Najib should give his personal attention to stamp out the unhealthy and disturbing trend towards very ugly, intolerant and vicious politicking illustrated by M16 bullet threat to Tony Pua

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak should give his personal attention to stamp out the unhealthy and disturbing trend towards very ugly, intolerant and vicious politicking illustrated by the M16 bullet threat to DAP National Publicity Secretary and MP for Petaling Jaya Utara Tony Pua yesterday.

Pua received a live 5.56mm bullet used in M-16s with a threatening note posted from Tangkak, Johor mailed to his service centre in Damansara Utama yesterday.

The note threatened: “Tony Pua Kiam Wee. You are so brave? What do you want now? You better watch out.

“We know about your family, your house, your office, your car.”

Pua believes that the threat was probably related to his recent proposal to the Selangor government to slash Bumiputera discounts for luxury homes and commercial property in the state to improve competitiveness and restore investor confidence while retaining the seven per cent discounts enjoyed by Malays and other Bumiputeras for homes below RM500,000.

Selangor Umno Youth lodged 22 police reports against Pua after the UMNO information chief and Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Ahmad Maslan warned Pua not to “play with fire” for being seditious in attacking Article 153 of the Constitution and the “social contract”.

The Prime Minister should know that Pua’s proposal was no attack on Article 153 of the Constitution or “the social contract”. In fact, it is fully in line with the New Economic Model (NEM) proposed by the Prime Minister to reform affirmative action programmes to be “market-friendly and merit-based” and to focus on the bottom 40 percent of lower income earners.

There can be disagreement and debate as to whether Pua’s proposal is suitable and timely but it is irresponsible politics of the highest order to attack it as anti-Malay and a challenge to Article 153 of the Constitution or to incite communal hatred against Pua.

The trend towards very ugly, intolerant and vicious politicking makes a total mockery of Najib’s 1Malaysia slogan which is why the Prime Minister must provide the leadership to stamp out such un-1Malaysian tendencies in Malaysian politics.

1. #1 by Loh on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 5:49 pm

The discount given to Malays and bumiputras is unconstitutional. It should be stopped immediately.

2. #2 by feruz on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 5:54 pm

Typical the Putera Idiots game. I myself is a malay got no problem with Tony’s proposal. You think the Malay filled-up the discounted quoted everytime there is one? Everytime it is filled by some UMNO businessman who bought it from some hijacked money.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 6:02 pm

Actually, I am curious about what Najib will do. Will he stay silent, condemn the action, or will he do the most castrated thing which is to say he direct the police to investigate AND then the standard reparte to advise “all parties to refrain from sensitive subject”?

Man up or wimp out?

4. #4 by dagen on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 6:21 pm

Oh yeah kit, tell u wot.

Those damned umno kids. Yeah. Know wot they gonna do next, eh?

They gonna send some bullets to them own people. Yeah. And claim its the opposition guys who did it.

Yeah. Just like the damned allah scandal man. Coz they gonna say two wongs can write everything man. Torch churches. Dats wong man. Now dats wong man. But hey, Torching mosque too aint write man. So that kinda square things off.

So maybe some umno people can expect some bullets from their own people. You know. Square things a bit.

5. #5 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 6:23 pm

I bet he dares! He will loose full supports from the sucky chamber of UMNO and BN! Never ever expect any governing politicians be so brave and conscience! They just care and rip for themselves!

6. #6 by frankyapp on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 6:54 pm

Asking Najib to do such thing is like asking his shadow to stop following him under the heated sun. The idea of sending a bullet to Tony is liken a chinese saying as follows ” killing a cock (chicken) to frightening the monkeys”

7. #7 by gofortruth on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 7:10 pm

It will not surprise me if Perkasa is the mastermind behind this terrorist act. Najib will be hard push to condemn it because he fears losing support from this extremist group. See how the “cow head” people got away likely etc…

How do we expect any foreign investor to have confidence to invest in this increasingly unstable country???????????

