Pakatan Rakyat must be prepared for snap 13th general elections to be held in six month

The Mentri Besar of the usurper Barisan Nasional Perak state government, Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir has called on Barisan Nasional component parties to be prepared for snap polls and Barisan Nasional component parties are openly calling on their members to be ready for early general elections next year.

DAP and Pakatan Rakyat must be prepared for snap 13th general elections to be held in six months.

In his 18 months as Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has launched three major initiatives – 1Malaysia policy; the New Economic Model and on Tuesday, the RM1.4 trillion Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) to achieve a high-income economy by 2020.

However, all these three Najib landmark measures have failed to take-off successfully as illustrated by the lukewarm response of the RM1.4 trillion ETP in the Kuala Lumpur stock market.

The Kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI), which closed at 1,469 points on Monday, lifted by 6.30 points to 1,475.99 points on Tuesday when the RM1.4 trillion ETP was unveiled, but by the end of the trading week on Friday, KLCI had fallen by 24.80 points to 1,451.19 points.

There is just too little public confidence in the ETP after the two Najib initiatives were undermined and attacked.

Najib’s 1Malaysia policy, for instance, has still to be proven to be a national policy which attracts the full commitment and loyalty of the Prime Minister’s own Cabinet and Government – with Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin publicly declaring that he is “Malay first, Malaysian second” while there is only one Cabinet Minister, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz the only Minister in the past 18 months who is prepared to declare that he is Malaysian first, Malay second, i.e. Malaysian first, race second.

Najib’s New Economic Model unveiled on March 30 was savagely attacked to the extent that Najib had to distance himself by claiming that the NEM is not the Government’s “final stand” but merely the “trial balloons” of a group of experts from the global market’s perspective!

And in both cases, the troop of nay-sayers was led by none other than the former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad – who said he did not understand Najib’s 1Malaysia and warned of awful consequences if the NEM was implemented.

Most recently, Mahathir had racheted up his rhetoric of race and religion, even warning that the Malays will lose power if Pakatan Rakyat were to come to power.

This is the height of irresponsibility coming from one who had been Prime Minister for 22 years and propounded the concept of Bangsa Malaysia with Vision 2020.
If Pakatan Rakyat comes to power, it is not the Malays who will lose power but the Umnoputras while the ordinary Malaysians – Malays, Chinese, Indians,Kadazans and Ibans – will be empowered.

Mahathir is conducting a most unethical and dishonest campaign to demonise Mohamad Nizar because he was a popular Perak Mentri Besar of the year-old Pakatan Rakyat Perak State Government before it was illegally, unconstitutionally and undemocratically toppled by Najib.

Mahathir accused Nizar as tool of DAP and even claimed that Nizar’s PR government was regarded as a Chinese government by the Malaysian Chinese.

This is completely baseless and groundless as nobody regards the Pakatan Rakyat Perak State Government of Nizar as a Chinese government – it was a Malaysian government and regarded as such by all races in the state.

The way Mahathir is demonising Nizar was the same way he had demonised the first Prime Minister, Tunku Abdul Rahman more than 40 years ago, for which Mahathir had to subsequently apologise to Tunku.

As former Prime Minister, Mahathir should stop his irresponsible politicking of race and religion.

(Speech at the DAP Canning Family Day and Foodfair at Red Crescent Hall, Ipoh on Sunday, 26th September 2010 at 9 am)

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:19 pm

//In his 18 months as Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has launched three major initiatives – 1Malaysia policy; the New Economic Model and on Tuesday, the RM1.4 trillion Economic Transformation Programme//

Watch out, he is going to follow Mao and launch The Great Leap Forward and then (God Forbid!) The Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. And guess who will play the role of Jiang Qing?

2. #2 by dcasey on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:25 pm

Hey all Malaysians, let’s face it….if our beloved country is pokai (bankrupted) already, not only the Malays will lose power, The whole Malaysians of all races will lose power…sold out right to our underwears….by the mother of all racists. Let this devil count his days left before he meets his creator….as he can’t be alluding the appointment that He is seeking.

3. #3 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:59 pm

I hope the day Anwar Ibrahim becoming the new PM of Malaysia will come sooner than later. It is not that I am a big fan of Anwar. It is because I hate Mahathir Mohammad.

When PR comes to power, I hope Mahathir & his cronies will be charged for corruption, sedition, and framing Anwar Ibrahim.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 6:28 pm

On the next 13th election (6 months) and the effect of these racist talk by the No. 1 Racist, below are some interesting excerpts of relevance from Nazri bin Tan Sri Abdul Aziz’s reply to Utusan Malaysia’s “Awang Selamat”:-

(Quote) ///How can I not dub you a racist when you seem to be upset with the praises and positive responses I got from the non-Malays and attempt to put it as something negative on me, especially those coming from (Lim) Kit Siang and (Lim) Guan Eng?

