Hisham outlaws Bersih 2.0

July 02, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, July 2 — Electoral reforms movement Bersih 2.0 has been declared illegal by the Home Ministry effective July 1 for causing “an atmosphere of unrest,” a week before its planned July 9 rally.

The ministry issued a four-paragraph statement outlining the reasons for the ban by Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein.

It gave three reasons for the banning of the movement, adding it was an unregistered group despite fulfilling all criteria to form an organisation under the Societies Act 1966.

The reasons given for the ban are:

i) Being active and sparking an atmosphere of unrest and worry among the multiracial community in the country;

ii) Spreading propaganda to incite the people to topple the government by distributing certain leaflets;

iii) Its activities have given a bad image to the country, which can threaten and undermine public order, security, economy and country’s sovereignty and affect the harmony of the multiracial community.

“Because of this, the home minister has declared the Bersih 2.0 organisation as going against the law under Section 5 of the Societies Act 1966 effective July 1, 2011,” read the statement signed by Registrar of Societies Datuk Abdul Rahman Othman.

Shortly after the declaration, PKR vice-president N. Surendran came out to condemn Hishammuddin’s action as unlawful, and added that it was also unconstitutional as the Federal Constitution allowed the freedom of association.

“How can a movement for fair elections be a threat to security? How can a peaceful assembly with a noble, democratic purpose be a threat to public order?” he asked in a statement tonight.

The human rights lawyer then said PKR wants the government to revoke the order and free all those held for involvement in Bersih.

Bersih 2.0 is a coalition of 62 groups seeking electoral reforms to provide for free and fair elections.

It has planned a rally on July 9 in the capital city to press for its eight demands, but police have said it will not allow any demonstrations on the day.

At least two other groups — Perkasa and Umno Youth — have said they will mount counter-protests against the Bersih rally.

The Najib administration has used state-run media and special sermons during Friday prayers at mosques yesterday to criticise the Bersih rally, which is the second such demonstration asking for electoral reforms.

The first in 2007 saw an estimated 50,000 people take to the streets in the capital city before they were dispersed by riot police armed with water cannons and tear gas.

Bersih 2.0 expects a higher turnout this year due to more widespread publicity courtesy of social media.

Pakatan Rakyat parties have ordered their members to support the rally, with PAS asking its one-million members to turn up on July 9.

Several rallies in support of Bersih are also being planned in major cities across the world on that day.

1. #1 by voice2009 on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 12:15 am

They said there are foreign involvement

That is what they said

Even it is so foreign is better than you cilaka corrupted politician of Malaysia

If you so scare of foreign cilaka corrupted politician why you keen invite foreigner investment here

Cilaka corrupted politicians – traitors hijacked our country from our independent father Tunku Abdul Rahman

Later Life & Death
    In 1977, Tunku Abdul Rahman became the chairman of The Star, a newspaper which was banned in 1987 by Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad because of its provoking columns that were harshly critical of the Malaysia’s government. Following a rift with in UMNO, he unsuccessfully tried to establish a new party UMNO Malaysia. In the general election of 1990, Tunku Abdul Rahman actively participated and widely campaigned against Mahathir Mohamad despite his worsening health. He died on 6 December 1990, aged eighty seven and his body was buried at the Langgar Royal Mausoleum in Alor Star.

2. #2 by bruno on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 4:06 am

Hisham,why did you outlawed Bersih lah.You chicken livered or what.You scared of Ambiga yah.Mesti lah I ingat you mia dua telor sudah hilang lah.Betul kah.Man, you coward lah.Tak berani.Bukan jantan lah.Maybe pondan ka.You shame shame sahaja.Buat malu keluarga sahaja lah.Saya pun banyak malu you buat itu macham lah.I pun shame shame for you to lah.

3. #3 by Mike Tee on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 6:35 am

Hisham outlawed Bersih, but gave blessing to his UMNO hogs to disrupt Penang and in Ipoh to shout abuses to the oppositions ?? Hypocracy at the highest level.
    When the Patakan Rakyat win the next GE, it will be tooth for tooth , blood for blood. No where to run for the fat corrupt ex-ministersand officials because there are Malaysian who had been robbed and disowned by you all over the world.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 7:56 am

Hisham, why don’t you outlaw and ban all opposition parties so that the country only has BN which will win the general election every time it is held? This is what you want, isn’t it?

5. #5 by best4rakyat on Sunday, 3 July 2011 - 10:12 am

This is ‘Gaddafi’ in the making in differrent way here in Malaysia.
    Those with them will later be regret for the outlaw and power has made them become hunger now!
    Hopefully,Obama is watching this or malaysian in USA can tweet or convey to him a message.
    All we want is liberty as being pledged so when Obama become president.
    Calling malaysian to wish to see democracy this is “Enough”!