Khairy, Oh why Khairy?

By Douglas Tan | October 19, 2011
Free Malaysia Today LETTER

In less than 140 characters, Khairy Jamaluddin may have just destroyed his and Umno’s chances of swaying fence sitters and Malay moderates from supporting Barisan Nasional at the next General Election.

He has committed the cardinal sin of politics by picking on not his political opponent, but his son. A mere school boy, what could Lim Junior have possibly done to deserve such slander? Lim Guan Eng and Lim Kit Siang have every right to be outraged at this despicable behaviour.

It is one thing to have pro-Umno bloggers spreading lies and slander over the Internet. That only reaches a limited audience. Politician expect to face criticism on a daily basis. In fact one would argue that criticism could make one stronger.

However, to level a blow on a 16-year old boy, this is no longer fair game. No one would ever tolerate attacks on a person’s child, whether in government and opposition. When an opposition member condemns the child of a member of the ruling party, when that child is in no position to defend his or herself, it should be roundly condemned. It holds true the other way round.

Right now, Khairy Jamaluddin finds himself in a precarious position. As Umno Youth chief, he has painted an image that he is a moderate and an agent for change within a party which has lost their core values in their quest to retain power.

He is a young, highly educated and well spoken leader, representing the next generation of politicians in this country. We also know he is a loving father with two sons which he dotes upon. Imagine if one of his sons was in Lim Junior’s position. Wouldn’t he be outraged? We would be appalled if he was not.

Why one earth then did he decide to add fuel to fire with his two tweets, the first one yesterday where he said in response to another tweet by pro-Umno blogger “@PapaGomo” translated to “Maybe he destroyed Kampung Buah Pala because he wants to replace it with Kampung Buah Dada”, which can be construed as a direct attack on Lim Junior.

Despite clarifications that the girl in question was not even in the same class as Lim Junior, Khairy was relentless. In his response to calls to apologise, he defended his comments tweeting “Bro, what BN leaders & their families get from the opposition is far worse.

Don’t be hypocritical” replying to Liew Chin Tong and Satees Muniady. I actually replied, via @douglast86 “because BN leaders feel aggrieved of past attacks they can justify an attack on LGE son?”

Personally, I’m horrified that as a result of both sides accuse each other of playing gutter politics, children can be brought into the foray. This is nothing short of disgusting, with every loving parent condemning this kind of action, irrespective of political affiliation.

Do we see here the real Khairy Jamaluddin? What about the moderate, the reformer and the light for the future of Umno? Will the real Khairy Jamaluddin please stand up?

Now he faces the uphill battle to restore his and his party’s image. An apology is certainly in order, but he would have to go the extra mile to erase this from the memories of the Rakyat. May God forgive him for this unprovoked attack on an innocent child. In future, remember the rules and pick on someone your own size.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 3:22 pm

Khairy, Oh why Khairy?

Answer– Because he is Hairy, That’s why, Hairy

2. #2 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 4:15 pm

Khairy is as good as gone because he won’t be retained for Rembau. He has to do something quick, or else Mamakthir’s boy will usurp the post of UMNO Youth Chief.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 4:28 pm

swaying the moderates and fence sitters? UMNO/BN have given up on the moderate and intelligent voters. The PM himself has said it ‘UMNO party hanya untuk petani, nelayan dan orang kampung sahaja’ – if they can’t lie to you, they will buy your vote OR they will cheat. Even KJ knows this and that is why he did what he did.

The point of it all is to keep faith with the crazies and dumb because without extreme emotions, the crazies and the dumb will lose faith.

4. #4 by Loh on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 4:36 pm

///Do we see here the real Khairy Jamaluddin? What about the moderate, the reformer and the light for the future of Umno? Will the real Khairy Jamaluddin please stand up?////–D Tan

That is the real Khairy. He is an opportunists and he does everything to advance his interests. There was never a moderate in the person of khairy; those were pure drama.

Khairy said that Malays in Penang were marginalized. UMNO marginalized non-Malays everywhere, ever since NEP. Can it ever happen that Malays in Penang were ever marginalized? For that to ever begin, marginalization of non-Malays in Penang should have stopped first. Had UMNO ever agree to stop, even now when Najib knows very well that the notorious 30% had long been exceeded by a large margin, he is talking about supporting the talents in Malays only. NEP never had that in mind, and now he is using the unconstitutional means to do what he pleases, and non-Malays are continued to be treated as non-citizens. By the way, a high percentage of the so-called Malays in Penang are actually Mamaks.

5. #5 by Not spoon fed on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 4:55 pm

We see how terribly they manage universities and ranking dropped due to racial base intake as reported by World Bank.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 5:33 pm

His true inner self has emerged and is now open for every one to see.

You peel away the shell and you will see what is really inside. He could not hide forever.

He is now an ‘open’ book. He has ‘come out’.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 5:44 pm

Q. Why did Khairy tweet?

A. Because he is an ‘educated’ twit.

8. #8 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 5:45 pm

Umno is full of perverts, including this oxfart graduated monkey.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 5:54 pm

Looks like Oxford will drop by at least one place in next year’s top university rankings. It produced one unsuitable, defective graduate.

Sorry to all other Oxonians.

10. #10 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 6:35 pm

Most probably this KJ fellow got his admission into Oxford through the back door.A real Oxford graduate should not have made such mean and unfounded remark.Anyway only that stupid party can produce such low quality stuff to be its leaders.

11. #11 by FanOfKit on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 6:58 pm

This boozer womanizer was a has-been from the very moment his FIL ceased to be the top honcho of Putrajaya. End of story!

12. #12 by negarawan on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 7:11 pm

YB LGE, take the UMNO goons and liars to court. This testimony from the school principal confirms the shameful and dishonourable attempt by these UMNO goons like Khairy to discredit an innocent child. Khairy Jamaluddin, you think you’re such a smart and holy person? Let me ask you if Islam teaches its followers to throw wild and cruel accusations against others, especially an innocent child? Is this the Islam Hadhari your father-in-law taught you? Shame on you and your entire family!

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:12 pm

You can send Khairy to Oxford but you can’t take the kampung out of Khairy.

14. #14 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 11:25 pm

15. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 20 October 2011 - 2:33 am

Khairy the Oxfart bodoh.
    Sudah jadi low class…more and more.
    Apasal jadi ini macham?

16. #16 by monsterball on Thursday, 20 October 2011 - 2:35 am

Khairy behave like that because of STAB…{Syphilis Attack The Brain}

17. #17 by k3737373737 on Friday, 21 October 2011 - 2:59 am

wonder if he really graduated from oxford???????????????
    What a shame. Low life.