GE 13 – “I can DELIVER” talk is cheap!

by Richard Loh

A primary one student can also claim easily that he can deliver. In fact all salesmen, businessmen and any Tom Dick and Harry can promised and said “I can deliver”.

I was disconnected from the virtual and outside world for almost a month and have no idea what the local political scenes have turned into. While eating the bungkus nasi lemak I read from the wrapped star paper headlines “I can deliver – Najib Razak”.

Today after getting connected again and having read most of the political news, I wonder what the PM meant by “I can deliver”. By just giving a salesman type of answer “I can deliver” means nothing if the whole system of manufacturing the product is not working in sync.

Way back in the late 90’s when I was in the US, I applied for a delivery job in a restaurant. The boss asked me one question ‘can you deliver?’ and of course my answer was ‘I can deliver’. He started laughing and told me that he had fired six delivery men within six months, all answering the same question with ‘I can deliver’. I asked what went wrong.

The boss than explained, either the car broke down frequently, not able to read the road map, poor working relationship with co-workers or flirting around. I then assured the boss that these will not be my problems and to try me out for a month. Since the restaurant was in urgent need of a delivery man I was employed.

Within two months I was named the fastest delivery man in town and of course the boss was laughing all the way to the bank because I can make so many deliveries for him each day. What the people wanted when they order delivery were the food arrive in time and still in warm and tasty condition. I seldom cross the speed limit and never got caught for any traffic offences. There were complaints to the boss that I deliver too fast, no joke. So, how did I successfully make the delivery? Here is how.

Within two weeks of employment I changed my old broken down Fort Escort for a brand new Nissan Sentra. Inside the kitchen there were the Chinese (China) chef, Indonesian helpers (preparing the raw ingredients), Americans taking the phone orders and packaging. I work very closely with them all. Once orders were taken, the American will let me know the addresses (I always reminded the Americans to make sure the addresses are always correct) and I will study the map and find the locations. Next I will work with the chef to speed up on the delivery orders. The American will follow the list that I provided that highlights which address I will deliver first and packed them accordingly to the routes that I will be driving.

You can deliver successfully only when the whole system is functioning properly. Najib Razak alone cannot make any delivery if he fails to clean up the whole system that runs the government. The whole system is rotten to the core. Even his own DPM is not working or talking in sync with his policies, how can the PM than make any delivery. Sending his cybertroppers to attack oppositions with unsubstantiated claim of wrong doings, sexual misconduct and created lies upon lies do not help either.

Giving out goodies only near election time is no delivery but an insult to the voters. Playing cool on the outside but cold inside that calls for “crushed bodies and lost lives” ain’t delivery. Flip flopping and making u-turns after policy statements cannot count as delivery. Copying from others and treated as yours are not delivery.

Without making changes to the judiciary, PDRM, MACC, EC, laws that hinder democracy and race and religious relationships and appoints suitable, qualified and capable candidates to important Minister posts such as finance and education I can bet that Najib can only deliver zero.

Today PM Najib has given us a very good advise, “don’t be afraid to take risks”, so what are you all waiting, grumbling or indecisive about. BN is Umno that has been in power for over five decades and we have seen and heard how bad they are and yet we keep voting them in because we dare not take the risks. With Najib’s advise we can now take the risks to CHANGE the bad and filthy Umno government. Go for it, believe me, this risk is worth taking.

1. #1 by Jong on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 7:15 pm

… yeah Talk is Cheap and Lies are Expensive!
    Jangan takut, take risk, go for change – CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT!

2. #2 by ktteokt on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 7:29 pm

NR is a SUPERMAN! He can DELIVER even in the Delivery Room of the hospital although he is NOT MEDICALLY TRAINED!

3. #3 by Godfather on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 8:17 pm

“I can deliver.” That’s not meant for us. It’s meant for UMNO. He can deliver lots of flying cows.

4. #4 by GOD on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 8:58 pm

Which part of “I can deliver” do you not understand Loh?? Maybe I can help you.

5. #5 by GOD on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 9:08 pm

“Inside the kitchen there were the Chinese (China) chef, Indonesian helpers (preparing the raw ingredients), Americans taking the phone orders and packaging. I work very closely with them all. Once orders were taken, the American will let me know the addresses (I always reminded the Americans to make sure the addresses are always correct) and I will study the map and find the locations. Next I will work with the chef to speed up on the delivery orders.” Delivery boy Richard Loh

So you think governing a country is like doing deliveries, running errands from a Chinese Take-Out.

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 10:11 pm

No, no, governing a country is not like doing deliveries. As far as UMNO is concerned, governing a country is like running a mushroom farm. Keep people in the dark and continue to feed them with bullsh!t.

7. #7 by GOD on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 10:48 pm

Smoking mushrooms gives you only a short high.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 11:03 pm

Smoking mushrooms?What’s that?

9. #9 by GOD on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 11:34 pm

You can smoke weed while on magic mushrooms. It adds intensity.

