I did not bring knife to demo, says protester

Malaysiakini | Jul 18, 11

The man behind the image of an alleged ‘violent protester’ that was splashed on the front pages of the country’s major newspapers after the Bersih 2.0 rally on July 9 has stepped forward.

Speaking at a PAS ceramah in Kuala Lumpur on Saturday, Abdul Razak Endut said that the alleged knife he was holding was a Malaysian flag and he was not throwing rocks at police.

“When the FRU fired tear gas, I saw the wind blowing towards the demonstrators… I picked up the canister and tossed it to a grass field with the hope that the demonstrators would be safe,” said Abdul Razak.

Previously referred to by his nickname Ajak in the media, he was part of PAS’s Unit Amal volunteer corp responsible for crowd control near Menara Maybank on that day.

Malay daily Berita Minggu had on July 10 front-paged the picture of a heavily-built man in a white T-shirt with a black cloth wrapped around his face.

The man, shrouded in smoke, was depicted hurling an object with his left hand while in his right was what appeared to be a knife handle.

The caption read: “Seorang perusuh membawa pisau dalam perhimpunan haram” (A rioter brings a knife to illegal rally) and another subheadline read: “Perusuh guna senjata, batu, lawan polis” (Rioters use weapons, rocks to fight police).

The same image was also featured on New Sunday Times’ front page with the title: “Peaceful?”.

Sporting the exact outfit in the picture, Abdul Razak unwrapped the black cloth, revealing his face to the cheers of those in attendance.

Abdul Razak explained that earlier, he had joined others in forming a human shield to prevent police advances on demonstrators.

‘Used flag to resist water cannon’

“However, that did not happen. Instead, the Federal Reserve Unit (FRU) brought in water cannons and fired on us. What should I do to stop the FRU truck? I asked for a (Malaysian) flag from a fellow demonstrator, he gave it to me and I held it against the FRU’s water cannon barrage.

“I had hoped… these people behind are Malaysians, your people, why are you doing this?” he said in an emotional voice.

The image of Abdul Razak resisting the water cannon spray with the national flag was captured by Reuters and has been used to dimiss claims that it was a knife.

“At that moment (when I tossed the tear gas canister away), my picture was manipulated, showing I brought a knife. How can it be logical for me to bring a knife from Temerloh? I had to go through three roadblocks (to get into the city),” he said.

On July 12, Penang PKR Youth had claimed the image was doctored.

New Straits Times Press Berhad (NSTP), which is responsible for the Berita Harian and New Straits Times publications (Sunday versions are Berita Minggu and New Sunday Times) has denied such claims.

1. #1 by undertaker888 on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 12:34 pm

Utusan Malaysia= Umno Tipu Umat SAtu Negara Malaysia.

That’s says it all about this sampah masyarakat paper.

2. #2 by dcasey on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 12:52 pm

With all the might of the govt institutions at its disposal, it is amazing that all the govt’s mass media could muster is only one photograph and even that also they have to resort to one that is doctored. Hahaha…

3. #3 by Godfather on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 2:33 pm

First, they said that we wanted to change the government to a Christian government. Oops, no evidence. Then they said we wanted to remove the Agong. Oops, no evidence. Then they said we are communists. Oops, no evidence except for a Che Guevara t-shirt. Then they said we were controlled by foreign elements because of funding. Oops, no evidence. Then they said we are out to create anarchy through armed struggle. Oops, no evidence again.

Apa lah ini kerajaan. Got evidence you charge. No need to keep detainees under Emergency Ordinance or ISA. Keeping them for what ? So that you can fabricate evidence ? So that someone breaks out of sheer frustration and “confesses” to something you want to hear ?

Hello, this is the 21st century. Everyone carries a camera and a recorder. Nobody is going extinct except Utusan.

4. #4 by Godfather on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 2:34 pm

And if they do not know that Utusan paper is being used to toilet train our cats and dogs, something is really really wrong with UMNO.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 4:12 pm

History tells us dat gomens dat used tear gas, water cannons, n violence on their unarmed citizens were eventually OVERTHROWN; we will wait 4 dat day 2 come

TEAR GAS ANTIDOTE RECIPES

Note: Tear gas is not actually a gas but a very fine acid powder

Neutralizer #1 – Spray or squirt bottle of water with 1-2 tablespoons of Baking Soda.

Neutralizer #2- Spray or squirt bottle of water with 2 parts water, 1 part liquid Maalox, an antacid dat contains magnesium hydroxide n aluminum hydroxide

Dr. William D. McNally, University of Chicago toxicologist and lieutenant-colonel of the Chemical Warfare Reserve Corps, recommends a 0.4% solution of sodium sulphite in a mixture of 75% glycerin and 25% water as an antidote for tear gas in the eyes. For burns made on the skin by the gas, Dr. McNally recommends liberal dousing with alcohol, glycerin, or (best) a solution of sodium sulphite in 50% alcohol
    http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,788090,00.html#ixzz1SRSMuY5N

6. #6 by Tom Peters on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 9:34 pm

Ahmad Razak, thank you for finally emerging and allowing us to convey our appreciation. I must say the clip of you with your little flag ballast against the dastardly spray is an absolute gem. The other kodak moment is Joe kneeling with arms outstretched with brothers solidly behind. When I’m in Temerloh next I will look you up, if you’re inclined, to discuss the science of refuting false allegations of our mainstream media whose credibility has been on the wane the past four decades.

You see Ahmad, showing up after one week is pretty cruel. You placed mainstream in a spot. You now have its nuts. Your emergence has turned a ‘factual’ position with a potentially vibrant lifespan into a self-inflicted allegation of junk mainstream reporting, in seven days. Your emergence essentially smears the entire mainstream and individuals associated with it. Your honorable position with PAS has colored the proceedings with a hue of ‘green.’ Shame on you, Ahmad. With ‘green’ the new ‘black’, mainstream has only one route. Cajole you until capitulation. Simply put, they will use institutions at their disposal to ask you to compromise your position. It’s the way in Malaysia. Almost everyone has a price. One reason I love being Malaysian, besides beer, bicycles and rock and roll, is that the dash of excitement always follows an element of surprise. You and your party provide both.

Ahmad, let me tell you a story. I know a PAS contractor. He isn’t a member, neither is he Muslim. Offered a plum contract, he enveloped a wad of cash to the Joe who facilitated the deal but to his surprise, the envelope was politely returned back to him with a tea and cake session to boot. Until then, the contractor was not able to fathom what ‘a fair exchange’ meant within the doctrine of your party vis a vis the party in power.

Muslims and Non-Muslims alike are proud of what you did on July 9th. Protecting fellow Malaysians and I am not ashamed to say that even your sisters were at the forefront in Pudu unwittingly giving me refuge behind them.

Beers, Ahmad Razak. I’m having one on you.

7. #7 by Joshua on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 5:22 am

I think some cameras could have captured the same man in the crowd.

so please check that..