Christian groups demand proof of converting Muslims using aid

By Boo Su-Lyn
Aug 06, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 6 — Christian groups are calling for evidence behind two Malay dailies’ allegations that they are trying to convert Muslims through welfare aid.

Berita Harian and Harian Metro reported today that certain Christian organisations were hiding behind the guise of welfare aid by offering monthly cash allowances of at least RM1,000 to hard-hit Muslims and their families in an attempt to turn them into Christians.

The pro-Barisan Nasional newspapers’ allegations came after the Selangor Islamic Religious Department (Jais) and the police raided a multiracial dinner at the Damansara Utama Methodist Church in Petaling Jaya last Wednesday night, based on a report that the Christian-majority crowd was allegedly proselytising to Muslim guests.

“If you’re saying that Christians give RM5,000, now you convert, show the proof,” Council of Churches of Malaysia general secretary Rev Dr Hermen Shastri told The Malaysian Insider today.

“By making this statement, they’re trying to disrupt the good relations between the religious communities in the country by taking on the Christians,” he said.

Umno-owned newspaper Utusan Malaysia recently accused Christians of plotting to take over the government and claimed that the July 9 Bersih rally was funded by Christian organisations.

The controversial Jais raid has increased religious tension in the country, where churches were fire-bombed last year and Christians were barred from referring to their god as “Allah”.

Shastri pointed out that Muslims also did welfare work.

“As a result, some are being converted to Islam because they see the good work of the Muslims,” he said.

“If a person gives RM10,000 and you convert, that’s wrong. But if person is often in a home, then leaves the home, is impressed by Catholic sisters and becomes Catholic, what’s wrong with that?” asked the pastor.

National Evangelical Christian Fellowship chairman Rev Dr Eu Hong Seng stressed that Christians gave aid regardless of race or religion.

“We will help anybody and everybody and we don’t expect anything in return. Just because I help you doesn’t mean I want you to convert,” he said.

The pastor pointed out that he has yet to see someone converting to Christianity after receiving welfare aid from Christian organisations.

Berita Harian quoted a woman — who was detained during the Jais raid — as saying that Muslim participants were forbidden to believe in Prophet Muhammad, but were asked to follow Jesus’ teachings through talks and songs during the dinner.

“The church has got weddings, funerals. You mean, in my funeral songs, because a Muslim comes to pay respects to his friend who died, I must stop singing hymns? You come to my place of worship, that is what we do lah,” said Eu in response.

1. #1 by Winston on Saturday, 6 August 2011 - 9:32 pm

It’s time the Christians in this country take stock of the situation
    and vote very, very WISELY in the next GE!!

2. #2 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 6 August 2011 - 9:35 pm

” The church has got weddings, funerals. You mean, in my funeral songs, because a muslim comes to pay respects to his friend who died, I must stop singing hymns?”

Answer: Judging by all their actions thus far, I am afraid that is so. That is what UNMO goons with Abrahin Ali mentality want us to do-respect Malay supremacy. That is why non-muslims must reject UNMO and vote in PAS. UNMO muslims are more scary than PAS.

3. #3 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 6 August 2011 - 10:00 pm

The church has got more wisdom than to give monthly allowances of RM500 – RM1000 to muslims to convert them, knowing that it is both impossible and against the law. If, indeed, they use that kind of money to pull in more members, many non-muslims of Buddhist or Hindu faith do not have to think twice to accept their offer and become christians, including myself. The allegation by some quaters that the Church is using money to convert muslims is out of logic. Stupid, too!

4. #4 by Godfather on Saturday, 6 August 2011 - 10:10 pm

As far as UMNO is concerned, the Christians are guilty until proven innocent. It’s a shame that MCA, MIC and Gerakan appear to agree to this UMNO ruling.

5. #5 by monsterball on Saturday, 6 August 2011 - 11:30 pm

Bankrupt unpopular government needs to stay alive and win the 13th GE by fishing as many as they can Muslim votes.
    BERSIH…create fear and confusions…create angers….arrest 16000…deport Bordon..and now…targeting Christians again for no reasons….yet held the Pope’s hands with loving kindness…what kind of a leader is Najib….that can change his mind so easily…flip flopping all the time.

6. #6 by gofortruth on Saturday, 6 August 2011 - 11:57 pm

Aiya BN is just throwing a flare to distract attention. Election Commision must be hoping to finish off “something” quietly & quickly. What about Najib & the deported French man? PKFZ? TBH RCI report? The diamond ring? etc etc?

7. #7 by Cinapek on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 12:12 am

“…Berita Harian and Harian Metro reported today that certain Christian organisations were hiding behind the guise of welfare aid by offering monthly cash allowances of at least RM1,000 to hard-hit Muslims and their families in an attempt to turn them into Christians….”

This must be the tactic that the Islamic organisations used to try to convert non muslims so they think that others are doing the same thing. It is a cheap shot after having been caught red handed abusing their power in raiding the DUMC. Instead of apologising as advised by a PAS leader, they are trying to frame and put the blame on the Christians to justify their shameful acts.

JAIS and similar organizations are the face of Islam in this country. They should realise that every time they commit such stupid acts (and there have been several of them) they are shaming their own religion. They are the ones who caused the non muslims to lose respect for a great religion by their stupid acts. And these pro BN newspapers are only making it worse by their biased and false reporting.

