining the DAP? Some folks in my hometown Pekan refer to me now as Datuk DAP. I find the responses somewhat amusing and comical.

There was a comment reminding me and Aspan as to who started May 13? The thrust of that reminder is to remind us, of his and others’ belief, that the DAP started the May 13 incident.

OK, you want to play ball, we play ball too. Since you want to know, what if I say Tun Razak allowed it to happen because the ensuing troubles would give him an excuse to kick out Tunku Abdul Rahman? The point is there was no single contributor to the May 13 incident. But I would place some blame on Tun Razak who, as home minister, allowed things to degenerate. He allowed it so that a proclamation of emergency could be made.

Finally, let me deal with certain responses from certain pro-Umno bloggers. The chief spokesman is of course that paid lackey and buffoon of a regurgitating machine. He does nothing but regurgitate material passed on to him by his paymasters. The material he writes and posts therefore emits the strong smell of vomit. The owner of the lard-layered brain does what he does best — spewing personal attacks. And so he invites comments from likeminded mental gnomes to do what he has orchestrated.

Why the paranoia? If we are not good, failed ADUN, bankrupt politicians, it will be cinch for any winnable Umno candidates to beat us. So, it’s no cause for concern or a sleep depriver. But please remember to stop telling lies about us so that we can promise not to tell the truth about you.

I see a sense of hopelessness. They cannot attack our nationalist credentials because we are as Malay as they are too (to some we are in fact more Malay in appearance and in thinking) — so they do what they do best. Attack me on the personal side. No big deal. My advice to these Umno bloggers is simple. Please stop telling lies about me, and I promise not to tell the truth about you people. And telling the truth about you people includes telling the truth about top Umno leaders including the PM who is Pekan Umno division head.

If we are so easily beatable, then why all the fuss? We can’t do damage to invincible Umno. We, on the other hand, see Umno as the party before, presently and forever stealing, pillaging and ruining the country.

* Sakmongkol AK47 is the nom de plume of Datuk Mohd Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz. He was Pulau Manis assemblyman (2004-2008).

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 4:00 pm

Hi AK47, an honest man has just got to do what an honest man has got to do.

And I like yr honesty.

Keep it up, man. I would go to Pekan to support, yes, even help campaign for you on the ground if u dare take on the likes of najib Razak in the MP seat. Goliath will have a great fall this time around whatever the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ they pour into the elections. There comes a time in the tide of affairs when the people will rise up & say, Enuf is Enuf; najib must go!

2. #2 by monsterball on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 4:33 pm

All Muslims do not fear DAP…unless the Muslims that have weak minds ….easily convinced by BN politicians…particularly….by UMNO b party that controls the paper s and TVs channels….. all putting out half truths……all promoting how good UMNO b govt. is.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 6:33 pm

I put it to everyone that deep down, EVERYONE know DAP and the Chinese in this country is NOT anti-Malay. What the less-enlightened Chinese and very small segment of DAP is capable of is failure to check unconscious bias. The anti-racism movement lumped unconscious bias with racism as they are guilty of helping the over-racist. However such over-racist hardly exist among Malaysian Chinese today if ever there were only a few. There is no reason to lump unconscious bias with over-racist and because we do, we have been exploited by the over-racist in UMNO and created bias in the Malay community who before did not have them.

The number of Malays who were unconsciously racist was traditionally very very small. Their significant size today is a product of UMNO – a failure of UMNO.

The problem is artificial, its not the nature of who the Malays are. Hence it should be a matter of rejoice for Malaysian and Malay’s right when its reverted or it would otherwise a matter of shame.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 6:45 pm

UmnoB Malays suffer fr sciophobia or sciaphobia, cos they fear their OWN SHADOWS

D NEW year started with a few bombs fr RPK n MCLM is in disarray
    We gonna C interesting n volatile developments unfolding b4 d next GE
    Whao lau, it’s like Spy vs. Spy in Mad magazine, siok leh; let d SHOWS BEGIN!

