Bersih 2.0 – Updates

DAP Malaysia / @dapmalaysia
Bersih2.0 / @bersih2 / @bersih2a / @bersih2b
MalaysiaKini / @newsmakers
The Malaysian Insider / @tmi / @tmi2
Free Malaysia Today / @fmtoday

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 12:21 pm

Blatant intrusion of civil liberties by the police at towncenter.

2. #2 by ekompute on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 12:34 pm

We now see the real Malaysia under BN… a communist-like country, no less. They break all the laws but expect others to follow.

3. #3 by k1980 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 12:37 pm

From fremalaysiatoday–

Many observers of Malaysian politics believe that electoral reform will lead to the ruling party’s defeat, and that is why Umno is afraid of Bersih.”

Malott also accused Najib of undermining the authority of the King when he backpedalled on his promise to provide a stadium for Bersih to hold its July 9 rally if it agreed to call of its planned street protests.

“Najib has undermined the authority of the king, who gave Bersih and its concerns credence by meeting with its leadership and calling for a negotiated solution”.

Despite the gravity of Yang Di Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin’s advise, that Najib’s government and Bersih dialogue on electoral reform, he now appears disinterested in fulfilling his promise, telling Bersih that it would not be allowed to hold its rally anywhere within the capital city.
    Malott had described the King’s intervention as wise and done in the spirit of peace and harmony.

4. #4 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 12:41 pm

I am updating international sites on the latest Bersih developments. Najip will not get away scott free for any unlawful action and brutality on Bersih participants from UMNO and the police! Najip and Rosmah, enjoying your summer shopping spree in the UK and Rome? I hope the Pope will give you a lecture on what truth and honesty is all about. Scoundrel!

5. #5 by best4rakyat on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 1:07 pm

We are ready,so do all in every state in Malaysia!

Let us join hands and march FWD!

6. #6 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 1:32 pm

Malaysia is no different from a police state!

7. #7 by dagen on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 2:01 pm

Idiot. Thought he was smart to blockout the city.
    He refused to let us use the stadium. OK. The blockout city now is one super large rally ground for us. Yo. Lets go ….

8. #8 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 2:29 pm

I would suggest that Najip be arrested during his foreign country holiday and charged in the ICJ for crimes, injustice to innocent and peaceful Malaysians. Many have been badly injured in today’s Bersih rally, and any fatalities will have to be answered by Najip!

9. #9 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 3:02 pm

NR, HH, UmnoB/BNputras: Their hands r tainted with n smell of RAKYAT’s BLOOD

“Will all great Neptune’s ocean wash this blood clean from ‘their hands’?”
    “All the perfumes of Arabia will not sweeten” their hands

REMEMBER dis date: 907!

10. #10 by raven77 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 3:13 pm

My country..oh….my country…..

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 3:46 pm

So they had the entire city shut down but still.

1) According to reports, At least 20K showed up in various places in the city. At least 10K at the Stadium.
    2) At most 500K showed up for Patriots and they fizzled out quickly.
    3) The crowd fought back again and again despite tear gas
    4) The arrested key figures but most actually got through the roadblocks first.

If the buses and trains were not shut down, 300K was really possible.

The message was successfully sent but the problem is its unclear if UMNO/BN heard it. The possibility of Tahrir Square is very much possible now, maybe even probable. THERE WILL NOT BE A BERSIH 3.0. Its either UMNO split into two OR the next march won’t be in city BUT it will be to Putrajaya.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 3:55 pm

Malaysia: Hundreds detained over banned rally

@@http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-14076424

13. #13 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 4:15 pm

Let’s see what lies d msm spin later 2day n 2molo
    Will they mention abt d polis using tear gas n water cannons, bot fr taxpayers’ money, against unarmed rakyat, their paymasters n bosses?

14. #14 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 4:20 pm

The amount of teargas canisters and water canon shot is just so incredible for a peaceful rally of defenseless people. This will never happen in a civilized country. The police force in Australia was very polite and friendly and the rally went smoothly. The UMNO style of violence and unlawful detention on peace-loving Malaysians is so blatantly inhumane. Let us all remember this day and again I ask foreign powers to arrest Najip and his UMNO followers and charge them in the ICJ for inhumane treatment, unlawful detention and torture of innocent citizens. We demand the immediate release of all those who have been detained unlawfully. The whole world is watching you Najip!