By doing this you have clearly defined your position as “we Malays against you non-Malays”.To be a Malaysian does not necessarily mean to be anti-Malay.
    Are the comments and praises of the Malays [the] only [ones that] count, and the rest can go to you-know-where? You have a long way to go in accepting that Malaysia is a country belonging to Malaysians of all races who swear their loyalty to the land of their birth….

I am right about your zero experience in politics because you wrote “When the Malays don’t vote”. Well, let me tell you our analysis has shown that “When the Non-Malays don’t vote”, the effect is the same. You have never understood what I have been trying to say, that the most important point is that “When the majority of Malaysians don’t vote” then we all are in trouble…….

I read with extreme happiness your support for Umno and Barisan Nasional and to ensure that we will succeed. I want you to walk your talk and support the 1 Malaysia policy which is the brainchild of the President of Umno and Chairman of Barisan Nasional. He is working very, very hard to win the next General Election, so please don’t make it difficult for him……

Awang does not need to tell me about how Utusan is a Malay institution and that its struggle is the same with Umno. Long before you joined Utusan, I have been in Umno Youth — right from being appointed exco member to the post of deputy leader — and for one-and-a-half years acting leader of Umno Youth Malaysia. That is my credential.

If I am a Malaysian leader today, a lot of credit must be given to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. I hold him responsible for what I am today and I owe him a lot. I just want my “sifu” to continue to help me and the others to be good leaders of this blessed country of ours and not to divide us by race, creed, cult and gender. To be a Malaysian does not necessarily mean to be anti-Malay. I hope this will be understood by all.

Sad to say, the non-Malays perceive Utusan as racist, period. And that is why I brought up the issue of Malaysian first and Malay next, in case you don’t understand why.

By the way, I still do not know who you are, Awang? /// (Unquote)

[Reference The MalaysianInsider’s report of Sept 26th under caption “Nazri responds to Utusan’s Awang Selamat”.]

5. #5 by boh-liao on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 7:25 pm

R DAP, PKR, PAS ready to overthrow UmnoB/BN?
    PKR kakis r busy killing each other n shooting each other feet in d coming party’s election
    DAP too – see d dramas dat unfold in Selangor

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 7:46 pm

What it appears to boil down to is this:

All within UMNO & BN (naturally) desire to win the 13th GE, in way more convincingly than 308’s 12th!

Power (more than race though race is used) is the first, middle and last objective of and in politics, BN or PR!

The big question for BN is how – based on the light shed from the analysis of the results of last 12th GE and the by-elections that followed – not to just merely to win it with a hung parliament, federal/state of almost equal power but to win it convincingly, with a credible margin necessary not just for efficent and unobstructed governance but also as some would say it for efficacy of traditional “stealing”, if you will, that power enables….

In this connection there are two schools of thought:-

The first school believes in the essentiality of support from Non Malays and Mainstream Malaysian including a portion of moderate Malays. Hence the importance of an inclusive platform of 1 Malaysia/NEM/GTP in lieu of Ketuanan Melayu and NEP that didn’t quite deliver the intended results in last 12th GE. PM Najib and his more vociferous supporters like Nazri and KJ subscribe to this. Mark what Nazri said to Utusan malaysia’s ‘Awang Selamat’: “Well, let me tell you our analysis has shown that “When the Non-Malays don’t vote”, the effect is the same. You have never understood what I have been trying to say, that the most important point is that “When the majority of Malaysians don’t vote” then we all are in trouble…….”

The second school to which the so called No 1 Racist and others rallying around him believe is that it is already too late in the day. No amount of inclusive ideology (1 Malaysia/NEM or GTP) will save the day to recover Non-Malays’ and mainstream support that have gone the other way. It is just too far gone in the day. The better bet is to place all the chips on the traditional Malay voting bloc appealing to primordial sentiments of race and religion to galvanise all sections of Malay support.
    This represents the better of the two options to hold back, delay and stave off PR’s inexorable march to PutraJaya that represents to some people not just lost of opportunities to self aggandise but personal threat to well being in having to account!

These two schools of thought are not reconcilable. Those who believe in the first school are aghast at those who subscribe to the second school of thought whilst the second think the first incompetent novice. The first views the second as doing something counter-productive: whilst trying to save UMNO/BN will frustrate the necessary end result by alienating the all important Non Malay and mainstream vote, especially from fixed deposit states in east Malaysia.