5. #5 by Loh on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 6:52 pm

///The DAP is a democratic party committed to the rule of law, good governance and good government. It abhors corruption and abuse of political office. To me those are attractive propositions. Umno, on the other hand, has turned its back on these. It harps only on one primal worry of Malays — when Umno is threatened it shares the threat with Malays at large. So a threat to Umno is translated mindlessly into a threat to Malays as a whole. Nothing can be farther from the truth. That is how Umno has approached politics in Malaysia basically — make its fears public, make the gains private for selected Malays within Umno.///–S. AK 47

That is a fair assessment of the two main political parties in the country. The so-called component BN parties or more accurately the subsidiaries of UMNO are in there to share the crumbs of UMNO leftovers in return for selling their souls.

There must be at least two equally strong political parties in the country to ensure that the one in power did not go into excess. British granted independence to Malaya on the condition that political parties in the country had to represent all races and race-based political parties were blessed for giving the impression of harmony. In Iraq, the political parties are repeating the mistakes of organizing them around different sects of the same religion when there is purity in race among the people.

Had Malaysia moved away from race-based politics after the race-based provision in the constitution had lived out its sunset clause, say in 1972 after a review of the race-based provisions in the constitution, a trillion ringgit of oil windfalls starting after 1974 would have been used to develop the country, more in terms of institutional buildings and human resources development rather than had them plundered by the powers-that be to build institutionalized structural corruptions.
    Corruption in the country is wide spread and institutionalized. Yet the government arrogantly demonstrates that it allowed corruptions so long as the actors are their members. UMNO is confident that in claiming to defend race, religion and the Rulers, Malays would support UMNO in the election, believing that Malays at large are sold on the belief that they share benefits from UMNO’s rule through its racial discrimination policies. Hence, UMNO considers it to its advantage to highlight that there is no equality in the country and that the favored belong to one entity would ensure UMNO’s electoral success. With that success UMNO continues to make the wealth of the country their private property.

Semangat 46 should have merged with DAP after the 1990 election, but Tengku Razaleigh could not outlive his race-based politics. PKR’s Malays are mostly the rejects of UMNO, and when opportunity presents itself many turn frog-like.

PAS was a splinter of UMNO and it has not grown out of its narrow religious outlook. It PAS was only interested in ensuring the propagation of Islam and genuine profession of the religion by Muslims it should not be involved in politics in which activities are beneath the purity of religion. There are a billion and more Muslims but only less than one-tenth live in Islamic state in the style of Iran, which is not a model country Muslims would aspire to emulate. PAS should reconsider its manifesto to weed out corruption, which is the enemy of the religion, and the country as well.

Around the world only Malaysia practices race-based government policies. Do Malays want to continue to be the exclusive class of people in the world, where others might not look favorably at in the 21st century? Would Malays want to be viewed with suspect of their qualifications abroad? Najib even had the temerity to call for moderation when it practices extremism based on birth.

Until Malays are willing to giving up the vainglory of being placed on special position in the constitution which gives UMNO the opportunity to exploit it for material wealth advancement, UMNO sees no reason to change its democratic game. Malays would again be consigned to low-income trap dragging non-Malays along.

DAP needs no member from the subsidiaries of BN, for there are only minorities who have no influence on non-Malays to support them. DAP should be the vehicles for Malays to stop UMNO excesses. Yes there are rumours that not all DAP members could resist temptation to corruption; they are rare exceptions among the members who could be lured. In BN, there are rare exceptions who are not involved, like Shahrizat announced: “Which UMNO leaders had no problem!”.

If Malays are serious about wanting a change to a two-party political system, they should join DAP.

6. #6 by DAP man on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 8:26 pm

As a young boy I remember the Chinese use to frighten their toddlers that the black-skinned- Indian would catch them if they refuse to take their dinner.

Similarly, UMNO has been frightening the Malays with toddlers’ minds. But the Malays have grown up and they don’t fear the DAP as the adult Chinese don’t fear the black-skinned Indians.

7. #7 by wcsian on Monday, 2 January 2012 - 11:20 pm

DAP should encourage even more future leaders who are incorruptable, resourceful, high IQ/EQ, good core values… inregardless of race, to join in the ranks. Malaysia really need good leaders who know to get the job done for the benefit of many.