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 4:28 pm

Other than seeing A. Samad enter Stadium Merdeka, the following was the most amazing sight.

http://lockerz.com/s/118440305

There may be hope yet to avoid a Tahrir Square. UMNO/BN have to understand that they next one will be 300,000 marching to Putrajaya and the army won’t back them..

16. #16 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 4:33 pm

Please save all the empty tear gas canisters. As a punishment for Najip, all the canisters will be shoved up his a___

17. #17 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 4:43 pm

D Pope must CANCEL his appointment with NR, a corrupt cheat who kills democracy n who stinks with rakyat’s blood

• #18 by ekompute on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 6:06 pm

Oh, he thought that by meeting the Pope, he is showing that he is not anti-Christian, not knowing that the Pope is Catholic. One time, he met with the Chinese Communist Premier, thinking that he can win the hearts of the so-called Malaysian Chinese, not knowing that many Chinese Malaysians don’t give a damn to China and abhors the Tiananmen Incident just as much, and the next day, he brands another as Communists, ostensibly saying that associating with Communists is no different from associating with criminals. This Najib will resort to anything to achieve his purpose, that’s what he meant by taking Selangor at all cost.

18. #19 by Loh on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 4:48 pm

In other countries opposition parties have to list the mistakes of the ruling governments. In Malaysia, the ruling government demonstrates why it should be removed. The police actions today against Bersih concludes the election campaign against Barisan Nasional Government. BN will lose the 13 GE despite dirty election.

19. #20 by Godfather on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 5:02 pm

About 20 of us led by Pak Samad decided to go to the Istana to hand over the memorandum, but we were blocked off by the police. The OCPD was really obnoxious, telling us to disperse after a count of 3 or he will show us no mercy. This after refusing to even engage an 80+ year old who walked all the way.

You know what a police state is ? It’s when they stay behind barbed wire, water canons, and tear gas launchers.

20. #21 by k1980 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 5:47 pm

As of 3.30pm, a total of 924 people have been arrested.

Abraham Ah Lee says—“I advised the mata sepets to stay at home and stock up their supplies today, but see what they did. Beta pantang dicabar!”
    http://media1-cdn.malaysiakini.com/382/035af63996adb43fee59ac98ef4a15b7.jpg

21. #22 by k1980 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 5:50 pm

If that buggah in red is a “patriot”, than the country is doomed

http://media1-cdn.malaysiakini.com/381/c8a1e8c61e2c212fe017dd35ccc7ee2d.jpg

22. #23 by drngsc on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 6:22 pm

I am home now.
    I was with the Tung Shin group. Eyeballing, looks like about 5-7,000 people.

I was very happy, that despite the very severe police presence ( looked like a police state ), so many turned up and stayed. I was very happy that the crowd was all non–violent. I don’t think there was any destruction of properties, or violence by the crowd. They were quite discipline. I was very happy, that the crowd had a true muhibbah spirit. One Malay man asked me to step on his hand and he lifted me across the locked gate to get to my destination. The crowd was of all races and ages, and they were 1Malaysia. I was very sad that the Police were violent. I saw them chase a man into a corner at Tung Shin hotel, and beat the man up before handcuffing him. The Police were chasing people all the way into the hospital floors. They have utterly no respect for hospitals and patient care. I was very sad, that they spray acid, into the Tung Shin Hospital. I think the only damage today was caused by the police. I was sad that our Malaysian Police treat Malaysians so badly, when they were unarmed and walking peacefully. I was sad that I could not reach Merdeka Stadium. I am sad that our leaders are arrested for wanting Malaysia to have a cleaner, freer and fairer election.
    The government / Police is prepared to harm their own citizens, who walked peacefully.

What is wrong with our country now??

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya.

23. #24 by k1980 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 6:48 pm

http://lockerz.com/s/21163985

This blue T-shirt is Jibby’s favourite for today, 9th July

24. #25 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 7:12 pm

UMNO will be history soon!

25. #26 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 7:26 pm

#22 reference:
    The crowd was of all races and ages, and they were 1Malaysia.

But an angry Rais said otherwise:

///“I am puzzled why the Malays particularly do not feel that they have been divided in such a situation.

“Where is the love and loyalty of the people (Malays), who laud Islam as the teaching of Allah and that we should not be divided, and yet we don’t see that this (split) has happened,” he was quoted as saying.