8. #8 by negarawan on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 7:39 pm

M16 bullet most probably came from the army and UMNO behind this as they have easy access, just like C4 on Altantuya. This is how far UMNO and its cronies are willing to go to intimidate Pakatan leaders.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 8:00 pm

Actually Pua only echoed similar calls made by others, including many successful n confident Malays (mayb not UmnoBputra Malays) who had enjoyed d fruits of NEP

They r qualified professionals now capable of standing on their own n competing with others without anymore discount n subsidy

They reason dat ppl who can afford 2 buy RM500K or RM1 million houses, they r not economically disadvantaged individuals n do not deserved 2 receive discount/subsidy
    Hence, Y should they get 5 to 8% discount just bcos of their race? Totally illogical
    So, what’s wrong with this thinking?
    After all, even maha racist MMK wanted Malays 2 b free fr tongkat n 2 b able 2 stand n compete boldly with all races

So, stand up (not CSL-type lah) n be counted

10. #10 by negarawan on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 8:00 pm

Let’s pray that Allah will constantly protect Tony Pua and his family, and all Pakatan leaders from all harm and evil no matter where they are, and what they do.

In this holy month of Ramadan, it is sad to see the UMNO culprits committing such despicable acts! May Allah serve his divine punishment on them and all their leaders.

11. #11 by limkamput on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 9:37 pm

When the interests of the rich and power are affected, this is what you will get. Surely we are not talking about medium and low cost houses here. These are the farting parasites of society, the scumbags of the earth. They have no shame to continue milking on others when they are already big fat asses. Oh, don’t worry, they will continue to talk about equitable distribution of wealth, fairness, and ethics and pray with their asses tilting toward the sky. Bloody farting asses.

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 10:01 pm

So far we have not heard any BN MPs or leaders commenting on this serious threat.
    Even if they still demand the housing discount for the rich Bumis, this type of behaviour cannot be condoned by any civilised person.
    Maybe a televised debate beween Pua and any BN MP on this unjust practice will help educate Malaysians.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/08/bullet-in-mail.html

13. #13 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 10:22 pm

Hj Angus,

Not only are the BN MPs not saying anything on this matter, even PDRM is quiet as a church mouse!

14. #14 by vsp on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 10:38 pm

The biggest security risk that the country is facing now is Najib!

15. #15 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 11:00 pm

Some politician is behind all this. someone powerful enough to guarantee that nothing will happen to the person/persons who sent the bullet from Tangkak, which is not very far from PAGOL.

16. #16 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 12 August 2010 - 11:17 pm

The healthy do not need a physician just as the rich do not need material assistance. By all means slash the 7% discounts the rich Malays are enjoying now and use the money to help the lower and middle income Malays own homes. This is more meaningful.

Mahathir did not have the political will to make this happen in his 22 years as PM. But Mr. Najib, are you a stronger leader; not like him?

17. #17 by monsterball on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 12:16 am

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 12:42 am

He’s still in holiday mood after returning from south of France. Too bad he missed Jho Low and Paris Hilton.

He went there just last year. He likes it there. France is Rosmah’s favourite holiday destination.

Cuti-cuti 1Malaysia? Naw.

19. #19 by monsterball on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 12:46 am

20. #20 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 2:15 am

Billionaire n millionaire UmnoBputras n Perkosa kakis talking amg themselves
    Jomp, mari kita buy rumah
    How much eh?
    Cheap, cheap saja, Bumi lot, RM250K, then got 7% diskaun
    House nombor what U buy aah?
    Nombor 20, ku fikir
    I ah, tak ingat lah, dah banyak lah, macam main Monopoly, play play saja, ha ha, buy low sell high lah, baru semangat, kaya raya
    Ya lah, itu TP, betul kacau kami orang kaya play play thing, nak mansuh diskaun
    Celakanya, tak tahu sosial contract, NEP, NEM, tongkat Ali punya

21. #21 by yhsiew on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 6:53 am

Why do MCA and MIC keep silent on the matter?

