My reply to Muhyiddin could simply be: It’s the political will, stupid!

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has challenged me to show him the part of the Constitution or law where a deputy prime minister or education minister has the powers to take action against a senior civil servant with a permanent position.

Akin to the American political catchphrase, “It’s the economy, stupid”, I could have simply responded: “It’s the political will, stupid”.

But as a Malaysian, I will not do so. Muhyiddin accused me of ignorance as I have never been a government officer and worse, of being “100 per cent politician” but I will not reply by hurling the latter accusation back at him and say he is “120 per cent politician” and that he is not acting like a Deputy Prime Minister at all, let alone a 1Malaysia Deputy Prime Minister for all Malaysians.

Nobody suggested that Muhyiddin should personally take action against the two principals, one from Johore and another in Kedah, who uttered incendiary, racist and sensitive remarks to their students in school, as asking “the Chinese students to go back to China” and likened the Hindu prayer bracelets to a dog leash, but he must doubly bear responsibility as Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister for a government which for 45 days has not been able to take action against such offensive, racist and sensitive remarks, especially occurring in the education sector with two principals as the culprits!

This is for two reasons:

• Firstly, making a total mockery of the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s signature policy of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” to effect a national transformation so that Malaysia can become an inclusive, sustainable high-income developed nation by 2020.

• Secondly, raising the question of his commitment and loyalty as Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister to Najib’s 1Malaysia policy, particularly after his infamous and most anti-1Malaysia declaration that he is “Malay first, Malaysian second”!

To the man-in-the-street, Muhyiddin’s claim that he is not responsible for the 45-day inaction against the two principals is simply laughable, giving Malaysians a new subject to mock at as their conversational topic.

If Muhyiddin as Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister is not responsible, who then is responsible?

Anybody else in the Cabinet to whom Muhyiddin can pass this buck to in terms of bearing political responsibility or does he want to push the whole responsibility to the Prime Minister himself?

Or is nobody is to be held politically responsible for this deplorable state of affairs because the Najib government has become a shambolic and headless government?

Muhyiddin’s attempt to hide behind the Public Service Department, claiming that there are procedures and guidelines to be adhered to in such cases as governed by the PSD’s code of discipline for the 45-day inaction may be adequate to appease MCA and Barisan Nasional leaders but simply unacceptable to the Malaysian public.

At a time when the Prime Minister is propagating the “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” policy and a National Transformation Programme, the entire Najib administration is shown up as just not serious about these pronouncements when 45 days can pass without any action being taken against the two principals for incendiary, racist and insensitive statements to students in schools.

And what is worse – we have the Deputy Prime Minister luxuriating at his inability to do anything for 45 days over the two principals!

What type of a civil service transformation can Malaysians look forward to when there is nothing the No. 2 in the country who also helms one of the most senior Ministries over the 45-day hiatus of the PSD over the anti-1Malaysia indiscipline of the two principals?

If the civil service is so hidebound by so much red-tape and bureaucracy, then it is beholden on the political leadership to shake up the civil service if it is to take the first step of a national transformation process so that Malaysia can achieve a high-income developed nation by 2020.

I have yet to raise the question as to why for 45 days, Muhyiddin himself had failed to condemn the incendiary, racist and insensitive remarks of the two principals against students in schools.

Can Muhyiddin defend himself?

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 3:20 pm

Mr Loot would have said, “It’s the skin color, stupid”

http://www.ipsofactoj.com/archive/1981/Part05/arc1981(5)-004.htm

2. #2 by DAP man on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 3:31 pm

Muhyiddin would reply , “I am Malay first, stupid”.

3. #3 by dcasey on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 3:50 pm

Mr Moo would reply “It’s because of Katak Ali, stupid”.

He hasn’t given me the green light. If not, he will demand all UMNOputra to shun me, how ahh?

4. #4 by drago2008 on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:08 pm

If i speak up and say the two school principles should be punished for their racist slurs, then I will lose banyak support in Umno. I don’t want that to happen because I want to become PM. Now Mr. Lim do you understand why I keep my mouth shut on this one.

5. #5 by bra888 on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:15 pm

Basically, a person who cannot/refuses to accept responsibility of the failures of the people working under him/her has no right to lead the people let alone hold any power or position to those working for him/her.

6. #6 by gofortruth on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:37 pm

It is very obvious that like Ibrahim Ali of Perkasa, Muhyiddin is just another TDM’s instrument acting according to the wishes & agenda of TDM.

He was one who voiced out so loudly & so swiftly on namewee’s “nah’ clip which prompted police action immediately. He could have easily done the same to the school principals who are under his education ministry. Needless to say, he is biased. In his mind, there are 2 Malaysia, one for the ‘Malays’ who are the lords of the land & the other ‘non Malays’ who are their servants & maids.