Rais also claimed that opposition leaders were now likely rejoicing in their success at causing a split in the Malay community through their machinations./// – The Malaysian Insider

26. #27 by monsterball on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 7:50 pm

We have won and let them say as much as they like.
    Against all odds…thousands took to the streets.
    Let Najib call all as traitors….who cares.

27. #28 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 7:51 pm

Najib said: “Bersih rally was a small group…..”.

Ha, Najib…try without police batons, barbed wires, canisters of tear-gas and cannons.

Neh, Najib…you are just a slimeball…. unfortunately a slimeball for a Prime Minister.

Eh, Najib….which side is the unholy perpetrators of violence? Which side should be made illegal? The PDRM is lawless. Bersih is civic-minded, law-abiding and controlled. The police force went amok, berserk.

28. #29 by monsterball on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 7:54 pm

It was raining at BERSIH I around 2 pm.
    It was raining at BERSIH2 same time.
    Rain wash away gas bomb smokes…making them less effective.

29. #30 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 8:04 pm

It was raining……

PDRM proposes, God disposes.

Hishamuddin, great job, eh……great job, man. Using a police patrol car to ram down Mat Sabu, then arrest him. Great job.

Hishammuddin, where the f# did you get your law degree? Do you even know anything…anything at all about Constitutional Law, let alone Rule of Law or Police Powers?

Stupid Din

30. #31 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 8:36 pm

Today is just a Warm Up

Journey to free Malaysians from corrupted politicians continue

Together we Malaysians standup one bravely and couragely

Together we will crush the protected wall of corrupted politicians who have robbed our tax money from our treasury billions without any report

Let’s the journey begin

Salute with great respect to all BERSIH supporters

Malaysians be proud of your courage and bravely uphold and demand justice, clean, fairness, and transparency

Let’s roll on

31. #32 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 8:37 pm

Bersih 2.0 is actually a leap-frog more successful than the first one. The numbers don’t tell it all because there was too many obstacle this time.

Mark my word, It will be very telling because it will end Najib’s career BEFORE GE. He is done. Rosmah has to pack her LVs and Berkin. Mahathir simply can’t risk it..

32. #33 by yhsiew on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 8:44 pm

How could the police fire tear gas into the compound of Tung Shin Hospital, severely jeopardising the health not only of the rakyat who had sought refuge there, but the patients there as well. Would the IGP hold responsibility if any untoward incidents happened to the hospital patients?

The police were said to have fired a tear gas canister at eye level towards Anwar’s group seriously injuring the face of one of his bodyguards.

The police must learn to handle protests calmly and professionally.

33. #37 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:11 pm

34. #42 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:17 pm

35. #43 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:21 pm

Let’s organize bersih 3.0 all over the country.

36. #45 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:25 pm

37. #47 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:31 pm

Have a good look at the photos
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-14091367
    BERSIH 2.0 is NOT a racial thingy, which Perkosa n UmnoB/BN tried 2 insinuate

BERSIH 2.0 has d last laugh as this afternoon’s events clearly showed 2 d world dat NR n UmnoB/BN (corrupt cheats) so scared of BERSIH, like all cheats in power

Blardi HH n polis chief r responsible 4 d violence committed by polis against unarmed n defenceless peaceful rakyat

38. #48 by vsp on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:31 pm

If there is one memorable day to be entered into the annals of history in the year 2011, it’s pure thuggery vs the peaceful people of Malaysia. Citizens of all races and religions, the old and the young, working people, students, retirees, makciks and pakciks face the most hideous assembly of state terror with their phalanx of weapons of intimidation arrayed against them. They break through the mighty cordon of barbed wires, armed hooligans and their water trucks to show the world that intimidation does not break the spirit of freedom.

The regime has conveniently abdicated its duty over to the state’s thugs to do its dirty work. Disobeying the advice of the Agong, this regime has committed high treason against the Agong. It has attacked the people of Malaysia who are asking for a just and fair election. Instead of complying to the wishes of the Agong, the regime has used intimidation and devious methods to divide the people with racial and religious baits. Today the people has shown that they have not risen to the bait.

This is an achievement for Bersih to keep on its fine work. Keep the pressure on the regime until they are dragged to the negotiating table. Power to the people, down with thuggery.