22. #22 by Taxidriver on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 7:24 am

“Why do MCA and MIC keep silent on the matter”?-yhsiew

yhsiew, Duduk Diam Dapat Duit (4-D). Cakap banyak nanti MACC siasat, siasat, siasat……..PDRM tangkap, tangkap, tangkap. Siapa tak takut? Wa pun takut oh!ol

23. #23 by undertaker888 on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 7:44 am

ink kerja orang bangsat dan beragama syaitan iblis. juga penakut. tony boleh tunjuk muka didepan tapi pengecut nak tunjuk berani disebalik belukar guna pos malaysia. Tunjuk mukalah kalau berani berdebat dengan tony satu sama satu.

memang pondan.

24. #24 by dagen on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:06 am

Come to think of it, I believe the same orang bangsat yg beragama syaitan iblis was behind those bullets sent to the Lion King as well. And I bet you, umno knows who that (or those) orang bangsat is. Try asking Toyo. Perhaps he has a clue.

25. #25 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:40 am

@Taxidriver

We all know he is a pussi Miao! We do you expect this lustful Miao? Foreign investors knew exactly who is this guy; therefore, they shun away to invest in our neighboring nations without facing 30% of Shares/Equities imposition and all sorts of craps!

With this Miao as leader and bunch of suckers, our Bolehland is heading to the middle of nowhere…. And our local self-proclaimed economists invented an extraordinary and new economic theory, “Rambutan Tree Economic Principle/ Theory” by squatting and dreaming under the Trees to get rich without struggling and suffering….. Without the change of Bolehland government, what can we expect? Just let it be!!!

26. #26 by Thor on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:41 am

Previously, Karpal received a handgun bullet.
    Now, Tony Pua got a M-16.
    Next time, some “lucky” dude could be receiving C4 in their post box as well.
    Wanna ask Nutjib for personal opinion?
    He’ll be laughing at you like a hyena!!!

27. #27 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:52 am

HH kata I no know Y so many bullets circulating in dis country
    Tot illegal possession of bullets is death penalty

28. #28 by Thor on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 9:07 am

Let’s pray that Allah will constantly protect Tony Pua and his family, and all Pakatan leaders from all harm and evil no matter where they are, and what they do.

Negarawan,
    We cannot change anything by praying to Allah or whichever god.
    These buggers believe that god never exist.
    The way they swear themselve on the koran and the burning of churches.
    They really have proven to us that they are the only “god” around!
    If lightning could strike each and everyone of them one by one, then only will they fear.
    Otherwise, we’ll have to rely on everyone of us to play the role of “god” and to jolt them out in the next GE!
    God and satan are inside everyone of us and it’s us whom to choose and to be.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 9:59 am

The most striking thing is that such threats of violence as an intimidation tool is principally directed at members of DAP office bearers perceived to be challenging Malay Privileges or Dominance – for examples:

· Tony Pua, a bullet for suggesting for high end houses, instead pof discount, a fund be used to channel to underprivileged Bumiputras;

· Karpal Singh, a bullet for being perceived questioning Malay Rulers Powers
    l
    · Theresa Kok 2008, two Molotov cocktails thrown into her family home for ostensibly “advising” a mosque in Puchong not to use loudspeakers while making the azan.

None of the allegations that these DAP politicians had done anything wrong – supported by police reports lodged against them – bear out. They were not charged, prosecuted or even jailed but they served a convenient bogey persons for agenda of politicians, groups and medias beating the “Ketuanan” drums for their own gains!
    UMNO Youth chief Khairy immediately tweeted his condemnation of such cowardly act of threatening Pua’s life and he also clarified that although he had lots of differences with his Oxford counterpart on political issues he did not condone these acts.

It was nice of Khairy but the irony that Khairy fails to sees is that some of the people whom he leads also lodged police reports against Tony without heed of the rationality behind what Tony said or even bother to understand it. Whats the difference?

The lodging of police report is also intimidation calculated to harass and inconvenience the one reported against. It may not be a threat to his life as a bullet constitutes but it is certainly a threat to his continued liberty.
    People who sent bullets or Molotov cocktails just preferred a more effective way if intimidation – than having the hassle to go and make a police report. Maybe that’s not convenient because they have police record? What’s the difference Khairy between sending bullets/Molotov cocktails and the other invoking the prospects of May 13 everything you perceive Ketuanan challenged?
    It is the communal and racial rhetorics that incite these perpetrators.
    Notice these kind of threats are never delivered in the reverse when someone in Parliament (entitled to be Dominant) called others Pendatangs, go home, or show the keris…Perkasa’s officials don’t get these kind of threats – even PKR (Zaid Ibrahim) or PAS (Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin) politicians don’t get these threats when they talked the same thing as (say) Karpal, Tony Pua or Theresa.