It is an utter shame that man of such low calibre is made our deputy prime minister and worse also our education minister. Where do you expect the country will end up with such blind fool leading us?

7. #7 by Loh on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 4:54 pm

///And what is worse – we have the Deputy Prime Minister luxuriating at his inability to do anything for 45 days over the two principals!///– Kit

What we want to see is DPM take action against the two. If he said he had no power, did he mean that he would take action if he had the power. Was he happy that because PSD comprised only of Malay officers and they would either delay the consideration of the so-called disciplinary action until after the next GE for Pakatan Rakyat to follow up, or that he would announce in due course that the PSD considered that matter was merely misunderstanding out of miscommunication. Muhyiddin had announced that he had no power but we want to know his stand on the matter. Or has he no stand beyond the Malay first, and Malay last. Under that assumption as he did not want to have Malays shun him for taking action against Malay heads of school, he would say that they have been forgiven, in accordance to Islamic culture.

Interestingly Najib must have heard about Muhyiddin claiming that he had no power. Has the Prime Minister the power to act. Mamakthir sacked Lord President when he had no power; he killed the judiciary system in the country. Najib might not be able to sack the two principals because he had no power; he tells the world that his government is just a secret society.

8. #8 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 5:13 pm

Which part of the Constitution or Law states that drawing cartoons is an act of sedition? Please also show us which part of the Constitution or Law says that song composers and singers can be charged under the Sedition Act. The Times They Are Achanging. Malaysians today cannot be led by politicians with their brayings. We want capable leaders like Lau Lee, GCT or LSL to lead us; not Hush Puppies 6 or half-baked leaders such as MM, Dolah, Jib or Mohy who not only bring shame and cause embarrassment to the Malay race but to all Malaysians.

Bangkitlah Rakyat Malaysia. ” TAK NAK ” UMNO Baru. ”TAK NAK” Baziran Nasional

9. #9 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 5:42 pm

Capable leaders are those who call a spade a spade; no flip-floping or have a fear of men like UMNO Baru leaders. Among the present batch of UMNO Baru leaders I only see one good one in Nazri-PM material but in the wrong party.

Should our Malay brothers harbour the fear that Malays will lose political power if PR came to power, that fear is unfounded. In PR there are capable and sincere Malays who can lead Malaysians and govern the country well. If the Malays are not ready to have a non-Malay to lead, Malays will still be the dominant political force. Don’t listen to one senile old man’s bullsh**

Bangkitlah Rakyat Malaysia. ”TAK NAK” UMNO Baru. ”TAK NAK” Baziran Nasional

10. #10 by Cinapek on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 6:15 pm

It is bad enough to hide behind the PSD and use them as an excuse for refusing to take action against the two principals for fear of antagonising the Malay voters, the DPM has made the whole mess even worse when he virtually claims that no one can take action against “permanent Govt. officers” and “who are holding high positions” except the Chief Secretary. He has unleashed a new Frankenstein from amongst the hordes of civil servants “who are holding high positions” and who had all along harboured racist tendencies. This proclamation from the DPM is virtually giving them a blank cheque to spew all manner of toxic racist remarks with impunity since they are also “permanent Govt. officers”. His one selfish self preservation act to seek political support has condemned this country to irreparable damage in racial harmony. Worse still, he is just one heartbeat away from the No 1 chair in this country. God help Malaysia!!!

This comment by Thomas Friedman on what ails the US is also a fitting description of our situation:

“….too many of our poll driven, toxically partisan, cable-TV-addicted, money corrupted political class are more interested in what keeps them in power than what would again make America (replace with Malaysia) powerful, more interested in defeating each other than saving the country…”

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 6:15 pm

The general public is demanding appropriate actions to be taken against the 2 school principals as a deterrant to others and not because they are Malays. Whoever has that kind of thinking that the school principals are targets of non-Malays are ”Not right in the head”.

Racial comments if not swiftly dealth with can give rise to racial tensions which can spiral out of control. Personally ( I am a Malaysian of Chinese origin ), I would feel sympathetic toward too harsh a punishment on the 2 principals like sacking or imprisonment, but the Law is there to ensure the peace of the country and must be applied on offenders irrespective of their race. I think a demotion and transfering them to another should be acceptable. Retaining them in the same school is unwise and not good for everybody.