• #49 by vsp on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:59 pm

LKS,

What’s wrong with the moderators. They seem to be risk-aversed with the word “Agong”

39. #50 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:32 pm

GOOGLE NEWS
    http://news.google.com/news/search?aq=f&pz=1&cf=all&ned=us&hl=en&q=malaysia&btnmeta_news_search=Search+News

Sydney Morning Herald
    The Washington Post
    Channel News Asia

40. #51 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:34 pm

UMNO had obviously directed the keparat polis to shoot canisters directly at opposition leaders. This is attempted murder! I hope there will be widespread condemnation from world leaders on UMNO and Najip, followed by international sanctions. Najip and his UMNO followers must be brought to ICJ for gross human rights violation!

41. #52 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:52 pm

Malaysian insider: One death Reported:
    Baharuddin Ahmad, husband of PKR Wanita Division chief for Setiawangsa.

Let us all go for the funeral garbed in yellow.

We will take any amount of tear gas canisters and cannons at the funeral.

42. #53 by Loh on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:56 pm

After stopping people coming into KL for Bersih, Najib said that he was thankful that only a small number of persons joined the rally. Malaysians are so unlucky to have the PM whose caliber cannot equate to that of an average primary school student. Clearly Najib could not connect police actions with reduced attendance. Najib’s understatement might still be meaningful if the people were allowed free assembly. The moment government stops people joining the rally the size of the crowd can no longer signal disinterest in the campaign. Having manipulated the police to stop protest, and then to comment like he did, Najib is either stupid or he thinks that Malaysians are stupid. Clearly only those who accept his leadership are stupid. He is the President of UMNO, and if he still commands support, his supporters cannot be anything but stupid.

43. #54 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 9:59 pm

ENDANGERED HORNBILL :

Oh My God! We really fear something like this.

Najip hailed the police brutal action as a success. UMNO and the police have acted in cowardice by threatening and harming unarmed citizens with batons, tear gas and poisoned water. You blady cowards! You can’t even solve the Klang Acid Splasher for months, and you call yoursleves successful through acts of cowardice?

Najip, you have committed murder today and we will get you charged in ICJ as we know the local kangaroo courts are in your control. Altantuya’s family will be happy to see justice finally too. The whole world is watching you and UMNO!

44. #55 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:04 pm

Salute and great respect to Baharuddin Ahmad

Condolences to his family.

God bless his soul.

• #56 by vsp on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 11:37 pm

The uprising against the regime of Algeria started when a poor trader, who was denied justice, burnt himself with kerosene. A small spark soon engulfed the whole Middle East and North African regions where intimidation was the rule for centuries.

Will Baharuddin Ahmad’s death ignite the fire that will engulf the fascist BN regime into oblivion.

45. #57 by negarawan on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:10 pm

Our deepest and heartfelt condolences to Saudara Baharuddin and family. Your passing will not be in vain!

46. #58 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:14 pm

the downfall count of Mubarak has started!

47. #60 by voice2009 on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:18 pm

Malaysians should learn and remembered today

Someone die today and many Malaysians suffer today

The Di_k bald head PM so happy proudly talking about KL safe ……

The Di_k head have no heart and interest caring about Malaysia

They are only interest to continue rob our tax money from our country treasury billions

Stand up speak loudly “BERSIH” the journey continue till we crush the corrupted politicians wall free Malaysians and next generation from corruption socities

Let’s roll on

48. #61 by boh-liao on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:26 pm

NR a SICKO, he ordered polis 2 use violence on n harm rakyat, 2 block d city thus causing untold suffering n inconvenience 2 rakyat, 2 nab innocent rakyat
    Now 1 person dead n NR still rejoiced over his success, damn blardi murderers, he n polis

Let dis death NOT go in vain, let dis death blossom into a M’SIAN SPRING dat leads 2 d downfall of UmnoB/BN!

49. #62 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:29 pm

Hishammudin: “Bersih Rally lost direction”.

C’mon, budak kecil, pergi main jauh-jauh. If you want respect, you have to earn it. But you are just a brat.

There you go again…all this raving and ranting like rasputin doesn’t take away your responsibility for igniting police violence as Home Minister.