8. #8 by negarawan on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 12:26 am

The silence from Tan Sri Pakiam is deafening. He has sold his soul to Najip. At least Bishop Paul, Rev Shastri and Rev. Eu have the courage to speak out for the church. Its time for Pakiam to step down.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 12:42 am

All it takes is for JAIS to find just one case and their actions will be justified and they vindicated. You mean they can’t find one case, just one?

10. #10 by k1980 on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 2:25 am

//The silence from Tan Sri Pakiam is deafening//

Hey, don’t disturb the forthcoming Archbishop of Canterbury, oops I mean Putrajaya, or he will excommunicate you! Then you won’t gain acceptance to heaven.

11. #11 by k1980 on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 2:30 am

//Berita Harian and Harian Metro reported today that certain Christian organisations were hiding behind the guise of welfare aid by offering monthly cash allowances of at least RM1,000 to hard-hit Muslims and their families in an attempt to turn them into Christians.//

Caramba…. if the christians were to offer cash allowances of at least RM1,000 per month, there will be no more takers for Lim GE’s RM100 a year award for senior citizens. I daresay 95% of the matasepets and kaki bottols in this country will convert to the angmohkau religion within 24 hours

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 7:01 am

The Bible says only God can convert a person to Christian. The Holy Spirit makes the person understand what Christianity is all about and then makes him accept Jesus Christ. Converting a person to Christian is the divine work of God, not the work of man.

13. #13 by yhsiew on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 7:12 am

Here is the biblical evidence of God converting an unbeliever to Christian (Lydia who worshiped God was converted to Christian):

Ac:16:14: And a certain woman named Lydia, a seller of purple, of the city of Thyatira, which worshiped God, heard us: whose heart THE LORD OPENED, that she attended unto the things which were spoken of Paul.

Ac:16:15: And when she was baptized, and her household, she besought us, saying, If ye have judged me to be faithful to the Lord, come into my house, and abide there. And she constrained us.

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 7:32 am

THIS is why Malaysia was founded as a secular country. Leave the freaking state out of this crap. Why do Jais have the right to intefere with non-Muslim affairs. The presumption of the enactment is that this country is NOT an Islamic religo-state. A definite secular one would have made the enactment that allowed Jais to do is unconstitutional..

I remember the whole thing now and why it was controversial in 1988 when the law was made. Mahathir was fighting with Razaleigh and needed the religo-vote in UMNO to make sure he would not fall.

15. #15 by yhsiew on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 8:41 am

///The Malaysian Insider understands that DAP lawmakers had raised hue and cry when the enactment bill was tabled in the Selangor state assembly in 1988, arguing that the legislation would encroach the rights of non-Muslims.

But despite the furore, the bill was passed and gazetted into law by a BN-dominated House, after it earned the blessings of even non-Muslim lawmakers, including those from MCA.///

MCA must explain why it helped BN to pass the enactment bill to encroach the rights of non-Muslims.

16. #16 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 11:09 am

yhsiew…you should not keep quoting the Bible like the Islamic fanatics …quoting the Koran only…and conclude your thoughts as the one and only truths.
    First and foremost….God does not seek out people to be converted at all.
    It is the hunger of people out to seek God/Gods and religions become the biggest and greatest money spinner on Earth that can even control a government.
    There is no doubt all religious are good for all human beings.
    It is up to anyone to choose one that he/her have great faith with for his/her salvation.
    Please avoid promoting how great Christianity is.
    One group of Islamic fanatics..is enough.
    Don’t shame your religion.

17. #17 by cemerlang on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 11:17 am

…NKRA, NKEA…show proof…JAIS or jabatan islam should come right under PEMANDU…proof of conversion, proof of unconversion, proof of income, proof of expenditure…

18. #18 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 11:34 am

yhiew… I tell you straight to your face and faces of all Christians…pray to Jesus as the greatest Messiah of all and not as God Almighty……for he never claimed to be God at all.
    Just LISTEN to the good teachings of Jesus..and follow his advises faithfully.
    The world religious leaders are recognizing all FAITHS…including Buddhists.
    And almost all church leaders are advising their followers not to believe Jesus is God but have FAITH in the Bible and Jesus teachings.
    Move with the times and not read like a robot with no brains.
    It is very very sad…that so many so call great religious teachers know next to nothing about comparative religions…and preached based on their Koran or Bible only.
    I think these preachers are like paid teachers doing a job..not God’s work at all….telling half truths..so much so..after more than 350 years..still fighting against each other…million died in the name of one true God.
    As long as Israel and Palestine cannot see eye to eye and solve their idiotic religious war…please stop proving which religion is better than the other.
    Both are good..but in Malaysian it is the dirty religion politics by Najib that will chase Muslims away….willingly.
    No need any conversions. Muslims are fed up with dirty politics.. using Islamic religion by UMNO B government for decades.

19. #19 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 10:33 pm

They don’ want to help their own kind and when other people do it, they are jealous.

20. #20 by rockdaboat on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 10:40 pm

For someone who knows next to nothing about Christianity, please do not try to tell others who Jesus is or is not.