12. #12 by ringthetill on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 6:18 pm

Agreed with YB LKS. If, the DPM cannot correct the wrongdoings of civil servants, then who else can?
    The PM and DPM have wide ranging powers, so don’t pass the buck please, unless they are afraid of losing popularity. But, they are not winners of some popularity or beauty contest. They are the elected to govern.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 7:13 pm

Hey, LKS, don’t boomerang moo’s challenge 2 U
    Moo said U, despite a lawyer n long term MP, do not know dat d minister has no power 2 punish senior civil servants, only d Chief Secretary can do so
    Moo asked U 2 go back 2 school n improve your legal knowledge
    Ai say, your law degree can pakai or not ah?
    Meanwhile, d 2 principals r laughing, waiting 4 U 2 go back 2 Cina, AirAsia cheap cheap mah

14. #14 by yhsiew on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 8:21 pm

///Muhyiddin’s claim that he is not responsible for the 45-day inaction against the two principals is simply laughable…./// – Kit

Why can’t Muhyiddin instruct the civil servants under him to take action? Is it too difficult to do that or he doesn’t want to punish the two school heads?

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 9:13 pm

What Muhyiddin could do, as DPM, is to direct the Chief Secretary to quickly get Public Service Department (‘PSD’) to initiate disciplinary proceedings against the two errant principals.

However it is easier for Najib to sack his aide for making statements contrary to 1 Malaysia than Muhyiddin to sack the 2 principals who are government servants.

The labyrinth of general orders governing the discipline of civil servants is mind boggling/ If a civil servant it is quicker and more expedient to get the MACC to nab him than to first sack him!

In the first place one has to deliberate on which General Order under the Public Officers (Conduct & Discipline) General Orders to initiate the disciplinary proceedings – is it 1993 GO ,or 1980 GO which will depend on rank as well as the kind of severity of punishment contemplated as proportionate to the offence.

Then you have to go through several tiers, the first being the Disciplinary Authority (“DA”) writing a show cause letter to the public servant. It must set out
    Details of complaints, grounds for the show cause and the offender has, consistent to the rules of natural justice the right to reply.

Then after replying the DA has to deliberate and make a decision whether the offence is clearly proven and the punishment whether reduction in rank or dismissal properly decided – if not the DA has to move on to appoint a Committee of Inquiry (CI) where the offender, like in a domestic enquiry, has a right to confront his accusers, exercise all the rights that natural justice accords him, and maybe (I think) even the right to representation and counsel to defend his case and after that the CI will review the minutes of record and deliberate on whether the case is made out and correct punishment is meted out.

Any procedural flaws at any of the above tiers of stages means that the civil servants can appeal to the High Court to quash the DA’s or CI’s decision and claim reinstatement of rank and damages from government.

With the ‘efficiency’ of our civil service can all these above procedures be completed within 45 days? I think not even ½ a year when civil servants have every vested interest in forestalling disciplinary proceedings against themselves under the General Orders. It sets a bad precedent. That is why how many times one hears of a Civil Servant being subject to formal disciplinary proceedings ?

What they do – which is easier – is to transfer the errant public servant to another place inconvenient to him. Transfer is part of the job’s expectations.

Political will or not, can one just disregard the procedures set out in General Orders that govern civil servants? They can go to Court to claim against the govt for violating the General Orders.

16. #16 by Taxidriver on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 9:19 pm

This a a political chess game between pro Najib and pro Mahathir UMNO Baru factions. LKS is a decoy used by Muhyiddin and Mahathir group to lure Najib out to admonish his deputy thereby giving the opportunity to the patron of Perkasa, Mahathir Mohammad to manipulate the ultra Malays by saying: ”Our worst fear is now confirmed. Najib has tunduk to the demands of the pendatangs. How can we Malays depend on him to defend our rights enshrined in the Constitution. If we do not replace him now, he will gadai our rights and privileges to other races and we the Malays will lose our political power” ( we can envisage a thunderous applause from the members, a smiling Muhyiddin and a very happy Ibrahim Ali leaping like a katak and jumping like a monyet )

Najib is surrounded traitors within his Cabinet. He must make the first strike or end up like Julius Caesar who was betrayed and murdered by his own men one among whom was his best friend.

My inner feeling tells me that Mahathir will make the first move against Najib to remove him before a GE is called. Najib is contemplating earlier elections, but Mahathir knows UMNOB / BN will be routed if elections are called when UMNOB is still weak. If this were to happen, he will have to say ”good-bye” to his dream of seeing his son making it to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia one day soon.

Be warned Mr. PM. How they did to AAB is how the will do to you.

17. #17 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 9:35 pm

The DPM is dragging his feet on this issue. We are not clamouring for the dismissal of the two school heads but for appropriate action to be taken against them and hopefully this will serve as a deterrent to others. It is true that the DPM has no direct jurisdiction over school principals but he certainly has the power to direct the PSD to act promptly. Maybe the two principals were merely speaking out facts and taking action against them would alienate UMNO”s supporters.

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:04 pm

“It’s the political will, stupid!”