50. #63 by vsp on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 10:48 pm

The presence of Pakatan leaders at today’s rally confirms that BERSIH allowed itself to become a political tool for the Opposition. What do you guys think?–Din Merican

——
    That’s the most cynical thing to say about Bersih. Bersih advocates a just and fair election. Bersih is open to everyone – whether to the ruling parties or to the Opposition. Election is a political process and it’s easy for someone who had benefitted from an opaque system to dismiss Bersih as a political tool. I was surprised that such a fair request should be met with a paranoid of fear and indignation. When a party can openly say: “You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours” and gets away with impunity, this goes without saying that the process of election is terribly broken. The ruling parties enjoy the apparatus of total power and definitely they will state vehemently that Bersih is a political tool because it will break their control over the EC. The opposition will be attracted to Bersih’s call because it will ensure a fair playing field. The Opposition definitely has genuine cause for grievances. When you peruse Bersih 8-points of demand, they are neutral to the contending parties: they ensure that the party with the most merits will deserve to win – not through naked power and money.

• #64 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 1:16 pm

Merican, you are wrong! It shows that the Opposition is jiving with the aspiration of most thinking Malaysians. Your slope-sided thinking is silly to say the least. How would thousands of responsible Malaysians get involved, if it is based merely on the Opposition’s manipulation? They believe, this is a Gomen that has run out of any semblance of fair Gomen! It must make way for more rational leadership. it is funny that BN with 53 years of exprience still refuses to see the sign on the wall.

51. #65 by dagen on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 11:22 pm

Nah jib. There. 1Malaysia in flesh and blood for you. The real thing. Not mere rhetoric.

52. #66 by dagen on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 11:23 pm

Nah jib. There. 1malaysia for you in flesh and blood. The real thing. Not mere rhetoric.

53. #67 by dagen on Saturday, 9 July 2011 - 11:25 pm

something is wrong with the captcha filter. It showed error the first time i keyed in my remark. I repeated the remark. And hey got both my remarks in.

54. #68 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 1:08 am

The police or the home minister just cannot stop the people from protesting.This is the first lesson to the government.The second lesson is in order for a peaceful protest no permit is needed; It is not Mao’s or Stalin’s or Mahathirian’s era.Now everybody including UMNO and Perkasa can have a good laugh and as they could do nothing.This time around the trouble was started by the police and the police must remember that they have hurt their own brothers and sisters.Najib and Hishamuddin had led to this ‘yellow ‘situation and they are responsible for the hatred towards the government of the day.In order to test their support ,Najib should call for an immediate election .Failing which means he is a coward and shouts with only his UMNO supporters around mainly from FELDA.Hishammudin’s time is numbered and it is matter of time he leaves the country to do his Ph.D as Rais did including Baginda.We have a bunch of morons up there to lead the government and they are bringing the government to it lowest level with their administration.

55. #69 by k1980 on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 4:28 am

Police officers arrested almost 1,700 people and fired tear gas at protesters. Why is Jib’s old girlfriend Hilary Clinton keeping quiet all this while?

“This brutal crackdown on peaceful protesters is undermining Malaysia’s claim to be a moderate democracy. Mr. Najib’s government has chosen the path of repression, not reform,” Amnesty International said in a statement on Saturday.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/10/world/asia/10malaysia.html?_r=1&ref=global-home

56. #70 by Loh on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 9:34 am

voice2009 :
    Salute and great respect to Baharuddin Ahmad
    Condolences to his family.
    God bless his soul.

If the Police had done its job, in facilitating the assemble, Baharuddin Ahmad would still be alive today.

57. #71 by negarawan on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 11:46 am

ENDANGERED HORNBILL :

There should be an investigation to Saudara Baharuddin’s death and if it is linked to any police brutality.

58. #72 by jus legitimum on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 12:01 pm

Bersih 2.0 is a success despite all the brutality hurled by the brainless Police and the numerous lies and baseless accusations made by the ruling regime.The people are with Bersih and the Pakatan.Bravo.

59. #73 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 1:09 pm

The sign is clear, with so many below 30s taking part, the minister of Home Affairs will surely face some questioning on his tactic. In spite of the ‘evidence’ [?] of weapons and bottles, the march was peaceful if not for the brutal reaction of the FRUs. It would have been less dramatic if BN has just allowed the March to go on within specific hours but What Now? BN has two choices, reform or be “reformed”. With all the precautions of road-blocking for days before the event, yet you have thousands in KL? Maybe some of the Police let them through? This must surely be the New Awakening of ALL Malayisans!! So be prepared for Change! The prediction based on the name of the 1st PM is about to come true!!

60. #74 by k1980 on Sunday, 10 July 2011 - 6:24 pm

1BersihMalaysia – Kebersihan Diutamakan – Bersihkan Sekarang

Buang all those KOTOR politicians into Kamunting Holiday Camp and throw away the keys to their cells