It shows that the perpetrators acted primarily from racial perspectives. What do you expect the less educated and more violent inclined people to do when they are subject all this while to political culture of dominance and keep on being incited by racial rhetoric?
    Appropriately Kit puts responsibility to PM Najib to give his personal attention to stamp out this “ unhealthy and disturbing trend towards very ugly, intolerant and vicious politicking”. But what can Najib do? The last time he was told in Bumi Economic Congress that he was lucky to have averted a vote of no confidence by reaffirming continuance of NEP quota in NEM.

30. #30 by ktteokt on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 10:15 am

Malaysians, think well! Who has access to M16 bullets? It is only from Mindef that you can get hold of these bullets! So who is in charge of Mindef? Similar thinking should be applied in the C4 case on Altantuya. The case is clear and these fellas are misusing their POWER!

31. #31 by Dap man on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 10:28 am

Kit,
    This is the only language UMNO speaks – racists remarks, racist banners, threats and of course the keris… or name calling.

They have no brains to engage the opposition in intellectual debate.

I tell you, Najib will not do anything and the police cannot find the culprit because they belong to the same ‘side’ – the chosen ones.

Now they display racist banners in Johor to annoy the sultan.

32. #32 by k1980 on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 10:30 am

No more m16 bullets next time. They will send an Exocet missile in your mail

33. #33 by Bigjoe on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 10:33 am

Its been 24 hours since this happen. Najib can forget about saying anything because nothing he says now can make up. No matter what he says, he proved again he is not the leader his country need and deserve. When the going get a bit tough, the man just freezes.

34. #34 by k1980 on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 10:47 am

umno would have declared a state of emergency had an umno member received a paper bullet made from folding a piece of paper in his mail. (Can only be shot by using a rubber band)

35. #35 by monsterball on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 11:16 am

I do not understand why my comments are deleted.
    What happened to Tony Puah..one must know ans suspect who is behind that.
    I wrote as I feel about the situations.
    Naturally LKS have the right to control his blog…but I hope it will not be controlling freedom of speeches and rights by Malaysians.

36. #36 by baochingtian on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 12:28 pm

Where is the PM to condemn the use of such threatening bullet tactic? Having berbuka puasa with his family? So his family is a family and Tony’s family is not? How then can the pm be the one for all malaysians? Is he the pm for all umnoputras and cronies and those voted for bn only, i wondered?

37. #37 by limkamput on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 2:38 pm

MONSTERBALL, when you have no evidence, you can’t simply make specific accusations. But of course i can’t expect a loose canon ball like you to understand. Take it easy old man.

38. #38 by Loh on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 7:21 pm

Instead of asking the Selangor state government to stop the discount regulation, why does not DAP sue any one of the housing developer in Kuala Lumpur together with the federal government for introducing regulations which violate the constitution?

39. #39 by monsterball on Friday, 13 August 2010 - 8:20 pm

It looks like the braggart limkanput wants to teach me again.
    And why not…he teaches everyone.
    If he is that smart …he need not migrate to be a dish washer.
    I choose to post out #35…instead of writing personally kit…which I normally get replies from him..solely because….I want others to read and understand…we are guests.
    That idiot does not know what I wrote and love to show how smart he is..teaching me.
    If he insults me as
    “old man”….he is firstly insulting LKS too.
    I wonder why he dare not give his best insults to Mahathir?

40. #40 by limkamput on Saturday, 14 August 2010 - 12:12 am

Mahathir just said the “Bankam” dam was suffering from cost overrun three years ago. Of course he knows everything. Anything concieved by him or under his watch was suffering from cost overrun, so what is new. Of course he is right. So odd ball, what have you got about mahathir?