How lame Moo sounded. It was so obvious he struggled to find an excuse for his stupid inaction. And his excuse made him look even more stupid; serious mental deficiency! Like I said, I wouldn’t even let him work for me as a state education minister. How could Jib tolerate such incompetence as his DPM. Ugh!

So I agree, “It’s the political will, stupid!”.

19. #19 by cemerlang on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:20 pm

If the gomen can act against ordinary people, why can’t it act against its’ own people ? If there are laws in the country for the ordinary Malaysians, why can’t there be laws for his own people and that is his own gomen officers ? Discrimination with motive. Do you owe these two pengetuas anything ? Support may be ? Why should the chief secretary follows you around if you cannot do anything ? People’s power should rise up again.

20. #20 by vsp on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:50 pm

Then katak Ibrahim Ali will declare: “Moo, aku tahu DNA mu. Kalau awak ingat betul berbuka mulut, aku akan bongkar DNA mu kepada seluruh dunia”. That will effectively put a clamp on Moo’s mouth.

21. #21 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 26 September 2010 - 10:53 pm

Hadi has given Tun M 3 tight slaps:

1) UMNO & BN discriminated against Muslim-Malays in fertilizer subsidies in Tregganu, Kelantan, Kedah.

2) UMNO /BN discriminated against Muslim/Malays in Trennganu by withholding oil royalties during PAS rule.

3) UMNO/BN discrimintaed against Mallay/Muslims in Kelantan by withholding oil royalties during PAS rule now and for the last umpteenth years.

Now, to our ‘beloved’ ex-PM, just talk truth, don’t tokkok.

The chickens have come to home to roost.

22. #22 by serigalaputih on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 12:11 am

This is what happens when you have “50 years” of meritocracy with the present g’ment. Complatency takes place and civil services goes down the drain. That is why the country has such a big “brain drain” flight to developed country. The saying “you can’t teach an old dog new tricks” is very true for these hard headed politician. They do not listen to new idea and when you tell them new and better way of doing things, they will say that you are kurang ajar. It all boils back to the way you are brought up. They think that they lord over the peasant but there comes a time when enough is enough and new political wave will wash over this beautiful land of ours that is call “MALAYSIA”.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 2:13 am

Like all UmnoBputras, Moo has selective memories n selective actions
    It’s a Q of WANTING 2 do or not
    Bcos sometimes he is so omnipotent, warning nonMalays not 2 do dis n dat
    Sometimes he pretends he is so powerless, esp when dealing with Malays, acting lah

24. #24 by johnnypok on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 7:06 am

The cow can choose to remain non-committal for fear of losing support from his own people … it shows how stupid a man can be … typically stupid … but a good candidate for President of Zimbabsia in 2019

25. #25 by undertaker888 on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 7:45 am

These are not in the constitution as well:
    1) teo visit to suraus
    2) namewee songs against racism
    3) satirical cartoons

so why are they being charge under sedition? Who have the power to charge them. DPM=dumb poondek moohead. That’s all I can say about this hp6 minister.

26. #26 by Bigjoe on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 8:43 am

You do not owe Muhiyiddin a reply in the first place. For you to have to educated him, what is the point? He is way too thick to learn. He is set in his ways, he made it up long time ago. Mr. Excuses and Mr. Thick-skin, reasoning is never going to change him. He respect only raw power and its only by raw power will he be forced to change, if ever.

27. #27 by dagen on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 9:49 am

Muhideen, accountability means … emm. Oh well. WTF. Why waste my time. He wont understand anyway. Better to concentrate on getting rid of him and his kind in umno come GE13.

That stupid idiot obviously thought he could work with dr mamak in his climb up to jib’s chair. Didnt he know that dr mamak has lots of nasty little springs hidden under his sleeves and has little hesitation in releasing them indiscriminately? Well good luck to his partnership with dr mamak. And ibrahim bin perkasa too. Good luck to him for working with dr mamak. You see when it suits the situation, the evil dr could turn around in the blink of an eye and run the two of them down as racists.

28. #28 by Ray on Monday, 27 September 2010 - 12:13 pm

“Corruption Obssession”

This is the Reality of UMNO BN Political Propaganda….99% of these were indeed Bigotry-Morons-these Chickens Tok Tok here and Tok Tok there …..fighting over a piece of worm..for thier Putrajaya survival>
    Come next 13th General Election these UMNO Barbaric Pendatangs >>Better Be Ready to be Slaughtered by these Strong EAGLES of Pakatan Rakyat for their own BN UMNO supporters Delicious Curry- Chicken-Rice consummation…Btw it’s a serious joke mem,..dear Kawanku brothers and sisters.
    Remember we are not alone in this world >>The Almighty Heavenly Soveriegn Allah daily watching and preserved every civic minded Sincere Malaysians .
    God Bless Pakatan Rakyat Eagles.