It depends on which of the two schools one believes is correct in reading the situation (from UMNO/BN’s standpoint). If one subscribes to the first being correct, and one wants “Change”, then one should ironically as well as perversely be happy that the subscribers of the second school raise their racist rhetoric in voices stentorian that will surely serve to alienate in the process the crucial, nay pivotal and decisive 10-15% swing votes of non malays and the mainstream against UMNO/BN in the 13th GE.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 8:35 pm

///However, all these three Najib landmark measures have failed to take-off successfully…../// – Kit

They failed because Najib flip-flopped in decision making. He failed to convince the investors that he has the will and resolve to see things through.

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 8:37 pm

admin
    please correct typo in headline

“months”

9. #9 by drngsc on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 8:46 pm

Can anyone confirm? I hear that there are election banners up in Damansara Utama? Looks like elctions must be around the corners.

10. #10 by vsp on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:01 pm

The BN is totally corrupt and have bagful of skeletons stuffed inside their cupboards. That is why Perkasa and the cancerous Kerala mamak racist can hold the whole government at ransom.

Ibrahim Ali confidently declares: “I can tell you who is Khairy Jamaluddin, Nazri Aziz, Tengku Adnan Mansor because I know their DNA. If I reveal their DNA then we will continue our fighting so let it stop here.” So this culture of backstabbing one another has taken a serious toll on the credibility of the BN.

This credibility gap of the BN can be proven by the numerous flip-flops of government’s recent policies; the numerous scandals left unresolved where BN politicians were involved; the numerous misbehaviors of little Napoleons in the civil service that went unchallenged and the miserable performance hit on Najib’s “1Malaysia”.

Malaysian deserve the government they elect and woe to Bolehland if the corrupt BN government is not ushered out of the door.

11. #11 by vsp on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:04 pm

What is wrong with the moderators. Are they behaving like Najib without b**ls.

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:53 pm

No matter how democratic a party wants to be, 25 candidates for a VP job seemed excessive. There should be a way to have only several possible candidates. America is very democratic, but they didn’t have 100 people coming out to run for president. Of course, we don’t agree with certain BN parties that said the higher posts are not contestable. I afraid the kind of party election by Keadilan is simply not doing any good to the party and PR.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 2:36 am

Will PR states choose 2 follow BN states with regard 2 d timing of next GE?
    Many things r different now compared with things in 308 b4 GE12
    RPK is not here 2 physically campaign 4 PR
    We all owe RPK n must vote out UmnoB/BN so dat he n his family can return 2 M’sia
    Likewise many other M’sians can return here after d demise of UmnoB/BN
    Time 2 materialise d impossible dream n 2 defeat d erstwhile unbeatable racist foes, jia yu!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AijRBQf-ato

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 2:43 am

Wow, LKS’s eldest granddaughter starting university, great news! Heartiest congratulations!

15. #15 by johnnypok on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 6:36 am

When Malaysia becomes Zimbabsia in 2019, nobody will be interested to become PM.

16. #16 by Taxidriver on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 7:46 am

What is so Malay about Mahathir? What did he do for the Malays when he was PM for 22 years? In reality he betrayed the Malays, Malaysians and country by enriching his family members, UMNOB elites and a handful of his cronies. In his 22 years as PM and after RM trillions pumped in under the guise of NEP, the vast majority of Malays are still poor, staying in wooden houses and earning meagre incomes. Where have all the money gone to?

The younger generation of Malays have seen through Mahathir and crying out for his blood. This is what is worrying him right now. This is the reason he is playing up the race to divert from the issues facing him. Not so easy, though. The day of accounting must come.

A Malay who makes use of, and takes his fellow Malays for fools to benefit himself has finally been found out! His name is Mahathir Mohammad a.k.a the ”father of all racists”

So, how Malay or un-Malay is Mahathir Mohammad?

17. #17 by Taxidriver on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 9:37 am

Mahathir is blinded by his greed for power and money. To cosolidate his position to stay in power, he made trumped -up accusations against his own deputy ( a Malay, mind you ) and had him incarcerated for six years ( 2190 days! ). God fearing Muslims will never do what Mahathir did to Anwar Ibrahim. The Malays must judge for themselves whether Mahathir is ‘juara’ bangsa dan agama or pengkhianat bangsa, agama dan negara.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 9:48 am

Choice of timing for GE is based on advantage for BN or disadvantage for PR.

