Is Liow Tiong Lai afraid of the truth?

Malaysiakini Your Say | Jul 12, 11

‘Liow, were you there? Definitely no. Were the Tong Shin Hospital board members there? No. Why don’t you ask the people who rallied on that day?’

Tung Shin Hospital ‘not hit’ in rally crackdown

Anti-Fascist: Again the administration of PM Najib Razak wants to change a truth to a lie. No ethics, no morals, no principles. Unbelievable.

So the photos and videos were lying? And the many eyewitness accounts were wrong? Were any of the board of directors at the hospital at that time?

CH Kiew: How typical of the arrogant powers-that-be. There is no need to investigate the video and photographic proof just because you have “got” the hospital to confirm what you “asked” them to confirmed?

Dear Minister, as an ordinary rakyat, I beg you to lead by example – investigate all complaints thoroughly and fairly before jumping to conclusions. We can never improve unless we recognise our mistakes and shortcomings.

Josephine: There are videos aplenty to show that the hospital compound was gassed, but reporters were told not to bring up the issue of the videos.

If using the same logic, why was BN bugging Anwar Ibrahim about the sex video? Hasn’t he already said he was not the actor? In any case, would anyone believe that the hospital management is speaking the truth?

Go4change: Another lying minister talking rubbish. We ask Liow Tiong Lai: were you there? Definitely no – you were in your comfortable house. Were the Tong Shin Hospital board members there? No.

Why don’t you ask the people who rallied on that day?

Flabbergasted: Liow Tiong Lai said maybe the tear gas smoke was blown by the wind in the direction of the hospital. If he had been to a proper school, he would have known that wind never blows from ground upwards. The picture clearly shows the concentration of smoke was on the ground.

Confused: The video footage speaks for itself. Why can’t the reporters show the photos or videos to counter the claim by the health minister? Are the rakyat so stupid that they cannot judge for themselves by watching the photos or videos and have to listen to the minister?

Sabahan: Liow Tiong Lai lied and hospital board chairperson Ng Beh Tong obediently agreed. It is leaders like these two that have allowed Malaysia to degenerate into a near dictatorship by Umno.

For once, Liow and Ng, think of those courageous Malaysians who had to face police intimidation, tear gas and chemical-laced water canons for the sake of their children and the future of Malaysia.

Anonymous_3de1: ‘Maybe’ and ‘we don’t know’ do not make much of certainty and assertiveness, Mr Health Minister. It is damage control time to salvage whether shred of credibility left of your political master, isn’t it?

Try as you may until the cows come home, it will not convince those who were eyewitnesses. As for the hospital administrator Ng, was he offered a carrot or a big stick? To quote you, “We don’t know. Maybe.”

One Hand Cover The Sky: Dear Health Minster, do not try to hoodwink the rakyat. Why are you so scared to talk about the videos recordings? So many thousands of eyes saw them, but you still want to deny it. Even the staff working there admit that the hospital was hit by tear gas and chemical-laced water.

Douglas Tan 25b2: Goodbye, MCA. If you are still there to defend the indefensible, and refute thousands of videos, eyewitness accounts and photographs, you are at the end of your political rope, just like PM Najib and Umno.

Anak Pinang: So we have finally become a failed nation where, instead of conducting an investigation into wrongful abuse, the government refuses to be accountable for its decisions, even when there is a mountain of evidence.

Let’s just sweep everything under the carpet and pretend that nothing happened, shall we? Denial, obfuscation, deception and more lies.

DannyLoHH: Liow Tiong Lai still has a long way to go before he could successfully counter the video and photographic evidence, that the police did, in fact, shoot water and tear-gas canisters into the compound of Tung Shin Hospital.

He could have used/abused the authority and power as health minister to browbeat the board of Tung Shin Hospital to toe the official line. But he needs to speak many thousands more words before he could even come close to convince some that “it never happened”.

Moontime: There are clear evidence via pictures, photos and videos to support the claim, and yet the minister denies that the hospital was hit by tear gas and chemically-laced water. Just look at the picture accompanying the Malaysiakini report.

Dear minister, are you blind? Or is this the damage control attempt by the government? So go ahead, lie some more, your days are clearly numbered, BN. The more you deny, the more support Bersih will get from the fence sitters, thus signalling your humiliating defeat in the polls.

Bert: Liow told reporters not to show photos or videos to counter his claims. You are scared of the truth, are you? Don’t you have a conscience?

Tuah PJ: Good God, you have no shame, Mr Minister. The pictures tell a thousand words, and my colleague was at Tung Shin Hospital when he was nearly hit by the gas canister. I believe my friend more than you.

Phra Ong Chao: There photographs of gas canisters landing well inside the hospital compound. Or did the wind blow the canisters into the compound, too?

1. #1 by DAP man on Tuesday, 12 July 2011 - 12:17 pm

“Good God, you have no shame, Mr Minister. ”

In the first place, has the entire MCA any shame at all?
    The party president is a porn actor and the members are proud to have him as president.
    Now, what else can be more shameful than that?

Liow is in MCA for the perks of office which he will never get in a 100 years. He is making hay while the sun shines as he knows MCA is a party with generals but without members and will die with the next GE.

2. #2 by wizzerd on Tuesday, 12 July 2011 - 12:19 pm

Did anyone notice LTL’s nose is getting longer everyday?
    Liar liar pants on fire.
    Dear minister, have you no shame?

3. #3 by Jong on Tuesday, 12 July 2011 - 12:31 pm

“SHAME” is not in his vocab. That’s why he is called Liar Tiong Lie!

Didn’t we see the ‘best of him’ revealed during the last MCA election and how he betrayed MCA past president Ong Tee Keat?

4. #4 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 12 July 2011 - 12:32 pm

Health minister or HELL MINISTER? He is hell of a LIAR!!!!

5. #5 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 12 July 2011 - 1:02 pm

Liow must have gone thru defective face plastic surgery till his eyesight was mislocated and can’t see through the evidence on the pictures and videos shown in the Tung Shing hospital compound.Or is it too much layers of skin applied to his blardy cheek?Come close as thick as elephant’s one..i supposed.Liow and the idiotic MCA is self-constantly making a fool of itself.Liow,i suggest you represent CSL’s d**ck show instead and promote it locally and globally.Then you can maybe ask some commision out of it.There you go..one more extra perk for you and MCA,right?

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 12 July 2011 - 2:38 pm

The problem is Liow Tiong Lai is NOT afraid of the truth, that he believes in lying. Its shameful he thought he could get away with his lies that the truth either won’t come out OR would not matter.

Our nation and the people faces great challenges going forward and we need to be lead by exacting high standards, precisions, high intellect – not hacks, amateurs and chin-chai types.

Its disgraceful that he even thought he could get away with what he did. Its simply pathetic.