“Why are you here, why do you march?”

By The Anonymous Marcher
13 Jul 2011

Before the dust has even settled on Bersih 2.0, the official verdict is out and the participants are being portrayed as deluded troublemakers waging war on a silent majority.

We are told that protests are not part of our culture, even though a cursory study of our nation’s history reveals otherwise.

The campaign against the Malayan Union, Hamid Tuah land protests and Reformasi marches burn bright in our past.

This time thanks to the freedom of the internet, we have video footage, first-hand accounts and impartial analysis to disprove their lies.

But why did so many Malaysians brave the onslaught of the Malaysian state. Why did they go out to march?

The following is based on testimony from a handful of the tens of thousands of Malaysians who took to the streets on July 9, 2011.

We came from near and far,
Little trickles forming a powerful stream
We came to make our voices heard
A thousand whispers giving rise to a scream

Why are you here, why do you march?
I asked the uncle by my side
The silver-haired bespectacled Hokkien gent politely replied
“I march for a better Malaysia, because I will not stand for tyranny and lies.
I march to reclaim my constitutional rights.
I will march again because if they do not change, I have to shout it out in the streets.”

I asked the lady who’d left Malaysia only to come back
Why don’t you stay at home, and look after your young child?
“I march because I care for the places and people around me
And I think we can do better.
I will march again because this has been a peaceful demonstration.
Because every person counts.”

I asked the pony-tailed macha from Kepong
Why not find yourself a more harmless hobby?
“I march because I could not stay in the comfort of my home
While others take up the cause for me.
I march because I believe the true enemy of democracy is apathy.
I march because enough is enough! This is my country.
I will march again because this is only the beginning,
And one small victory does not win a war.”

I asked the bubbly student wearing a tudung
Why risk your future to give first aid to these troublemakers?
“I march because I believe my friends and I are the future.
I believe in the voices and the power of the people.
I march because my father taught me to stand up for what is right.
I will march again so that the flame of civil resistance wont die.”

I asked the environmental watchdog from Cameron Highlands.
Surely by now you’ve seen it all, what good can marching do?
“I march so other Malaysians can see that they need not be afraid.
To represent those who wanted to but could not be here today.
I march because the government of the day is not listening to its own people
I will march again because they need to know that we will not stop till our voices are heard.”

I asked the man who could have chosen to sit at the top of the tree
Is there really a need for you to shake things up?
“I march because I believe in Ambiga Sreenevasan
And the eight demands of Bersih 2.0
I march because I am tired of seeing the people bullied by the State.
Because I knew so many of my friends are going to march.
I march because I knew 9th July was going to be historic. And it is.
I will march again because I believe the nation needs us to do so.
I will march again because to defy is to be alive, and I am no longer afraid.”

I asked the grubby bearded dude puffing on a kretek cigarette
One master is no different from the next, so why should you bother?
“I march because I love my country.
“I march because one party has ruled for 54 years
And elections are the most peaceful way to end that rule.
I march because Teoh Beng Hock was my friend and they destroyed him.
There were times when I did not march, and I felt ashamed.
I will march again so that one day my children will not have to.”

I asked my friends of all creeds and colours
Do you not see that you offend the indifferent with your passion?
“We march to honour the socialist activists who are still being held.
We march to walk alongside our loved ones.
We will march again because Baharuddin Ahmad believed in Bersih 2.0
We will march again because even though they have the weapons, they are more afraid of us.”

1. #1 by dagen on Wednesday, 13 July 2011 - 4:23 pm

Ok. Ok. Ok. Umno. Let us be transparent and clear about this issue. Why we wanted bersih? Yes. Frankly, we want bersih because we want to boot you, umno, out of parliament completely and more importantly, constitutionally.

Any problem with that, umno?

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 July 2011 - 4:53 pm

// we want to boot you, umno, out of parliament…Any problem with that, umno?//

Ahyoyoyo, macam ini cannot one lah. We kena booted out, then siapa will feed our wives and anak? How are we go to cari our rezeki without corruption? How can we call ourselves tuans if we do not hold any parliamentary posts? How can saifool get his scholarship if he is allowed to guna his lubang belakang?

3. #3 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 13 July 2011 - 11:02 pm

Aoi!Kena pakai bersih punya cakap cakap!Tak boleh kotor cakap macam saifool punya belakang lah,rezeki without corruption dan itu ini-tak dah baik dan bersih punya principal kan?.Nanti bersih versi ketiga boleh kasi lu ‘lau sai’ baru lu tau->Yang Duli Maha Mulia dan Berhormat ketuanan tuan tuan dan puan puan.