A lie has robbed their freedom

By P. Ramakrishnan
July 16, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

JULY 16 — A lie has robbed six Malaysians of their precious freedom. For three weeks they have been locked up and put away unfairly and unjustly.

Not a shred of evidence has been unearthed so far to justify their detention. Not an iota of proof has been disclosed to date to convince sceptical Malaysians that the action of the police has been honourable.

A lie that robs innocent Malaysians of their human rights discredits the police beyond repair. A lie that denies access to lawyers for the detained six denigrates the rule of law and disgraces the Barisan Nasional government for not observing the principles of decency, truth and honesty.

With this kind of unethical behaviour, with this kind of human rights violations, does Malaysia deserve to occupy a seat in the United Nations Human Rights Council? This is a question that has to be asked by all justice-respecting Malaysians. This question has to be raised by the international community that voted in Malaysia for a place in the Human Rights Council. Please search your conscience and demand an answer.

With each passing day, the BN’s crime becomes unpardonable; with each passing day, it loses its credibility. No one believes that the government has done the right thing; no one believes that the government has done this in the interest of the nation. The common consensus among Malaysians is that the BN government has acted in a selfish manner to safeguard its self interest.

When it comes to the preservation of the BN’s hold on power, it throws caution to the winds, it sacrifices ethics and resorts to brute strength to hold on to power. Recently we witnessed how it conducted itself with regard to the Bersih “Walk for Democracy” rally, deploying the police to act harshly and cruelly.

Even the sanctity of the grounds of a hospital was not spared or respected. The welfare of the hospital patients was callously ignored when the police went after the protesters seeking refuge in the hospital grounds.

Back to Jeyakumar Devaraj and his five companions. First they were charged with “waging war against the King”. This charge within seven days collapsed as sheer nonsense and evaporated into thin air — but they were deprived of seven days of freedom in isolation.

Then, they were released but in a show of mockery to the rule of law, they were immediately arrested and detained under the Emergency (Public Order and Prevention of Crime) Ordinance 1969 and whisked off to Bukit Aman, where they are being kept in solitary confinement.

The intense interrogation and the long hours of questioning have taken a toll on Jeyakumar. For a person with a heart ailment, it is dangerously causing him a lot of stress and torment. He has had to be hospitalised twice within the span of two weeks.

Third, in spite of the fact that he was first charged with treason and later with being a threat to the nation, he wasn’t investigated for this. What they were interested in was to find out about the Bersih rally and related information. This irrevocably confirms the lie that Kumar and his companions were neither traitors to the nation nor a threat to the country.

There are no moral grounds whatsoever to justify their continued detention. The BN’s saving grace would be to release them unconditionally and immediately. Our plea is, don’t perpetuate the lie. — aliran.com

1. #1 by monsterball on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 12:14 pm

I hope and pray the 6 will stay calm and positive thinking.
    We will talk till we drop dead to expose them.
    We will vote them out in 13th GE.
    We will make sure Tunku is forever be praised by all Malaysians as the true Papak Malaysia…not by lips service and by hypocrites.
    We have many dead out of no reasons to defend them too. Expose who really kill Atlantuya…you will see the government falls like a ton of bricks.
    We will wear YELLOW every Saturday…until the 6 are released.
    We pray the love ones are strong and not allow the sad event make them angry and loose their sense of directions. Be calm and accept the sacrifices by the 6 love ones…with pride.

2. #2 by grace on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 1:24 pm

If Jeyakumar can wage war against the Agung, the sun will rise in the west. Absolutely absurd!!! Such a caring and gentle doctor will never ever challenge the KIng, let alone fight him. I really do not know what words to use on the authority and if I do, I believe those words will be deleted. My only hope and prayer is that Jeyakumar and friends be set FREE at once.

3. #3 by Tom Peters on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 4:14 pm

A question the ‘voice of public reason’ on both sides of the divide is avoiding to ask. Notwithstanding that the monarchy is an institution, has the King himself taken the position that Dr. Jeyakumar has ‘waged war’ against the institution?

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 5:51 pm

The detention of these six, now dubbed the EO 6 or PSM 6, is the biggest collossal idiocy of the BN govt respond to Bersih. They have put themseleves in an UNTENABLE position, all through their own stupidity.

If the EO 6 is released now, they will be greeted as hero, a simple of the poor and oppressed beating the govt. The longer they are detained, the bigger they will be. Jeyakumar could end up being the Indian and Malaysian urban poor’s Nelson Mandela.

They wasted all the investments they have made through MIC and urban poor. MIC, PPP and UMNO Selangor might as well close their doors now..

5. #5 by tak tahan on Sunday, 17 July 2011 - 10:27 pm

grace,if Jeyakumar can wage war against the Agong,my mak would be Queen Elizabeth and i shall be the next King.By the grace of me,you will have exclusive freedom and the gentle doctor will be free and kind to perform his social contribution.Ok?No worry lah..goodwill will prevail lah.

6. #6 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 1:45 am

Grace..If Jeyakumar can wage a war against the King..I will have off my hair to be a monk and pray for Buddha to forgive Jeyakumar and tak tahan.

7. #7 by monsterball on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 1:50 am

“have” should be “shave”
    You know me..one finger typing ….faster than two fingers..making silly mistakes..my trade mark.
    Tak tahan can be worst at times.
    hi tak tahan…I noticed in one post..sheriff singh changed for the better.
    I chased him all over.

8. #8 by Joshua on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 5:48 am

‘new’ BN is sustained by lies, lies, lies to rob the nation dry…

Was Tunku also one of them? Liars?

9. #9 by tak tahan on Monday, 18 July 2011 - 10:34 am

Hahaha..monsterball,i’m enjoying and lauhing till none of my fingers can do the typing.He is real nut.I mean his rear nut.

10. #10 by Joshua on Tuesday, 19 July 2011 - 5:42 am

lauhing is what here?

recaptcha = tiondich Yodo