Though Najib has until 2012 there is nothing to suggest Najib has more advantage later. The economy might get worse. The argument that more time is needed for 1 Malaysia/NEM/GTP to show electorate their results is dim against the backdrop of strong opposition from his party warlords, TDM & Perkasa and other NGOs. In fact having an earlier election is a good excuse to remove a few of the warlords and those opposing his agenda in cabinet. Governing the country now based on TDM/warlords’ mandate (since Pak Lah was ushered out) is no fun. The sooner he gets his own mandate from the GE the better!

This means the choice of timing for 13th GE would be based on when in Najib’s view is the time most inconvenient for and least preparation on the part of the Opposition.

As elections need lots of funding naturally BN’s well worn tactic has always been to call state and nation’s elections all at one go to dilute and stretch the meagre resources of the Opposition whilst leveraging on its own comparative funding resources. But this time around since PR controls 4 states and chooses the timing of the state elections – to not coincide with GE, the next best thing to do is to concentrate on the flashpoint state that matters most, which is probably might well be Sarawak.

Flashpoint in the sense if there’s a change in swing this is where it’s going to be decisive.

The swing in Peninsular & Sabah either way is anticipated to be not as decisive as in Sarawak one of the 2 fixed deposit states. In part the CM is not that popular and BN can’t get him to give up his post. Also “Allah issue” not resolved yet and Sibu has shown winds of change at least amongst constituencies with substantial Chinese voters.

If Taib decides on November this year for State Elections, if I were Najib, why not??? 11 is said his lucky number. He can’t take advantage of DAP (organizationally stronger) as much as he could, PKR. PKR is eyeing to contest for more seats in Sarawak and is still negotiating on the seat allocation among PR members. Then PKR is going to have its party elections and party members torn between Amin & Zaid.
    Anyone who thinks Sarawak is pivotal and seeks to deny PR the opportunity to concentrate all its meager resources on one focal point in this pivotal state of Sarawak may think it opportune to coincide Sarawak state elections with the next General Elections.

If so – if Taib decides it is November this year (he has only until July next year) – then November this year is as good a time as any to dissolve parliament and for 13th GE, since waiting later does not promise any concrete advantages for BN as balanced against the lack of preparedness on PR’s (on seat allocation) and PKR’s side (on who runs the show).

If Kit Siang tells PR to get ready in 6 month for snap election, then it has to be earlier – much earlier than the 6 month – to neutralize PR’s preparedness!

19. #19 by Loh on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 11:06 am

///PKR is eyeing to contest for more seats in Sarawak and is still negotiating on the seat allocation among PR members. ///– Jeffrey

The greatest regret indigenous Sabahans have is accepting UMNO into Sabah, and turning Sabah into Pakistan. Sarawakians consider themselves first and last Sarawakians. Pakatan should arrange with the local political parties to contest the state seats and work out arrangements for forming the federal government. Anwar was responsible for getting UMNO into Sabah. If he tries to get PKR into Sarawak, Taib Mahmood can tell Sarawakains for whatever wrong he did, he had resisted UMNO getting into Sarawak. That would shore up Taib as the savior of Sarawak. Indeed for all the excess Taib was involved, that was well compensated for not having allowed UMNO into Sarawak. He would ask how different is PKR from UMNO?

20. #20 by dawsheng on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 11:18 am

If Najib is confident about winning, he could have called for a general election when SleepyHead steps down. Instead, he choose to be Prime Minister because it was his turn to be one. There is only one explanation, Najib has no confident of winning the next general election.

For PR, to win the next general election is easy. It all depends on whether those we entrusted with responsibilities to reform the government are willing to end all internal politicking derive from egoism, and start working together to deliver the promises made during the general election. The clock is ticking.

21. #21 by Godfather on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 11:35 am

For a leader who leads 3 rows from the front, there is no chance of an early GE. He needs time to see what he and his cronies can get from the 444 billion bag of goodies. Calling a GE now could mean that he gets nothing, and that’s too much of a risk to take.

22. #22 by frankyapp on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 3:37 pm

Is PR ready for the 13th general election now ? Frankly speaking it should if it wished to take over Putra Jaya. Any last minutes decision will create misunderstanding and trouble especially in the selection of the candidates and the allocation of seats among PR members and associates in Sabah and Sarawak.Sabah and Sarawak are famous for last minutes drop out people who usually will turn frog and jump over to the other end. People/voters too are usually pretty unhappy with parachute type politician replacing their choosen candidates. My humble opinion to PR is be pretty well aware of the rishy investment in having political frogs as candidates or even as heads of division.