10. #10 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 31 October 2011 - 11:50 pm

GOD must have been smoking the magic mushroom while addressing this article! He misses the point made by the writer by a wide margin, maybe by the distance to the moon!

11. #11 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 1:43 am

The God is NUTS,, to use mushrooms as weeds to smoke.
    This God loves to smell and hug..bulls and sleep on their dungs too……..eeeeeeerrrrrr

12. #12 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 5:43 am

So our God is actually a delivery boy.quoting himself.
    For all the sins he committed…he made himself a God….so that no one can judge him.
    Crackos do think like that.

13. #13 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 8:11 am

GOD – gobermen’s opposition denouncer. That’s his job.

14. #14 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 8:20 am

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2011/10/31/rempits-want-race-track-condemn-racist-cm/

“Why is the OCPD so afraid of Umno?”

B’cos his ricebowl depends on them

15. #15 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 8:21 am

How can you help G.O.D? why don’t start by telling us what you take jibby’s “i can deliver” to mean? you know, in the context of all the failures racked up by him and his kind?

btw shrooms give you a short high which is more than enough for you minions who have zero attention span on what’s happening to the country.

16. #16 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 8:25 am

Jibby: “I can DELIVER”

The thousands of postmen nationwide: “Me too”

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 8:56 am

When will people get it that Najib is NOT a person of depth. His abilities and talent are highly shallow. In fact its partly why he has so much problem with the right-wing of his party because his knowledge of Islam as a Muslim is not deep, the man cannot qoute well or even much from the texts because he did not spend much time with the Islamic texts or any real difficult text all his life.

Its also why he has so many consultant telling him what to do and doing his work. Its also no conincidence that the ones that get paid the best are Public Relations and spin-doctors – because he can’t figure out things in depth.

This is no person to face the great challenge that this nation now and future faces. He can’t handle it because what is happening is a seismic change. The man is a ‘surfer’ – knowing things supercially and functioning superficially. Deliver? What? Nice packaging and crappy product? That is a used car salesman job not the leader of a nation, not this one and not at this time or the future.

18. #18 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:01 am

Guys, don’t be so hard on GOD. I’m his father.

19. #19 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:13 am

He may wants to deliver but that was not enough. Many of his Ministers still living and acting in denial of what has happened. The tour minister deny of the overspending and lembu minister also deny nothing wrong with minister family involves in the lembu project. Fine no deny but have they achieve what they suppose to achieve.
    SSM search on that lembu company has never updated its financial statements and no way we can not what has happened.

So many of them were in denial mode. Please own up and deliver but no just slogan shutting

20. #20 by GOD on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:35 am

Leave GOD (read: Allah) alone. He is busy fighting two wars. He has his hands full.

I was referring to Richard Loh’s self-praise, his fixation with the delivery system he used while running errands for the Chinese Take-Out he worked for in Chinatown. For him to equate running deliveries for a Chinese take-out to the complexities of governing a country is like Ridhuan Tee telling his Malay Muslim audience that the only way to implement hudud is by force.

21. #21 by GOD on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:36 am

I was referring to Richard Loh’s self-praise, his fixation with the delivery system he used while running errands for the Chinese Take-Out he worked for in Chinatown. For him to equate running deliveries for a Chinese take-out to the complexities of governing a country is like Ridhuan Tee telling his Malay Muslim audience that the only way to implement hudud is by force.

22. #22 by GOD on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:46 am

Malaysia is not a Postal Services Department and you guys are not members of postal workers union.

23. #23 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:58 am

Godfather…bring your son GOD to see a brain doctor.
    He is going NUTS!!

24. #24 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 11:36 am

Godfather, your son can’t understand analogy. Please educate him before he comments.
    Gott, to make it easy for you, the writer tries to point out that in order to deliver, he needs the system to be well-oiled, all govt agencies need to work hand in hand to deliver to the people.

But for now the govt is very well oiled to steal from this country. From pdrm, macc, ag chamber, etc all the way to putridjaya. working hand in hand.

25. #25 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 12:45 pm

Godfather, please explain to your son God that Richard Loh did not sleep on his job. He stayed focused and systemetically planned out his routes to effect speedy delivery as he was paid to do and best of all, he did not without ‘curi-makan’!

26. #26 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 12:47 pm

oops sorry, should read “…he did not ‘curi-makan’!

27. #27 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 12:51 pm

Yes, sucker! You “can deliver” only in front of more Mongolian Beauty… That’s it!!!

28. #28 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 1:14 pm

OK, OK, I’ll spank GOD. He means well, but he can’t resist stirring the sh!t from time to time.

29. #29 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 7:38 pm

Pity my good old dog.I think I must allow the poor chap to call it a day.

30. #30 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:11 pm

Najib says, “I CAN DELIVER!” So say the GYNAECOLOGISTS who would turn back and ask “IN THE DELIVERY ROOM?”

31. #31 by rockdaboat on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:52 pm

Aiyah Richard, what jibjib meant is that he can deliver Putra Jaya to Pakatan lah.

And all of us have no doubt that he is can and he will.