8. #8 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 12:21 am

The politicization of education is aimed at controling the ind of the masses; here in particular the mind of the rural Malays. From day 1! Hence the simplest weapon is through association of DAP with anything anti-Malays to the extent that cintanegara would defend such action as positive on before of the Malay community when at the same time they keep harping that the community has not progressed enough to compete without any assistance from EVERY ASPECT! After 41 years of NEP and if UMNO had failed to achieve the objectivers , who should be blamed? when all resources have been spent but when the community asked them for their explanation, they refused to explain with any rationale expect keep harping that DAP is anti-Malays. It is time that the Community wake up and seek UMNO to explain why they have failed to achieve anything tangible for the Communirty [ as they claimed] after 42 years [ since 1970]. In any company the MD would have been sacked longer ago. the greatest sin, UMNO had committed against the Malay Community in general is to block the thinking process which is frightened them into self-destruction from within. It is high time the more enlightened members of the community start to ask some more relevant questions, especially for the Super-Ego to answer!

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 12:48 am

D corrupt COW was udderly correct: Which UMNO leaders had NO problem!”

Our Defce Minster just CONFIRMED how 2 jiak pa pa n jiak BIG UmnoB way: “D cost of procuring assets for d natl defence inventory will NOT EXCEED d ceiling set by d gomen”

Fr RM6 billion to RM9 billion, OK 1, APPROVED cos it DID NOT exceed d ceiling set by d gomen (aka UmnoB) [Note: Ceiling like d pole used in LIMBO ROCK, KEEP SHIFTING, how HIGH can it go!]

What sort of SHAMELESS daylight corrupt robbery is dis? 不打自招

UmnoB Malays squeezing d nation DRY, HOW NOT 2 CRY 4 M’sia?

10. #10 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 1:45 am

11. #11 by Winston on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 9:06 am

Nowadays, many governments worldwide, are like runaway
    freight trains.
    Once a government becomes corrupt and/or arrogant, there
    is nothing there to stop it. Or rather nothing can stop it.
    It can then do what it wants without regard to anything, or anybody.
    So, what is the best solution in containing this very common
    problem?

12. #12 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 11:19 am

Setakat menjadi ahli bawahan…apa la hendak di banggakan? Melainkan LKS hendak memberikan jawatan ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang kepada Saudara Sakmongkol…

Sebenarnya DAP telah mencuba melantik ahli-ahli melayu sejak lama dahulu…Ahmad Noor, Fadzlan, Tunku Aziz dll…semuanya tak mendapat Sokongan…Orang-orang Melayu sekarang lebih bijak…tidak mudah diperbodoh2kan…saya rasa saudara Sakmongkol hanya membuang masa….

13. #13 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 1:34 pm

cintanegara boleh rasa ini…itu….cuba ini ..itu…cakap bansa ini..bansa itu…suma tak lalu.. ..sebab dia uluar kercil molek….bohon …borak..muca kulit tebal…tiap tiap hari… ambil Najib’s bodek…makan gaji buta…chakap bohon besar …best.

14. #14 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 January 2012 - 1:44 pm

Smart Malaysians do not fear DAP.
    Go read all Lim Kit Siang’s booklets on corruption cases.
    He speaks and wrote and even went to jail to protect all Malaysians..for decades.
    Just look at how all Malaysians voted DAP to govern Penang.
    Without Muslim votes …that can never happen…but it did…and it will continue and spread to other States…that frighten and give Najib sleepless nights and bad dreams…that he dare not declare the date on his “around the corner” 13 the GE…..talk ..dare not do…for loosing 13t GE…Najib and Rosmah… main target….to show Malaysians…how to end corruptions and murders.
    PR knows what PEOPLE want…..toe the line or be voted out.

15. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 4 January 2012 - 7:24 am

Cintanegara, your definition of being “bijak” is based on your mindset of easy rental collection. You refuse to acknowledge the fact that the majority of the Community is suffering from such wontanness of BN today. People like you may have benefitted, but what about the whole society? I know you never like the little dot down south but they have shown the world what they could achieve by implementing a simple rule: no corruption! Base on your belief, how on earth that such action is not acceptable? surely not based on your Faith? Having seen your reaction so far, I can only conclude that you are indeed one of THEM! paying lip-service in the same vein as Ibrahim Ali just to serve your OWN interests! nothing more!