Attack on Guan Eng’s son is ‘gutter politics’, says Pakatan

By Shannon Teoh | October 18, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 18 — Pakatan Rakyat’s (PR) top leadership came out in full force today to defend Lim Guan Eng, calling allegations by Umno against the DAP secretary-general’s son “the lowest gutter politics” seen in decades.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim told a press conference after a PR presidential council meeting that the accusations showed that Umno leaders “know no limits when it comes to clinging on to power.”

“Attacking not just leaders but their families … it is disgusting,” the PKR de facto leader said.

DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang called the allegations, which centre around the alleged conduct of Guan Eng’s son in school and allegations about the subsequent use of his father’s name to escape punishment, “gutter politics of the lowest I have seen in over 40 years of politics.”

“I call on the prime minister and deputy prime minister to state their stand on how they would feel if their children or grandchildren were the subject of such baseless slander. Is this their political transformation?” said Kit Siang, who is the grandfather of the 16-year-old.

Guan Eng said today he was furious with the “barbaric lies” made about his teenage son by “pro-Umno ferocious beasts” and singled out Khairy Jamaluddin and other party leaders for perpetrating the allegations with snide comments on blogs and social media sites.

The Penang chief minister pointed to the allegations highlighted in Bukit Gelugor Umno division chairman Dr Novandri Hasan Basri’s blog and a subsequent comment posted by Umno Youth chief Khairy on his Twitter account.

Dr Novandri and other bloggers also accused Lim of paying RM200,000 to keep the scandal out of the media and said the chief minister had then transferred his son to another school.

Using the Twitter handle @Khairykj, Khairy had written, “Mungkin dia roboh Kampung Buah Pala sebab nak ganti dengan Kampung Buah Dada” in response to another tweet by pro-Umno blogger “@PapaGomo”. [English translation: Maybe he destroyed Kampung Buah Pala because he wanted to replace it with Kampung Buah Dada.]

PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang also said that such attacks on sensitive issues showed that Barisan Nasional (BN) had entered election mode.

“They should keep this disease of slander within their own parties,” the Marang MP said.

1. #1 by negarawan on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 6:29 pm

Basically, UMNO/BN has caused Malaysia to be what it is today – a failed state. UMNO politicians like Novandri and Khairy are generally politically bankrupt, corrupt and immoral. Khairy, you have children too and the law of Karma will hit you back one day. You have to hit your political opponents below the belt because your father and father-in-law taught you this? Kurang ajar as they say!

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 7:13 pm

D is Y NR proudly announced: Here we hv d best demoncrazy of d world

3. #3 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 7:17 pm

Erection coming mah, now we hv KTK’s soon-2-b self sacrifice, then buah dada grabbing n squeezing, next d closure of sodomee II (judgement day coming), then GE lor

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 8:29 pm

Very cheap shot from Khairy. Very unworthy of him to stoop so low to the gutter.

5. #5 by asia on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 12:08 am

BN=Bankrupt Nation

Bankrupt Nation attack JUSTICE supporter so they may keep Bankrupt Nation alive

6. #6 by born in Malaya on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:09 am

Whatever the UMNO liars are saying are just lies, look at how UMNO took away our rights by being a race base government for the past 50 over years.
    Those who still vote for them are really naive and stupid and UMNO’s dogs.

7. #7 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:13 am

LGE,
    worst come to worst just sent your son to study in singapore. afterall the education standard up until university level in malaysia u and i know….this also happen to my friend’s son last time during the 80’s when studying in the northern state . he did well in penilaian darjah lima but the education department put him in the notorious gangster school in cheras after they moved to kl during form one “kononnya” dekat dengan rumah,(that was the law they said and no more place in other school like St John,VI or Cochrane.(if want a place can bribe one of the officer 5000 ringgit). he was the only one with that distinction result in that gangster school!!!!!! so you all see even a kid is not spare from the cruelty and wicked heart of our racist BN government.they can harm LGE son and daughter to the worst,its one of the tactic of dirty politics ie “fitnah” your opponent’s family member. we know the malay old folk’s tale “singapura dilanggar todak” so you all can know that in times of jealousy the hati busuk hasad denggi people like KJ and his clans will do whatever,thats why we must remember the past and tell it our next generation on internet.our past shaped our future.

8. #8 by paulkersey on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 1:13 am

LGE,
    worst come to worst just sent your son to study in singapore. afterall the education standard up until university level in malaysia u and i know….this also happen to my friend’s son last time during the 80’s when studying in the northern state . he did well in penilaian darjah lima but the education department put him in the notorious gangster school in cheras after they moved to kl during form one “kononnya” dekat dengan rumah,(that was the law they said and no more place in other school like St John,VI or Cochrane.(if want a place can bribe one of the officer 5000 ringgit). he was the only one with that distinction result in that gangster school!!!!!! so you all see even a kid is not spare from the cruelty and wicked heart of our racist BN government.they can harm LGE son and daughter to the worst,its one of the tactic of dirty politics ie “fitnah” your opponent’s family member. we know the malay old folk’s tale “singapura dilanggar todak” so you all can know that in times of jealousy the hati busuk hasad denggi people like KJ and his clans will do whatever,thats why we must remember the past and tell it our next generation on internet.our past shaped our future.

9. #9 by bruno on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 6:54 am

Umno is pokkai.First,pokkai of ringgit.Because the people’s bank has been robbed dry.Second,pokkai of ideals and principles.Because it has sunk so very low,so very low that limbo rock can go.It has started a new trend.If you cannot beat up the father,then go for the children.And to beat up LGE’s son,they have to send in their big gun. Their Umno youth chief,Khairy to do the dirty work.What happens when they wanted to go after LGE,LKS or Karpal Singh.Send in the special forces or commandos.

10. #10 by monsterball on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 6:59 am

They call these challenging the Opposition to take over PutraJaya.
    It is worst that boxing below the belt.
    It is… no more bright ideas……take on the family members.
    How low can a party like UMNO b go?
    Poor innocent young man….drag into political arena for no reasons….and by the so call..champions of Islamic faith in Malaysia.
    They are not Muslims at all.