Parliamentary body to probe feedlot project

by Hazlan Zakaria
6:45PM Oct 24, 2011

The fate of a failed government-linked company and its RM250 million government soft loan that was made debate fodder by the Opposition in Parliament recently is in the sight of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

“This matter has been made much of in Parliament. The PAC will look into National Feedlot Corporation, which is under the Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industries,” its chairperson Azmi Khalid told reporters after chairing the financial oversight body’s maiden meeting for this session at Parliament House today.

The opposition raised red flags on the corporation, not just because of its non-performance but more so because of National Feedlot’s link to the son and husband of a federal minister.

The opposition MPs are claiming that the government’s granting of RM250 million to the National Feedlot project presents a conflict in interest, if not direct competition, because of the family links with the cabinet minister.

The quarter of a billion Ringgit was from a RM1.2 billion national fund set up to ensure that Malaysia becomes self-sufficient in food and livestock production, the project supposed to ensure Malaysia becomes self-sufficient in beef production by this year, but as the opposition claimed, with nothing to show thus far.

However, despite the issue being raised repeated times in Parliament by the Opposition, the only replies from the government have been weak denials of any conflict of interest or any complicity.

This statement from the PAC is the first assurance of an investigation into the matter.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 24 October 2011 - 11:55 pm

Same, same old, sickening tune!

Auditors general’s reports for the last umpteenth years show countless abuses and excesses. But for the same stupid old UMNO, life just goes on as usual.

Well, I guess Najib is right – you scratch my back, I scratch your back. UMNO, GLC, semua itu abang adik saje kan?

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 12:09 am

“Soft loan’? Reminds me of the RM 4.8 BILLION ‘soft loan’ to Klang Port Authority. What has become of it? Any accounts?

3. #3 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 12:28 am

Every year we hear the same old disgusting revelations of how the taxpayers’ money are ripped off or wasted by the Govt. And every year we will hear the same old promises that action will be taken but then nothing will happen and leaving not only the culprits to continue stealing but also encourage new ones to join in since they know no action will be taken.

And we have that bunch of useless MACC officers who are more keen to have their witnesses mysteriously volunteering to jump out the windows in their offices than to investigate all these wrong doings when it is so blatant and with iron clad proof provided by the AG report.

Any five year old can tell you if you buy any product 100 times above market price, it stinks of corruption. More than once I have had Govt officers boldly asking me to hike my prices by more than ten times with the difference to be paid to them. I told them I will not but if they want to ask someone to buy on their behalf and resell to them at the inflated price they are welcome to do so.

4. #4 by passerby on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 12:44 am

One family is now self-sufficient and the national self-sufficient project is therefore a success, one family at a time!

5. #5 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 3:25 am

Read d latest Auditor-General’s Report, year after year d same old ridiculously sky-high payments made (WHAT SOFT LOAN? Dat’s GIVE AWAY angpow lah), ARE WE NOT a nation of DUMB VOTERS, still accepting UmnoB/BN gomen?

Wonder if d Report has been beautified by d corrupt gomen?
    Now rakyat know Y NR n looters keep pushing out new transformation mega projects
    No wonder national bankruptcy guaranteed, while diamond getting bigger n more varied handbags surface with d fat stumpy torso

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 8:20 am

How many of these financial transgressions listed by the Auditor-General’s Report get investigated by the macc?

NONE!

I don’t think all this nonsense would had occurred if the Brits are still ruling the country. In fact, we might even surpass the per capita GDP of Canada by now !

7. #7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 8:32 am

KUALA LUMPUR: Under a new agreement, the government will pay RM7.55 billion for 257 armored personnel carriers (APCs), four times more for the same deal made earlier this year.

RM7.55 billion for 257 armored personnel carriers ==> RM 29.4 million each! Are they gold-plated or diamond- encrusted?

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Turkish-Pars-8×8-APCs-300×171.jpg

8. #8 by dagen on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 8:33 am

You people are simply anti-agung, anti-sultan, anti-islam jenis umno, anti-melayu, unpatriotic, ungrateful, communist, terrorist etc etc to talk about the constitutional rights of umnoputras to steal, rob and plunder.

But WTF!

Yr after yr the Auditor General gave us the same report. Umno is not bothered. Umno is unfazed by the adverse publicity because umno is rock confident that despite all the abuses and wastages there are still enough fools among us to vote them back into office.

I am sick. Sick of umno.

9. #9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 9:02 am

Everyone in BN gets to feed. Feed on the rakyat’s funds. Feed until they are so fat like leeches filled with others’ blood. Now this case of the minister and her son taking the government to the cleaners. You think she’s going to get the sack ? Nah, it’s a case of “you makan, I also makan” so it becomes an “NFA” case.

10. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 9:03 am

NR n UmnoB/BN proudly inform rakyat:
    D number of millionaires has almost doubled in Malaysia over d last 18 months, d Wall Street Journal (WSJ) reported

Expect more ppl with gigantic diamond rings n fanciful handbags lor

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 9:10 am

N CSL told rakyat: “It has been a good year, let feel-good factor prevail”
    Translating 2 we UmnoB/BN kaki r enjoying a great year (in terms of easi $ masuk pockets lah) n r veri happi, every1 shld b happi n feel good too, DON”T ROCK d BOAT!

12. #12 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 - 1:10 pm

Rakyat is hateful? The above is one of the reason.

More so what call for investigation after all the harm has done? This kind of thing happen every year. Why never change?

CSL better ask more the changes that needed most rather asking the people to be less hateful.

We have enough. Boiling water is always has a point that we call boiling point. That point has reached. It will explode any time now.

For get of PAC. That little head is just another stooges of BN.

Imagine PAC investigation on PKFZ? What happen? That only for show after all billion has down the drain.

Tax payers have to foot the bill.